South Iceland cottage rental - Geysir cottage spacious dining room
Geysir cottage spacious dining room
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

South Iceland Cottage Rental Photos and Description
3 bedroom Cottage Am Nature -Geothermal hot tub- Amazing private cottage

The cottage Geysir is a new house, ca 100m2, where easily can stay up to 6 persons. The place Geysir is a 1 hour drive away from the city Reykjavik, in the south-west. You are staying in the highlights of Iceland. This is the perfect place to stay in the midst of greatest natural attraction of Iceland, in the Golden Circle. You have the famous Geysir in 15 min walking distance and Gullfoss is also close by. Geysir is the ideal destination for today's tourist. You enjoy the nature, and are very close to many activities nearby the cottage. The volcano Eyjafjallajökull is one of the attractions in driving direction. The Hot Tub will be an important part of your stay at our special cottage. Guests renew their relationship with nature, soak up the scenic beauty and enjoy breathing the clean, fresh air while relaxing in the warm geothermal water. The Hot Tub is always with new natural water that is the without doubt the best in Iceland. Enjoy to sit in the whirlpool after a walk on a glacier, enjoy the 24 hours of daylight in the summertime. Don't hesitate to contact me.

NOTICE THAT WE HAVE ALSO FOR RENT ANOTHER PROPERTY IN THE SAME AREA, EXACTLY THE SAME SIZE BUT WITH A SLIGHT DIFFERENT INTERIOR, THE PROPERTY # 1004781,

More Details
Hide Details

30 Reviews of Property 893491 in South Iceland, Iceland

No.1 in Iceland-A trip to the Golden circle, a cottage in the midst-cosy hot tub
average rating of 4.9 based on 30 reviews
business
No.1 in Iceland-A trip to the Golden circle, a cottage in the midst-cosy hot tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p893491
+354 8539390
South Iceland Iceland
Chesham, Bucks, UK
5

The Little Family do Iceland

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We had a fabulous stay at this cottage and felt so at home from the moment we walked through the door. It was really cosy in the evenings, as we sat on the huge, leather sofa watching one of the many DVDs available. The hot tub scored a 10/10 with all of us and the instructions were very clear.
The cottage is situated in a remote area, so you do need to arrive with all of your supplies. We stocked up at Bonus on the way from the airport and only needed to 'top up' once, which we did in Selfoss (30 km away).
The nearby geysirs were great to see early in the morning, before the many visitors arrive. Gulfoss Waterfall is also a short distance away.
We loved the peace and tranquility of Cottage Geysir - a great place to unwind and relax. Hopefully we can return soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
No.1 in Iceland-A trip to the Golden circle, a cottage in the midst-cosy hot tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p893491
+354 8539390
South Iceland Iceland
Worcester, UK
5

Holiday at Geysir

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
The cottage was easy to find from the directions given and easy to access. Inside it was very clean and cosy.

The beds were comfortable and the kitchen easy to use. We cooked some very good meals there.

We should have bought all our groceries before we set out on the trip. Selfoss is the nearest place for supermarket shopping. There is a garage at Reykholt on the way where we bought some items but on that day there was a power cut. The people at the garage were very friendly and helpful.

We found that it was lovely to walk around the geysers in the evening after the coaches had left. From the cottage we could see the steam appear from Strokkur every time it 'blew', we didn't realise how close the cottage was to the geysers until we arrived. It was just in the next valley.

The staff at the Geysir Hotel complex were also very helpful and we were able to access the internet at the hotel. In the visitor centre there is a new exhibition which is very interesting, it includes the opportunity to experience an earthquake as well as footage from volcanic erutions and lots of interesting information about Iceland's geology.

Gulfoss is close and of course we made a vist there.

On the way back we called in at Skaholt and saw the beautiful church and the fantastic view over the Bruara valley.

The best part of the holiday was the hot tub, we spent many hours in there. Most evenings were clear although one night it rained and we still sat in the hot tub! We were, of course, hoping to see the northern lights. On the last evening it looked as though they were going to appear but they never quite arrived. We gave up at 3.00am.

It was a wonderful holiday!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
No.1 in Iceland-A trip to the Golden circle, a cottage in the midst-cosy hot tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p893491
+354 8539390
South Iceland Iceland
Give, Denmark
5

Dejlig ferie i Cottage Geysir

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
Selv om vi kun havde en kort ferie (4 dage) i Cottage Geysir, er vi blevet mange dejlige oplevelser rigere.
Huset ligger skønt og fredeligt, omringet af bjerge. Man kommer helt automatisk til at slappe af og nyde stilheden, når man befinder sig i huset. Det er perfekt indrettet med god plads.
Det udendørs badekar er selvfølgelig "prikken over i'et". Oplevelsen af at ligge i 40 grader varmt vand, imens sneen drysser ned i ansigtet er uforglemmelig.
Island generelt er fantastisk. Vi oplevede masser af flot natur og gode udsigter trods sne, regn og overskyet vejr. Derfor kan vi kun drømme om, hvor flot og magisk det må være på en dejlig sommerdag.
Derfor vil vi helt klart gerne vende tilbage til både Island og Cottage Geysir en anden gang.
Tak for 4 magiske dage.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
No.1 in Iceland-A trip to the Golden circle, a cottage in the midst-cosy hot tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p893491
+354 8539390
South Iceland Iceland
Singapore
5

Cosy and heart-warming cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
Me and my bf (in our mid-20s) had spent a week in magical Iceland, out of which, 5 nights in this cosy cottage that we still miss much thinking about it.

Although it's about 1.5hrs drive to/from the town, me and my boyfriend were glad that we had decided on staying far out by choice, away from the city lights and just spending some quiet time together. Not like we are old and boring, we enjoy city/ party life as well, but it's good to come stay in country side in the weekdays, and drive out to the city for some beer and parties by the weekends.

It's super near to the Geysir and Gulfoss waterfalls, just 3-5mins by car (yes, rented car is recommended if not essential if you are staying here), and u can save your tourist bucks on the Golden circle tour, coz u r staying just right in it! It's better to do your own road trip anyway for easy-to-go places aside from glacier hiking. It's very easy to get around in Iceland actually with GPS. Only thing is, prep up your groceries in the city or the next nearest town-Selfoss, and be prepared to cook your meals in the cottage as there is only one eatery (which is the Geysir visitor centre/souvenir shop) and it closes by 4-5pm.

The cottage is very clean and cosy. Big comfy and lounge-y couches, well-equipped kitchen, big dining table which faces a window where u can see Icelandic Viking horses grazing right outside when you have your breakfast, a cute attic where you can chill n hv dvd sessions n star-gaze, and wake up to a breath-taking mountain view sun rise, right at the door step of your cottage.

And of course, if u r going Iceland for Northern Lights like we did (flying all the way from Singapore!), you'll be in for a treat as it's amazingly dark by night away from city light pollution, "the light spirits" dancing softly against a million-star-studded sky. We caught them on X'mas night. ;)

Not to forget, if you are staying there, do dip into the hot tub. It's an out-of-the world experience going out at -9deg in your bikini/shorts, b4 dunking into the 40+deg warm, comforting tub.

All in all, besides lacking of a washing machine, we would say this is a perfect hideout, versus all hotels choices anyone could get. Private time at amazing tucked away haven, great nature view by day or night, great for family with children, or 2 lovebirds for some snuggle up romantic moments.

Definitely more than happy finding this place, missing the cosy feeling and hoping to get back there again soon.. ;)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
No.1 in Iceland-A trip to the Golden circle, a cottage in the midst-cosy hot tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p893491
+354 8539390
South Iceland Iceland
UK
5

Fantastic cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
A fantastic comfortable cottage, warm and cosy even when it was freezing outside.

Very close to Geysir, Gulfoss and within easy driving distance of Rekjavik, the south and west coastal areas.

Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
No.1 in Iceland-A trip to the Golden circle, a cottage in the midst-cosy hot tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p893491
+354 8539390
South Iceland Iceland
Bretagne
5

schöne Ferien

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Meine Tochter und ich waren zum ersten Mal in Island und hatten das Glück in diesem schönen Haus unsere Woche verbringen zu dürfen. Das Haus liegt ideal, um die wichtigsten Orte im Süden Islands zu besichtigen. Es hat eine sehr behagliche Atmosphäre und supergute Betten, um sich von den "Strapazen der langen Tagestouren zu erholen.
Wir wünschen allen, die nach uns kommen, tolle Ferien.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
No.1 in Iceland-A trip to the Golden circle, a cottage in the midst-cosy hot tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p893491
+354 8539390
South Iceland Iceland
Bedfordshire, England
5

This great cottage added to our holiday enjoyment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
It was our first holiday to Iceland and we were extremely lucky to have found Cottage Geysir available for our June holiday! It surpassed our expectations with clean and tidy, purpose-built facilities, including a hot tub, so close to many must-see tourist attractions, which were all accessible (at that time of year) in our standard rental car.

In general, we found Iceland very easy to get around and the cottage turned out to be quite easy to find, especially since it is so close to Geysir. We used the geysir's erupting boiling water and steam to find our way home some days, as you can see it from quite a distance.

Our group consisted of 2 couples and the cottage was well-equipped for all our needs during our weeklong stay. (A clothes washing machine would have made the place as good as home.) We recommend to anyone staying in this country cottage to stock up at a large supermarket before driving out there.

Our contact for the rental property was most helpful, answering all our questions quickly and thoroughly via email, by post, and phone, when necessary.

We would recommend the property to any of our friends thinking of holidaying in the area.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
No.1 in Iceland-A trip to the Golden circle, a cottage in the midst-cosy hot tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p893491
+354 8539390
South Iceland Iceland
Hannover, Germany
5

great cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
Its a great cottage, close to Geysir (walking distance), Gulfoss, Rekjavik. Kittchen is well equipped, grill available, information about what's to do available. Everything very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the stay.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
No.1 in Iceland-A trip to the Golden circle, a cottage in the midst-cosy hot tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p893491
+354 8539390
South Iceland Iceland
5

Ein wunderbares Ferienhaus

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Unsere dritte Reise nach Island führte uns auch zu diesem wunderbaren Ferienhaus, das komfortabelste, das wir bisher gemietet haben.

Das Haus ist hervorragend ausgestattet, der Kontakt per Mail mit dem Vermieter ist klar, präzise und schnell. Das Haus war bei Ankunft sehr sauber, es ist ruhig und geräumig, die Küche gut ausgestattet. Die Möbel sind bequem. Die Fotos geben das Haus gut wieder. Der große Hotpot vor der Tür ist perfekt. Bei perfektem Wetter konnten wir sogar die große Holzterrasse oft nutzen.

Die Lage am Geysir (den man nicht sieht, er ist auf der anderen Seite eines kleinen Bergrückens, zu Fuß zu erreichen) ermöglicht auch einen Besuch außerhalb der "Rush Hour", wenn die Busse wieder weg sind.

In der Nachbarschaft stehen noch ein paar ähnliche Häuser - wir haben aber nur einmal einen freundlichen Nachbarn gesehen, man wohnt dort sehr ruhig.

Wir haben nur gute Erinnerungen und würden das Haus jederzeit empfehlen.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely remarks Carsten, Because I dont understand german than I used google translate and I want to put the reveiw on english here for our english speaking freinds, you are most welcome again!!
Kind regards, Kristin
excellent
Carsten P.
Review Submitted: 12 October 2012 Date of Stay: July 2012
Our third trip to Iceland led us to this wonderful holiday home, the most comfortable we've ever rented.

The house is very well equipped, the contact e-mail with the landlord is clear, precise and fast. The house was very clean upon arrival, it is quiet and spacious, the kitchen well. The furniture is comfortable. The photos give the house back well. The great Hotpot at the door is perfect. With perfect weather we could even use the large wooden deck often.

The situation of the Geysir (the one does not, he's on the other side of a small ridge, within walking distance) makes a visit outside of the "Rush Hour" when the buses are gone.

In the neighborhood are a few similar houses - but we have only seen once friendly neighbors, they live very quiet.

We have only good memories and would recommend the house at any time.

   This review is in my HomeAway Managers - See ad (put on top of the list!)
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
No.1 in Iceland-A trip to the Golden circle, a cottage in the midst-cosy hot tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p893491
+354 8539390
South Iceland Iceland
Freiburg
5

Great Summerholidays

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We spent one week there in the end of June.

The house was awsome. Very clean and every kitchen supply you can think of was available, so we had everythin we needed.

The house was clean and the situation there is perfect to relax, but also of course to make your south-iceland day trips!

I would recommend to stay there at least a few days to really relax!

DVD-Collection was there and a great variety of day-tour flyers, and also some books !

The hot pot was also very nice.

I would recommend this cottage to all iceland-travellers, also families with kids and I thank a lot for that nice house for one week!
Helpful votes: 4/5