Girdwood lodge rental - Winner Creek Lodge
Winner Creek Lodge
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps11
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

Girdwood Lodge Rental Photos and Description
Lodge, 5 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 2-13)

This is a Beautiful 4300+ Sq Ft Custom Log Home. Designed & Built by the owner. There is no other home that compares to this lodge-like atmosphere in Girdwood. Great Space for Entertaining. The Main Level is almost 2000 sq ft w/ Dramatic 25 ft Vaulted Ceilings throughout. The Kitchen can cater to a variety of events. Perfect for Small Weddings( up to 30-35 people), Corporate Retreats or Small Corporate Parties, or Family Reunions. The ground entry level has 4 bedrooms & 3 baths. The Master Suite is on the top 3rd level w/ a spacious 600+ sq ft. In the Ski Season, Mt Alyeska is a short walk. There is a Large Deck with a Covered 6 person Hot Tub and a small outside gas grill.

We welcome Families with children, please remember to let us know about their accompanying you prior to your arrival.

DETAILED RATES:

$500/Night 1-4 People. Each addit'l Person(incl kids 5 & older) is $50 per head.

Facility Fee charged on top of Accommodation Rates for Authorized & Scheduled Parties or Events such as Small Weddings Rehearsal Dinners, Birthday Parties etc... Rates Depend on Amount of People. We take into Consideration the people already paying to stay in the home.

*3 Night Min Req; *4 Night Min Req Christmas & New Year; 2 Night stays considered

if dates are available, not during summer, nor during holidays. Rates are at Premium during Holidays, email for Rates

12.00% Tax. Charged on top of Rates. Must be 30 years old to Rent

Disc for 7 nights or Longer-Please call for Rates

Property Protection Plan Required of $89 in lieu of Security Deposit

Keywords: Girdwood Home Rental, Alyeska Home Rental, Girdwood Vacation Rental, Alyeska Vacation Rental, Girdwood Nightly Rental, Alyeska Nightly Rental, Alyeska Ski Resort Rental, places to stay in Girdwood Alaska, places to stay at Alyeska Resort, Custom Log Home with Lodge-like Feel

More Details
Hide Details

My husband designed and built this home. He is a jack of all trades. He is a builder, a Real Estate broker and also a Commercial Salmon Fisherman. I have an Alaskan Real Estate license as well. I have been a Property Manager for several nightly rental & Long-Term Condos for 7 years. Making the choice to open our home to share with other people goes right along with my current business. We have a son who is 9 years old. We both love Alaska and Girdwood. Girdwood is a great place for basing your stay. You can make day trips to Seward or Whittier as well as enjoy the great scenery and local activities. Having our home as a base, you might be so comfortable in the home that you forget to step outside. The logs have such a warm appeal to them, it is definitely like being in a home away from home.

The Owner purchased this lodge in 1997

We built the home intending to do bed & breakfast. We did operate a very successful B&B there for over 10 years.

The home is very Large and the main living area is all open. This is nice for larger groups going on a trip together; they will not feel like they are stepping on each others toes. Large enough to find their own little area for quiet time if they want.

34 Reviews of Property 337602 in Girdwood, Alaska

Alyeska/Girdwood Beautiful 4300 Sq Ft Custom Log Home W/ Lodge Like Atmosphere
average rating of 4.969697 based on 34 reviews
business
Alyeska/Girdwood Beautiful 4300 Sq Ft Custom Log Home W/ Lodge Like Atmosphere
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337602vb
(907) 229-8538 (Alaska, USA)
Girdwood Alaska
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Winner creek lodge wedding

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Our son and daughter-in-law rented the lodge for their wedding. It is in a lovely setting. It accommodated 30 wedding guests very nicely for a wedding on the deck. It has a huge kitchen capable of feeding the entire crowd. The party went from Wed evening until Mon with most meals eaten there. It was clean when we arrived and had a well supplied kitchen. Victor explained how everything worked when they arrived. The hot tub was enjoyed by several.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Alyeska/Girdwood Beautiful 4300 Sq Ft Custom Log Home W/ Lodge Like Atmosphere
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337602vb
(907) 229-8538 (Alaska, USA)
Girdwood Alaska
Albuquerque, NM
5

Fantastic Alyeska Log Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We recently enjoyed a wonderful stay in Alyeska. Only made better by the Duncan's amazing log home! We have rented several homes for large get weekend trips, and this home was by far one of our top stays. The kitchen has top appliances and lots of space so that many people can either be preparing or simply hanging out in the kitchen while eating/preparing meals. There is plenty of space for everyone to spread out.

We also really enjoyed the large hot tub! Definitely a nice luxury after skiing in the powder all day.

Without question, when we come back to Alyeska we would hope that we are able to stay in this home again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We greatly appreciate your taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are very happy you enjoyed our Home & Girdwood. Thank you again for your business.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Alyeska/Girdwood Beautiful 4300 Sq Ft Custom Log Home W/ Lodge Like Atmosphere
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337602vb
(907) 229-8538 (Alaska, USA)
Girdwood Alaska
Anchorage, AK
4

awesome place -- too many rules.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
The write up says perfect for parties, so we rented the Lodge to host a 60th birthday party.
The owner built house is as advertised – a wonderful example of the log builders craft with a beautiful rock work fireplace. 4 bedrooms are on ground level and they are comfortable and well appointed. 2 have private baths. The master suite is on the third floor and offers a claw foot tub and a gas fireplace – the double vanity is in the bed chamber. The main floor space is enormous, but sparsely furnished. The kitchen is very well appointed with a commercial style stove/oven and two refrigerators and lots of spices and condiments available for use. Our group of 12 couples did not remotely utilize the space available.
The downside of this rental was the compulsive level of rules and potential fees. We have rented multi-million dollar homes in Hawaii thru VRBO with a one page rental agreement. Their rental agreement was 5 pages of very small print with underlined sections and the bold word “READ” next to various sections. It detailed everything from how to clean up a spill (they seemed obsessed about the white carpet) to a “cleaning fee” for not showering before using the hot tub. I almost backed out because all of the potential “fines”, additional cleaning fees, service charges, handling fees etc. This was followed up by a 4 page document left for us on the kitchen counter reiterating all the rules (the hot tub rules were in RED CAPITALS) with statement that “all occupants of Winner Creek Lodge must sign that you have read these rules”.
My sense is that since they rent to college ski teams they feel this level of detail is necessary, but it was very off putting to us. This came with a “cognitive disconnect” when the owner met us to let us in; he was very friendly and justifiably very proud of his work. He showed us all the feature of the house, including telling us how to make great pancakes without oil on the griddle on the gas stove-which according the rules was not to be used. He urged us to enjoy the house and have a great time! And we did.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We appreciate the good comments about our home. We are sorry you felt Put Off by our House Rules. This is definitely not our intentions. You took very Great Care of our Home, and we do Appreciate this. We try to always email our guest to let them know that we appreciate when they leave the home in Wonderful shape; I did do this with this guest as well. With regard to the rules, our Rental Agreement is a standard Agreement. With having 24 people coming into your home, there is a greater risk of things happening. Regarding our carpet, it was a simple request that if there was any spill of wine or beer, that the spill be soaked up so as not to dry and the stain be set into the carpet (we have radiant heated floors and if a spill is not taken care of right away, the stain can set and be hard to remove). We rent to many people, and are just meeting them for the first time. We do not usually meet them until after they have received the Rental Agreement; this takes place sometimes months in advance. There is always some concern that the guest will take care of your property. Usually meeting the guest does help to relieve some of these concerns. There however can be the select few, who even after meeting them, do not always take care of the property or abuse a situation. This is why there has to be some rules, and yes, they have to be pointed out. Looking through the eyes of an owner the Rules are there to protect their home and investment and the guest. We have been fortunate that we have had Good People Rent our Home; we have only had a couple instances where there was abuse and we had to charge for the abuse. This is not the norm, we do not charge people for extra things without having a very good reason. Yes, we do have in Red Letters info regarding Showering Prior to Any Usuage of the Hot Tub. This is a standard Rule in any establishment and is just asking the guest to exercise good etiquette. We take pride in that we provide a clean environment for our guest to enjoy, and that extends to the Hot Tub. When reading this review, please take into consideration the other good reviews that we have received who have not complained about our Rules, but found the home to be Lovely and Enjoyable. I do not take the comments written in this review lightly, and will make sure to let our guest know that while we do have Policies in place, we do want them to enjoy the Home and to have a very nice time. Thank you again for your business.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Alyeska/Girdwood Beautiful 4300 Sq Ft Custom Log Home W/ Lodge Like Atmosphere
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337602vb
(907) 229-8538 (Alaska, USA)
Girdwood Alaska
5

Smith Winter Wedding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
In looking for the perfect Alaskan experience, I shopped around for the quintessential place to hold our winter wedding. After looking in both Anchorage and Girdwood, I had my breath taken away upon entering this home. A log cabin situated in a beautiful area with a spectacular view and within walking distance to the ski slopes and Alyeska resort, I could not leave the property without signing the contract! It took just moments to envision what the reception would look like and with so much space I knew this place would also be the perfect place for my family to stay for the weekend. About the house: the bottom floor has several bedrooms and bathrooms making large families easy to house. As for the main floor, the kitchen is simply unbelievable! The appliances are state of the art and the layout is perfect if you are the type that still wants to interact with your guests while in the kitchen. The two dinning areas are also very helpful because it allows people to sit all together or to move around if necessary. We had 18 people sitting in one of the areas and it was more than enough room. In addition to the main floor’s kitchen and dinning areas, there is a large pantry with plenty of storage space (great for caterers) and a gorgeous staircase that leads to the top floor. The top floor includes an entrance area, large bathroom, and large bedroom. The bathroom in particular was adorable because it had one of the beautiful stand-alone tubs as well as a shower. Everything was extremely clean and there was nothing that we had to do once we got there except settle in and enjoy. All of the applicances worked well and the owners were more than helpful when we needed to get there early and leave late. The fact that they were willing to accomodate us truly set a high standard of customer service.

In short, if you are thinking of staying in Girdwood, this is the best choice. I literally searched all over the city and was most impressed by the design and architecture of this home. The stuffed animals and wood furnishings will truly make you feel like you are in Alaska yet with all of the of a luxury home!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Alyeska/Girdwood Beautiful 4300 Sq Ft Custom Log Home W/ Lodge Like Atmosphere
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337602vb
(907) 229-8538 (Alaska, USA)
Girdwood Alaska
Anchorage, Alaska
5

Best Idea Ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
This home is downright beautiful! You can't get much closer to the slopes; you will not have to worry about parking because you can just walk. The video does not do this house justice. It is huge and the master suite is gorgeous. There are plenty of towels, linens and even shampoo/conditioner/body wash in each bathroom in case you forget something. There is also a pantry with some cooking basics and a few spices. The kitchen is beautiful and has plenty of cooking equipment for meal prep. All weekend long we couldn't stop exclaiming about how great the whole house was. We can't wait to go back!
business
Alyeska/Girdwood Beautiful 4300 Sq Ft Custom Log Home W/ Lodge Like Atmosphere
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337602vb
(907) 229-8538 (Alaska, USA)
Girdwood Alaska
5

Perfect weekend getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We rented the Winner Creek Lodge for a quick weekend getaway from Anchorage and it could not have been much more perfect. The accommodations were perfect for our group; extremely homey, exceptionally clean and comfortable with top of the line appliances and ample hot water in the showers. Added luxuries were a roaring gas fireplace, a cozy hot tub, lines for our own iPod music and ceiling mounted speakers throughout the living and dining area (not in the kitchen area) as well as ample storage space for our food and drinks for the weekend.
It had snowed overnight, over 2 feet, and the driveway was cleared early in the morning so we did not have to worry about getting out and on our way back home.
Our ONLY complaint would be the size of the grill as it was too small for the size of our group (10 adults) and what we were grilling. The overnight rental fee is a bit on the high side, comparatively, but was worth it and we would definitely recommend to our friends and family. We hope to stay here again in the future and maybe even make it an annual trip!

Thank you Kim for your hospitality!
business
Alyeska/Girdwood Beautiful 4300 Sq Ft Custom Log Home W/ Lodge Like Atmosphere
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337602vb
(907) 229-8538 (Alaska, USA)
Girdwood Alaska
5

Winner Creek Lodge great for a group

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Just stayed here with 8 people and it was a great time. Very clean and cozy. TONS and TONS of space. Lots of bathrooms. Kitchen is huge and easy to cook from. I'd go again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Alyeska/Girdwood Beautiful 4300 Sq Ft Custom Log Home W/ Lodge Like Atmosphere
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337602vb
(907) 229-8538 (Alaska, USA)
Girdwood Alaska
5

A truly Alaskan experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We took our family of 6 to Alaska for a one of a kind experience.
We met with my wife's sister and mother and stayed in this beautiful home. It made our trip complete.
It is a gorgeous home. The residence is tastefully outfitted with a real feel of Alaska. The grizzly bear and buffalo head were two of my children's favorite.
It is spacious enough so that four young children have plenty of room to roam. It has all the luxuries you need, from the gourmet kitchen to the hot tub on the deck. It is both relaxing and comfortable. This house will seem like home the minute you walk in.
I cannot now imagine ever going back to Alaska and not staying here.
The owners take exceptional care of the house and will take care of any issues immediately should they arise.

I highly recommend this home.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Alyeska/Girdwood Beautiful 4300 Sq Ft Custom Log Home W/ Lodge Like Atmosphere
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337602vb
(907) 229-8538 (Alaska, USA)
Girdwood Alaska
Ft. Myers
5

Just Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
There were 8 of us for the first part of July and we absolutely loved staying at the house. It was very spacious and cozy. It was so clean we thought it was brand new. The large gourmet kitchen had everything we needed to feed our small army. The bedrooms and bathrooms were well stocked with linens. The beds were very comfortable. We enjoyed sitting on the deck for dinner. The owners are very friendly and accomodating. We would definately stay again if we ever return to Girdwood.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Alyeska/Girdwood Beautiful 4300 Sq Ft Custom Log Home W/ Lodge Like Atmosphere
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p337602vb
(907) 229-8538 (Alaska, USA)
Girdwood Alaska
Green Bay, Wisconsin
5

Fantastic Stay in Girdwood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
My family had a wonderful stay in Winner Creek Lodge. It had everything that we had hoped for and more. Great location to walk to ski lifts or day lodge, short drive to other local restaurants and attractions. Great views of the mountain, huge space for our daughter to play and for the rest of us to relax and enjoy after a long day outside. Large kitchen and cooking space made staying in for family meals one of the highlights of the trip. Staying at Winner Creek Lodge helped to make our trip to Alaska the perfect experience.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children