Jordaan apartment rental - the canal
the canal
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Jordaan Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Attached Unit, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

SPECIAL OFFERS FOR LONG TERM RENTALS (1 month+) Call me at 0031652454998 or mail me!

Very nice and charming apartment (55 sq M.) in a recently renovated canalhouse, built on one of the smaller canals (lijnbaansgracht). Located in the old city center in the district called the 'Jordaan' .

The Jordaan is a lively but quiet, picturesque, local, authentic, safe and friendly neighborhood, scattered between and around the Amsterdam canals. It is just off the noisy commercialized tourist zone but with everything right on your doorstep: small streets and squares, tree-bordered canals, loads of monuments, a variety of small restaurants, bars, terraces and all sorts of shops (amongst which supermarkets, bakery, evening shop, etc.). There is a street market around the corner every Saturday (also organic food) and Monday (also flea market). Amsterdam Central Train Station is only a 15-minutes walk away. Anne Frank House only 5. You can get everywhere easily by foot but if you prefer also by public transport

The apartment has a private entrance. Once inside the apartment you enter the living/kitchen (ground level). The living has a very nice couch. Through the windows you can see the boats pass by. The kitchen is fully equiped. A good bottle of Chardonnay awaits you. The nespresso coffee machine is ready. George Clooney made sure there is a supply of cups.

The stairs down lead to the 'souterrain' where the master bedroom is located. Attached to it is a small second bedroom 'or attached unit' (6 sq. meters) where you can find a bunkbed and a closet. The bathroom is also located on this floor. It has a very nice and large bath and a shower unit.

The whole apartment is tidy, new and clean and has a very nice wooden floor.

The apartment is easy to reach from Central-Station by citybus 21 (4th stop is Marnixplein) Only 2/3 minutes walk to the apartment.

CHECK-IN PROCEDURE

All guests are greeted upon arrival to exchange keys and payments, regardless of arrival time. Please let us know what time you plan on arriving to the apartment at least one week before your check-in date. If possible I can pick you up at the central station.

To make a booking definitive I ask for a deposit.

Deposit returned if cancellation is made 6 weeks prior to stay

Cancellation made less than 6 weeks prior, deposit returned if dates are booked.

Amount for ENTIRE stay to be paid upon arrival in euro's in CASH.

Keywords: flat, townhouse, apartment,

More Details
Hide Details

My name is Danny, I am married to Larissa and we have two kids, Sarah and Yuri.

The Owner purchased this apartment in 2011

We decided to buy this apartment because we have seen it being completely renovated and we really like this area. I live in this neighborhood for 13 years now and we love it. Its the city, but it feels like a village.

The apartment comes in very handy because my wife and I have family living abroad. My brother lives in Spain and my wife's brother lives in Brazil. Now, when they come to Holland they have a home.

Amsterdam is great by foot, bike and boat. Bikes are available everywhere in Amsterdam (nearest on Bloemgracht).

I also own a small boat. If the weather is fine and my schedule allows it, maybe I'll take you for a ride. If not, there is a rental company nearby. It's really worth your while.

The apartment is brand new, clean and comfortable.

31 Reviews of Property 369815 in Jordaan, Netherlands

Quiet, Comfortable Apartment with Canalview, in Citycenter
average rating of 4.967742 based on 31 reviews
business
Quiet, Comfortable Apartment with Canalview, in Citycenter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369815vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
Woodinville, WA
5

Fabulous place to stay in Amsterdam

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Our family of 4 had a wonderful time in Amsterdam. Danny is a kind and generous host. We were picked up at the train station and brought back to the apartment which was beautifully decorated, clean and well equipped. We all rested very well after long days of touring. The Jordaan area is a great place to stay, just minutes to nice restaurants, shops and the Anne Frank house. I would highly recommend renting bikes which gave us the freedom to be minutes away from all the Amsterdam sights. Our boys, ages 12 and 14, loved it.
We would love to return to Amsterdam and would definitely recommend this apartment.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quiet, Comfortable Apartment with Canalview, in Citycenter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369815vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
San Francisco
5

Perfect location and apartment for a long weekend in Amsterdam!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We spent 3 nights/4 days at Danny's place in the Jordaan neighborhood during the xmas break and very much enjoyed our stay. The apartment itself is beautifully renovated with a modern, stylish decor and had everything we needed. It is bright and the main living space is at ground level looking right at the canal. The master bedroom and bunk bed rooms were perfect for my wife and I and our 2 kids (11 and 8).

While the location on the edge of Jordaan might seem a bit far from the center, we really enjoyed being away from the tourist center and surrounded by more real touch people in a very cool area with great shops, restaurants, bakeries, etc. Despite the on/off rain and cold that time of year, we still walked to and from central station with our (small duffel bags) and it's about a 25 - 30 min walk. We also walked to the center everyday all along the great canals and that is really part of the beauty of amsterdam. I would certainly stay there again and Danny was very hospitable and flexible and lives right across the canal.

Two thumbs up from us and we will likely be back!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Quiet, Comfortable Apartment with Canalview, in Citycenter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369815vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
Phoenix
5

Lovely canal experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Really wonderful canal-side apartment. Danny and Larissa are wonderful. Highly recommend.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Quiet, Comfortable Apartment with Canalview, in Citycenter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369815vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
NY, NY
5

Excellent stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
The apartment was beautiful and very conveniently located. The owner was extremely hospitablem and warm. We had an excellent stay and highly recommend others visiting Amsterdam.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Quiet, Comfortable Apartment with Canalview, in Citycenter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369815vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
UK
5

Highly recommended apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Three of us had an excellent stay in this lovely, well-equipped and brilliantly located apartment. Jordaan has loads to offer - bars, restaurants and coffee shops - and you can walk almost anywhere from here. It's also a joy to wander round and it's so nice to stay right on the canal.

The second bunk room is through the main bedroom, so it's best suited for close friends/family, or perfect for kids!

The owners are very welcoming and helpful and had plenty of local knowledge to offer.

We would definitely recommend this apartment and hope to return again.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Quiet, Comfortable Apartment with Canalview, in Citycenter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369815vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
London and Redmond, WA
5

Excellent Apartment in the Jordaan

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
This is a great little apartment in a great location. It's about a 20 minute walk to all the major sites. There are excellent restaurants in the neighbourhood. (Our favourites were Brasserie Vlaming and De Vergulde Gaper - a perfect pub.) The neighbourhood itself is quiet and relaxed. The apartment is great space for two. We had a teenager with us and it was still good space. There are a pair of bunks just behind the main bedroom on the lower level. The apartment is spread over two floors connected by stairs. The owners were super helpful. This was great value.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quiet, Comfortable Apartment with Canalview, in Citycenter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369815vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
Greendale Wisconsin USA
5

Perfect Location Perfect Host

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
I cannot say enough about this wonderful apartment. It was within walking distance to many restaurants and grocery stores, a short walk to the Anne Frank house area and easy to get to public transportation. We walked everywhere when we were there. Viewing beautiful houses and the canals made any walk easy.
The apartment itself was clean, modern, safe and well-stocked with anything you would need to make your stay stress free - it even included a welcome bottle of wine:)
The beds are so comfortable and the apartment so quiet - we slept well every night.
The price was more reasonable than most hotels and Danny, our host was friendly and knowledgeable. He picked us up at the train station which not only made it easy to find the apartment, get the keys and get situated, it also helped us to locate the nearest grocery stores and restaurants as he pointed them out along the way.
We were a family of 4 (an 18 yr old son, a 12 yr old daughter and my husband and I). We did not feel as though we were tripping over each other when we were all there together as they would often be downstairs when we were up.
Free WIFI, cable TV and a CD player are also made the house a home.
We would highly recommend this apartment to anyone looking for a well priced alternative to a cramped hotel room. Don't forget to buy some extra bread to feed the ducks and swans who swim down the canal each evening! :)
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Quiet, Comfortable Apartment with Canalview, in Citycenter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369815vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
British Columbia, Canada
5

Amazing Apartment!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and couldn't be happier with the accommodations or the owners. The apartment is located in a beautiful and quiet neighborhood on a canal and is very close to restaurants, cafe's, shopping and museums. The owners provided a map that pointed out all of the local amenities you might need during your stay including bike rentals, pharmacy, grocery store and more. Everything in the apartment was clean, modern and well kept and very well designed. The en-suite bathroom was especially nice with a large double sink, rain shower and enormous bath tub! The wifi worked great for both my laptop and smartphone, and the kitchen was stocked with the basic cooking supplies such as oils, salt and pepper and coffee and tea.

I would highly recommend this apartment to a variety of prospective travelers, couples, small families and more. I will certainly tell my friends, and hope to return one day soon!

Thank you for a wonderful stay!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Quiet, Comfortable Apartment with Canalview, in Citycenter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369815vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
England
5

Jen A (United Kingdom)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
The apartment was in a great location and owner was very helpful and willing to assist with anything needed. He picked us up from Central Station upon arrival. The entire apartment was clean, organized, and modern. I would highly recommend this apartment to anyone. During my stay there were two adults and two children and we had plenty of space.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Quiet, Comfortable Apartment with Canalview, in Citycenter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p369815vb
Jordaan Amsterdam
Canada
5

Great Location, Great Host, Modern Comfortable Apartment, Everything You Will Need.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
I have nothing but good things to say about this apartment and it's host. The interior was modern filled with all essential ammenities, it was clean, and organized. It is a great location walking distance to all Amsterdams main attractions. The renter was very easy to get a hold of and willing to assist with anything we required. I stayed with three companions quite comfortably for a week, location is private and backs onto a beautiful canal. It was a very well priced, well orchestrated location and helped enhance my overall Amsterdam experience. Highly reccommended.