Lower Haight apartment rental - Front bedroom with king bed. Bedroom glass doors have full curtains for privacy.
Front bedroom with king bed. Bedroom glass doors have full curtains for privacy.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights
 

Lower Haight Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment 2 bedrooms plus Convertable sofa, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 6

The Haight Estate offers a newly renovated fifteen hundred (1500) square foot Victorian era flat with two king bedrooms, two baths, a living room, kitchen and separate dining room that sleeps six comfortably. The entire flat has thirteen-foot high ceilings, hard wood floors and many Victorian era details. The flat is pet friendly with easy access to a large enclosed backyard. There is a fold out bed in the living room for groups larger than four. The front bathroom is newly renovated with a stand-up shower and the rear bathroom has a shower/tub. The kitchen is stocked with pots, pans and enough serving ware for eight people. It has an electric range and stove, refrigerator/freezer, coffee machine, microwave and rice cooker. There is on-site, coin operated washer and dryer. There is free wifi, cable TV, OnDemand, HBO, Showtime and the MLB all access package. All furniture is new this year and this unit is set up for rentals only. There is no shared space and plenty of privacy.

The neighborhood surrounding the Haight Estate is one of the most vibrant and green areas in the city. Enjoy walking to four spectacular parks and some great eateries. We sit at the intersection of three great neighborhoods: Lower Haight, Upper Haight and the Divisadero Corridor. Walk east down Haight Street, left out the front door, three blocks to enter the lower Haight. Great economical eateries and many eclectic bars characterize this active nightlife neighborhood. Walk west up Haight Street, right out the front door, to the famous Haight Ashbury district. Famed epicenter of San Francisco’s 60’s counterculture movement the area has retained its funky charm with some great shopping and eatery updates. Walk north on Divisadero and you’ll find one of San Francisco’s fastest emerging communities with popular destination restaurants and numerous cafes.

Pets

Pets are welcome at the Haight Estate. The back yard is fully enclosed with two gates for street access. Your dog can run freely in the back yard but please pick up after your dog.

TV and Wifi

There is free wifi!

There is also an internet post service on Divisadero. They have printers as well. (Across the street and on the left on Divisadero)

The TV has cable with HBO and Showtime premium channels and OnDemand.

Kitchen

The Kitchen is stocked with cooking equipment and Tupperware to save food. There is a cooler and ice packs in the freezer if you want to use for a picnic. We have a larger cooler if you need one. There is a gas grill in the back yard under the back stairs leading out of the kitchen.

Public Transportation

The Haight Estate is centrally located and has ideal access to public transportation anywhere in the city and beyond.

The '71' bus is on our block and travels both directions all the way from Ocean Beach, along the south side of Golden Gate Park, down Market Street and ending near the Bay in the South of Market neighborhood.

The '22' bus crosses Haight Street a few blocks away at Fillmore and will take you all the way to the Marina and Fort Mason. Or you can pick up the '24' bus on our block at Divisadero and transfer to the '22' in Pacific Heights. Contact me for more information.

The 'N Judah' Muni Trolley is a five block walk at Duboce Park. The trolley is a great choice as it goes from one end of city to another. Beach to Bay. It travels east down to the financial district, and South of Market terminating at the grand Ferry Building with access to ferrys that serve Oakland, Alameda and Sausalito. The trolley travels west to Ocean Beach and along the south border of Golden Gate park. Contact me for more information.

The 'F line' historic streetcar line is a seven block walk away and runs down Market Street in old restored street cars. It terminates in the north Waterfront area by Pier 39 where you can get ferries to Alcatraz and Angel Island. Contact me for more information.

The 71 bus, and N and F trolley lines all stop near the Powell Street Cable Car line which is the emblematic San Francisco public transpiration option that goes up and over Nob Hill to the waterfront. Contact me for more information.

The 71 bus, and N and F trolley lines also stop at multiple points along Market Street for BART subway access which in turn travels from the airport, through San Francisco to deep into the East Bay. Contact me for more information.

ZipCars

There is also walking access to a dozen zipcar stations if you want to use a car for a day. You can register for zipcar. Contact me for more information.

Parking

There is no dedicated parking, but parking is usually available in the immediate neighborhood. Be mindful of the street sweeping signs. For two hours each week you will get ticketed for parking in a street sweeping zone. On Haight, north on Broderick and on Page parking is available without a permit. These tend to be the spots that go first.

Head in parking. On Waller, just south of Haight running parallel and on Baker there is head-in parking which means plenty of spaces. The Broderick is head in and with no permit required to stay all week. Baker Street and the side of Buena Vista park are also head-in parking but with permits required for day parking.

If you park in a permit area overnight, you still have two hours from the start of the day to park for free. So you can stay in a permit zone until 10am in the morning, then move your car.

In practice, they rarely ticket for permit violations, but always ticket for street sweeping violations. Super parking secret is that up Alpine Terrace road the hill is too steep for meter maid car to climb so while it is permit parking, it is rare to get ticketed there.

House Notes

Check in is after 4pm and check out at noon. Quite hours are from 10pm to 7am.

Absolutely no smoking tobacco on the premises.

The thermostat in the front hall controls the gas heater behind the screen in the living room. This is a passive circulatory heater and only heats the front room or the front room and front bedroom if the bedroom doors are open.

The thermostat in the kitchen controls a different heater in the back of the house that blows air into the all the rooms from the dining room back to the back bedroom.

There are two waste bins under the sink, one for garbage and one for recycling. If you need to empty the bins the waste cans are under the outside stairs through the back door.

There is no closet in the front bedroom, but there is a closet in the dining room. There is not a dresser in the bed in the back bedroom but there are drawers under the bed.

There are coin operated washer and dryer units under the back stairs.

More Details
Hide Details

The Haight Estate is our home and favorite project. We love being home and we’ve loved building a great apartment for those visiting San Francisco to enjoy and use as a homebase while exploring this wonderful city. We live onsite, upstairs from the rental unit. The building is a four unit building with two one bedrooms on the ground floor occupied by permanent residents, the rental unit is the entire middle floor and we live on top.

Explore all the pages on this website to learn more and if you have any questions please do not hesitate to e-mail or call at 310-564-1897.

Sincerely,

Frank Barbieri and Tricia Iboshi.

Frank purchased this apartment in 2010

We immediately fell in love the neighborhood because of the fantastic restaurants and easy access to three of the city's best parks.

The thing we love most about our home is the voluminous feel. The high ceilings, Victorian details and big floor plans makes the home feel very comfortable and elegant.

It is also super centrally located near spectacular parks od for visitors very close to great public transportation.

47 Reviews of Property 418266 in Lower Haight, California

The Haight Estate Victorian Flat
average rating of 4.8510637 based on 47 reviews
business
The Haight Estate Victorian Flat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418266vb
+1 (415) 340-2064
Lower Haight San Francisco
5

Exactly as advertised

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Our family of 5 stayed at the Haight Estate for 5 days and we had a great time. The flat is well situated and public transportation is less than a block away. The flat is very comfortable and cozy so it was great to hang out after a long day of sight seeing.
Frank was ready to help us with any issues or questions in a very timely manner.
We would recommend to friends.
business
The Haight Estate Victorian Flat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418266vb
+1 (415) 340-2064
Lower Haight San Francisco
Roseville
5

Pay it Forward

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My teenage daughter has been in and out of the hospital for 6 months and had her last surgery in March at Lucile Packards Childrens Hospital at Stanford. We had an early follow up apt in Palo Alto so we needed a place to stay for 1 night in order to be close enough to get there the next day. After months of hospital stays and a lot of out of pocket expenses, we were on a tight budget. Frank donated the 1 night stay to us and it was the perfect pitstop. Due to her medical condition we were unable to do any sightseeing, but a friend delivered dinner from a local place called Ragazza and it was AMAZING! The house is perfectly located, easy to get to and offered all the comforts of home. We shared the front room and really enjoyed the cool breeze and sounds of the city. The bed was VERY comfortable and the linens were great. The living room was super cozy. The flat is a perfect vacation rental for a girls trip, anniversary or a family getaway. Thank you Frank for your generosity. Once things settle down a bit we look forward to coming back for some fun. Highly recommend!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Haight Estate Victorian Flat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418266vb
+1 (415) 340-2064
Lower Haight San Francisco
Kelowna, BC CAN
4

Almost perfect accommodation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Haight Estates was beautiful. Everything is as other guests have reviewed. We arrived to find a great bottle of wine and fruit bowl waiting for us. The front bedroom is beautiful as is the rest of the house. The location couldn't be better...close to a wide variety of restaurants and a convenience store (with liquor) at the corner. The walk up to Golden Gate Park is perfect.

My husband and I travelled with another couple. I took the back bedroom due to my sleep issues and reading reviews that the front can be noisy. Our friends loved their front bedroom and said the bed was very comfortable. I was rather dismayed however to discover that what was advertised as a king sized bed in the back was actually a queen sized mattress with an added foam bolster in a king size frame. The addition wasn't even the same height as the mattress, so couldn't actually be slept on, which meant it was a queen sized mattress and to be perfectly honest, not a great queen sized mattress...very firm. It just seemed an odd thing to skimp on in such a beautiful place. I did bring it to Frank's attention the first morning as I did not have a great sleep. He quickly dismissed my concern and said that no one else had complained about it. It was obvious he wasn't prepared to make any concessions.

I wouldn't discourage people from renting this accommodation, as it is beautiful, but you need to know there is a great discrepancy between the two bedrooms. I would love to return, but do recommend to Frank to please get a decent king sized mattress for that bedroom. It did not spoil my trip (we had a great time), but did disappoint.

Highly recommend Kate's Kitchen for breakfast and Bistro Central Parc for a wonderful romantic French dinner, as well as Nopalitos and Zuni's. We had take-out from Memphis Minnies and delivery from Ploy 11 Thai...both highly recommended.

San Francisco is an amazing city...so much to see and do.
Owner's Response: Our policy at the Haight Estate is to always reply promptly and effectively to guest issues. Unfortunately, as I'm learning only now, Donna could not be satisfied. We discussed her issue, along with her husband and I offered to get an entirely new mattress, but it wouldn't arrive in time given the duration of their stay. I offered to bring down another comforter. I offered to run out and get a feather bed. During the entire discussion Donna repeatedly said, "I just thought you should know," and her husband said repeatedly, "Don't worry about it, we'll just switch sides." There are no less than four other sleeping options for her in the flat and switching sides seemed like not only the most expeditious and reasonable approach, but the preferred approach by Donna and her husband. Donna's characterization that I "dismissed" her concerns is just wrong. I offered multiple solutions and she had multiple options for redress. Her characterization that I "skimped" on the mattress is unfair. It is a $2600 Sealy mattress. If she had asked for anything else to make her stay more comfortable, were it in my power I would have gladly complied. She did not.

Whenever we have received a guest issue, which is exceedingly rare, we do everything we can to address it, including, in the past, purchasing new bedding, purchasing a toaster, refunding money when workers broke a window during someone's stay, buying a new coffee maker, etc. Donna's issue with the mattress was the first such issue with the mattress we've heard with over one hundred stays under our belt. Unfortunately it appears there was nothing I could do to satisfy her. I am instead issuing her a credit. For future guests, my pledge to you is 100% satisfaction but I have to have the power to resolve your issue and I have to have clear communication on whether the issue is resolved or not. For Donna the issue seemed resolved, only in this review did I learn it was not. All I can do at this point is issue her a credit.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Haight Estate Victorian Flat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418266vb
+1 (415) 340-2064
Lower Haight San Francisco
5

The best two nights of our long road trip!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This place is beautiful. It has all the comforts of home. Parking was super easy and we appreciated all of the extra efforts by Frank to make us feel welcome such as a bottle of (very nice) wine and a bowl of fruit waiting for us and very comfortable beds, pillows and bedding. It felt as good, if not better than home. Frank was so nice to come down and check on us and chat for a few minutes. We were a a group of five people and we found that there was ample space for all of our needs. There are two bathrooms and two showers as well. Thank you Frank for a wonderful experience in San Francisco!

Joanie's group
Owner's Response: Thanks Joan! We'd love to have you back.
business
The Haight Estate Victorian Flat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418266vb
+1 (415) 340-2064
Lower Haight San Francisco
Toronto
5

Even nicer than the photos!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Probably the best vacation apartment I've ever stayed in, and I'm an avid VRBO'er! Even more gorgeous in person than in the pictures, and full of nice thoughtful touches - well-stocked kitchen, keypad door entry so you don't have to worry about who's got the key, helpful notes and tips from the owner about local restaurants and attractions, etc. Frank was a great host - helpful and responsive throughout the booking process and our stay. The apartment's location is amazing - lots of cool things to explore in the nearby neighbourhood, and super easy to get everywhere by walking, transit, or Zipcars. One thing to be aware of is what another renter mentioned - if you're a light sleeper or not used to city noise, the quieter back bedroom is your best bet because in the front you can sometimes hear a bit of noise from the street and adjoining units. Nothing out of the ordinary for an older building in the middle of a big city, so don't miss out on this gem of an apartment because of it! Will definitely keep this one at the top of my list for any future visits!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We loved having you Sarah! Good advice on the room placement. The back bedroom is definitely more quiet. We'd love to have you back!
business
The Haight Estate Victorian Flat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418266vb
+1 (415) 340-2064
Lower Haight San Francisco
Virginia
5

Very, Very Elegant; Very, Very Spacious, and Very, Very Helpful Owner

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
VERBO description, location, photos very accurate. Owner very, very helpful! Definitely would recommend this property to a friend or relative. In fact, we had several relatives over for dinner on two occasions -- all of whom were very, very impressed -- and there was plenty of room for all at the table in the lovely dinning room and the the elegant front parlor before and after dinner. Great place!!

Very good location for public transportation, grocery shopping, restaurants, etc. Recommend "Bistro Central Parc" on Central and Grove -- moderately priced, very good, fairly authentic "French Bistro." Very good cusine, rather informal "California service."
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We loved having you Jack and Helen. Please come back whenever you wish. And I'll definitely check out Bistro Central Parc.
business
The Haight Estate Victorian Flat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418266vb
+1 (415) 340-2064
Lower Haight San Francisco
Pahoa, HI, USA
5

Stylish, elegant, comfortable home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We stayed 7 days at this property. Everything about this place was beyond our expectation and imagination! From the moment we stepped into the hallway, we knew it was a special place. The soaring thirteen-foot high ceilings are breathtaking! Exquisite Victorian era details everywhere: the wood floors, the crown molding on the ceiling, the wainscoting design along the walls, etc. Incredibly spacious, yet cozy and feels like home; it’s a fun experience to walk from room to room - each has its own charm and uniqueness. We especially loved the grand dining room (we threw a lavish dinner party while staying here!), with the big heavy wooden table, surrounded by chairs and a long wooden bench. The beds are extremely comfortable and so is the beautiful furniture in the living room (we lounged and watched Downtown Abbey on demand on the flat screen TV). Many thanks to the wonderful owners, Frank and Tricia, we will definitely come back!
Tips:
-No need to rent a car, you can walk to many cool and hip restaurants/cafes in the neighborhood. Take a taxi or use the BART train to get to/from SF airport.
-The bus stop is a few steps away down the street, it will take you to the Downtown Financial District, Embarcadero waterfront, SF Marina & Bay Beach, Chinatown, Botanical Gardens, etc.
-For grocery: Falletti Foods – a gourmet market that has everything (meat, seafood, local produce, bakery, and deli) is only 2 blocks away! Haight Fillmore Whole Foods health food market is also within walking distance. Trader Joe’s a bit further but a nice walk in good weather.
-Buena Vista Park across the street is a must see: hike to the top of the park for a spectacular view of the Golden Gate Bridge (if no fog) and city skyline.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
The Haight Estate Victorian Flat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418266vb
+1 (415) 340-2064
Lower Haight San Francisco
portland, or
5

Family road trip to SF

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
clean, spacious, awesome location, had everything a family of 5 + 2 dogs needed.
walked to great restaurants and parks. e.g. nopalito, little star pizza, haight ashbury st, buena vista park, nopa park etc.
easy check in and check out. property is more beautiful in person.
bumped into frank on the way out. thanks for your hospitality!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Haight Estate Victorian Flat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418266vb
+1 (415) 340-2064
Lower Haight San Francisco
Santa Cruz, Ca. USA
5

I left my heart in San Francisco (at The Haight Estate)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Stop searching! This is the place. I stayed here with my family for 3 nights and never wanted to leave. Ideal location, tons of light and space...the owners have outfitted this vacation rental in a truly beautiful fashion. The location is central to everthing, parking was easy (and I have a 1.5 year old so I'd been a bit owrried about that), the keyless entry made for easy worry-free come and go.

I will be back time and time again. For the same price as a nice hotel, this rental affords you with 2 bedreooms, a full kitchen, spacious living room with impressive moulding and windows... and ALL of the comforts of home. True old San Francisco architecture with all of the updates of modern life. You will surely enjoy your stay!

Oh, and our little pooch loved it here too! :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Haight Estate Victorian Flat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418266vb
+1 (415) 340-2064
Lower Haight San Francisco
Michigan
5

A home for the Holidays!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My family and I spent Thanksgiving at the Haight Estate and it was wonderful! We cooked a complete Thanksgiving dinner for 10 people with no problems. Frank made sure we had everything we needed and even brought in a turkey pan and serving tray! He is wonderful, the apartment is amazing and so beautiful. The location cannot be beat. Haight street is filled with cute shops, grocery stores and great restaurants. With a bus on the corner we were able to get around the city with ease. I also had my car and had no trouble finding parking on the street. It was a truly special experience and we would definitely stay again!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1