St. Simons Island house rental - The 'Up Lights' Light up the Night and Showcase the Landscaped Grounds
The 'Up Lights' Light up the Night and Showcase the Landscaped Grounds
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

St. Simons Island House Rental Photos and Description
4 BRS, 3 Full Baths , (Sleeps 2-10) 2800 sq'

The first Grand Home on the Historic Old Demere Road

MAKE A MEMORY ON DEMERE!

Our goal was to provide a comfortable and luxurious 'private home'. We believe, you will agree that we have accomplished this. There are FOUR Entertainment areas and FOUR Private BR's.You can get lost with all the space 2,800 sq'.

The Grand Front Porch of this 'private vacation home' Welcomes the SSI Trolley Tour that passes daily year round. Make sure you wave to the tourists on the SSI Trolley & to the locals as they bike by. Here you will experience True Southern Hospitality! Enjoy your mint julep or a glass of sweet tea. Sitting under the front porch you are shaded by magnificent grand live oaks and protected from the Georgia rains.

The night landscape lighting makes you feel you have arrived at an oasis, outdoor up lights flood the yard and showcase the beautiful palms and century old live oaks.

Parking is not a worry, the private drive leads you to the garage.

There are no other homes towering over the house or deck..

The beautiful front walkway leads you to the Grand Front Porch.Step through the front door to enjoy the naturally sun lite, Open Designed Living Room, Kitchen & Dining Room. This large space allows for all to have a memorable social gathering. Prepare a Sunday Brunch or Family Diner and overflow onto the Front Porch & 2nd Side Deck.

The layout affords privacy and comfort for 4 families. The 3 BR's on the main level have a split floor plan.The Private Master is off the DR. A separate hallway off the Great Room (Other side of the house main level) splits the 2 Quiet BR's/baths.

The huge upstairs is completely private showcasing 'the Ultimate Manly Game Room' and 4th BR.

The afternoon sun is so inviting to read a book or put the kids in for a nap. No need to rent 4 hotel rooms or 2 condos. The perfect 'private home'.

PLATINUM Private PROPERTY : All 4 Bedrooms were decorated with NEW furniture, window treatments and new plush mattresses with luxurious bedding. The split Master BR Suite has a King size bed,a 36' HD TV & DVD. There is a large Spa Bath with a whirlpool jetted tub, double vanities, separate shower & walk in closet. The 2 other downstairs BR's have queen beds, walk in closets and full Bathrooms. There is a private 4th BR upstairs with 1 Queen size Bed and 2 upholstered twin beds.

Light weight summer bedding and winter comforters are provided.

The new elegant, Professional Pool Table (adults only) has arrived. 'The Manly Game Room' 28'x 20' upstairs has everything your little manly heart desires: Leather Sofas, Leather chairs around the card/game table, dart board, games, a 50' plasma TV,DVD player & Georgia bean bag toss.

The Ladies can cheer you on or have a 'Ladies Getaway' downstairs for a quiet ladies night, sipping your June Bug cocktails.

EAST BEACH: Only 1 mile away. A short car drive or 10 minute bike ride. Bring your bikes or rent them and have them delivered to the house.

Admire the series of old estates on the shaded Old Demere Road. Stop at the historic National landmark 'Bloody Marsh'.

SSI has numerous activities from benefits to

Festivals. Jazz in The Park, Chili Cook-off, Casino Theater, Neptune Park, Skate Board Park ,The Ritz Theater.

Pro Golf: Sea Island,Hampton Plantation,Sea Palms are all excellent Golf Courses.

The Village for shopping, Ziggy's for nightlife, Rafters.

Historic Downtown Brunswick, Fort Frederica

Day Trips: Victorian Jekyll Island 20 mins away Little St Simons Island by ferry upon availability & Romantic Savannah 1 hour north

More Details
Hide Details

I dabble in art and loved my photography career.

I have worked art shows and also critique.

My husband is a sales consultant to the telephone industry. We have 4 kids & 2 grandkids.

What drew us to SSI was our first visit to Jekyll in 1998. We watched the Sidney Lainer Bridge being built an engineering marvel) and laugh at the times we waited for the old draw bridge to open. My husband said that's how its done... SLOW. We saw some changes but love the building code (no high-rises).

There have been many improvements to SSI, one of the best being, NEPTUNE PARK in the village. A well thought out master plan. We watched it being built in Feb 2009. A NEW Water Wonderland for all ages. It features 3 connecting pools with a kids water park, playground, mini-golf and water aerobics.

What a view overlooking the Atlantic Ocean & Jekyll Island!

Please be assured your stay at this private home will exceed your expectations

I am only a email/phone call away to answer ANY questions you have.

Barbara Pole purchased this house in 2010

This private home was exactly what we where searching for. It took 4 years to find it and many open houses.

For Weddings 2014 Combine both Properties for 6 BRs and 5 Baths. Please call me for additional information.

40 Reviews of Property 378813 in St. Simons Island, Georgia

Don't Fence Me In..Just Turn Me Loose! ' A Southern Charmer! ' READ MY REVIEWS
average rating of 4.9310346 based on 40 reviews
business
Don't Fence Me In..Just Turn Me Loose! ' A Southern Charmer! ' READ MY REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378813
St. Simons Island Coastal Georgia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

"Thank you so much for a WONDERFUL VISIT"

"Thank you so much for a WONDERFUL VISIT"
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
This review was left in MY GUEST BOOK by a Family visiting from
Ocala,Florida
"Thank you so much for a wonderful visit in your very comfortable home! We loved the space. The upstairs playroom and the absolutely fabulous weather!
It was a great spot to enjoy our family all together and celebrate a
BIG birthday."
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Don't Fence Me In..Just Turn Me Loose! ' A Southern Charmer! ' READ MY REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378813
St. Simons Island Coastal Georgia
Greenville, NC
5

A Vacation Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Our family had the most incredible week at St. Simons, and enjoyed this home more than we thought possible. We felt at home the minute we walked in the door and the floor plan is just perfect. The location is amazing and we were able to walk almost everywhere we went. We loved the game room and had a lot of fun challenging each other at pool. Barbara has done such an incredible job making this property warm and cozy, and the property is so well taken care of. The house was so clean when we arrived, and everything we needed was provided. The home does not feel like a rental property, and everything...from the appliances to the bedding to the sheets and towels...is top of the line. It really is a vacation paradise and we look forward to returning!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We take pride in ownership with a spic & span home.I am always adding something new. I am happy you enjoyed your incredible week.
Richard & Barbara
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Don't Fence Me In..Just Turn Me Loose! ' A Southern Charmer! ' READ MY REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378813
St. Simons Island Coastal Georgia
Dallas Texas
5

This property will make memories that last!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Our family was fortunate to have the opportunity to stay at this lovely vacation home on two separate occasions, and we loved every minute of it. The posted pictures actually don't do it justice, much nicer in person. The house lay out is perfect for a large gathering, the front porch and side deck offer lots of extra space to enjoy the beautiful grounds and the beds are COMFORTABLE. This is not a rental property but a much loved home that is leased on occasion. The difference between the two is telling. We also rented a comparable sized home closer to the beach from the largest vacation property management company on the island and it was not a good experience. The beds were not comfortable, our tvs were out for four days because the property management company could not get the owner to agree to upgrade the old tvs to hd---during the world series and my husband is from Texas! Now when we stayed at this property and informed the owners of a problem they had someone in the house in under an hour. The owners here love their home and are full of information about the area. When you arrive you will find a comprehensive binder that the owners' have put together full of info that might be of interest during a stay on Saint Simons.
Everyone that visited during our stay commented on the beautiful grounds and home. The house is quiet, private and located central to the beach, village and grocery store. We parked our car for most of our stay and biked everywhere (and we had our three kids with us). If you are searching for a quality vacation property where you can relax and enjoy your surroundings then look no further.
Thank you for the opportunity to stay in your beautiful home!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: This home was all we were looking for... ask Lynn Stephens @ Hilaire Bauer & Associates, who encouraged me to go see it, after looking at over 50 plus properties in 2 years of searching.

Everyone who has stayed there family and guests were amazed at the transformation from a tired home in disrepair to what it is today.
We love it and take pride in our "TRUE SOUTHERN CHARMER"

Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure hosting your family and guests!! A Memory On Demere Was Made Again
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Don't Fence Me In..Just Turn Me Loose! ' A Southern Charmer! ' READ MY REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378813
St. Simons Island Coastal Georgia
Portland,TN
5

hrleatherman@hotmail.com

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
words can't discribed this home. It meets almost everybodys needs( 0NLY A FEW STEPS)The floor plan is wonderful. We'll definitely tell others about this place. The activity room was great but really didn't use it. Barbara has been so informative about the house and the island. We've rented homes before never had this treatment from owner. THANK YOU FOR MAKING OUR VACATION WONDERFUL
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: You are the best,Helen. I knew you would enjoy the house on SSI you are so spunky and full of fun. In renting all over the Island some good and not so good. I figured out how to please my guests.
I want them to have a wonderful time. SSI is a special place and The Demere House makes it extra special!
Please come back again with your daughters, son in law and grand kids. My kind of guest,
Richard and Barbara
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Don't Fence Me In..Just Turn Me Loose! ' A Southern Charmer! ' READ MY REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378813
St. Simons Island Coastal Georgia
Atlanta
5

Demere Delight

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We had a delightful long Labor Day weekend on Demere. The house and grounds have been beautifully restored and maintained and it is centrally located with easy access to the whole island. Plenty of room to stretch our and relax. Perfect kitchen/lining area for entertaining and a great man cave for shooting pool, listening to music and watching sports. Owner provided excellent instructions and feedback and we could not have been happier with our stay. And the BBQ aroma from Southern Soul BBQ added to the ambiance. Cannot wait to return so we can stay longer than a weekend.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Demere Delight sounds like the best Ice Cream Flavor.Thank you for your review I am so happy you will be joining us again soon.
The woman probably loved the fact the MEN where occupied upstairs in the Man Cave and the WOMEN had the whole downstairs to relax in, all to themselves.
SSI is a wonderful get away & Demere Delight is the icing on the cake!! You had perfect weather this Labor Day weekend!! Thanks, R&B
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Don't Fence Me In..Just Turn Me Loose! ' A Southern Charmer! ' READ MY REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378813
St. Simons Island Coastal Georgia
Munster, Indiana
5

Great family vacation for all!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
I just wanted to tell you what a wonderful time we had at your lovely home. Spending a family vacation with 11 of your relatives may seem daunting, but the house accommodated us all so well. The kids enjoyed the upstairs bedrooms and we all had great evenings playing pool and chess while listening to music upstairs after dinner and strolls on the pier. The house is ideally located near the beach and the marina. We rented a boat for a dolphin cruise and saw many of our dolphin friends. We made a trip to nearby Jekyll Island and visited the turtle sanctuary. Of course we day-tripped to Savannah and had a grand old time in that beautiful southern city. It was a great trip and you and your husband are great to work with. We even had a little glitch with the A/C that you fixed so quickly. My in-laws were impressed. We certainly would come back in a heartbeat! Thanks for sharing your lovely home with our family!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: The house is perfect and in a wonderful location with so much space for all to enjoy. So many Day Trips next time take everyone on to Little St Simons Island.A must see,Thank you for your review do come again. Richard % Barbara
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Don't Fence Me In..Just Turn Me Loose! ' A Southern Charmer! ' READ MY REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378813
St. Simons Island Coastal Georgia
Warthen Georgia
5

Family Vacation!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I had the opportunity to arrive at the property 36 hours before the "big family"!!! I have never felt so relaxed.My family and I loved it so much !!! Words truly cannot relate the beauty and peace this place offfers!!! Gorgeous!!!!
Kimberly E. Daniel and Family
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you! I am so happy you had a few hours (you counted) to yourself before your family arrived.What is important, is that you all had a relaxing vacation, enjoyed the house, and "Made A Memory on Demere!!"
You were awesome guests,please come back again R&B Pole
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Don't Fence Me In..Just Turn Me Loose! ' A Southern Charmer! ' READ MY REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378813
St. Simons Island Coastal Georgia
Cincinnati, Ohio
5

Great Escape for Your Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My family recently stayed at this home for our annaul summer vacation... and we loved it!! Along for the trip were grandparents, parents, in-laws, siblings, family friends, and dogs - and there was plenty of room for all of us! The downstairs has a very open floor plan that enabled us all hang out and spend time together. Everyone took turns cooking each night for dinner. So whoever was incharge could still spend time with everyone else hanging out in the living room.

Each morning, the early risers enjoyed sipping their coffee on the beautiful front porch. Another GREAT aspect to this house, is the upstairs game room. This was the boys domain! My brothers camped out there for the week! Many pool games were played :) There were multiple flat screen TVs, so everyone could watch what they wanted (although there wasn't that much TV watched - there was too much else to do!).

The beds were ALL very comfortable. We all rested well each night. Barabar and Richard were always available via phone/email to help assist with any questions we had, and were great with giving suggestions or advice on what to do, restaurants to visit, what beaches to go to, etc. Thank you!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay so much! The only downfall was that it didn't last long enough.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I am so Happy You Made A MEMORY ON DEMERE!!

You are wonderful guests. What a great extended family vacation you ALL had!!
When we go to The Demere House we do the same, designate a Cook Day.
The upstairs Game Room is the Ultimate Manly Getaway.The House has the Perfect floor plan for all to spread out, with a Grand Front Porch.

I would love to have you all back, you traveled all the way from OHIO.

My best to you and your Family,
Richard & Barbara
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Don't Fence Me In..Just Turn Me Loose! ' A Southern Charmer! ' READ MY REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378813
St. Simons Island Coastal Georgia
Conyers, GA
5

The Demere House - A little Bit of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
This is THE place if you're looking for a wonderful time. The amenities are far beyond expectations and such a beautiful home . . . wow! The management could not be nicer or more professional. Their attention to detail is impressive. I can not think of anything I needed to bring except for my personal items, clothes, etc. Everything you need is there from a fantastic pool table to large screen TVs, Internet, pots and pans and so much more . . . did I mention the lighted psalm trees after dark. I highly recommend this fantastic getaway. I was proud to welcome my friends over for dinner.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Toney & Family,
I will take credit for attention to detail and management. Richard and I will do whatever possible to make your vacation" the ultimate getaway".
"A Southern Charmer"
We love our professionally landscaped & maintained yard with the up-lights on the old oaks and palm trees. It invites you back to sit on the porch and relax You were a wonderful family to work with!

Please come back again and again,
Richard & Barbara Property Owners & Management Team
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Don't Fence Me In..Just Turn Me Loose! ' A Southern Charmer! ' READ MY REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378813
St. Simons Island Coastal Georgia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
This comment was written in my "Guest Comment Book" "Thank you so much for sharing your lovely home with us during The Holidays! Perfect Location,Gorgeous Interior Design,& so Many Fun Entertaining "TOYS"
LOVE YOUR UPSTAIRS ROOM! Happy New Year and Thanks, Again!"

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay!
Helpful votes: 7/7