Pipestem cabin rental - Cabin entry and side deck
Cabin entry and side deck
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Pipestem Cabin Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 1.5 Bathrooms, Loft, Sleeps 6

You can't buy serenity--but you can rent it!

NOW BOOKING SUMMER VACATIONS!

PLEASE NOTE: IN SUMMER, WE RENT BY FULL WEEK ONLY, FROM SATURDAY TO SATURDAY.

AND IT'S NOT TOO LATE FOR A ROMANTIC SPRING WEEKEND GETAWAY.

Iona Cabin is located on Big Creek, just half a mile from the Greenbrier River and some of the best small-mouth bass fishing in the East, and three miles from the confluence of the Greenbrier with the New River. Bluestone Lake, the New River Gorge National River, and several state parks and wildlife management areas make this one of West Virginia's most scenic locations.

With Iona Cabin rental, you get exclusive use of the entire 11 acre, secluded property, accessed by a private, graveled driveway from Big Creek Road. It is entirely wooded, and the beautiful, cascading Big Creek tumbles right through it, with your private walking trail alongside the stream. Just below the cabin itself, you have your own natural ''swimming hole.''

New! We added air conditioning for the 2012 summer season. We have a new, tile shower, and an automated well water filtration system.

Worry Free Zone!: Iona Cabin is a two-bedroom log cabin hideaway, with two adjoining decks. It has a great room with cathedral ceiling, fully-equipped kitchen, master bedroom, and shower-bath on the first floor. Upstairs, the loft contains a second bedroom and a half-bath. There is an outdoor shower below the deck.

Iona Cabin is a quiet, get-away retreat. You’ll find your anxiety level plummeting as you enter the long, private driveway, and you'll want to spend days on end just luxuriating in the peace and serenity of this beautiful and tranquil, natural setting of almost eleven acres, clad in hardwood, hemlock, and native rhododendron. If inner harmony is your goal, Iona Cabin is your destination.

Wild IS Wonderful in West Virginia!: Iona Cabin is also a great home base for an active, outdoor vacation. Whether you like fishing or hunting; skiing on water or snow; river 'tubing,' white-water rafting, kayaking, or canoeing; hiking or mountain biking; golfing; horse-back riding; or sight-seeing, Iona Cabin is right in the center of a wealth of recreational opportunities--that is, if you can tear yourself away from your own private swimming hole on the babbling Big Creek.

Nearby Hinton is an authentic West Virginia, Appalachian town, quaint and charming, filled with friendly and hospitable people. As yet unspoiled by big city ways and influences, Hinton is blessed with natural beauty, access to rivers, lakes, and mountains, proximity to state and national parks and forests, and easy accessibility from urban centers in Maryland, Virginia, and North Carolina, making it an ideal base for get-away excursions whether for quiet retreat or active, outdoor fun.

Rustic Does Not Have To Mean Primitive! Enjoy blessed quiet and tranquility, yet stay connected to home and work through smart phone and laptop, via wireless internet. Iona is a great setting for completing a project, or for having quality time with someone you love.

The satellite WiFi means you never have to feel cut-off, even when you are enjoying the splendid isolation of the West Virginia woodlands. Your smart phone will bring in your email, also.

More Details
Hide Details

Donald is Canon for Mission and Transitions in the Episcopal Diocese of WV. Linda is Chair of Humanities at Mountwest Community and Technical College. We have two adult sons.

Donald Vinson purchased this cabin in 2006

This was a beautiful property, in an area yet undiscovered by east-coast tourism. We have space, privacy, quiet, and great natural beauty only 3 hours from our home.

The acreage, the natural landscape, the creek to play in, and the lack of close neighbors make for a very peaceful setting.

55 Reviews of Property 295368 in Pipestem, West Virginia

BRAND NEW CENTRAL HEAT AND AIR CONDITIONING! SAT WI-FI AND WATER FILTRATION SYS
average rating of 4.16129 based on 55 reviews
business
BRAND NEW CENTRAL HEAT AND AIR CONDITIONING! SAT WI-FI AND WATER FILTRATION SYS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295368
+1 304 541-9963
Pipestem West Virginia
Charleston, WV
4

Great getaway for my Birthday!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
IONA Cabin is a great place to relax. Enjoyed sitting on the deck overlooking the creek with the little waterfall. The color of the leaves turned just a little each day we were there. I bet in a week it will be really pretty to see. The cabin is furnished very nicely and has everything you would need for the stay. It has a metal roof and we were not used to this, so it took us awhile to figure out all the noises especially falling acorns. It rained all day Sunday, so we stayed in and enjoyed relaxing by the wood stove. Hinton is a great little town. Bluestone Dam and State Park is a nice place to visit. Pipestem is also close enough to visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
BRAND NEW CENTRAL HEAT AND AIR CONDITIONING! SAT WI-FI AND WATER FILTRATION SYS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295368
+1 304 541-9963
Pipestem West Virginia
Gallipolis Ohio
4

Ladies retreat

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I am thankful to have found this cabin nestled in the hills of Hinton. I spent a week here with my lady friends and we had a ball. Absolutely loved being near the creek and the wonderful swimming hole. We had a fire in the natural rock fire pit and roasted hotdogs and made s'mores. Loved hearing the creek in the morning. The cabin itself could use some repair but it was comfortable and well stocked. We floated down the river on tubes that we roped together and had a marvelous time. Would definitely come back!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
BRAND NEW CENTRAL HEAT AND AIR CONDITIONING! SAT WI-FI AND WATER FILTRATION SYS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295368
+1 304 541-9963
Pipestem West Virginia
4

A Nice Quiet Place

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My wife and I and our two small children stayed at the cabin for a week and were pleased to find quiet and solitude. We live near a big city so it was nice to hear absolute silence at night. We slept great. It's far enough away from others to feel isolated but close enough to town to be convenient. The creek was the playground for our 2 year old all week. We also enjoyed the nature and even saw snakes, bears, deer, bald eagles, chipmunks, and a few massive (but harmless) wolf spiders out and about. It's an hour away from Lewisburg & White Sulfur Springs, which were nice day trips for us. The cabin is well appointed, but not entirely childproof. Our son listens well to his parents, so this was not a problem. We'd stay here again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
BRAND NEW CENTRAL HEAT AND AIR CONDITIONING! SAT WI-FI AND WATER FILTRATION SYS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295368
+1 304 541-9963
Pipestem West Virginia
Virginia
4

Beautiful Secret!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
My girlfriend and I spent 4 nights/5 days at this amazing cabin. With our busy schedules ie -kids, husbands, animals, home chores, jobs etc...we, adored the "breather". We were blown away (every day) by the beauty, true privacy in holler, the creek and property paths! The owners have this cabin stocked FAR beyond your average rental. They provide everything you could possibly need and a bunch of extra's. When the sun came up each morning, it would beam through the vaulted ceiling/window lighting up the entire cabin. We scouted the town, cooked great meals, went hiking, curled up/watched movies by wood stove at night, went fishing and roasted sausages over the outdoor fire pit. Beautifully decorated, very warm and inviting. We hope to bring our (jealous) husbands and dogs next time. :) ...LOVE that they allow your family pets to stay (and even have food/water bowls and dog bed) provided. The best part, the price is sooo fantastic-compared to other cabin rentals already...and even better, you aren't right beside another cabin/vacationer like most of the other rental cabins in WV. A Blessed Find!

~ Barb Helms, Virginia
~ Kim Rhys, Virginia
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
BRAND NEW CENTRAL HEAT AND AIR CONDITIONING! SAT WI-FI AND WATER FILTRATION SYS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295368
+1 304 541-9963
Pipestem West Virginia
4

Bringing in the New Year

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
My family and I enjoyed our stay bringing in the New Year. The views are incredible. More snow would have been nice.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
BRAND NEW CENTRAL HEAT AND AIR CONDITIONING! SAT WI-FI AND WATER FILTRATION SYS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295368
+1 304 541-9963
Pipestem West Virginia
5

Perfect Birthday Get Away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Our visit to Iona Cabin started out as a surprise for my wife's birthday. I would not tell her where we were going but made the slip of saying we would have to take a tram to the restaurant for her B'day dinner. So, of course, she googled all possibilities and found the Mountain Creek Restaurant at Pipestem Resort. Still I would not divulge the exact location of the cabin. But she had enough info to immediately start planning all of the sights she wanted to see in and around the Pipestem Resort area.

We were only there for two nights and three days but boy did we hit all the highlights that beautiful area has to offer. And at the end of the day, we enjoyed retuning to the peace and quiet of the cabin. There was no babbling creek to listen to at night as the area has gone through a long draught and the creek was bone dry but we are not the toe-dipping types anyway.

There were a few minor issues with the cabin itself but the owner was grateful that I pointed out the very small deficiencies and planned to inspect the cabin the day after our departure to correct those items. Again, nothing major and we found his description of the cabin to be very accurate.

It was a perfect romantic getaway for two seniors and a birthday my wife will remember fondly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
BRAND NEW CENTRAL HEAT AND AIR CONDITIONING! SAT WI-FI AND WATER FILTRATION SYS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295368
+1 304 541-9963
Pipestem West Virginia
Charleston, WV
4

Great Iona Cabin

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Great get away. Love the creek below the cabin. The cabin was stocked with everything I needed. Beautiful scenery, quiet, and relaxing. Only heard a distant train whistle from time to time. Saw a couple of small critters which made it enjoyable also. (Fox and chipmunk). Great deck to relax and enjoy a meal on. Birds singing. This was truly a small part of God's wonderful creation. Thank you so much for letting me stay at your cabin for a few days.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
BRAND NEW CENTRAL HEAT AND AIR CONDITIONING! SAT WI-FI AND WATER FILTRATION SYS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295368
+1 304 541-9963
Pipestem West Virginia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Mr. Vinson, I wanted to take a minute to thank you for letting my boys and me use your cabin last week - we had an excellent time. The property is beautiful, the creek is amazing and the cabin is so well stocked that it feels like home from day 1. My boys are 4 and 7 years old, so they spent most of their time exploring the property and throwing rocks in the fast moving water of the creek - all of my time was spent making sure they didn't fall in! It was a nice bonding experience for all of us, a "boys trip" we kept calling it (my wife ended up not being able to join us due to work, but my brother Jeff came down for a few days in the early part of the week). My youngest's adventurous spirit really showed during the trip - without a word, he would put on his jacket, backpack full of books and just walk out the door and start hiking up the old/former driveway path to the left of the existing driveway. He would plop down on a rock and start 'reading' his books in the middle of the woods. I was able to watch him from the deck of the cabin, making sure he was ok but letting him have his solo adventure. We went to the local state parks and had them all to ourselves with beautiful mid-70's weather most days. We saw and heard all kinds of wildlife including deer, turkey, owls, frogs, salamanders, crayfish and countless bats and birds.
Thank you very much for providing a safe and serene retreat for us to spend time - we appreciate it.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
BRAND NEW CENTRAL HEAT AND AIR CONDITIONING! SAT WI-FI AND WATER FILTRATION SYS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295368
+1 304 541-9963
Pipestem West Virginia
5

Very nice cabin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
My husband and I brought our two dogs to this charming cabin. It was comfortable and private. We very much appreciated the relaxation time. When we walked in and saw the downstairs bedroom we were happy, then we went upstairs and saw the other bedrooms and twin beds- very nice surprise. The kitchen was well stocked with pots so we could do some light cooking. Although the water on the property is not great, the owners kindly supplied us with plenty of fresh water. The deck was very nice to view the beautiful creek below. We took short trips to Pipestem and Bluestone to spend time on the park trails. Donald was very helpful prior to our trip in making sure this would be a good location for our dogs as well. A comfortable, happy cabin at a reasonable price...we enjoyed our stay very much - thank you!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
BRAND NEW CENTRAL HEAT AND AIR CONDITIONING! SAT WI-FI AND WATER FILTRATION SYS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295368
+1 304 541-9963
Pipestem West Virginia
Cottageville, SC
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
My husband and I were looking for a quiet place to just get away from it all for a few days and this was it! We had a wonderful time in this area. The cabin was so "snuggly" and had everything there that we needed. The peace and quiet was so refreshing. I would love to visit again for a longer period of time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/6