Volcano Arenal house rental - Entrance from parking area
Entrance from parking area
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Volcano Arenal House Rental Photos and Description
Home 2 bedrooms / 2 bathrooms. Cabana 1 bedroom /1 bathroom

Following a year off for health reasons, and our sincere apologies to those unable to book, we are open again after March 1, 2014.

We are central, yet secluded, with patios, balconies and grounds looking on to the world famous Arenal Volcano. This Almendro home has a wrap-around balcony, is gated and very private.

We are near the charming town of La Fortuna, and our area is famous for its diversity of interests. These include bird watching, river rafting, jungle cruises, jungle canopy tours, butterfly farms, horseback riding, world famous spas and hot springs or relaxing and enjoying the best views of the spectacular Arenal Volcano. And because we are well located on the main road, all is within easy access

We have been a Bed and Breakfast for about 15 years, with excellent reviews in the guide books, Our housekeeper/cook Miriam is local, friendly, helpful and has developed a great reputation for her breakfasts, which you can read about in the reviews. She is the soul of the place.

Security: Although the property is on the main road, with easy access to all the local attractions, it is gated, fenced, on a partial rise, and thus very safe and private. The newly formed 'tourist police' make regular checks.

More Details
Hide Details

I'm a Canadian who came here in 1993 for a combination of adventure and investment. I built a home in La Palma overlooking Arenal Volcano, and because of the shortage of places for people to stay gradually became involved in tourism. It has been a wonderful experience meeting people from all over the world. When it comes to the wonders of nature, everyone reacts in a similar way. Awe, respect and wonder and delight.

Grant Carlson purchased this house in 1995

When I decided on Costa Rica as a place to live in and invest I knew very little, apart from its positive reputation. It was only later that I realized I needed a 'where' in Costa Rica. After driving around the country for a week or so I arrived in La Fortuna and immediately knew that this was where I wanted to be. It was something I still can't explain. I built the home, which eventually evolved into a B and B, about two years after arriving. I drove a fifth wheel down here from Vancouver and lived in that until the house was complete.

The Nicaraguan and Costa Rican people Ive become friends with over the years have enhanced my life immeasurably. As well. the climate, the greenery, fresh air, the birds and, of course, the volcano, all serve to make this area a very special place in the world.

30 Reviews of Property 333618 in Volcano Arenal, Costa Rica

A home surrounded by birds, flowers, fantastic views and hot springs. Exc. Rates
average rating of 4.92 based on 30 reviews
business
A home surrounded by birds, flowers, fantastic views and hot springs. Exc. Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333618
+1 604 325 5277
Volcano Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
Pembroke, Ontario
5

Home away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
What a treat it was to stay in the main house at Posada Colonial. Four of us stayed there for three splendid weeks. We bonded with our dear host Grant and felt very well taken care of. He is helpful, considerate, courteous and a happy person. The spacious house is beautifully designed, with a wrap around veranda on both levels. The two bathrooms are roomy and beautifully tiled. There is a full kitchen with two large dining tables, one inside, one outside, where we easily seated 8 people for dinner parties. Mount Arenal is in full view, flowers are blooming everywhere in the well kept gardens, birds visit and sometimes monkeys swing by, and a path through the jungle leads to an enchanting creek. Laundry and cleaning services are available, and there is also a charming apartment for rent above the open garage if extra space is needed. A gate is closed at night, there is a yard light but we felt safe at all times. A lovely and very good restaurant is within walking distance at the Volcano Lodge, and a bit further is a wood fired pizza restaurant with excellent pizza. Baldi Hot Springs is a few miles down the road and Tabacon Spa a few miles the other way. A vehicle would be advantageous to have as town is a bit of a distance but taxis are easy to call and certain tours provide shuttle pickup. I highly recommend this wonderful home, and would go back in a heartbeat. Thank you Grant for sharing this treasure.
Owner's Response: It was a very real pleasure to have you and your wonderful family stay with us for those 18 days, Marina, and we missed you when you left. This is a place where I've been able to meet people from all over the world and often something magical happens. Whether its the energy from the volcano, as we discussed during your visit, or something else, I don't know. Of course we are looking forward to seeing you again soon, as well as the other friend you said might be visiting. Thank you again for your very kind words, Marina, and every Happiness to you and your loved ones. Grant
business
A home surrounded by birds, flowers, fantastic views and hot springs. Exc. Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333618
+1 604 325 5277
Volcano Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
5

Home away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
What a treat it was to stay in the main house at Posada Colonial. Four of us stayed there for three splendid weeks. We bonded with our dear host Grant and felt very well taken care of. He is helpful, considerate, courteous and a happy person. The spacious house is beautifully designed, with a wrap around veranda on both levels. The two bathrooms are roomy and beautifully tiled. There is a full kitchen with two large dining tables, one inside, one outside, where we easily seated 8 people for dinner parties. Mount Arenal is in full view, flowers are blooming everywhere in the well kept gardens, birds visit and sometimes monkeys swing by, and a path through the jungle leads to an enchanting creek. Laundry and cleaning services are available, and there is also a charming apartment for rent above the open garage if extra space is needed. A gate is closed at night, there is a yard light but we felt safe at all times. A lovely and very good restaurant is within walking distance at the Volcano Lodge, and a bit further is a wood fired pizza restaurant with excellent pizza. Baldi Hot Springs is a few miles down the road and Tabacon Spa a few miles the other way. A vehicle would be advantageous to have as town is a bit of a distance but taxis are easy to call and certain tours provide shuttle pickup. I highly recommend this wonderful home, and would go back in a heartbeat. Thank you Grant for sharing this treasure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
A home surrounded by birds, flowers, fantastic views and hot springs. Exc. Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333618
+1 604 325 5277
Volcano Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Great value for a great place

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Great value for a great place

Guest: Mo (Portland, OR)
Date of Stay: 12/16/11 Review Submitted: 12/20/11

Posada Colonial was recommended to me by a friend in San Ramon. I looked into the recommendation and was very happy I did so. I felt like I stumbled upon a hidden gem. The owner is very hospitable and has been in the area for over 20 years, so he knew all the good spots in town. The housekeeper is very attentive and cooks a great breakfast. Every morning I was served fresh local fruit and a variety of delicious breakfast foods such as omelets, pancakes, gallo pinto and even fresh squeezed orange juice. Breakfast is served over an excellent view of Arenal and the forest with several species of birds. There were even monkeys swinging from the trees one morning. The cabin is very clean and spacious, with a private bath, television and large balcony. Every morning I awoke to a view of the volcano from the window. The balcony also faces the volcano. I love this place and highly recommend it! It is close to 3+ hotsprings as well as the waterfalls, so there is a lot to do. The environment at Posada Colonial is very relaxing, so it is a great place to come back to after a busy day. I loved it so much, I ended up staying for 5 nights rather than the 2 I had planned.

Owner response:Thank you so very much, Molly, That was very kind, and of course we enjoyed your visit very much. Even Miriam's son was asking about you! Grant
business
A home surrounded by birds, flowers, fantastic views and hot springs. Exc. Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333618
+1 604 325 5277
Volcano Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Wake Up in Paradise

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Wake Up in Paradise

Guest: Dr. Burkhart (Geneva, Switzerland)
Date of Stay: 12/07/11 Review Submitted: 12/20/11

This is a fantastic bed and breakfast! Posada Colonial lies directly in between the resorts of Baldi, the Springs and Tabacon in the city of La Palma at the base of volcano Arenal. Every morning guests are greeted with a fabulous home-made breakfast and a breath taking view of the stunning volcano. Posada Colonial truly feels like a home away from home. The owner and staff are exceptional and extremely caring. My family and I already are planning on staying here again when we visit in the future. You will most surely enjoy your stay and will not want to leave this place.

Owner response:Thank you so very much, Peter, and we enjoyed your visit very much! Wasn't that a great meal at Perla's?? All the very best of luck to you! Grant

Recommended for:Adventure seekers, tourists without a car, sightseeing.
business
A home surrounded by birds, flowers, fantastic views and hot springs. Exc. Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333618
+1 604 325 5277
Volcano Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

great getaway!

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
great getaway!

Guest: beatle (penticton b.c. canada)
Date of Stay: 11/01/11 Review Submitted: 01/14/12

outstanding host, great location as well as price, owner will go out of his way to make you feel welcome, great abience for the price, i would not hesitate to stay here again, a nice touch of home, the detail in which the housekeeper looks after you is outstanding, kudos to marion for the great breakfasts..all in all you get your moneys worth.view of the volcano is great, also great water, people in the nearby town are very friendly. all in all a great stay,thanx grant!!

Owner response:Thanks so much, John, and of course your response is just what we're aiming for. I also passed along your very kind words to Miriam and she gave a big smile! Please give my regards to Joyce. Gracias!!
business
A home surrounded by birds, flowers, fantastic views and hot springs. Exc. Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333618
+1 604 325 5277
Volcano Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
penticton b.c. canada
5

great getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
outstanding host, great location as well as price, owner will go out of his way to make you feel welcome, great abience for the price, i would not hesitate to stay here again, a nice touch of home, the detail in which the housekeeper looks after you is outstanding, kudos to marion for the great breakfasts..all in all you get your moneys worth.view of the volcano is great, also great water, people in the nearby town are very friendly. all in all a great stay,thanx grant!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks so much, John, and of course your response is just what we're aiming for. I also passed along your very kind words to Miriam and she gave a big smile! Please give my regards to Joyce. Gracias!!
business
A home surrounded by birds, flowers, fantastic views and hot springs. Exc. Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333618
+1 604 325 5277
Volcano Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
5

Best B&B in La Fortyna

Best B&B in La Fortyna
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
This was a fantastic stay. Easy to find, close to amenities and clean comfortable accommodations. Mariam is a great cook and breakfasts made a great start to the day, nobody ever went hungry. The area is beautiful and many many things to see and do. Tours, taxis' or other arrangements were easily accomplished with the help of the owner, Grant I'll be back in March with more friends, thanks for a very pleasurable stay at the Posada Colonial!!
Owner's Response: Thanks so much, Perry, and I fully realize what a wonderful asset Miriam is.

We have a few dates open in the middle of March and we'll be happy to reserve the entire house for you and your friends during that time. Again, thanks so very much. These responses really make a difference in helping others make up their minds.

All the best, Grant
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A home surrounded by birds, flowers, fantastic views and hot springs. Exc. Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333618
+1 604 325 5277
Volcano Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
Geneva, Switzerland
5

Wake Up in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
This is a fantastic bed and breakfast! Posada Colonial lies directly in between the resorts of Baldi, the Springs and Tabacon in the city of La Palma at the base of volcano Arenal. Every morning guests are greeted with a fabulous home-made breakfast and a breath taking view of the stunning volcano. Posada Colonial truly feels like a home away from home. The owner and staff are exceptional and extremely caring. My family and I already are planning on staying here again when we visit in the future. You will most surely enjoy your stay and will not want to leave this place.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you so very much, Peter, and we enjoyed your visit very much! Wasn't that a great meal at Perla's?? All the very best of luck to you! Grant
business
A home surrounded by birds, flowers, fantastic views and hot springs. Exc. Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333618
+1 604 325 5277
Volcano Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
Portland, OR
5

Great value for a great place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Posada Colonial was recommended to me by a friend in San Ramon. I looked into the recommendation and was very happy I did so. I felt like I stumbled upon a hidden gem. The owner is very hospitable and has been in the area for over 20 years, so he knew all the good spots in town. The housekeeper is very attentive and cooks a great breakfast. Every morning I was served fresh local fruit and a variety of delicious breakfast foods such as omelets, pancakes, gallo pinto and even fresh squeezed orange juice. Breakfast is served over an excellent view of Arenal and the forest with several species of birds. There were even monkeys swinging from the trees one morning. The cabin is very clean and spacious, with a private bath, television and large balcony. Every morning I awoke to a view of the volcano from the window. The balcony also faces the volcano. I love this place and highly recommend it! It is close to 3+ hotsprings as well as the waterfalls, so there is a lot to do. The environment at Posada Colonial is very relaxing, so it is a great place to come back to after a busy day. I loved it so much, I ended up staying for 5 nights rather than the 2 I had planned.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so very much, Molly, That was very kind, and of course we enjoyed your visit very much. Even Miriam's son was asking about you!

Grant
business
A home surrounded by birds, flowers, fantastic views and hot springs. Exc. Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p333618
+1 604 325 5277
Volcano Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
5

Merci Grant

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
La maison est idéalement située pour la visite du volcan et de ses alentours. Trés facile d'accés avec les indications de Grant, le propriétaire. La maison est très belle et confortable.. Le jardin est splendide . Nous avons été très bien accueillis par Grant et conseillés pour les visites du site.
Myriam nous a préparés de somptieux petits déjeunés. Merci encore Myriam pour ta gentillesse.
La ville de La Fortuna apporte toutes les commodités, nous avons trouvé tout ce que nous cherchions pour cuisiner le soir et prendre le repas sur la magnifique terrasse.
Merci encore a Grant et nos amitiés à Myriam.
Marine, Olivier, Julien et Magali
Owner's Response: Bonjour à vous tous,

Je vous remercie beaucoup pour vos belles recommendations. Ce fût certainement un plaisir de vous rencontrer et de vous avoir comme invités.

Merci encore !

Grant