Ocean Beach cottage rental - Deck off of the Master Bedroom
Deck off of the Master Bedroom
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Ocean Beach Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 bath, sleeps 4 maximum

Please see our video at the bottom of this page.

Lotus 1, our 1932 Craftsman Cottage, is our flagship beach home.

Lotus 1 is 150 SF larger than Lotus 2, our historic, pine-panelled 1922 Beach Cottage. That's like going from a luxury suite (Lotus 2) to a grand luxury suite (Lotus 1).

The bedroom at Lotus 1 is especially wonderful. There is a private, covered deck just off of the sleeping area. With handsome louvered doors, romantic lighting and details on the bedroom ceiling which are simply wonderful -- you will most definitely enjoy your time in Lotus 1, the Craftsman Cottage.

Many of our guests have said that being at Lotus 1 is like being in a wonderful home, right at the beach.

In Lotus 1, the Craftsman cottage, there are incredible details in every room. Dramatic ceilings with open beams in the living room, a wonderful 'Greene and Greene' detailed ceiling in the bedroom, unbelievable post and beam construction, private yards and decks -- and you're right at the beach!

Our guests love this cottage! : When you enter the cottage, you immediately notice the living room's handsome, exposed beam ceiling. The detail and the color of the wood just 'takes you home.' There is a terrific large flat-panel television, an incredibly comfortable sofa (which converts into a queen-size bed) and a few other comfortable chairs. Bring your favorite DVDs or watch your favorite sports event on the large TV screen.

There is a large, beautiful redwood bar which separates the living room from the food preparation area. A portion of the bar has been configured to provide you the perfect location to plug in and open your laptop and to get a few things done. (Notice that we didn't say 'get some work done while you're on vacation.')

The kitchen is appointed with most everything you'll need to put together a wonderful dinner for yourself, your family and/or your guests. There is a superb Fisher-Paykel convection oven/microwave, a terrific glass-surface cooking range and a wonderful refrigerator.

Architect Designed Master Carpenter Built: This very comfortable, 1932 craftsman cottage was lovingly restored in 2010. The active flow of indoor-outdoor spaces was designed to accommodate San Diego's extraordinary year-round weather.

In the front is a private gated yard elevated above the street and is situated under a wonderful, large pine tree. At night, you can 'turn on the lights' and enjoy a lovely evening with small white lights. There is an awesome, large built-in bench, which can comfortably accommodate three people, wine, some magazines and/or some books. You can enjoy morning coffee or an afternoon cocktail or other libation in this wonderful, comfortable, shady spot.

At the center of the cottage is a multi-function room. The furniture includes a drop-leaf table and four comfortable teak chairs. The furniture can be arranged to serve as a more formal, overflow dining area or you could use the room as a study or for playing board games. The layout is perfect for privacy or entertaining.

Special Wonderful Features -- Especially for You: One of the wonderful surprises at the cottage is the french door in the bedroom which leads directly to the redwood deck in the rear courtyard.

This private redwood deck is sheltered with a handsome cantilevered roof. The deck is surrounded by a very nice palm tree and some beautiful nandina -- gorgeous plants which produce some lovely orange berries -- don't eat them -- but they are a very beautiful shae of orange.

This is the perfect place for a small gathering or a quiet afternoon sun bathing!

Just off the redwood deck is a patio area which hosts a handsome gas barbecue and a collection of Adirondack chairs. if you're looking for a nice spot to bask in the sun -- this is it!

The cottage is surrounded by decks on three sides, has a keyless entry system and there’s even a hidden stackable washer and dryer just off the back patio.

If you appreciate true craftsmanship, you will love this cottage. No matter where you are in this cozy abode, you will feel relaxed!

More Details
Hide Details

61 Reviews of Property 292776 in Ocean Beach, California

Comfy Craftsman Beach Cottage - Steps Away from Beach - 4th Night Free
average rating of 5.0 based on 61 reviews
business
Comfy Craftsman Beach Cottage - Steps Away from Beach - 4th Night Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292776
+1 619 6197589709
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Guest Review 39 - April 2012

  • Submitted: May 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Great little neighborhood. Enjoyed the cottage much more than a hotel/motel room! Loved the ocean and just getting to relax. Will be back for another visit someday.
business
Comfy Craftsman Beach Cottage - Steps Away from Beach - 4th Night Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292776
+1 619 6197589709
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Guest Review 38 - March 2012

  • Submitted: May 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We spent three weeks here with the cottage as our "home" while we were on vacation. It's a great location for a fair price. It was a great place for our visit!
business
Comfy Craftsman Beach Cottage - Steps Away from Beach - 4th Night Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292776
+1 619 6197589709
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Guest Review 37 - February 2012

  • Submitted: May 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We loved our week-long stay here! close proximity to all places we wanted to visit in San Diego was a big bonus. Our two-year-old loved the daily walks to the beach, and our four-month-old enjoyed the sunshine and the backyard. The accommodations are cozy and comfortable. We would definitely like to come back and stay at the Lotus Cottage again!
business
Comfy Craftsman Beach Cottage - Steps Away from Beach - 4th Night Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292776
+1 619 6197589709
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Guest Review 36 - January 2012

  • Submitted: May 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
What a great way to start off the New Year! Beautiful, cozy cabin-feel. We had a great time. The beach just down the street was a great reprieve from the downtown area. All kinds of dining options. So much to see and do. We'll just have to come back for more!
business
Comfy Craftsman Beach Cottage - Steps Away from Beach - 4th Night Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292776
+1 619 6197589709
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Guest Review 35 - December 2011

  • Submitted: May 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Great little place! We were comfy and cozy and loved OB as our home base. Had a great time. Thanks!
business
Comfy Craftsman Beach Cottage - Steps Away from Beach - 4th Night Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292776
+1 619 6197589709
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Guest Review 34 - December 2011

  • Submitted: May 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
I feel so lucky to have stayed here with my honey to celebrate her successful dissertation defense! Dr. Sweetie and I loved your cottage. We had breakfast on your patio and enjoyed a sun soak in your chairs afterwards. We loved your fab front chair and comfy couch. We loved the birds of paradise flowers. I loved the cleanliness of the place. It was an amazing visit! We'll be back. With much appreciation.
business
Comfy Craftsman Beach Cottage - Steps Away from Beach - 4th Night Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292776
+1 619 6197589709
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Guest Review 33 - October 2011

  • Submitted: May 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Such a great place!! We had so much fun here. couldn't ask for better accommodations!! thank you so much. We will be back.
business
Comfy Craftsman Beach Cottage - Steps Away from Beach - 4th Night Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292776
+1 619 6197589709
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Guest Review 32 - October 2011

  • Submitted: May 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We had a wonderful stay here at the Lotus Cottage. Will definitely recommend the Lotus Cottage to family and friends!
business
Comfy Craftsman Beach Cottage - Steps Away from Beach - 4th Night Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292776
+1 619 6197589709
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Guest Review 31 - October 2011

  • Submitted: May 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We travel a lot and try to stay in places that are not the big hotel chains. Lotus Cottage is definitely in the top ten of a relaxing, get-away places. The amenities and not having to plan our schedule around maid service was a definite plus for us. You can maintain your privacy and venture out to the many places we found wonderful on this trip. We had a wonderful vacation and a beauty place to spend it!
business
Comfy Craftsman Beach Cottage - Steps Away from Beach - 4th Night Free
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p292776
+1 619 6197589709
Ocean Beach San Diego County
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Guest Review 30 - September 2011

  • Submitted: May 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Second stay in Lotus Cottages. Will not be our last. The cottage enabled us to have a full house for football and "everyone's (collective) birthday party." We will return! Thanks!!