South Iceland house rental - One of my grate breeding and riding mare with her new born
One of my grate breeding and riding mare with her new born
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps9
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

South Iceland House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 7-9)

In Iceland it’s illegal to rent out house/apartment to visitors without having necessary licenses. This is to ensure the safety of tourists and to make sure they receive what they are paying for. The Health Authority, Fire Department, Sheriff and Building Supervisor have to give consent so house/apartment get license.

We at Hofdatun are pleased to say that we have permission from those parties and are fully licensed vacancy house. Certificates are at display for our guests verification.

We are also very pleased to say that our guest get good discount of rental cars from Geysir rental cars in Keflavik airport

THIS BEAUTIFUL HOUSE with 8 akers of land is in the heart of south Iceland. It only takes 15 min. to drive to nearest town, Selfoss and 50 min. to Reykjavík or Thingvellir national park. Then its ideal to take the golden circel tour and drive to Gullfoss and Geysir. All around the old Geysir are more spouting hot springs, such as the ever lively Strokkur (the butter Churn), which erupts every 3-5 minutes.

The house and its surroundings is wonderful in all seasons.

At Hofdatun is a chicken coop so every morning you get fresh eggs for breakfast. During the summer time there is also 6 very gentle Icelandic horses on the field next to the house. You can take supervised riding tours on them. During the winter you can meet with the horses in their winter fields or in the stable. In the winter riding tours are arranged at nearby horse rental. We also have 4-6 pregnant mares that will give birth between june 1 and august 15 2014. Witnessing a birth of a foal is something you will never forget!

In the garden you get fresh vegetable and herbs during the harvesting season. In the garden you also have large hot tub that is wonderful to bath in winter as well as summer.

In Hofdatun are 4 bedrooms where 7 adults can sleep. Baby beds can be provided free of charge.

The view from Hofdatun is very wide, you can see the volcanic Islands Vestmannaeyjar as well as Ingolfsfjall and Eyjafjallajokull

In South Iceland you find all kind off entertainment. Among many other things you can enjoy art in museums and galleries, take a walk in prehistorical places or go surfing or river rafting (for the brave one!).

Keywords: house, farm, horses, nature, golden circel, mountain view, volcano's, relax, peace and quiet

More Details
Hide Details

I´m 42 years old and was born and raised on a farm next to Hofdatun Vacation House.

I live in the garage appartment with my 2 dogs. My favorite hobby is horse riding and breeding horses. I love to take my guests horse riding and share some folks storys from the area with them. Its been so grate to get to know all the people thats been staying in the house since june 2011.

My guests have been from U.S.A, Spaine, Holland, Germany, Denmark, Sweden, England, Finland, Greenland, Belgium, Israel, Taiwan, Canada, Norway, France and Iceland.

As you can see if you reed the rewievs on Home Away my guests are very happy with everything, both the servise I provide, the location of the house, the house it self, the animals and the nature.

Thorey Ingimundardottir purchased this house in 2011

This is where I lived as a child and I belive this is the most beautiful and wonderful place in the world. I wanted to live close to all my wonderful childhood memorys

Peace and quiet is the first words that comes to my mind. During the summer time all you usually hear is the bird singing and occasionally sheep bleat or horses whinny. Then its the horse riding, I love to ride on the bank of the grate river Thjorsa in the midnight sun. Whatching how my mares is doing and when they give birth to a healthy foal is wonderful. In the winter the northern lights and all the bright stars in the sky are astonishing. Its also grate to stay inside with hot chocolate, reading a book while snow blizzard is outside.

45 Reviews of Property 381673 in South Iceland, Iceland

Beautiful Licensed Mini-Farm in the Country Side, nature and animals
average rating of 5.0 based on 45 reviews
business
Beautiful Licensed Mini-Farm in the Country Side, nature and animals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381673vb
354-864-1147
South Iceland Iceland
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Very nice place quiet... (Posted at HomeAway.com)

  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We are very happy to stay in this house for 3 days all the family (6 persons). Very good welcome, plenty of kind attentions. The place is well situated, quiet, the house is very large, very well equiped and clean. Go in then "chicken house" to have fresh eggs to prepare your breakfast A place to stay in the South-West of Iceland
business
Beautiful Licensed Mini-Farm in the Country Side, nature and animals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381673vb
354-864-1147
South Iceland Iceland
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Une excellente adress.. (Posted at HomeAway.com)

  • Submitted: Dec 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Encore un grand merci à Thorey pour son accueil exceptionnel et sa grande générosité. Sa belle maison aux prestations récentes est en pleine nature, très propre et bien tenue. Les lits sont confortables, la salle de bains est très jolie. Thorey propose aussi des repas qu'elle prépare à la demande. Nous sommes arrivés tard, la table était mise pour nous et nous avons dégusté le meilleur agneau de notre vie...Confitures maison à ne pas rater (la confiture de carotte est divine!!!). De plus les chevaux sont magnifiques, c'est un paradis pour les animaux. Une adresse inoubliable que je recommande vivement.
business
Beautiful Licensed Mini-Farm in the Country Side, nature and animals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381673vb
354-864-1147
South Iceland Iceland
Bristol, England
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We had a fantastic time here - what a brilliant home from home. Four bedrooms, dining room, really well-equipped kitchen, great lounge and a bathroom to die for!! And loads of treats from Thorey when we arrived which was so unexpected and lovely.

And Thorey was amazing when another of our accomodations fell through and I called up and at very short notice she was more than happy for us to arrive a day early which I'm so grateful for - with three young children we weren't sure what we were going to do!

Of all our time in Iceland my son, age 5, said this was his favourite time. He loved going to collect the eggs in the morning to cook up for breakfast. And all of the children got to ride the beautiful horses - what an experience.

One of our days here it rained constantly and it was so nice to have such a cozy place to retreat to - we ventured to the supermarket for supplies and came home to cook up some food and eat delicious Icelandic cake and drink coffee while the children played.

I am so, so pleased to have found this place and Thorey was just so lovely to deal with. We really hope to return and I will recommend this to anyone coming to Iceland who wants to get a real experience of this beautiful country.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Its was all my pleasure Nichols. I hope to see you all again
business
Beautiful Licensed Mini-Farm in the Country Side, nature and animals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381673vb
354-864-1147
South Iceland Iceland
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Great stay at a great house in South Ic..homeaway

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
HomeAway


You Have a Review

Hofdatun is an ideal house to rent as it is in a great location. One can daytrip here to Reykjavik to the west to as far away as Jokulsarlon to the east. We can't say enough about the house and the property. It exceeded our expectations.The house was very nice,spacious, and fully equipped with everything you would need. There was also a huge movie collection to choose from after a long day of sightseeing.Thorey was a great hostess as she took our family out to the pasture to see the horses and even got one to "pose" with my 1 year old granddaughter. I would certainly stay here again if I came back to Iceland and I would highly recommend this property to anyone who is considering coming to this part of Iceland.
business
Beautiful Licensed Mini-Farm in the Country Side, nature and animals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381673vb
354-864-1147
South Iceland Iceland
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Great place for family holiday!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
5 of 5 stars (Reviewed at TripAdvisor)
Nice place, with only a hour car trip to all the excursions in the south west, like Gullfoss, Geysir, Thingvellir, Golden Circle, Vestmannaeyjar. We also like the opportunity to ride the horses, play with the dogs and pick up eggs from the hens to cook for breakfast.
Great place for children, and we got the chance to become familiar with the animals around the house.
The house was clean, the kitchen has all the equipment you need and much place for a big family.
Thorey, the house owner was very pleasant and helped us with all our questions.
This is a place we definitely recommend!
business
Beautiful Licensed Mini-Farm in the Country Side, nature and animals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381673vb
354-864-1147
South Iceland Iceland
United States
5

The Absolute Highlight of our Icelandic and European Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This place is magical. Especially if you like animals, you will not regret coming here to Hofdatun farm in Selfoss, but you will regret not booking a longer visit. Thorey is an incredible hostess and cook--don't miss a home-cooked meal. We didn't feel like we were staying for a paid visit--we felt like we were visiting old friends. We can't say enough good things. She welcomes you by raising a flag from your country of origin. The horses are friendly and gentle and love to be fed and played with. The dogs are sweet and friendly. Thorey and her son are so welcoming, fun, and interesting. It is very centrally located to the sites from the Golden Circle. The house itself is extremely comfortable and clean and has everything you need. We cooked, did laundry, etc. This can be as relaxed or active as you want it to be. We combined this with a stay in Reykjavik and wished we spent more time at Hofdatun. Reykjavik is also really nice, but this is a truly unique experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, thank you, thank you :) It was so enjoyable to have you both at Hofdatun and we look so much forward to meet you again:)
business
Beautiful Licensed Mini-Farm in the Country Side, nature and animals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381673vb
354-864-1147
South Iceland Iceland
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Just perfect (review posted at Tripadvisor)

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

A splendid and very clean house with a stunning view on the volcanoes and glaciers from the dining and living rooms..
A very welcoming owner who does everything she can to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Many interesting places to visit around the cottage ; Geysir, ancient parliament, waterfalls, Vestmann islands etc

5 of 5 stars Ease of booking 5 of 5 stars Directions to the property
5 of 5 stars Key pickup/access to the property 5 of 5 stars Overall condition
5 of 5 stars Quality of bedding/mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen/utensils quality
5 of 5 stars Cleanliness of bathroom 5 of 5 stars Quality of facilities/amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Relaxing place, cleanliness, countryside
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend? Yes.
business
Beautiful Licensed Mini-Farm in the Country Side, nature and animals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381673vb
354-864-1147
South Iceland Iceland
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Lost in Iceland....

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Was one of the best holidays I ever spent! Although we were on the road all day was always a feeling like "coming home" to the farm. The lovely dogs and horses and lovely Thorey made it just perfect! Would go there again and again and again and.....! Thanks for all, Thorey!
Rating:
5 out of 5
business
Beautiful Licensed Mini-Farm in the Country Side, nature and animals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381673vb
354-864-1147
South Iceland Iceland
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Our stay in the mini-farm! (homeaway.com)

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Our stay in the mini-farm!
Review Submitted: June 18, 2012 Date of Stay: April 2012
Dear Thorey,
As we already have announced, we have very much enjoyed our stay at your home and we have already recommended this mini-farm to our friends.
We liked especially the hot tubb and the kitchen. You are a very good host for your guests. And we liked the soup very much, you had cooked for us!
I had expected Iceland to be clouded and windy, but we have had spledid weather!
Thank you very much!
Yours sincerely,
Ruud, Anne-Marie, William, Stephanie, Boris, Rutger and Saskia.

Rating
5 out of 5
business
Beautiful Licensed Mini-Farm in the Country Side, nature and animals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p381673vb
354-864-1147
South Iceland Iceland
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Great Vacaation (homeaway.com)

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Review Submitted: December 3, 2011 Date of Stay: August 2011
We had an awesome stay at the well kept farm with our little daughter. Very luxuary place with a lovely owner - Thorey. There are very neat horses and chicken. Thorey keeps a herb and salad garden for the guests, and you can look for eggs in the morning. The south coast is near and one gets around quickly.

Thorey also takes you horseback riding. An experience you should not miss. For beginners, too.

So in the end we say thank you Thory!

Rating
5 out of 5