Murphy cabin rental - FISHING DOWN THE CREEK - CAUGHT ENOUGH FOR DINNER
FISHING DOWN THE CREEK - CAUGHT ENOUGH FOR DINNER
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Murphy Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Country House / Chateau1600' 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed, 2 Baths (Sleeps 6-8)

Leave your RUSHING LIFE behind for PEACE at RUSHING CREEK RETREAT

This charming creek front home features a covered deck that extends the entire width of the home and overlooks our noisy creek. A covered front porch across the front views the mountains. (Total of 640' of covered decks). Home is on one level with one step into the home which makes it handicap accessible with limits of 30'' interior doors. All interior doors are solid wood and afford extra sound proofing. Of the 3 bedrooms, 2 are master sized with quality queen beds and the 3rd bedroom has 2 new twin beds and a sofa bed . BR's afford maximum privacy. Great for family reunions and the kids room is tucked away on the front of the home. The master bedroom, great room and kitchen overlook the creek. Kick back and enjoy the soothing sounds. For a romantic chilly day snuggle up next to the fireplace, read your book or ours, watch a movie on TV or from our movie library, take a nap, or sip hot chocolate.

GUARANTEED RELAXATION and you never have to move from your favorite spot. If you want to tour or take advantage of the wonderful amenities offered to you here just.......

FISH, FISH, FISH your troubles away in our noisy creek stocked by the TVA. Fish for dinner to Barbeque on the grill by the creek. Sit around the firepit and tell your tales while you roast your marshmellows. Pan for gold with the equipment provided or go to Franklin, NC where you can mine for gold and gems (it is free in the creek). Cool down in the creek and have some watermelon on the picnic table while you relax in the shade. Rock all your cares away in the rockers, hammocks and hammock chairs. You might try Fires Creek for a free tubing experience, hiking trail, waterfalls, and great picnic area. If you aren't relaxed when you leave, we will be shocked.

THINK POSH RETREAT!!!!!!! You will not be disappointed in the amenities and you will be one of the first to stay in this new home that is immaculate

Telescope furnished for you to enjoy the starry nights with no city lights. Panning equipment furnished to help you pan for gold. Fishing rods, lures, and waders furnished to help you catch fish for dinner.

Internet to keep you wired to the world and DVR's in 3 rooms to catch your favorite shows at your leisure.

Free long distance calls in the US only.

More Details
Hide Details

36 Reviews of Property 399638 in Murphy, North Carolina

Come Enjoy The Rushing Creek
average rating of 4.935484 based on 36 reviews
business
Come Enjoy The Rushing Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399638
+1 828 835-8265
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Hollywood Florida
5

This is a 5 Star Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
I have been going to Murphy for several years and staying in different VRBO cabins. So far all have been nice, but this one is the BEST. Clean and beautiful. The creek was very pretty. The house warm and cozy. We did not want to leave. Mary and Barry made it very easy. If you looking for a great place, no need to look any further, you found it here at Rushing Creek.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Come Enjoy The Rushing Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399638
+1 828 835-8265
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Dog Owners

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We were delighted to have you visit with us with your furry friend. I hope your dog enjoyed the house as much as you did. Our dogs love to run and smell in the open space and enjoy the creek and the cows that we occasionally see. We are so glad that you discovered some of our hidden gems of places to eat. We have two Italian Restuarants: One is out 64 West and the one in town that you enjoyed. The restuarants are owned by sisters from Sicily who are married to men from Rome and southern Italy. Both places make you feel that you are in Italy and their food is authentic. The one on 64 West allows you to bring your own wine. You can pretend you are in Italy for the day for the resturants are totally different. Shoebooties has a bar upstairs called Shotinni's where you can also eat and it feels like CHEERS. The Chop House has a world renown chef who has served many Presidents and Celebrities (pictures on the wall). Reasonable prices. Doyle's Cedar Hill Resturant has al fresco dining with heaters and firepits in the winter. They specialize in local organic food and the FL Chef has a connection to wonderful seafood.....he knows how to prepare. The Copper Door in Hayesville ( a short drive) has wonderful atmosphere with outstanding food. The on site chef from New Orleans will have you drolling over his creations. Brothers restuarant is a family oriented restuarant but has a cozy bar. It is consistently good and a nice range of food. (Best onion rings in the area). This is just a short list that will make want to try them it all. Mexican, Chinese (both owned and operated by authentic nationals). Bar b que and fast food. Blue Mountain Cafe and Coffee shop 5 minutes outside of town and across from hospital has a $6.99 buffet on Thursday night (best deal in town) and Prime Rib Special on the weekend. Great breakfasts everyday and buffets on the weekend. Great baker there and pancakes are especially good.
Thanks for making me hunger...now I have decide where we will go to eat. Please come back to our little city of Murphy and bring your dog to enjoy too. Mary and Barry
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
Come Enjoy The Rushing Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399638
+1 828 835-8265
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Atlanta, GA
5

Dog Owners

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
The listing did not do it justice. This was a marvelous property - truly felt like home. The owners supplied many small things that made my wife and I feel very welcomed. I would highly recommend this property to anyone. Antica Roma was a real find for great Italian food. Don't be fooled by the menu as they have specials on Friday and Saturday nights.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Come Enjoy The Rushing Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399638
+1 828 835-8265
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
5

HUGE beautiful cabin, dog friendly, gold panning, fishing,peaceful, short drive to Murphy..LOVED IT!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We loved this cabin/home. The "hollow" where the home is located has only a few homes, large fields, quiet neighbors, and is only about a 15min drive to Murphy. The front yard is enormous and great for sunbathing, playing a family football game or walking dogs. The home was so beautiful on the inside with it's knotty pine interior and smelled so lovely when we walked in the door. The owners go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and welcome. All the couches, chairs, and beds were comfy and there were plenty of blankets and a cozy fireplace on chilly days. Snacks (cookies, candy, awesome popcorn) and a partially stocked fridge (condiments, salad dressings, etc.) are an especially thoughtful touch and much welcomed. The large kitchen is very well stocked with pans and utensils and we ate in the whole time we were there. The gaming table was especially impressive with it's various array of checkers, chess, and tic-tac-toe boards.
The creek is so fantastic with a wonderful rushing water sound that envelops the whole property. Granted it was too cold for dipping or tubing but the dogs like wading in it and we panned for gold in the freezing water and didn't care. It was fun, relaxing, and so peaceful. We also enjoyed watching the cows graze on the other side of the creek each morning.
We followed the provided directions to the lovely waterfall that everyone reviews and it is worth the trip (only about 10min away along a nice road where the neighbors wave as you pass by). Be extra careful because it is very very slippery on the rocks and secure pets so there don't tumble over the falls. Our large dogs had harnesses and long leashes on which luckily prevented them from slipping over the edge when they explored the water.
We pretty much were hermits during the few days we stayed (except for some web surfing using the provided wifi) and we didn't mind a bit. The hermit's life was quite nice in this great place and we hope to visit again next year.
Thank you very much for sharing your home with us and our dogs.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow! You really know how to relax and enjoy your get a ways. We are pleased that you took advantage of all the games, indoors and out, and the pleasures of "cocooning" at our retreat. It tickles us that all the planning and furnishings and amenities that we put in place are appreciated. We wanted a place to give us what we like when we travel (including our dogs). I am so glad that your felt you had everything you wanted there and didn't want to leave. The waterfalls were a great find that is off the beaten path. We feel that it belongs to us. I have stayed on the road and viewed it from above. Which is also beautiful. We love the feel of getting away from it all like you did. Please come, again, and enjoy and unwind. We appreciate your business.


Mary and Barry
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Come Enjoy The Rushing Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399638
+1 828 835-8265
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Marietta, GA
5

Mtn traveler

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
The home was clean, well-stocked, and comfortable. We enjoyed the back porch overlooking the creek and sitting by the fireplace inside. The area is convenient to many activities, we chose hiking in nearby parks and shopping in Murphy. There is a beautiful waterfall right by the road just 3 miles from the house. We enjoyed practicing our photography skills there. I would definitely recommend this property to others.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Teresa, We are so glad that you felt so comfortable in our get a way. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy our waterfall. My husband is a photographer, also, and he has loved photographing this entire area. We feel that this is our private waterfall hidden away in our Piece of Paradise. Nature lovers have loved our area and have enjoyed our little town of Murphy. Thank you for choosing to stay in our RUSHING CREEK RETREAT and we hope you can come again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Come Enjoy The Rushing Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399638
+1 828 835-8265
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Pleased that you felt so at home!!

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
You have made us feel that we have accomplished what we set out to do. We wanted our rental house to feel like your home away from home. We worried about your rainy days but with the rain on the metal roof and 640 sq. ft. of covered porches, it seemed not bother you or our other renters. We are so pleased that you came from so far away to stay with us and will welcome you back anytime you can come. We love repeat renters and you fit our profile of the perfect renter.

We are so glad that you liked our little town of Murphy. We fell in love when we came here and just had to move here to enjoy. The small town, Mayberry RFD atmosphere, is just perfect for relaxing.

Thanks for you comments. Mary and Barry, owner
business
Come Enjoy The Rushing Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399638
+1 828 835-8265
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Palos Heights, IL
5

Vacation at Rushing Creek Retreat 9-3-2011 - 9-10-2011

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Had a wonderful time at Rushing Creek Retreat. Can't say enough about this beautiful house & porperty. The town of Murphy has a lot to offer, & it's residents are friendly & helpful. The surrounding area & mountains are very scenic, and we spent pleasant drives exploring. Fishing and relaxing by the creek was a great treat. The covered back porch allowed us to continue enjoying the outdoors when the weather turned rainy for a few days. The house itself made you feel like it was yours, if only for a short time. Love all that wood interior!! Looking forward to spending more time at this delightful place. Thanks, Mary and Barry, for letting other people share this special place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Come Enjoy The Rushing Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399638
+1 828 835-8265
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Fort Worth, TX
5

Let 'Em Run Free!

Let 'Em Run Free!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We stayed with our long-time friends for one week at the Rushing Creek Retreat and savored every moment spent on property. In total, there were 4 adults and 5 young children. The adults had numerous places to relax by the water, on a porch swing, in the well-appointed house, etc. Unlike our busy suburban streets at home, we could literally let the children run and play without worry. The house is located on a side street off the main road, so there is virtually no traffic except for the few neighbors. We did accompany them down to the water, but the creek was so calming I wouldn't classify that as a chore. We were spoiled by the washing machine, dish washer and Internet but we never had to use the TV. We didn't find many fish near the house, but our sons had a habit of throwing rocks in the creek, so that might explain our loss. We did enjoy tubing down the creek and the water was shallow and calm enough for the little children to play without worry of the current sweeping them away. The owners sure did consider so many details when planning for guests (outdoor games, rafting/fishing gear, kitchen utensils, indoor entertainment, etc) we didn't have to want for anything. They were also available to personally answer a quick question by phone on the day of our arrival. As for our outings, we sampled some of the good dining in Murphy, went to a farmer's market and picked up local wine. Outside Murphy, we found easy access to nearby attractions and scenery. We did have to drive between 1 and 2 hours to get to Chattanooga, Cherohala Skyway, and the Great Smoky Mountain Railroad but the roads were maintained and scenic. The Ocoee and Nantahala rivers are nearby and offer loads of adventure in a beautiful setting. On a future trip, I would spend less time sightseeing and more time relaxing at Rushing Creek Retreat with my family. We would definitely stay at this property again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Michelle, Jan, Jason & family,

We are so glad you chose our Rushing Creek Retreat for your annual get together with your friends and there was room for all. We are pleased that you found the great room is perfect for a large gathering and a family reunion or old friends reunion. The porches do give you a nice outdoor space to have some private time and we see you took advantage of it. I am glad you felt comfortable with the space and the flat yard for the children to play. The creek is God's contribution to Paradise but we put the steps in for easy access to the cool, clear water.

We are glad that you enjoyed all the local attractions but are pleased that you liked Rushing Creek Retreat so much that you wanted to stay HOME in Paradise. So glad you relaxed and enjoyed.....After all, that is what a get a way is all about.

Thanks for renting with us. Mary and Barry, owner
business
Come Enjoy The Rushing Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399638
+1 828 835-8265
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
5

Piece of Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My husband, grandson, Chase, and I spent 7 nights at Rushing Creek Retreat and LOVED every minute of it. Mary and Barry have gone to great lengths to ensure all of their guests feel welcome and comfortable the instant they walk through the door. Everything we needed was there and the home was in immaculate condition. It was wonderful to wake up every morning to the sound of the creek and feel the cool mountain air as we sat on the back porch with our morning coffee. We fished in the creek - caught enough for dinner one night; drove into Murphy several times for ice cream and went to a craft fair on the town square - very friendly people; drove to Cherokee twice - beautiful drive; and went horseback riding at Chunky Gal Stables in Hayesville - WHAT FUN!!! Our stay at Rushing Creek Retreat is at the top of our vacation list!! Mary and Barry should be very proud of the little piece of paradise they have created in Murphy - it is truly delightful. Hope to vacation there again next year!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Come Enjoy The Rushing Creek
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399638
+1 828 835-8265
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
5

A Piece of Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My husband, grandson, Chase, and I spent 7 nights at Rushing Creek Retreat and LOVED every minute of it. Mary and Barry have gone to great lengths to ensure all of their guests feel welcome and comfortable the instant they walk through the door. Everything we needed was there and the home was in immaculate condition. It was wonderful to wake up every morning to the sound of the creek and feel the cool mountain air as we sat on the back porch with our morning coffee. We fished in the creek - caught enough for dinner one night; drove into Murphy several times for ice cream and went to a craft fair on the town square - very friendly people; drove to Cherokee twice - beautiful drive; and went horseback riding at Chunky Gal Stables in Hayesville - WHAT FUN!!! Our stay at Rushing Creek Retreat is at the top of our vacation list!! Mary and Barry should be very proud of the little piece of paradise they have created in Murphy - it is truly delightful. Hope to vacation there again next year!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway