Bar Harbor house rental - 24x14 Sunroom-Big Windows & Knotty Pine-Feels Like Nature is All Around You!
24x14 Sunroom-Big Windows & Knotty Pine-Feels Like Nature is All Around You!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Bar Harbor House Rental Photos and Description
Absolutely Delightful 3 BR/2 Bath Home-Large Lot with Beautiful Trees! Sleeps 6

Maine is called 'Vacationland' - it's even printed on the license plates! Mt. Desert Island, home of Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park, is an incredibly beautiful place where people come to relax, to play and to appreciate all that nature has to offer. 'Acadia Retreat' has been created so that you and your family can stay in a wonderful and comfortable environment while you explore and experience all the beauty that surrounds you! Our charming home is beautifully maintained & lovingly appointed with great attention to detail. We have a bright, open floor plan where the living room, dining area & kitchen share one big space. The kitchen has an abundance of cabinets & counter space. The laundry area located right off the kitchen has a full-sized washer & dryer. The dining area has a handsome round oak table with matching chairs. The living room has 'comfy' sofas & a TV with VCR & DVD players! Great Vacation Spot!

The sunny bedrooms are located on opposite ends of the home for maximum privacy. The master bedroom with a queen-size bed has a private bath & walk-in closet. The second bedroom with twin beds has two closets & the main bath is located right outside the door. The 24x14 Sunroom has a queen sofa bed.

Both baths offer spotlessly clean tub/shower combinations. The heating system is very efficient & a ceiling fan and portable fans are available for extra comfort in warmer weather. The home has been freshly painted bright white & accented with attractive & colorful furnishings & collectibles.

Outside you can enjoy a beautiful yard with exquisite trees & colorful wildflowers that will make you smile. You can just relax in the hammock with a book, send the kids on a treasure hunt in the surrounding woods, cook some lobsters & have a picnic or even shoot some hoops! 'Acadia Retreat' is Truly a Great Vacation Spot for Everyone!

Activities: Hadley Point is a public area (3 miles) where you can launch a boat, have picnics, sunbathe, skip rocks, watch the seals & other wildlife. This is a favorite spot for the kayak rental companies to start & end their day trips-it's fun to watch them come & go--and you just might want to join them! There are several freshwater ponds/lakes on the Island where you can swim, go boating or fishing. You can even go horseback riding on the gorgeous carriage trails that wind through Acadia. You can hike, ride bikes on your own, go out on a whale-watching tour or a sunset cruise on Frenchman's Bay or participate in tons of activities that are offered by Acadia National Park! Definitely go and see the movie that is shown at the Visitor's Center which is less than 10 min away! Try to get to the Jordan Pond House for afternoon tea, popovers, homemade ice cream and of course, take a drive up Cadillac Mountain and around the Ocean Drive where you will see Sand Beach, Thunder Hole & Otter Cliffs!

There are fantastic restaurants, great shopping and even mini golf courses nearby. There is an awesome 'Art Deco' movie theater called The Criterion located in downtown Bar Harbor and two evenings a week there are band concerts on the Village Green. Several art shows are held during the summer and cruise ships come into the harbor weekly! Mt. Desert Island is Truly an Unforgettable Place with Something for Everyone!

More Details
Hide Details

I was born in Bar Harbor and my entire family lives or works only 5 minutes from our rental homes. My husband was born in Wisconsin and he fell in love with MDI the first time I took him there in 1996. He knew even before I did that we MUST have our own property there so that we would always have an excuse to go north whenever we could!

Mt. Desert Island is such a beautiful place - we both are so thankful that we can experience it many times a year and I must say that we are struck by the beauty and the solitude every time we go 'home.'

We hope that you truly have a wonderful time whether it is your first experience or you have been visiting for 20 years.

My Dad's motto is...'If you come to Maine once it won't be your last time.' Of course he is pretty bias on the subject - having lived in Bar Harbor all his life! I wish everyone could get one of his Island tours-they are awesome to say the least!

He started working as a chauffeur at age 15 and he can tell some stories. He and my Mom owned several restaurants and motels and even developed the largest campground on the Island, Bar Harbor Campground which my youngest brother now manages.

Seems like our family has been in the hospitality trade forever and...with all that experience we have certainly learned how to take good care of our guests!

Lorie Wiebrecht purchased this house in 2005

We love the land which is approximately 2.6 acres. The open, grassy area is big and level but the perimeter of the property is surrounded by big beautiful evergreens! There are many other varieties as well so the land is interesting during the fall season. The location is peaceful and quiet yet the property is not very far from anywhere on the Island. The wildlife is plentiful-you might see several deer just a few feet from the windows and the wild turkeys and other birds are all around. We have had rabbits, chipmunks, squirrels, ducks and even a bear was spotted while eating a neighbor's bird seed last year!

This property is on a private road with only 7 other homes yet it is right on the Island Explorer (free) Bus Service route. You can take the bus and travel all over the Island all day long and even take your bike along.

We also own the home next door and the two lots combined are almost 7 acres. Now when you live in a city where the houses are so close that you can hear your neighbor walking across her hardwoods floors with the windows CLOSED you really know it when you have a peaceful spot where you can relax and focus on the sounds of nature!!! It is heaven for us and we hope that it will be for you, too!

28 Reviews of Property 317880 in Bar Harbor, Maine

'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
average rating of 4.964286 based on 28 reviews
business
'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317880
410 268-6410
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Cincinnati, Ohio
5

A Little Bit of Heaven!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
This retreat house had everything!!! It was clean, organized, and beautifully decorated. It is away from the main road so it is quiet.
The bed was comfortable. The living room had great furniture. The kitchen is fully equippped. It has a great sun porch that can be used as a third bedroom. It is close to Acadia National Park. This park has something for everyone-hiking, swimming, beauty, mountains, ponds, and a great restaurant at Jordan Pond. Don't miss the movie at the visitor center or the popovers at the restaurant.

We also enjoyed lunch at Bar Harbor Inn, (on the water), and The Chart room on route 3.

The owners responded to our questions and we could only appreciate this home away from home. Games to play, toys for young childrn and plenty of space for adults.

I am telling all my friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: The satisfaction of my guests is my biggest joy! As the rental season comes to an end for 2009 I am happy to report that it has been another super successful year!

I have made wonderful new friends and been thrilled to welcome old friends back again!

This business "adventure" allows me the opportunity to provide a special haven for visitors during their vacation quest. Whether they are looking for rest and rejunevation or a full blown experience of physical exercise or something in between...at the end of the day everyone needs a place where they can go to settle in and relax.

When I hear that folks have enjoyed that soothing experience at Acadia Retreat I know that my job has been done and my guests have been served.

Thank you all!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317880
410 268-6410
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Hermitage, PA
5

Wonderful place to stay near Acadia

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
We have been renting homes near Acadia for 15 years, and this is the cleanest, most organized, and well-equipped house we have ever rented. It was perfect for a family, and very well-located to all attractions, and well taken care of. The sunroom was a wonderful way to be inside, and still enjoy the beauty of the outdoors. The owner has done everything possible to make the experience as enjoyable as possible. We will rent this home again. Everything was provided from a cooler, to mosquito spray, to an umbrella, to dish soap, to everything that I have at home in my kitchen.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It is so cool that all those little things were noticed and hopefully used! I tell everyone that if I go for a visit I want those items available for me so you should have them, too! It is a fun challenge to see how well-stocked I can make it. My husband makes fun of me but I don't care I get to read the reviews and know that it makes a difference to folks!!
Thanks to all my Guests both past and future. Please call me so I can have some more fun making your stay really great, too! We have a new property coming to our inventory in 2010! It will be just as adorable as the others!! Lorie
business
'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317880
410 268-6410
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Columbus, OH
5

Great place for families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
We had a wonderful week at the Acadia Retreat. The home was clean and comfortable, and we especially appreciated how Lorie went out of her way to make sure to have toys, games, and movies on hand for our 3-year old.

When we initially saw the Acadia Retreat online and made inquiries about the property, we were impressed with how timely and responsive Lorie was. She was great to deal with and accommodating of our needs.

The home was perfect for our vacation. All that’s been said in the reviews about it being spotless is true. The sun room was a terrific place to relax, and the kitchen had all the equipment we needed to enjoy meals together. The kids’ bedroom was great for our daughter, who also loved to play in the yard and swing in the hammock.

The location was ideal for us. We are national park enthusiasts, and it was great to have an easy drive into the main portion of Acadia and also be so close to the less-frequented areas of the park.

We highly recommend this property and hope to return soon.
Owner's Response: Reviews like this one always give me goosebumps!

My husband will attest... that when we check on our rentals between Guests...that I won't help unload the car until I read the latest guest book entries! And now...thanks to the new Homeaway Review function...I am also being thrilled by all the great reviews!!

When people ask me what brings me pleasure and fullfilment in life I tell them gardening and preparing my vacation rentals for my Guests! It is fun and creative and I get to do things for others that I would certainly appreciate myself.

It has been working great so far!! We especially love it when Guests come back year after year ~ that is such a huge compliment!

In 2010 we will be adding another rental to our inventory. It adjoins the property at "Acadia Retreat" and it is called "The Birches at Acadia Retreat." It will have 2 bedrooms and 1 bath and will sleep 4-6 people. We are working on it right now and I promise that it will be just as adorable as all of our other rentals!

These two locations combined will comprise almost 7 acres, sleep 10-12 people and they will be perfect for larger family gatherings. The extensive lawns will allow for any tents and/or volleyball/badmitten nets to remain in place for the whole vacation.

Stay Tuned and Thank You for your continued interest!
Please feel free to call me with any questions!
Hope to hear from you soon!! Lorie
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317880
410 268-6410
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Columbus, OH
5

Great place for families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
We had a wonderful week at the Acadia Retreat. The home was clean and comfortable, and we especially appreciated how Lorie went out of her way to make sure to have toys, games, and movies on hand for our 3-year old.

When we initially saw the Acadia Retreat online and made inquiries about the property, we were impressed with how timely and responsive Lorie was. She was great to deal with and accommodating of our needs.

The home was perfect for our vacation. All that’s been said in the reviews about it being spotless is true. The sun room was a terrific place to relax, and the kitchen had all the equipment we needed to enjoy meals together. The kids’ bedroom was great for our daughter, who also loved to play in the yard and swing in the hammock.

The location was ideal for us. We are national park enthusiasts, and it was great to have an easy drive into the main portion of Acadia and also be so close to the less-frequented areas of the park.

We highly recommend this property and hope to return soon.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317880
410 268-6410
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Naperville, IL
4

It's very good for family retreat

It's very good for family retreat
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
We spent last week in the property. It's located in a quiet and woody area, and it's close enough to the places we wanted to go. Everything is working well, and the kids enjoyed the hammock on the backyard.

We saw deer wandering around a couple of times.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Yes, it is great for a family retreat!!

And we plan to offer an expanded opportunity for families next season as another home on our property will be added to our inventory. We will then be able to have 10 family members all on the same site enjoying two adorable places side by side!

Stay tuned...it's going to be wonderful for larger families who want lots of space as there will be almost 7 acres to discover! You will soon be able to see pictures on the Homeaway website.

Thank you for your continued interest in Acadia Retreat!
Please call if you have any questions or comments!
Lorie
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317880
410 268-6410
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Carmel, Indiana
5

This home has it all!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
We have been spoiled by our vacation in Maine! Relaxing in the beauty and comfort of this home beats any hotel or cottage in the area. It was so quiet that my family could not remember getting a better night's sleep! The home has a beautiful sun-room where we spent most of our time when we were not sightseeing. We had lobster nearly every night (in the sun-room) because buying them yourselves at one of many nearby merchants was so affordable! The owner provides a large lobster pot that makes cooking these "bugs" quick and easy. There are all the little extras in the kitchen including the little butter dishes and platters for the LARGE lobsters you can buy. The house is situated on a very large pretty lot and is secluded from neighbors. It is close to Acadia National Park which is a "must see" as well as Bar Harbor and all of the fun things to do there. Long Pond is a gorgeous lake nearby and canoe or kayak rentals are very affordable right there at the lake. A picture-perfect lighthouse is just down the road past a quaint little Maine village on the water. This home is so easy to get comfortable in that you will not want to leave! It was extremely clean and organized and I will definitely recommend it to everyone I know! And we will go back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am always so thrilled to hear that our guests had a wonderful time on their vacation and that Acadia Retreat added so much to their enjoyment! We are absolutely commited to having that outcome for each and every one of our visitors and so far it's working out beautifully.

Hope you and your family will come and stay with us soon!
We would love to have you!

Please call for more information and personalized, efficient service!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317880
410 268-6410
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Irmo, South Carolina
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
In regards to the house and it's location, we agree with the review written by KSheree in August. We would not hesitate to rent the house again in the future. Carl & Lori have provided everything you need during your stay. We also found the sun porch to be our favorite room.

We enjoyed doing day rides returning to the house each evening. Its location worked well for this. We took the whale watching boat out of Bar Harbor, the harbor boat ride out of Northwest Harbor, explored the roads in Arcadis Park and enjoyed several scenic rides along the Maine coastline on highway 1.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Owner's Response: I just love hearing about the activities that our Guests enjoyed as well as how happy they were when they got back to "base camp!" I believe that the new Sunroom has been a favorite for everyone-even on a rainy day you can feel close to nature as you look out the wraparound windows. It makes the whole house feel bright and cheerful and my family "lives" out there every time we get a chance to stay. One Guest said that it took their group a few days to realize that there was actually a living room! Please call me so I can help you make plans to visit "Acadia Retreat!" Thank you! Lorie
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
'Acadia Retreat' Beckons to Those Who Want a Peaceful Setting!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p317880
410 268-6410
Bar Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Fairfax, VA, USA
5

Fantastic vacation retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
Acadia Retreat was the perfect "home away from home" for our first Maine vacation! Most important to me was the cleanliness; because the house is so well-maintained, we were able to truly relax and enjoy our time there. It's very obvious the owners take pride in their vacation home, and they have filled the house with every imaginable necessity as well as nice, personal touches in every room. We spent much of our time in the new sun room because it was filled with light and very comfortable. The home sits on a very large and private lot about a 15-minute drive to downtown Bar Harbor. Though it might have been nice to sit and look out over the water at a different property, we found the peacefulness of Acadia Retreat a pleasant change after the crowds in the harbors. And, it's a great place to stargaze using a telescope!

We truly had a remarkable time on Mt. Desert Island. Biking on the carriage roads in Acadia National Park was great fun and great exercise. We went sea kayaking with National Park Kayaks, and saw harbor porpoise and seals, as well as ospreys and eagles. For a true lobster dinner away from the crowds of Bar Harbor, visit Thurston's in Bass Harbor. Our favorite restaurant, Rupununi, was in downtown Bar Harbor. The prices were very reasonable, the outdoor dining was pleasant and the dishes were flavorful and interesting.

Definitely take advantage of the free Acadia Shuttle that makes 5 different loops around the island. The campground/downtown shuttle can be flagged down just at the end of the road that Acadia Retreat is on. This was most convenient returning from our fun, but wet, kayaking experience at about 9:00 pm!

A hearfelt thank you to Lorie and Carl for sharing their home with us! We were sad when our week came to an end. We are definitely planning on returning in the future, and most highly recommend Acadia Retreat!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Incredible! This review could be used for professional promotional materials advertising the Island and Acadia Retreat! I thank everyone for taking the time to share their experiences as it "paints a beautiful picture" for someone who has yet to be smitten by Maine! We strive to have all our Guests have the same wonderful experience and it makes my day to hear that we accomplished that and then it makes me want to do even more to make your vacation satisfying and memorable. It is a win/win for all.
Please call so I can help you make your Maine vacation plans! We have a new property coming available for the 2010 season so at least one of our 3 rentals has to be just right for you and your family! Enjoy! Lorie
Helpful votes: 11/11