Palm Springs house rental - Mid-century hillside home - level in and out. Casita and garage right of wall.
Mid-century hillside home - level in and out. Casita and garage right of wall.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Palm Springs House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedroom suites (includes separate casita ), 4 full bathrooms, sleeps 6

Enjoy the spectacular natural setting of this 1/4-acre, remodeled, modern, hillside property in the desirable Mesa neighborhood known as a “wind free” zone with great walkability.This modern retreat is simply magical with its magnificent, established landscape and gorgeous outcroppings of rock formations set against the stark white mid-century styling of the home.Experience a relaxed and comfortable modern living environment with a level in/out, open floor plan perfect for seamless indoor/outdoor Palm Springs living.The large bedrooms have private baths and patios leading to the UV filtered private pool (30’x10’) and built-in spa (7’x7’) tucked into the mountain landscape with amazing and ever-changing dramatic views.There's a professional kitchen, classic contemporary furnishings, original artwork, concrete/ceramic/granite surfaces, HDTV, gas grill, wireless internet and garage.Enjoy your retreat or explore other local desert activities: hike, golf, shop, eat, spa, art/music

Participate locally: If you arrive by Thursday, the Palm Springs' downtown area 'Village Fest' on Palm Canyon Drive is transformed into a bustling street fair...Artists, craftsmen, food vendors, musicians and entertainers are there to entertain. Stock up on local farm veggies/fruit or enjoy some great people watching.

Also experience, on Friday from 4pm to 9pm, 'First Friday On North Palm Canyon' (every month, year-round), between Tachevah and Amado Road, featuring entertainment, food and fun, where more than 50 antique furnishings and art stores remain open into the late evening.

* Local Area activities: Palm Springs' Aerial Tram, Jeep Tours, Water Park, Spa Facilities, Galleries, Museums, Theaters, IMAX.

* Nearby: Joshua Tree National Monument, Cabazon Outlet Mall.

* Two hours to: Orange County (Disneyland, Universal Studios and beaches), San Diego (Zoos, Sea World, Legoland), Lake Arrowhead (sightseeing and shopping), or Big Bear (skiing).

Hike: Miles of hiking trails are within a 1/4-mile walking distance from the house and there are trails with mountain access at the wash at the end of our cul de sac. Great hiking trails include: Palm Canyon, Murray Canyon, Tahquitz Canyon and multiple trails off the Palm Springs Aerial Tramway. Also stroll through Moorten's Botanical Garden less than a 1/4-mile from the property.

Tennis: We provide two adult tennis rackets and two youth tennis rackets for you to play at any of the local tennis courts. Ruth Hardy Park has 8 courts in prime condition. No charge for use of the courts to play.

Option for single players at Ruth Hardy Park: Players from expertise level 5.0 to 3.0 can pick a rotational play court to fit w/ your skill level. Ask someone waiting at the courts for more info about the system and they should be helpful. Single players sit by a court when 4 people are playing. At end of a set, 3 people will stay on the court and one person will rotate out allowing you to play. Shaded benches under mature trees provide relief in the heat of the summer.

More Details
Hide Details

We live in a cooler often chilly climate in Northern California. Palm Springs offers us a place to switch gears, warm our bones and provides us a delightful environment to engage nature and enjoy the many enlivening activites in the desert.

Barbara purchased this house in 2009

We have been traveling to Palm Springs with good friends who owned a home in the desert since 2001. We were excited to find a home in a natural desert setting that we could renovate, enjoy and share with others!

31 Reviews of Property 378452 in Palm Springs, California

Modern Hillside Retreat++Private++Great Views++Wind-Protected ++Paradise!
average rating of 5.0 based on 31 reviews
business
Modern Hillside Retreat++Private++Great Views++Wind-Protected ++Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378452
+1 415 716-8897
Palm Springs California Desert
Pasadena, CA
5

Perfect house in palm springs!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Thank you Barbara for renting us this wonderful vacation home!! It was a very last minute thing when my friends and I decided to go on the trip but Barbara made this happened for us in a very easy way. She responsed to my emails in a timely manner and gave us lots of info about the property! We did not leave the house at all cuz it has everything that we need!!
If u are looking for a vacation home in the area, this is for sure the perfect rental!
We will be back!!! Thanks again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure working with you to set up this girls weekend for you and your friends. Come back soon! Thanks Jeannie!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Modern Hillside Retreat++Private++Great Views++Wind-Protected ++Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378452
+1 415 716-8897
Palm Springs California Desert
Seattle, WA
5

Beautiful, well-maintained, contemporary home.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Beautiful, well-maintained, contemporary home. The pictures give a good impression, but it really is even more beautiful in person. It was everything we love about visiting Palm Springs - a blend of natural beauty flowing into a simple, spacious, well designed interior. The owners were extremely responsive and helpful. Everything worked - the TVs, Grill, Pool & Spa. No hitches or problems with anything. The location is great as well - right off of S Palm Canyon but was quiet and peaceful and felt like a real retreat.
We've rented several properties in Palm Springs and other cities - this is one of the best.
Owner's Response: Thank you Jeremy! We're thrilled you took full advantage of the home and the area! We appreciate you sharing your experience and perspective with other renters.We hope you return soon!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Modern Hillside Retreat++Private++Great Views++Wind-Protected ++Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378452
+1 415 716-8897
Palm Springs California Desert
San Francisco, CA
5

Palm Springs Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
. . ."the best family vacation ever", says (7 year old) Lily Z. We thoroughly enjoyed our week in this lovely, perfectly appointed modern palm springs retreat. The house and casita were even more beautiful and spacious than the listing represented. Everything was new and well maintained. We enjoyed the tandem bike rides into town, and the easy access to golf for the whole family. Lily loved the pool and Soak City (waterslide park). We not only will highly recommend the propety to friends; we had friends drop by on their way back to LA, and they loved the house so much they were already making a plan to book the space. The owners were very responsive during the booking phase, and we arrived to a "big green book" of helpful information on the kitchen counter that made our time there very easy. The roses were a sweet touch too. This is a very special property and suitable for family or adult getaways. We'll be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Please tell Lily Z she's welcome anytime...her family too :) Thank you for the review and the other kind notes left for us in the guest book at the house for all to see!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Modern Hillside Retreat++Private++Great Views++Wind-Protected ++Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378452
+1 415 716-8897
Palm Springs California Desert
redondo beach
5

Incredible hideaway, great owners

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
What an incredible, beautiful and comfortable home. The location in the Mesa gives you beautiful views and keeps you protected from the wind. The house is super modern, beautifully done, very comfortable and clean as a brand new house. The owners were the nicest people to work with...we will definitely be back!

Rick
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Rick! We appreciate the great feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern Hillside Retreat++Private++Great Views++Wind-Protected ++Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378452
+1 415 716-8897
Palm Springs California Desert
Austin, TX
5

Great Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
The photos do not do justice to this lovely property. It is pristine and equipped with all top-notch amenities. The location is convenient to everything in Palm Springs, and the furnishings and style help you live the mid-century Modernism lifestyle. We were greeted by this wonderful, sunny home complete with fresh fruit and flowers in the kitchen. Most evenings we sat in the front rockers and watched the "bird show" and the bunnies in the field nearby. You're in town and nature all at the same time in this lovely setting. We can't wait to return. Thanks Barbara, for sharing your lovely home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: You really got what this property is about...natural beauty, easy modern-relaxed living, and convenient to all things Palm Springs! I agree, it's hard to describe in words and pictures...you just really need to experience it. Come back soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern Hillside Retreat++Private++Great Views++Wind-Protected ++Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378452
+1 415 716-8897
Palm Springs California Desert
Irvine,CA
5

WONDERFUL VACATION HOME

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Thank you for sharing your house with us. The house was beautiful & we loved the view. The kids had a blast with the pool. We greatly appreciated your attention to details (everything and more were provided). We'll definitely come back. :)"
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you Suzie! Your review is music to our ears! We look forward to your return!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern Hillside Retreat++Private++Great Views++Wind-Protected ++Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378452
+1 415 716-8897
Palm Springs California Desert
5

An amazing getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We LOVED our stay here! Barbara has thought of everything - no detail has been overlooked. The setting is spectacular with an amazing mountain view from the pool area. The beds are very comfortable, the home is very roomy and nicely decorated with a tasteful mid-century modern vibe. The home was extremely clean, which is a must for me! It's near downtown, but located in a quiet neighborhood. My kids wanted to come back, even before we left! You will LOVE this home, and I can't wait to return! thank you, Barbara!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: We're so glad you took full advantage of the property and that you made the trek from NorCal with your family. Let us know when we can accomodate you again. Thanks for the great review Julie! It was a pleasure working with you too!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Modern Hillside Retreat++Private++Great Views++Wind-Protected ++Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378452
+1 415 716-8897
Palm Springs California Desert
Marin, CA
5

A Fantastic Gem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
My family and I had a wonderful time at this truly unique gem. The home is immaculate. The owners really thought of everything you might possibly need to enjoy a retreat in the desert. From fine linens to beautiful art, to all things kitchen, this home has it all. The owners have amazing design sense.

The owners we very accommodating and straight forward. They left great instructions on everything we needed in the home, as well as really great information on the local attractions.

I would highly recommend this property without hesitation to anyone looking for an amazing desert vacation. We will definitely return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We appreciate knowing that our "new" rental is being so well received by our vacation guests! You and your family brought great energy to Modern Hillside Retreat, making this desert vacation house a real home! Thank you Annie for the review. We look forward to working with you again.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Modern Hillside Retreat++Private++Great Views++Wind-Protected ++Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378452
+1 415 716-8897
Palm Springs California Desert
Sacramento, California
5

I love my other office!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
I come to Palm Springs regularly for it's delicious weather. This time, I left chilly Sacramento by car at 6:00am and arrived in sunny Palm Springs at 1:30pm. Your house let me work on my computer with ease, as if I were at the office. Instead I was in my shorts and t-shirt, looking out at the amazing pool and palm trees. It really beats the rain and cold up North. I love your location with its easy access to the best coffee at Koffi and mexican food at Mirasol. All within walking distance! This place rocks!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern Hillside Retreat++Private++Great Views++Wind-Protected ++Paradise!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p378452
+1 415 716-8897
Palm Springs California Desert
San Francisco
5

Lucky me!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
I was one of the first to land in this newly remodeled (and newly available) rentals in Palm Springs. The simplicity, yet comfortable style of this home is the perfect contrast to the natural desert environment. From the magnificent Ocotillo and poolside palms, to the fine bedding and bath linens...it was all a feast for the senses. I look forward to returning for many years to come.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Lucky us to have such a great vacationer and supporter! Thanks Grame for your vote and hurry on back soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1