Ouray house rental - Front of house
Front of house
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps11
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Ouray House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-11)

This mountain home is located on a corner lot in a private neighborhood 2 miles north of Ouray. There is a secluded patio with outdoor fire pit, shaded by Pine tress. The patio takes up much of the small back yard, but there is plenty of room in the front for kids to play! Over-sized attached 2 car garage. The original owners of this house built a small log cabin style house. A few years later they enlarged it by adding a large living room with an loft bedroom above it and a large 2 car garage with laundry and entryway. When we purchased this house in 2006, we renovated it from top to bottom, replacing the lovely 80's carpeting with wood flooring, a new kitchen and bath downstairs and a new enlarged bath upstairs, with a skylight in the large shower, allowing for a great view of the surrounding pines while showering.

When renovating, we turned the open loft bedroom over the living room into a semi-closed off bedroom by building a full height wall with double closets. There is still open space between the living room and the master bedroom, so there may be some noise that carries over. Living there, my husband and I had no problems, but if you have a large group, your experience may be different.

There is one bedroom downstairs with a full bath. Upstairs there are 2 large bedrooms, one with 2 queen beds, one with a king bed, and a large bathroom with double sinks and view shower. The living room has pullout sofa bed.

Quiet, yet close to town. Hiking trails within walking distance. An abundance of wildlife is visible regularly, birds, small animals, deer, elk, even bears!!

Keywords: mountain home, quiet, shaded, upgraded, cathedral ceilings, 2 fireplaces, close to town,

More Details
Hide Details

We are retired paramedics from San Francisco, resettled in the mountains to get away from the everyday hustle and bustle of city living. We had visited Ouray several times prior to our move and although the lifestyle change was 180 degrees, we have really enjoyed the quiet and slower pace of our mountains.

Vicki Rooker purchased this house in 2006

Master bedroom skylights allow views of the moon & stars as we fell asleep to the quiet with only water sounds from Corbett Creek to lull us to sleep or the occasional soft 'whump' of snow cascading off of the pine boughs in winter.

30 Reviews of Property 390326 in Ouray, Colorado

Large Quiet Mountain Home Close to Ouray.
average rating of 4.633333 based on 30 reviews
business
Large Quiet Mountain Home Close to Ouray.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390326vbi
Ouray Southwestern Colorado
Ft. Worth, Texas
5

Mountain Treasure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We loved our stay in this beautiful cabin! In an area of gold and silver we found our treasure in a great place to stay while we visited the beautiful Colorado mountains. Our family vacation was made up of 4 adults and 3 teenagers and after busy days of jeep tours in Ouray and fishing in Ridgeway we had a wonderful place to rest and relax at this great house. It was stocked with everything we needed, is spacious, very clean, so pretty and welcoming, and a great home away from home. We had a great trip and as we were leaving we all voted that it was the perfect place to stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Large Quiet Mountain Home Close to Ouray.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390326vbi
Ouray Southwestern Colorado
montrose ,co
3

ouray

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The place was not clean. Also some of the lightbulbs were missing and the floors and carpets were dirtly.
Owner's Response: I apologize that you did not find our property in the condition that I expect it to be. I had used a substitute cleaner while my regular Jill of all Trades was at her son's wedding. We will not be using this substitute again, she did not do the job I expected.
Again, I am sorry that our place did not meet your standards...or mine. I have already corrected the problem.
Thank you for letting me know there were some issues.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Large Quiet Mountain Home Close to Ouray.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390326vbi
Ouray Southwestern Colorado
Enid, Oklahoma
5

AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was a beautiful house inside and out! The photos of this house did absolutly no justice to it, there was plenty of space, beds, bedding etc for everyone in our party. I would recommend this house to everyone! Thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful home!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. it is nice to know that I am meeting most expectations!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Large Quiet Mountain Home Close to Ouray.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390326vbi
Ouray Southwestern Colorado
Houston, Texas
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The house was a great size for a family group - ours was all adult - to spread out in and to relax in. We enjoyed the patio and grill. The driveway was large enough for several vehicles and having a usable garage was a definite plus. We loved Ouray and all it had to offer. The quiet small neighborhood location was nice, yet it was good to be close to town. The large sized washer and dryer was great and we made good use of it! There were plenty of towels but it would have been nice to have an extra set of sheets on hand. We needed a clean sheet set for the fold out sofa, which we used. The owner was very helpful and that was much appreciated. We would recommend this house to friends and would definitely consider using it again ourselves. It is a very nice and well-equipped house in a great Ouray location. Ouray is a fantastic location for exploring the mountains with ATV's or Jeeps, both of which we brought with us. Also, there is hiking just as available and the wildflowers up in the higher elevations were beautiful and plentifu!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review. I have taken your suggestion of extra sheets and put that into place. To be honest, I never took the next step to think about guests needing extra sheets, but I have now.
Again, I appreciate your nice words about the house. It helps to know I am doing the right thing for guests.
business
Large Quiet Mountain Home Close to Ouray.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390326vbi
Ouray Southwestern Colorado
Arvada, CO
5

Great house in a Great location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We spent 5 nights and enjoyed every minute. Home is very clean and north of Ouray a mile. Easy access and room for a large atv trailer plus additional parking! Our family of four felt comfortable and the kitchen is well stocked for cooking meals. Wildlife everywhere and photo op's for them is AWESOME! Beautiful stream across the road! Owners are great and communicate well. No issues. We will be back soon!!!!!!!
Good Eats in Ouray: Ouray Brewery for a burger and ICE CREAM at the shop accross the street!!!!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your review.
May i also mention that if you return, you must go eat a burger at Maggie's. Not to malign Ouray brewery, which is very good, but Maggie's are to die for. And you just may.....warning!! Nothing heart healthy about them!
business
Large Quiet Mountain Home Close to Ouray.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390326vbi
Ouray Southwestern Colorado
Pueble, CO
5

Happy Renters

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Great place. It had everything we could need. Would recommend to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I am so glad you were happy. I try to keep everything top-notch and it helps to hear that I am succeeding.
business
Large Quiet Mountain Home Close to Ouray.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390326vbi
Ouray Southwestern Colorado
Draper, Ut
5

Beautiful vacation home. Exceeding all expectations!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We want to thank you again for providing such great accommodations in Ouray. Your home there is fantastic! We absolutely loved it. It is much nicer than we expected. We have used VRBO homes several times in the past and this is by far the nicest home we have stayed in. We felt right at home. You are a delight to work with, so accommodating and responsive. We couldn't be happier with our getaway to Ouray.

The girls had a wonderful time. We explored the area, (Telluride, Silverton, Durango) ate in some wonderful restaurants, hiked, shopped and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We are looking forward to coming back again soon, hopefully in Sept/Oct to enjoy the fall season. We love your home and really enjoyed the surrounding areas.Absolutely Beautiful! We would love to use your home again if it is available.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so very much for your great review. I am glad that you had a good time.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Large Quiet Mountain Home Close to Ouray.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390326vbi
Ouray Southwestern Colorado
evergreen, co
5

Fine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Worked out well for two families of four and one dog. Nice place
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your kind review. It is always heartening to know that we are doing the right things to make guests happy during their stay.
business
Large Quiet Mountain Home Close to Ouray.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390326vbi
Ouray Southwestern Colorado
Arizona
5

Family Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
This lovely home was perfect for our family of ten. There was sufficient sleeping space and bathroom availability, complete with nice linens and towels. The kitchen was generously stocked with all the essentials, including dishes, pots & pans, flatware, basic spices,etc. We appreciated the large dining table and area for family meals. We enjoyed the unique floor plan and beautiful decor. The listing pictures and description more than met our expectations. The owners left explicit instructions on the functions of the home. It was very clean and welcoming. We liked the setting among the pines and near to Ouray. The children had a great time sledding on the hill outside on sleds provided by the owners. We appreciated being able to park in the garage on the cold, snowy nights. Snow had been removed from the driveway and "salt" provided for any icy spots. Communications with the owner were friendly and helpful. We would highly recommend this property to anyone seeking to enjoy Southwest Colorado and be near Ouray and a short distance from the paved highway, yet secluded among the trees in a quiet neighborhood.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.
business
Large Quiet Mountain Home Close to Ouray.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390326vbi
Ouray Southwestern Colorado
ridgway
5

VERY nice vacation rental!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Very impressed with this home. The furnishings and linens were much higher quality than a typical vacation rental. Awesome location! Quiet private neighborhood and there's a creek right across the street.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your review. I am so glad you had a good time.