Northwest Iceland cottage rental - The Glacier Snæfellsjökull right above the cottage
The Glacier Snæfellsjökull right above the cottage
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

Northwest Iceland Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedroom - Sleep up to 4 cozy, only 2 hours from Reykjavik.FREE INTERNET

We are most happy to introduce to you our new 90m2 in two stories cozy cottage in the most beautiful place in Iceland. The cottage is one of few cottages all designed as Icelandic houses from 1920, MOST QUIET AREA, , Hellnar 205km/2 hours drive from the capital Reykjavík. Surroundings of the National Park of the Snæfellsnes. MUST visit our homepage http://hellnar.wetpaint.com/

The cottage is with all comfortableness needed to relax out in the country in total luxury. The house is comfortable for up to 4 people to stay and sleep. This is a New released private property and has never been rented out before. Suits perfectly for a great vacation in Iceland. The cottage is with up to date security system. The inside is with among traditional Icelandic artwork from the famous painter ERRO and his father Guðmundur from Miðdal. Some of the interior is Danish antique from 1895, all to give the warm welcome of the old Iceland.

Orca whales are often spotted of the coast of Hellnar.

We are a family of 6 - we have so close connections to Hellnar as Berglind used to stay there as a child with her grandparents.

We are just in love with the place :)

Hellnar ehf. purchased this cottage in 2010

It´s the best one you can have in Iceland.

Please read the reviews, they tell it all.

National Park and the power of the glacier Snæfellsjökull just above our cottage.

43 Reviews of Property 443052 in Northwest Iceland, Iceland

NEW NORTHERN LIGHTS COTTAGE.
average rating of 4.860465 based on 43 reviews
business
NEW NORTHERN LIGHTS COTTAGE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443052
+354 08560704
Northwest Iceland Iceland
The Netherlands
5

a highlight

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We stayed four nights in the cottage: a wonderful house with breathtaking views. Fantastic walks in the surroundings.
It was a highlight in our vacation in Iceland.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Dear Els and Willem,
it was a great pleasure to have you to come over to stay in our special cottage at Hellnar.
Yes this is one of the wonders of Iceland-
Hope to see you soonest!
Your friends in Iceland,
Berglind and Gestur.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
NEW NORTHERN LIGHTS COTTAGE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443052
+354 08560704
Northwest Iceland Iceland
London
5

Fantastic stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
We had a wonderful stay. The cottage is perfect, and area is beautiful, and the owners are very considerate.
Owner's Response: Thank you Piotr,
it was nice meeting you both.
Hope you come again - soon :)

All the best,
Berglind and Gestur.
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
NEW NORTHERN LIGHTS COTTAGE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443052
+354 08560704
Northwest Iceland Iceland
Immingham
5

Quiet getaway in beautiful countryside

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
As a busy people we stayed at the cottage to getaway from it all and found the experience to be one of a kind and we have travelled most of the world!. The location is perfect with wildlife everywhere.

The cottage was as described and exceeded our expidation and was clean and comfortable with ewerything you need in high standard.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 12/12
business
NEW NORTHERN LIGHTS COTTAGE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443052
+354 08560704
Northwest Iceland Iceland
Frankfurt / Germany
5

Peaceful location and welcoming cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We stayed the four last days of our trip around iceland in this cosy, warm and beautiful cottage to enjoy the last impressions of this amazing country focused on one place with all its intensity. Our expectations were exceeded! The cottage's interior is well chosen with attention to detail and can host a couple but as well a family. The cottage offers a great view over the landscape with the mountains in the back and the sea ahead.
Everything you might need you'll find in the equipment of the cottage. If not we are sure the owners will be of service to you as kindly as they were to us.
Although we stayed during the winter we enjoyed taking hikes in the stunning surroundings. We definitely recommend this cottage, this place!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much.
Helpful votes: 16/16
business
NEW NORTHERN LIGHTS COTTAGE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443052
+354 08560704
Northwest Iceland Iceland
Rehovot, Israel
5

Stay in Hellnar

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
A wonderful, well kept cottage. Very suitable for families of up to 5. Excellent condition and all amenities. Fantastic views from the cottage, at every angle. Great small village, with lots of hiking and sites close by. Very good location, short walk for the ocean and great panoramic views. Quiet location. We loved it!!! I would highly recommend this place! Very cousy.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Phil ans family for your kind words.
Hope to be of service to you again.
All the best to you all,
Gestur and Berglind.
Helpful votes: 17/17
business
NEW NORTHERN LIGHTS COTTAGE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443052
+354 08560704
Northwest Iceland Iceland
Berlin
5

11.7-15.7.2010

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We had a wonderful time in this cosy and comfortable holiday house, with a magnificent view over the caostline and it is absolutely the perfect place to discover Snaefellsness peninsula. Me and my family are hoping to return one day!
Uwe
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank´s for your kind review.
We will always be on our toes to have everything 100%.
Helpful votes: 21/21
business
NEW NORTHERN LIGHTS COTTAGE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443052
+354 08560704
Northwest Iceland Iceland
Danmark
5

Dream place - if you ever sell..............

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
I´m a painter and photographer and I had been looking for some time for a place to get some quietness away from my daily life and get a breath of fresh air into my mind.
The cottage at Hellnar was the best choice I could make.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Rinnette for your kind words.
The cottage seems to suit artists as most of our guests are in that field. All our guests this year have been fantastic, all so glad with their stay and this is a speacial place to be at.

all the best,
Berglind and Gestur.
Helpful votes: 18/18
business
NEW NORTHERN LIGHTS COTTAGE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443052
+354 08560704
Northwest Iceland Iceland
New York
4

Lovely...but factor in washing & drying time!

Lovely...but factor in washing & drying time!
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
The cottage itself is lovely, exactly as pictured - very clean, tastefully furnished and has everything you need. We had to contact Gestur a few times (the first being when the alarm was screeching (you have to be quick!) and each exchange was friendly & helpful. One thing not made clear is that the cottage is in the midst of a construction zone .. so in addition to the exquisite view of the dormant snow covered volcano there were idle bulldozers and a few concrete slabs. The cafe/restaurant at Hellnar by the water is walkable and indeed serves lovely fish soup, homemade bread & delicious waffles. We also were lucky enough to see a pod of Orcas from the headland!
Our only complaint was that you are required to leave the cottage spotless & ready for the next guest, to Gestur's credit this is fully explained on the website. The problem is that the combination wash & dry machine takes about 4 hours to complete each load and is very small, so with all the sheets & towels of our family of 4 the whole process literally took up the entire last day of our stay (in fact once we realized this we had to leave a day earlier because we had an early flight out of Keflavik). In the end we wished we had simply paid the extra amount for cleaning ...but otherwise the cottage offered a perfect taste of Iceland.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Sophie,
it was so nice having you ower to stay in our special cottage.
We are making the surroundings only better so people will enjoy to the fullness.
Yes the washing and drying time was a factor, we have noe changed this and have added a drying machine! so now it´s quick! As this is our first year we have been learning and we only want the best for our guests.
All the best,
Gestur and Berglind.
Helpful votes: 20/21
business
NEW NORTHERN LIGHTS COTTAGE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443052
+354 08560704
Northwest Iceland Iceland
NH, USA
5

Had a fantastic stay at the Jules Verne Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We had a lovely stay at the cottage. It is located at the entrance to the Snaefellsnes national park (might even be in the park). The view was great, we had the glacier out the back door and the ocean in the front. We walked to the local cafe which had fantastic food and a deck that overlooked the ocean. The cottage is beautiful, it is new and beautifully furnished/decorated. The upstairs bedroom and loft area has some rather steep stairs but wasn't a problem for us. The living room has a sofa that makes into a comfortable bed. The place was extremely clean.
We liked it so much that we would love to make it a yearly destination.
The owners Gestur and Birglind were so very helpful and accommodating.
Making arrangements to stay at the cottage was easy, every thing was as advertised (well, not really because it was nicer than expected!). It is in a development with some other cottages but the neighbors were very quiet.
The cottage is close to many hiking trails, a newly opened cave and a very short distance to glacier tours (although we didnt get to go on the glacier due to warm weather and unsafe conditions from the melting ice/fissures)
I just cant say enough nice things about our stay.
Thank you Gestur and Berglind!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you are happy :)
Thanks you so much off taking so good care off our cozy cottage.
We hope to see you back soon :)
With love,
Berglind and Gestur.
Helpful votes: 19/19
business
NEW NORTHERN LIGHTS COTTAGE.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443052
+354 08560704
Northwest Iceland Iceland
canada
4

Hellnar

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Our family of 4 stayed in this cottage for a few nights. It was great! The view, the location close to the glacier and the sea. The quaint village and total quiet.
Only down side was we never were told of internet access and doing our final cleaning was a problem (as we were on vacation) because we had to leave early for the ferry (7 am) and had no time to wash all linens....so we simply did not use any! Finally, was an expensive sleeping bag accommodation for our stay! If you have the time, do visit! Beware of the prompt alarm system...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: We totally agree, we are new and learning what to do better. We have now after your visit changed regarding the linen, when you depart (some are in a hurry for airport or ferry) you put the linen in the washing machine, thouse that arrive after you (as we are fully booked) turn on the dryer so you dont have to wait for the washing any longer :) So this has been fixed. :)
The internet option is advertsed on the homepage and has been from the beginning.
All the best,
Berglind and Gestur.
Helpful votes: 18/18