Santa Claus farmhouse rental - Wilmes Farmhouse
Wilmes Farmhouse
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Santa Claus Farmhouse Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 10-12)

The Wilmes Farmhouse is a 1900's farm home that has been newly renovated. The original oak trim and hardwood floors remain intact and add to the rustic feel of the farm home. It offers beautiful views from the front porch swing and throughout the home. Tranquil sunsets can be viewed from the adjoining balcony. The large shade trees are perfect for picnics. The home is suitable for single families or groups.

After a day at Holiday World, hiking, antiquing, or sightseeing the farmhouse is a peaceful place to relax. Children and adults alike will enjoy. A stay in the farm house will be a memory no one will soon forget.

29 Reviews of Property 346425 in Santa Claus, Indiana

Wilmes Farmhouse
average rating of 4.862069 based on 29 reviews
business
Wilmes Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346425
+1 812 630-9101
Santa Claus Indiana
Kentucky
5

Super Clean and Roomy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We stayed at the Wilmes Farm House for two nights in July. There were 10 people in our group. We had plenty of room and everything was extremely clean. The kids enjoyed the dollhouse upstairs. We will definitely stay here again when planning a vacation at Holiday World.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Wilmes Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346425
+1 812 630-9101
Santa Claus Indiana
Indy
5

Great house in the country

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
It's not far off the highway, but you feel like you are way out in the country. What a nicely decorated/renovated house. We appreciated how clean it was and having more space than in a hotel. The owners made it very easy to rent and use. We hope to return sometime!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Wilmes Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346425
+1 812 630-9101
Santa Claus Indiana
Robertsville
5

Awesome Farmhouse, can't wait to return!!

Awesome Farmhouse, can't wait to return!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Just returned from visiting the Wilmes Farmhouse and the family is already asking when we can go again. The location is perfect, not far off the interstate and so close to Holiday World. We all enjoyed the old world charm the home reflects, yet appreciated the modern conveniences we've become accustomed to (satellite TV was a must for the guys). The little ones (2,3,4 & 7) were thrilled to see the doll house and enjoyed watching the cows. There was plenty to hold their attention so the adults could relax after a long day at the water park. Thanks so much to the Wilmes family for the experience!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Wilmes Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346425
+1 812 630-9101
Santa Claus Indiana
Martinsville, IN
5

Back As a Repeat Guest!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
This was our second vacation at the Wilmes Farmhouse because we had such a great time last summer. We come with a large group of 4 families (basically one family per bedroom) with lots of kids. The kids are always excited about Holiday World...but the adults are excited about the farmhouse!

The owners take very good care of the house and it is always clean and spotless when we arrive. It has modern appliances and amenities such as leather couches, a big screen TV, and stainless steel appliances. They even take suggestions from visitors to heart, and have added several things over time, such as a railing to the staircase.

The property is peaceful and secluded, but just minutes from Holiday World. We love it, would recommend it, and will be back next year! All it was missing this year was a pizza cutter and a curtain for the antique bedroom door which has a window in it. Thank you for a wonderful visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Wilmes Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346425
+1 812 630-9101
Santa Claus Indiana
5

The Perfect Thanksgiving

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
Needed a place where family from Utah, Virginia, and Ohio could meet for Thanksgiving... Wilmes Farmhouse was perfect! The 3 regular bedrooms were great for 3 young couples, and the largest upstairs bedroom gave plenty of room for parents and younger siblings. Much more spacious than we anticipated, and with 2 babies in the house we were pleasantly surprised how soundproof most of the rooms were! The house was clean and orderly, well-decorated, and had plenty of kitchenware and cookware (It was like cooking Thanksgiving dinner at home - plenty of pots and pans). The Wilmes were very pleasant to work with and answered all our questions and concerns immediately. We certainly recommend this for family get-togethers any time of year! (The heat in the house was amazingly quick and then steady even during a cold, somewhat rainy Thanksgiving week!) Very relaxing and homely place. Thanks!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Wilmes Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346425
+1 812 630-9101
Santa Claus Indiana
Indianapolis, IN
5

Wonderful family weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We spent a weekend at this charming farmhouse with friends and family. It was wonderful. We had five families with folks ranging in age from 4 to 68 and everyone was very comformtable. The large bedroom on the first floor was especially nice, since one of our guests has difficulty with stairs. The house was immaculate, the beds were very comfy and the rooms were all quite spacious. We spent the day Saturday at Holiday World, a convenient 10 minutes away, and then returned to the house for a birthday celebration. It was a great place to unwind after a busy day at the park. The gas grill, patio chairs and croquet set were all greatly appreciated. I had a question for the owner while we were there, sent her an email and she responded within the hour -- very helpful!! I will definitely keep this on my list of places to return to with our active family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Wilmes Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346425
+1 812 630-9101
Santa Claus Indiana
Martinsville, IN
5

A Wonderful House for Larger Families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Our family has made an annual weekend trip to Holiday World for three years. There are four families (dad and step-mom, three siblings and their families) and in the past, we've stayed in separate hotel rooms. This year I found the Wilmes Farmhouse, and for less than a hotel we were all able to stay in the same house together!

We had children ages two months to seven years old as well as adults in the house, and everyone had a great time. There was plenty of room for everyone in the spacious four bedrooms. Each family basically had their own bedroom, all of which had spacious closets and dressers. The beds were comfy and had four pillows each.

The house is very beautiful and was tastefully decorated. There is a great view from an upstairs balcony off of the bedroom. It is very quiet, as it sits on a gravel road in the middle of cornfields; yet it is only about 10 minutes from Holiday World.

The kitchen was large and had a nice dining room table that seats 6 people, with another table in the living room to seat 4. The owners really thought of a lot of nice touches, and appear to be adding new items as they are recommended by guests.

I cannot say enough good things about this house. It was a great place to stay and we will be back next year! Thank you to the Wilmes family for your hospitality.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Wilmes Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346425
+1 812 630-9101
Santa Claus Indiana
Fishers, In/USA
5

Last Minute Quick Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
This place was lacking nothing but a journal to post how wonderful of a stay we had here! Waiting until the last minute to find somewhere to stay July 4th weekend with no luck, I stumbled across the Wilmes farmhouse. And what a find for the price. It was very spacious for the seven of us. Free washer & dryer (soap provided). The bathroom upstairs was huge (soap & hair dryer provided). The house was very nicely decorated. One bedroom upstairs had a walkout balcony that looked out over a meadow and a working farm. There was the friendliest dog that came to say hi and my 6yr old grandson was not scared.
The owner was very accommodating with answering my questions about amenities via e-mail before we checked-in. And extending our check-out time while we were at Holiday World before we left. Did I mention this is just 10 minutes from Holiday World off Hwy 162.
The only disappointments was after being gone all day in the heat, we wanted to come back to a cool home, but the upstairs would be very warm. But we just adjusted the air, turned on the ceiling fans, stayed downstairs for about 15 minutes and it cooled off enough for us to go upstairs.
We are planning a return visit and hoping to stay there a week next time so we can visit some caverns, Lincolns boyhood home, Lincoln State Park, & Holiday World/Splash-n-Safari of course.
Thank you to the Wilmes family & especially Grandfather Wilmes. You have a beautiful farmhouse and I'm sure their were many memories there. We highly recommend the Wilmes Farmhouse!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Wilmes Farmhouse
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p346425
+1 812 630-9101
Santa Claus Indiana
Nashville, TN
5

Exceptional Value, Great Owners and Wonderful Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
A group of us (3 adults, 2 teenagers and 2 preschoolers) recently made an impromptu visit to Holiday World and needed a place to stay. After reviewing several alternatives (including Santa's Cottages and local hotels) ranging in price from $140 to $180 per night, we came across the Wilmes Farmhouse on vrbo.com.

While the pictures and descriptions are very appealing, the home must be seen to be appreciated. It is perfectly decorated, very well furnished and every bed is extremely comfortable. The extra space was great, especially for the kids. The home sits on a working farm, with cows, chickens and corn - lots of corn. It was very relaxing. Best of all, the owners were very accomodating and a great resource for local information. We highly recommend this rental. In fact we are in the process of plannng our next trip!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7