La Jolla house rental - Private deck is ideal for outside dining.
Private deck is ideal for outside dining.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

La Jolla House Rental Photos and Description
Cozy cottage with 2-bedrooms and 2-baths, comfortably sleeps 4 people.

Location sets this charming rental from many others. In the heart of La Jolla; a five minute walk to marvelous boutiques, galleries and sensational restaurants. World-renowned La Jolla Cove and WindanSea beach and surfing are within easy walking distance.

After a busy day of sightseeing or shopping, sit back and enjoy an ocean sunset from your living room. A large, private deck offers the best of Southern California outdoor living. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood, this 2nd floor guest house is secluded from busy street noise.

This pristine home has two bedrooms and two baths will sleep four in a queen and two twins or king bed option. Features include rooftop ocean view, large private deck, open beam ceiling, operable skylights, hardwood floors, carpeted bedrooms, fireplace, a private bath in the master bedroom, and a fully outfitted kitchen.

The property owner/manager lives in an adjacent house and can provide you with helpful recommendations on local attractions, restaurants and shopping.

Amenities include a living room gas fireplace, central heating and air-conditioning, phone, cable 27' TV, VCR/DVD player, fully equipped kitchen (microwave, dishwasher, cooking utensils), linens and towels, washer and dryer.

Nearby activities are within walking distance or a short drive: first-rate boutiques and galleries, incredible restaurants, topnotch museums, world-renowned attractions (San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Sea World, Scripps Aquarium), diverse sightseeing (Gas Lamp Quarter, Old Town, Tijuana, Mexico), first-class public golf (Torrey Pines Golf Course), public tennis courts and Olympic size swimming pool, fitness clubs, wildlife viewing (whales, seals, tide pools), ocean kayaking, deep-sea/surf/freshwater fishing, snorkeling-Scuba diving, surfing.

Beautiful and picturesque, La Jolla's possibilities for adventure are as limitless as your imagination. High atop the cliffs, golfers tee off on world-class courses, while sightseers explore caves, museums and other intriguing landmarks.

More Details
Hide Details

Husand and wife own and manage this vaction rental.

Lisa Maher purchased this house in 1989

Converted a long-term rental unit into a weekly vacation rental.

94 Reviews of Property 320957 in La Jolla, California

Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
average rating of 4.9722223 based on 94 reviews
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Coquitlam
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
Just wanted to say that I would return to Lisa and Michael's unit anytime! I loved the "palm tree" sunsets from the living room, the nice deck to sit out and enjoy my morning coffee, the super-comfortable beds, the morning papers delivered to our door, and all the help that Lisa and Michael were to us. The apartment was well appointed, lots of room , and sunny/bright. I hope to return this fall to enjoy the lovely village of La Jolla , just down Fay Avenue. Thanks again Lisa, Michael, and John for you hospitality.
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
New York, New York
5

Send my clothes. . .

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2009
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
This place is fabulous. Just perfect in every way. Airy, light, pristine, comfortable, well-appointed kitchen, gas fireplace, comfortable beds. The gracious hosts are there when you need them but not when you don't. I really want everyone to choose this place but leave some time on the calendar for us because we will definitely be back.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 15/15
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Hamburg, Germany
5

A lovely place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
We (two adults and two kids, one and three years old) stayed at this place for two weeks and these were the best days of the year. The house was very clean and very well-maintained. The hosts were lovely and so generous. They provided us with everything we needed. We could not wish for more.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Seatttle, WA, USA
5

Great location, great guest house & hosts

Great location, great guest house & hosts
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
We spent one week in Michaels and Lisas guest house and thorougly enjoyed it. Walking distance from La Jolla shops and beaches, quiet neighborhood, nice tasteful guesthouse with wonderful ambiente, helpful and very friendly hosts next door, complimentary newspapers delivered to your doorstep daily for breakfast - what else can you ask for? Thanks Lisa and Michael!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Oregon, Wisconsin, USA
5

Everything we had hoped for and more.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
Lisa and Michael have established a cottage that wants for nothing.

We arrived very late due to flight delays but they were gracious and accommodating then and throughout our stay.

The house is beautifully maintained with every thing anyone could ever need plus some things you might not know you might need.

As hosts, they are available if needed for advice and restaurant tips etc. but are never the slightest bit imposing - just like having perfect neighbors!

The location is excellent for walking into La Jolla and to the beaches and it is a place to which we will definitely return someday.

A truly wonderful and relaxing house.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Calgary, Alberta, CANADA
5

Ideal Family Vacation Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
This La Jolla rental property was ideal for our family of three. Every item we required was at out finger tips, every need was met, even those for our infant son. Every detail was carefully attended to!

The care that was taken by Lisa and Michael in preparing for our stay was so greatly appreciated. All of the comforts we could have asked for were provided and they were readily available to answer any questions, recommend local attractions and just share a friendly chat.

We felt at home at this rental property. We felt that Michael and Lisa genuinely enjoyed having us as their guests and went beyond our expectations to make us feel welcome. We looked forward to bumping into them throughout the day and we look forward to returning for another vacation at this lovely location!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Northern Ireland
5

Just Right !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
From the moment we arrived and were warmly welcomed by Mike, the property and facilities proved to be exactly what we wanted and exactly as described on the Web site. As a family with two teenage boys, we have stayed in self catering premises throughout Europe for many years as this gives us so much more flexibility and freedom than hotels.
The accomodation was spotless and everything you would ever need at home was available in the house. A key reason for choosing this house was the twin beds for the boys as so many self catering properties only offer double beds in all the rooms.
The local beach at Windandsea had much more character and attraction than the bigger beaches further along the coast and we had several lovely visits there with the boys.
A fond memory for us would be enjoying some wine, cheese and biscuits with Mike and Lisa on the balcony and watching the 4th July fireworks at the local country club - a magical evening!
Overall, a great property run by a lovely couple with everything you could need from a self catering property - thank you Mike and Lisa for sharing your home with us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
We enjoyed our stay tremendously. After two months here we remembered what we missed, La Jolla and all the friendly folks and close proximity to restaurants, etc. You both were great, helpful and an occasional treat was well taken!
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Garibaldi,Oregon
5

winter getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2009
  • Stayed: Dec 2008
Lisa and Mike were great hosts,friendly and most accommadating. Close to everything,great for those seniors that don't want to hop in a car to get someplace.We spent the two months walking the neighborhoods wishing we were here permanently.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to Beautiful Beaches, Upscale Shops and Restaurants.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p320957
+1 858 4548745
La Jolla San Diego County
Hamden, CT, USA
5

Feel at home in beautiful La Jolla

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2008
  • Stayed: Nov 2008
We loved this place!!! Having lived in San Diego for 3 years before moving out East, we had great hopes going back to our city of dreams for our first family vacation since. It was the perfect get-away! Our friends Christiane and Jon (see review) had recommended the guest house, and we are glad they did. Lisa and Michael are among the loveliest and accommodating hosts we have ever had. The place itself is equipped with everything you need, we did not even have to bring along a pack'n'play for our 2 year old daughter. The house was very clean and well-maintained, fresh-cut flowers in every (!) room. Beautiful beaches, the cove and good places to eat are close. We hope to be back soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1