Puako condo rental - Mauna Kea beach - amazingly fine sand and gentle surf
Mauna Kea beach - amazingly fine sand and gentle surf
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Puako Condo Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 6-8)

Hawaiian Style, Newly Furnished, Beach Condo. This unit has just been remodeled, and is equipped with new appliances and amenities. We Love Puako!!! - and we have tried to make it so this condo will enable you to have a great and easy stay here. It was chosen and remodeled with Kids and Parents in mind; with a flat screen TV and DVD player (and family DVD rentals right next door), great Broadband and WiFi, and beds are firm, designed for people who have not been gentle to their backs.

The waters around Puako are great - they are very clean, and three of the islands' largest and nicest white sand beaches (Waikoloa, Hapuna & Mauna Kea) are in adjacent coves within two miles of the condo. For those times in between visits to the beach, the condo has a nice, gated pair of pools. One is small and shallow, ideal for kids under 3. The other is larger but by no means a lap pool.

Our Community: Puako is a relaxed, beachfront community, and this unit is ideally located to make your life easy and relaxed. We are next door to the quaint and funky Puako General Store - a reasonably priced and incredibly convenient place with supplies for everything from breakfast to dinner to cocktail fixings and a DVD for the kids. If you stay for a few weeks, you may want to do one stock-up trip into Kona (30 minute away with Costco, Safeway, etc...) or Waimea (western style town, home of the Parker Ranch, about 15-20 minutes away, and with a gigantic western style wooden play structure to make the trip fun) and you can spend the rest of the trip being mellow on the beach.

Fun Family Activities: We have a map of all the best locations for activities ranging from a hand-built sheltered rock tide-pool for your toddler to play in, to romantic beaches on which to watch a sunset. Toss the cooler in the car, and enjoy a different sunset beach within a 5 minute drive each night. 3 large world class beaches and one that we don't like quite as much are all really near by. Pick the beach that has the combination of sand, surf & snorkeling that suits your fancy on each day. During the winter Hapuna has great body surfing - with regular nice sized waves every day. Wailea Bay has lots of trees right next to the ocean - it is a great beach to enjoy some shade but with your toes in the sand. It is hard to go wrong! There are also lots of smaller beaches directly off of Puako road, accessible through pretty well marked signs, with walks to the beach typically being less that 50 feet.

If you want to eat out....: The nearest access is a great one - it is just a block away (and fine to walk), with a sheltered lava-rock pool for the kids, and decent entry for a nice, early morning scuba dive.

If you want to go out for meals, both modest and fancy restaurants are within a 10-15 minute drive, ranging from the resorts of Mauna Kea, Mauna Lani and the Hapuna Prince to the nearby town of Kawaihae, home of excellent shave ice and complete with an open-daily Farmer's Market - our best source for papaya, vegetables and sweet cane rice sticks. Slightly upcountry is Hawi, a lovely artist community with the best ice cream on the island. We have a list of restaurants we have personally tried, plus a list of other places that have been well recommended.

If you want to stay home, you can sit on the Lanai and enjoy the ocean breeze, and use the newly renovated kitchen (designed by me - someone who really likes to cook).

We welcome you to Hale Hanu (Turtle House) in our delightful community here in Puako.

More Details
Hide Details

25 Reviews of Property 330944 in Puako, Hawaii

Puako Beach - Across from Ocean - Luxury & Kid Friendly Condo
average rating of 4.76 based on 25 reviews
business
Puako Beach - Across from Ocean - Luxury & Kid Friendly Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330944
+1 206 651-5117
Puako Kohala Coast
seattle wa
5

A breezy, relaxing vacation near some of the best beaches on the Big Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
I went to this Puako condominium with two friends. We found a comfortable (but not fancy-shmancy) condo with plenty of little & thoughtful extras. The kitchen was obviously designed by a cook- very easy to use. The internet access was fast and easy to set up.
There is a great deal of bird life going on behind the condo- lots of fun in the early mornings . . .
The location is perfect-- not touristy, and yet within a few minutes' drive of some of the greatest beaches on the island. There is a well-stocked general store next door, which is very convenient. At about $150 a night, this is a great bargain for a family or for a small group of adults-- although I would NOT recommend it for party-people, most of the units are occupied by families, and they will not tolerate loud or obnoxious behavior (not that I tried that, it's just the vibe . . .).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Puako Beach - Across from Ocean - Luxury & Kid Friendly Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330944
+1 206 651-5117
Puako Kohala Coast
Tucson, AZ
5

Family Fun in Puako

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We had a great time staying at the Condo. It was great having so many nice beaches close by, as well as great snorkeling all along the coast. Our grandson learned two new words; Turtle & Mongoose. It was a treat having the High Chair, Toys, DVDs, and bed for our 2 year grandson. We used the Beach Chairs, Umbrellas, Snorkeling Gear, Towels, etc; it was great they were provided and we didn't have to worry about bringing or renting them.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
Puako Beach - Across from Ocean - Luxury & Kid Friendly Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330944
+1 206 651-5117
Puako Kohala Coast
Vancouver, BC, Canada
5

Wonderful place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
Our family of four with two 15-year old boys spent a lovely week in September on a Big Island. The condo is very clean, and comfortable with enough space for everybody. It was great that we could use beach chairs and umbrellas. Also little extras such as cooler, plastic lunch boxes and zip-lock bags were very handy! Our boys enjoyed fins and swimming boards. The unit does not have an air conditioning, but it wasn't hot. The windows designed the way you can open them safely for the whole day. Also the shade from the surrounding trees really prevents sunlight from heating the place and ceiling fans work great. The owner provided us with all of the beach and shower stuff, such as towels, shampoo, shower gel, lotion, and so on. We didn't really cook a lot, but kitchen is equipped great! Puako village is a really small residential area, but we had a car so we could easily get around to more touristy places. Some of the best beaches of the Big Island in just minutes drive from the condo.
It was a wonderful vacation and I would definitely recommend the condo to my friends, especially those with little kids - it's so much useful stuff for them in the place!
A little piece of advise to those who plans to drive to remote and beautiful places, such as Green sand beach and observatory. Websites suggest that you need to have a 4-weel drive to go there. In a reality no rental companies would allow you to go there on their cars, even if it's 4x4 Jeep. It's written in rental agreement "Driving on Saddle road is strictly prohibited". So, do not waste your money on renting SUV. We did a hike to Green Sand beach - it's beautiful and worth it. To go to observatory you can take a tour or rent a truck from the company called something like "Harper" (sorry, I can't remember the name exactly).
Have a nice stay on the Big island!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: This was one of our first families with teenagers rather than toddlers - and they had a blast! I'm thrilled that we're appealing to an even greater number of families - and the number of local and further-flung activities on the Big Island range in intensity to suit almost anyone's degree of adventure. I was there with a friend in May - and we also took some more adventursome hikes to both beaches and into the rain forest north of Hawi. What gorgeous country!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Puako Beach - Across from Ocean - Luxury & Kid Friendly Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330944
+1 206 651-5117
Puako Kohala Coast
El Paso, TX
5

Wonderful Puako condo!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
The condo was just as they stated. We had a wonderful time while staying in Puako. Everything on that side of the island was within one hour drive. The best beaches were 5 minutes away so we enjoyed them every day. We enjoyed going snorkeling, hiking, body surfing, watching the stingrays at the resort close by and going to the observatory. We would love to go back. It was wonderful!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Puako Beach - Across from Ocean - Luxury & Kid Friendly Condo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p330944
+1 206 651-5117
Puako Kohala Coast
Cincinnati, OH
5

Infant & Kid Super-Convenient Condo

Infant & Kid Super-Convenient Condo
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
Our stay in Kimberley & Alan's condo was exceptional. We had 2 infants and the kid friendly extras were life savers! How great to have a high chair, porta-crib, push toys and beach toys all there for our use. Also a closet full of towels and beach items for the rest of us. So very considerate that we didn't have to pack all these items from home.
The open kitchen area made the whole condo seem so much bigger than others we had seen - and the outdoor grill was perfect for grilling fresh fish that my son and his friend had caught.. We had some wonderful meals here thanks to all the perfectly supplied kitchen.
Our favorite beach was #69 which is just up the road. It was perfect for long stretches of beach time, since it had some great shaded areas and was not crowded at all. (Saw lots of turtles there also.)
We would definitely recommend a stay at this condo for anyone traveling with children. Kimberley and Alan were most helpful and courteous in aiding with our travel plans and follow-up.

Lois & Harry, Cincinnati, OH
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: This family was so wonderful. We had the opportunity to host 3 generations in the condo - and we were so pleased that they were pleased. I spoke with Lois after their stay - and apparently the infrared BBQ was a big hit for grilling fish. Good to know!
Helpful votes: 6/6