Curacao townhome rental - Gazebo, Sea and Pool from Deck
Gazebo, Sea and Pool from Deck
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Curacao Townhome Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, sleeps 4

Our townhome in this gated, quiet, very private resort enjoys a perfect location - true oceanfront (about 20 paces from the sea) with completely unobstructed views to the ocean and sunsets. Stroll from your lanai, past palm trees, bougainvilleas, the pool and palapas down to the steps into the sea - a private access from which to dive, snorkel or swim. The luxury of walking a few hundred feet to warm, calm, crystal clear water of this quality can't be overstated. A fabulous reef and sealife are just a few yards from your patio.

An additional benefit to our location within the resort - we enjoy consistent sea breezes unblocked by other buildings and never hear neighbors, dogs or traffic. All windows and doors are screened - allowing you to keep out the uninvited [mosquitos/geckos], without closing off the cooling winds. Our kitchen is very well equipped. There is A/C on both levels, hot water at the kitchen and both showers, fans, full size refrig, quality cooking utensils and much more. The bedroom has an ensuite bath, a comfy king size bed, a second large deck, and an unobstructed view overlooking the sea. Everything you'll need to relax, unwind, and enjoy - the views, the sun, the water, and your vacation

There is a lot to see and do on Curacao. You'll find that most of the development - the resorts, the homes, hotels, shops/businesses, traffic, and people are concentrated in and around the bustling, multi-cultural city of Willemstad. The city and old Dutch harbor area are worthy of a site-seeing trip, but you'll be very happy to be returning to the quiet of the west end and your townhome.

GET AWAY - Come to the west end of Curacao if you are looking for the relatively 'undiscovered', undeveloped and uncrowded part of the island - where traffic, crowds, and congestion aren't available. What this area does have is beautiful, tranquil beaches, calm, protected seas with fabulous sea life, and a healthy reef system right off shore. Two beautiful national parks are just 5 minutes away from the resort.

The water here is calm, crystal-clear, and warm. Our resort has private sea access that is never crowded. There is great snorkeling and diving just steps from your patio door - with 2 full service dive shops very close by. For variety, there are many great shore dive/snorkeling sites and five of Curacao's most pristine, uncrowded beaches within 5 minutes. Their is a sand beach an easy 300 yard swim or walk away. Several restaurants [including 2 of the island's highest rated] are also less than 5 minutes away.

The resort is gated, private, quiet, uncrowded, and safe - with friendly and helpful on-site managers to assist you. There is secure off street parking, a beautiful pool and tropical landscaping.

The Unique Benefits of this Townhome:

Our screened patio doors and front door [small but important amenities that we guarantee you'll appreciate] and windows will maximize the cooling breezes while keeping out mosquitoes and colorful geckos.

There are separate air conditioning units for the bedroom and the main level. You'll appreciate the custom blinds, full size refrig, and hot water at the showers and kitchen sink - among many small, added comforts that will make your stay more enjoyable.

You are sure to enjoy the fabulous view of the sea and sunsets from the bedroom and its adjoining deck, along with the bedroom's private bath, air conditioning, and the comfortable, king size bed w/memory foam pad.

You'll make good use of our patio furniture on both decks, the portable grill, the beach chairs, beach towels, portable coolers, and fans - and you'll find that our kitchen is well equipped with quality cookware and utensils. The Wi-Fi connection, Direct TV, new LCD, and DVD player may be valuable if the quiet becomes unbearable.

If there are more than 2 in your party, there are comfortable accomodations on the main level, including another bath complete with shower, and a separate AC unit.

Anyone staying here will appreciate our location - wonderfully landscaped with colorful flowers and coconut palms and incredibly convenient to great swimming, snorkeling and diving in crystal clear, calm water. The location of our townhome on the resort is such that no other resort buildings obstruct the sea breezes [which cool the townhome], and we are far enough from the resort's neighbors that we never hear dogs or traffic. The true ocean-front setting - just 20 paces from the ocean - offers a totally unobstructed view of the sea and our often breathtaking sunsets.There are games, books, artwork, and many other custom touches that will remind you of home - and that this is a home, and not just a rental..

Marazul is not a catored, room service style resort/hotel - It is a private and quiet sanctuary in one of the island's most beautiful locations - incredibly convenient to its best beaches and natural beauty.

Our townhome is not a large, luxury villa - It is a comfortable, clean, thoughtfully furnished, and very well equipped, one bedroom, true ocean front townhome - in a spectacular location. You will find everything you need here to have a relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable island vacation.

We think you'll agree that it's more than a rental - it's a home that you are invited to share. We're very confident that you'll be happy to call it home during your island vacation.

More Details
Hide Details

We are a 'semi'-retired couple who live most of the year in the Colorado mountains near the ski resort of Crested Butte. We have visited many of the Caribbean islands over the past 25 years looking for a place with great water/weather/people for a vacation home. We fell in love with the west end of Curacao, and Marazul in particular. The contrasts between the high altitude alpine setting of Crested Butte and the spectacular low latitude waters/scenery/weather of 'our' end of Curacao have been everything we hoped they would be.

Steve and Linda Pitt purchased this townhome in 2010

We chose this [Westpunt] part of the island because it is much less developed, has far fewer people and cars, with calmer seas, and better diving and snorkeling than any other location on the island. The best of the island's natural beauty is found on this end of the island - including 2 beautiful national parks. All of our guests have agree that the accomodation of driving a bit further to shop is a worthwhile trade off. We also felt that the cooling trade winds were more consistent and less obstructed here than in many other areas we visited. The fresh water pool and beautifully landscaped grounds of the resort are clean and well maintained. The resort is very private, quiet, gated, with great ocean access and plenty of secure, off-street parking......and is never crowded.

The single best attribute of our townhome is perfect location. The unobstructed sea breezes and unobstructed ocean views are irreplaceable - and not to be missed.

We have spent a good deal of time, energy, and money to make this the place we want to call 'home' while on the island -- and we are confident that you will be happy to call it home as well.

40 Reviews of Property 299512 in Curacao

Oceanfront Island Gem with Great Snorkeling/Diving
average rating of 4.8717947 based on 40 reviews
business
Oceanfront Island Gem with Great Snorkeling/Diving
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299512
+1 970 641-0200
Curacao Caribbean
Cambridge, ON
5

Great spot for a Curacao Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Hi Steve and Linda,

Wanted to tell you how much we enjoyed your place. It was very well stocked
with kitchen equipment. It worked out fine for the four of us.
We cooked the vast majority of our dinners and all our breakfasts and packed
most of our lunches. The cooler came in very handy for both shopping and
for packing lunches. The clothesline was used to dry our swimming gear every
day. The townhome is well situated for those who want to snorkel or dive and
we thoroughly enjoyed the many beaches in the area. Even after spending the
majority of our time diving or snorkeling, we still often came back to
lounge in the pool. There were plenty of towels and you thought of things
that most of us would forget, but were great touches. Anyone would find your
place a great vacation spot. The sunsets were amazing and we now have the
hard decision of which picture to blow up and hang on our sunset wall.

You asked if there was anything lacking, and the only thing we missed was a
large pot for pasta, but then there were 4 of us, others might not need it.

We would like to add our recommendations:
There is a batido (smoothie) stand just across the street from the gas
station in Barber. For 5 guilders, they were a great treat.
The best snorkeling was found at Boca Grandi on days without much wind to
rile up the sand. To the left by the rocks, we saw every imaginable fish and
squid and eels.
Playa Grandi, at three in the afternoon, was a great spot for turtles.
Have to swim near the boats.
The best grocery store by far was Albert Heijn. A little hard to find until
you realize that the little blue and white symbol on the map that looks like
a funny ah stands for the store. We turned off the ring road at the pizza
hut.
Sol Food was great and Sunshine was fun and gave us her write up on the
island.
The trip to the ostrich farm was fun and informative.

Thanks again for being the type of hosts that think of their renters.

Caryn, Al, Janel and Zach
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Island Gem with Great Snorkeling/Diving
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299512
+1 970 641-0200
Curacao Caribbean
Indianapolis
5

Only problem is....you will never go anywhere else again!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My girlfriend and I stayed in Linda and Steve's town home in early June, 2012. This will be a good review to read if you are one of the few non-divers visiting the island. My girlfriend and I (29 years old) wanted a place to just 'get away from it all' and the west side of Curacao is a perfect location for just that. The townhouse was in great shape as well as the complex itself. Everyone we met, staff, guests, etc. were exceptionally friendly and loved to offer advice. Information provided by Linda and Steve was a lifesaver, definitely took a lot of the stress out of the traveling. The ocean out front of the place was unbelievable. A bit surreal to be honest, sitting on a pool noodle with a mask and snorkel in your own personal aquarium, no one else in site. Honestly spoils you for life.

As for the rest of the west side of the island, it moves at its own pace so be patient. My girlfriend and I both enjoy cooking so we had no problem preparing about half our meals at the apartment. This is not a place to go if you are accustomed to all inclusive type vacations. Very much enjoyed Misje's (spelling?) and del Sol restaurants. The beaches are incredible and beautiful. Not the long beaches known in Florida but more natural lagoon type beaches. A bit rough with coral but not a big deal at all. No one bothers you or tries to constantly upsell you on random tourist stuff. A rental car is needed and I suggest a GPS as well. D&D car rental was helpful and reasonable. We went into Williamstead and lasted for about 1 hour then ran back to our quiet side of the island! The infrastructure on the island is not build up like you see in Puerto Rico or other Caribbean islands. The west side of Curacao is one of the last hidden gems in the Caribbean. Just fall into the flow of the island and RELAX!

All in all I highly recommend both Marazul and Curacao, can't wait to go back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Island Gem with Great Snorkeling/Diving
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299512
+1 970 641-0200
Curacao Caribbean
Salida, CO
5

Wonderful, Relaxing Family Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We just returned from a wonderful vacation to Curacao and Marazul was the perfect place to stay. It is a nice, well maintained property and its location can't be beat. Westpunt is quiet, relaxing, has great diving and snorkling, fun exploring.. did I say it's relaxing! Steve and Linda provided lots of helpful information before our trip and their rental was furnished with everything we needed and more. We used the grill almost every night. The unit had plenty of room for our family of 4- although we didn't spend much time inside. After a jump in the ocean and dip in the pool, we spent most evenings on the patio or upstairs deck watching the sunset and the iguanas along the cliff wall. The boys took their open water dive course at Go West, just down the street - a convenient and well run dive shop. They even scheduled a "private" boat dive for us the day after the boys were certified- just off shore from Marazul. The variety of coral and sea life is amazing! We enjoyed several nearby beaches: the Knips, Cas Abao, Porto Marie. Also had fun exploring Sheta Boka on the North coast. We didn't eat out much but Sol Food is a must for lunch and/or dinner on the weekend. Spent our last few nights at the Marriott. It was convenient for visiting Willmestad and for our 5am drive to the airport- but we missed Marazul and the west end -we will be back! Thank you Steve and Linda
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oceanfront Island Gem with Great Snorkeling/Diving
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299512
+1 970 641-0200
Curacao Caribbean
Winnipeg, Canada
5

You are going to LOVE the sunsets!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Our stay at Marazul (just the two of us) was excellent. The owners provided lots of information about the rental and were very helpful with the booking. The accomodation was better than anticipated- exceptionally clean with all the amenities you could ever require. Our favorite spot was the deck on the second floor with a cocktail watching the sunset. The complex was very beautiful, well maintained and quiet. We are "travelling" folks so loved the location to explore all the middle and northern parts of the island. We hiked almost every morning in Shete Boca and explored and snorkelled all the beaches in the area. We went down south to Willemsted only a couple of times-really enjoyed it but were very happy to be staying away from the crowds. The restaurants in the area were very good and we enjoyed them all especially Landhuis Misje. Ocean Encounters was a very good place to book an ocean snorkel tour - even met a fellow Winnipeger working there. Linda and Steve were unbelievable hosts - they really have a knack for making you feel like family. They are lots of fun and truly want you to enjoy their home and island as much as they do. A definite place to return to.!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Oceanfront Island Gem with Great Snorkeling/Diving
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299512
+1 970 641-0200
Curacao Caribbean
Crested Butte, Colorado
5

Wish we were still there!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Our family of four (kids 12 and 14) loved our 10 day stay at this townhome in the Marazul Dive Resort. It was perfect: clean, quiet and welcoming. The a/c was quiet and efficient; the appliances and tv mostly seemed new and all worked great. We like having a kitchen when we're on vacation - and unlike many places we've rented, this one was well-equipped with pots and pans and utensils all in good shape, and a big fridge. There also were plenty of bowls, cups, glasses, etc. for the four of us - again, not always the case in places we've stayed. There were some small things that really made us think the owners had put a lot of thought into making their guests comfortable - like doorstops so the doors wouldn't slam shut in the breeze, beach towels and beach chairs, a cooler, books and board games. The upstairs bed was very comfortable, the clothes line on the upstairs deck was a nice amenity and, of course, the screened windows and doors made a huge difference in keeping mosquitoes out. The information the owners put together (both what was e-mailed before the trip and what was available in the unit) was very thoughtful. We were fortunate to overlap with the owners for a few days; they were quite friendly and helpful.
We loved everything about Marazul beyond the unit, too. Every day we used the stairs, which are carved into the cliff and go right into the sea. There was great swimming and snorkeling right there. We keep picturing the phenomenal view out the front door, and one night we even heard whales singing. We thought the location of Marazul was fantastic with so many beautiful beaches nearby. We spent time on Knip, Lagun, Kalki, Cas Abou, and Porto Marie, and enjoyed them all. Our kids decided to learn scuba diving while we were there. Go West Diving was top notch and was only a few minutes drive away. Shete Boka and Mt. Christoffel national parks were close by, as well. We were so glad we'd decided to visit Curacao and stay in this townhome. What a relaxing and fun vacation for all of us. We can't wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront Island Gem with Great Snorkeling/Diving
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299512
+1 970 641-0200
Curacao Caribbean
4

Very Nice Stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Excellent townhome near the sea. The place was clean and just as described. Great views of the ocean and close to some nice beaches. Nice little pool surrounded by palm trees. It was very nice waking up to clear views of the ocean.
A little disappointed I was never able to meet the managers as they were not available the few times I attempted to stop by. Fortunately easy self check-in and self check-out made it fairly hassle-free.
Nice place if you are looking for a fairly quiet get-away.
Owner's Response: Thanks for the very nice, complimentary review of our property - it was unfortunate that you didn't have the opportunity to meet our managers.
They are very friendly, accommodating, and accessible - though obviously can't be in their office at all times......no doubt a small timing anomaly.
business
Oceanfront Island Gem with Great Snorkeling/Diving
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299512
+1 970 641-0200
Curacao Caribbean
Toronto Canada
5

Amazing in all respects

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
My husband and I spent two glorious weeks at Linda and Steve's home away from home in the tropics. We are two professional people with stressful carriers in our fifties that needed time for each other and a lot of R & R. We got it big time. To put it lightly it was amazing, clean, lots of towels, quiet, romantic, adventurous and well equipped with all the comforts you would need for creating your gourmet meals to local restaurants with fine cuisine close by. Snorkeling, diving, beaches all you would want. No clubs or dancing. Need to go into Willemstad if you want action which is approx. 25 min away. You will need a car for sure. Wake up to roosters, and church bells in the distance. One day walked down and purchase a red snapper from the local fisherman just getting out of his boat with the days catch. If you are divers which we are not but there were many that said it was one of the best places to dive. National Park is just around the corner with amazing coastal features you must see.
So much for hiding a good thing. Now the world will know all about this diamond on the cliff by the ocean. Thank you. The Parsons
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Oceanfront Island Gem with Great Snorkeling/Diving
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299512
+1 970 641-0200
Curacao Caribbean
London, Ontario Canada
5

Relaxing, refreshing and rejuvinated after GREAT time at Marazul

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Just wanted to start this email with a shhhhhhhhh. Dont tell anyone else how amazing your place is or how crazy beautiful Curacao is or once people catch on there won't be any more room or the island will end up totally over developed.

Your island home was wonderful, clean, nicely equiped, GREAT bed, basically a true home away from home. The only thing that was missing was a smoke detector, we are basically grasping at straws to find something to add, so the smoke detector is it. Tommy & Uli let us borrow their little Weber

It was a nice time to be there as the other units were basically empty, good for us, cause our vacations are about us connecting and we both work with so many people on a daily basis that having no one around is perfect... Loved the upper deck.. coffee & baileys in the morning and toasted the sunset with Rum punch!! Perfect.. We knew we were in the tropics so took everything in stride--time, mosquitos, no see um, ants... no big deal...
We used the pool and swam/snorkelled out front in the sea a lot..

Uli & Tommy were really great, when we needed them, other than that they just checked in or waved.. very unobstrusive, which was perfect..

We ate at Sol Food.. great folks and food... wish we were them... Landhuis Daniel was another favorite.. The Indian food restaurant in Rif fort was AWESOME... Indi is a Toronto transplant so we had a great conversation... We didn't eat out much because we didn't have to-- nice kitchen and bbq.. cooking is so much better when you have time to cook..

we are beach people.. Loved Cas Abou, Port Mari, Kenepa.. Playa Jermimi was another fav... we found the deserted resort and were the only people on the beach there all day.. Playa Largo had the best snorkelling and we spend hours every day snorkelling..Pay the landowner the $5.00, take the left fork and stay left. .Basically, tried them all in the first week and kept going back to our favs.. Drove around the island to the southern end.. that was fun and we didn't get lost trhying to find Santa Barbara beach that we never did but the Hyatt is hiding it...

anyway, thank you for sharing your lovely island home with us.. anytime you want to visit the southwest region of Ontario, Canada, come and stay with us..

We came back home, very relaxed, rested, tanned and refreshed... thank you
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for all the info! We have never gone to the left at Largo and we'll definitely do it next time - and try the Rif. We always warn guests about the possibility of mosquitos coming out after dark. They're never unbearable, but can be an annoyance-esp. after a rain. Fortunately, we have NO no-see-ums at our resort. They are problematic only on a few of the beaches and only in the late evenings and after a rain.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oceanfront Island Gem with Great Snorkeling/Diving
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299512
+1 970 641-0200
Curacao Caribbean
Salem Oregon
5

A Week at Beautiful Marazul

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
My favorite thing about vacationing in the Caribbean are those indescribable shades of blue blue water. You get to enjoy that at Marazul – a beautiful property, situated on the best part of the island. It is located near the most gorgeous beaches, tucked in and around the curves and rocky faces, you come upon white sand, and the clear blue sea. We were met by the managers, Tommy and Ule, a wonderfully cheerful and accommodating couple who were always available for any questions or information. The condo had everything we needed, the furnishings were nice and the owners have thought of a lot of little things that were very helpful, such as a small cooler, which was nice for transporting groceries or taking cold water and pop to the beach. Their instructions and tips were hugely helpful and we took them everywhere. We were lucky enough to have the owner, Linda, on site while we were there, not because we had problems or needed her, but because she’s a terrific person and lots of fun. We were there to snorkel and checked out most of the beaches at our end of the island, including snorkeling at Marazul every day. We encountered everything from octopus and eagle rays, turtles and a remora to the usual brightly colored band of suspects. Town was farther away than we expected and as we like to eat dinner out, there was not a lot to choose from without driving into town. We ate at Sol Food 3 nights out of the week, enjoying Sunshine’s company and her pizza! Willemstad was very touristy, geared for the cruise ship crowd –worth checking out for the architecture and the floating bridge, but that was about it. Oh, and a glimpse of the Queen (Beatrix) who happened to be visiting while we were in town. We did also enjoy the gelato that Linda recommended! We enjoyed our stay at Marazul and as it was our first time using VRBO, felt extremely lucky for the excellent accommodations and the wonderful people we met.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: It was great to finally meet one of our guests in person. I wish we had more time to spend together. I was a little surprised that Christy didn't mention Misje's restaurant - voted #1 on Curacao and just 2 minutes away.
business
Oceanfront Island Gem with Great Snorkeling/Diving
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299512
+1 970 641-0200
Curacao Caribbean
Colorado Springs, CO
5

Curacao is a True Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Wow, what a great week! No problems with anything concerning the condo.
All of your instructions were very useful; I used them as a guideline for our week of fresh adventure. We started out our first day, after grocery shopping, having dinner at Sol Food's. The owners and their friends were all very helpful and full of ideas. They gave us another information sheet filled with more sightseeing ideas.
We dived or snorkeled everyday. We snorkeled from the condo - saw squid, eel, and many other colorful fish. We, as a new family of divers, dived two 50+ min dives at 50ish feet and felt very comfortable - starting to get that whole buoyancy under control. We used Ocean Encounters, which was recommended by the owners of Sol Food’s. The Dive instructors were very helpful and encouraging. We did buy the underwater video as an awesome souvenir. We were able to see Donatelli (the turtle) and his cousin (another sea turtle), Sea Biscuit (the seahorse), eels (several varieties), butterfly fish, filefish, flounder, lionfish, flora, coral, and many other underwater wonders. What an experience! We went to Playa Lagun and snorkeled with the sea turtles, plus all the other colorful fish. We sailed on the canal tour from the Maritime museum, it was in Dutch, but still very fun and scenic. We took a day to wonder Punda and the Ring areas, lots of great restaurants and shopping. We visited Shete Boka, on the north shore, and took wonderful pictures of shooting water and underground caves. Everyday was a relaxed adventure. We found it easy to get around the Island and had no problems with any directions. Again, thanks to your instructions.
Although, we ate at the condo, we tried to get out for one meal a day. We ate at the Loge Kura Hulanda (Outside, great food, pricey, girls liked the stray cats hanging out), Sambals (great indonesian food, reasonable), Bella Italia (what can I say - yummy gelato), Cafe Gouverneur (great view of canal, good food), Landhuis Misje (Best meal, professional chef, great atmosphere and friendly service), Bahia Inn (nice lunch with large Iguanas), Steak & Ribs (@ the Fort, great view overlooking the ocean, excellent seafood & meat, pricey), and, of course, Sol Food (we ate there the last night and was seated with the group from Ocean Encounters, including our Dive Instructor and Photographer - small world). We had excellent service and everyone was happy to engage in insightful, touristy conversation. A true Vacation!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1