Duboce Triangle apartment rental - Old magnolia trees line the street
Old magnolia trees line the street
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Duboce Triangle Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2; additional bed available)

Located in the heart of San Francisco, This unit is located in a perfect setting for exploring the City. Visitors without cars will find a wide range of transportation options: all MUNI train lines are within a couple blocks, including the Historic F line which travels down Market Street to Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, farmer's markets, shopping, museums and more. For travelers wanting to visit Union Street, the Marina and Presidio MUNI bus service is available on the same block; the same bus runs through the Castro and Noe Valley in the other direction. Even traveling to and from the airport is just one train connection away. Rental cars are available from several ZipCar locations within a couple blocks. Car owners will find street parking and a public garage is one block away. The clean (newly painted, new wood flooring) apartment is located in a historic Queen Anne Victorian in the Duboce Triangle neighborhood with a wrought iron gate.

A Comfortable Place in a Great Location: This apartment has its own private entrance. This studio apartment features a comfortable queen size bed, designer sheets, a separate, private bath and separate, kitchenette and a fireplace. An additional twin bed is available for an additional fee. Stroll to nearby outdoor cafes, a French bistro, a wide range of diverse bars and dance clubs, the historic Castro Theater, the historic Mission Dolores and much more.

Amenities: Your hosts will welcome you with fresh linens and towels and freshly ground coffee, and are happy to direct you to all of the wonderful amenities San Francisco has to offer. Your hosts both speak English, and one speaks German (Deutsch), and the other speaks Mandarin and Taiwanese.

More Details
Hide Details

A trained hospitality and restaurant professional, the owner lives in the same building and manages multiple rental units.

Laurence Chang purchased this apartment in 2004

This building is located in the very heart of San Francisco, with access to great transportation all over the city and much to do within walking distance. The neighborhood is safe, pedestrian-friendly and public transportation options are abundant.

This Queen Anne Victorian is located on a street lined by old Magnolia trees. The Castro district, restaurants, shops, parks all surround this location.

80 Reviews of Property 297503 in Duboce Triangle, California

Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
average rating of 4.85 based on 80 reviews
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Very nice place in a great location. Owners Nick and Laurance were gracious and helpful. Highly recommended -
Cody and Mary
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
Viareggio- Italy
5

SFO Vacation rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Nick and Laurence are the best hosts you can think of! They were always very helpful and let me have many useful suggestions and information on the area and on the things to do and see. The apartment is very cute and clean and is equipped with all you need; the location is also perfect, the Castro district is full of nice restaurants and nice attractions. The cable car to Downtown SF runs right next door. I would definitely reccomend this property to anyone travelling to SF and would definitely come again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
Ohio
5

Great VRBO Stay in San Francisco

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The owners were terrific, the unit was more than we expected & the location was perfect...even a bus stop feet away fro our front door. Will definitely come back again....
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
4

Great Location, Clean Average Apt in the City

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My husband & I recently stayed in the Castro Studio & found it to be an excellent location for exploring the city. It was located very close to public transportation & the Castro neighborhood amenities were great for breakfast & late night snacks. It was nice to stay in a residential neighborhood rather than in the heart of the "tourist trap" areas. The unit was clean & well equipped to make you feel like a resident during your stay.

My only complaints would be that the bathroom is a bit dark, especially with no window. It made it feel a bit damp & was hard to full relax in there. I didn't like that we only got 1 towel for our 3-day stay either. I know CA is very environmentally conscious, but a towel for each day would be more sanitary. The bed sheets had a stain on them as well, which caused me to be a little freaked out about sleeping in it, until I realized that they were clean, just stained.

Overall, a great choice for San Fran & would recommend to anyone looking for reasonable city digs.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: We are happy this guest and her husband enjoyed their stay and we normally allow our reviews to speak for themselves. We should, however, clarify some misleading information in this review. Our unit is a vacation rental, not a hotel or bed and breakfast, and as such we provide a fresh full set of towels for each guest (a bath towel, hand towel and wash cloth) and full set of clean, designer bedding. Shampoo, conditioner, coffee and other amenities are also complimentary. We do not provide daily maid service and most of our visitors prefer this approach, however as indicated in our rental agreement we do provide maid service for those who prefer it as an option. We also live at the same property and Laurence regularly responds promptly to requests to accommodate our guests’ needs (if they raise them while they are here). This guest did ask about daily towel service before arriving and we indicated we offer optional daily maid services and fresh towels for an additional fee, but she declined, preferring to bring her own towels. As noted consistently through our many reviews we seek – and, we hope, we succeed – in providing very clean, comfortable and very affordable accommodations in a private setting in a great location in San Francisco.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
London
5

Kate and Tony, London

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We had a week at this apartment, and would thoroughly recommend it. The location is ideal, so handy for transport, restaurants and everything in the city. The owners have been very thoughtful in providing little extras to make the stay comfortable, guide books, information, helpful hints etc, so much more personal than staying in a hotel, it made our holiday delightful. Excellent communication and helpfulness before arrival, I would certainly book it again and recommend it to everyone. Thanks guys, you are a joy.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
Saint Paul, Minnesota
5

A great alternative to a hotel

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The best thing about Nick's and Laurence's place is Nick and Laurence. A close second would be the the bed, which is crazy-comfortable. You will sleep like a baby.
The best thing about the house is its location. Walk out the door to your right and you're in the cute little Noe Valley. Walk to your left and within two minutes you're in the middle of the crazy Castro. Walk to your left and then left again down the hill, and you're in the Mission district in about seven minutes. The BART is about a ten-minute walk down 16th Street (straight shot to the airport) and the Castro metro station is a mere two blocks away .
If you want to avoid all the tourist crap and hang with the locals, this is your place. It's surprisingly quiet, considering how close it is to everything, but be advised that it's also a basement apartment with windows. This actually didn't bother me, but if someone is sitting at the little patio table you'll need to draw your shades (unless you like being watched).
Nick and Laurence are incredibly helpful and genuinely nice. They think of just about everything and are willing to assist and give advice/suggestions as much as you need them.
A note to those with chemical sensitivity: although the bed is amazing, the laundry detergent is scented. You might want to put in a special request in order to avoid the scent-headache.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
Basel, Switzerland
5

Perfect stay at San Francisco

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We spend three nights in San Francisco and couldn't have found a better place to stay than this studio in the Castro area. The studio is very nice; it's spacious, clean and bright, the bed is great. Nick and Laurence are very kind hosts, they provide valuable tips about the area. We had a wonderful breakfast at Squat & Gobble around the corner.
When we return to San Francisco we're planning on staying at this place again!
Fanny and Moritz
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
Vancouver
5

San Francisco in the summertime

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
San Francisco is our kind of town! We enjoyed a week vacation in this great city. We found a comfortable base in this sweet little self contained suite in the lower courtyard of a beautiful Victorian house. Our accomodation was very comfortable and well equipped. After long days of siteseeing we were very happy to sink into a soft linens and a cozy bed. It was clean, decorated with care and well maintained. Our gracious hosts, Laurence and Nick were on site to welcome us and provide recommendations for all their favourite sites, retaurants and shopping. We rented bikes, took several of the city's free walking tours, explored much of the city on foot and with the help of the efficient transportation system. San francisco has many great restaurants and bars, there is plenty of good coffee and some fine ice cream, we ate well and drank well. We will visit this city and Nick and Laurence's lovely home again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
5

Cozy in the Castro

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Incredible experience! My girlfriend and I were here for Pride Weekend, and this house was just perfect. It's close enough to the center of the Castro and the metro/streetcar system to make it very accessible, but also just far enough away that we weren't bombarded with city noise, especially while the Pride parties powered on late through the night. The accommodations themselves are very cozy, bright, and clean.

Nick and Laurence were extremely gracious hosts. When we arrived, Laurence took us on the tour of the house, making sure that were welcome to the coffee and cereal in the kitchen and familiar with the local amenities. The two have compiled an introductory binder with all sorts of useful information, including the thorough reviews of some of the their favorite nearby restaurants, transportation details, and museums.

Throughout the trip, we were greeted with emails from Nick checking in on us and reminding us of upcoming local event such as the Farmer's Market. At one point Nick even printed out our Alcatraz Reservations, that we had forgotten at home. One could really not ask for better hosts!

Recommended to all!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Castro Area Studio in San Francisco Victorian, Great Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297503
Duboce Triangle San Francisco
5

I will be back!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My son, brother, and his family all live in the San Francisco area so I have been looking for a place I could return to for my many future visits. I found it!
The apartment was clean, well maintained, and wonderfully located. Nick and Laurence are amazing communicators. Before I arrived I fully understood costs, location, and amenities. During my stay they sent regular emails of fun things to do in the area. They also provided information for a cab that would pick me up at 3:30 am for my 6:00 am flight out. Finley, they checked to be sure I arrived home safe and sound.
There was also a binder filled with local information that provided answers to any and every question I might have had.
I can not recommend the house on Castro strongly enough, just please don't make it impossible for me to return.
Helpful votes: 1/1