New Orleans studio rental - Lofty Alfresco Dining
Lofty Alfresco Dining
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

New Orleans Studio Rental Photos and Description
Studio Apartment, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Located 1/2 block from the French Quarter (famous Bend of Bourbon) in the historic Marigny District! Enjoy live traditional Jazz and excellent cuisine on Frenchmen Street only 2 blocks away!

We have the perfect solution to noisy, impersonal hotel rooms. Stay with us in our detached 2nd story 'Lofty Oasis' behind our main house and experience the charm of New Orleans from a 'Local's Perspective'.

*****This Unit Will Be Exclusively Yours With Your Own Private Courtyard.*****

*******Free On-Street Parking in Front of Our Main House.*******

Surrounded by lush, vibrant foliage begin your day in the Big Easy with your morning coffee and newspaper to the sweet scent of jasmine and the gentle chirping of the many species of local birds.

Close enough to all the action while being peacefully quiet. The Lofty New Orleans Oasis is set back over 140 feet from the street! Private, Well-Lit, Secure Entrance.

One bedroom, one large bath with sky light and new Kohler fixtures. Tile floors & carpeting throughout. Premium bedding and linens. Refrigerator/freezer, microwave, coffee maker, flat screen TV with Cox cable and high speed internet access. Lush tropical courtyard with vibrant foliage. Well-lit, safe neighborhood.

Our property is nonsmoking and does not accommodate pets.

Call 8am to 9pm CST for Your Unique New Orleans Experience. We can provide you with personal tours based on your interest for an additional fee.

Cancellation Policy: For non-event reservations, a 30-day notice is required. A 60-day notice is required for special events, holidays, and festivals. If less notice is given and the room is re-booked, a refund is gladly issued.

Just a few short blocks away: Famous restaurants and watering holes, live music, shopping, art galleries, museums, antique shops, Jackson Square and the Moon Walk on the levee of the Mississippi River, Authentic paddle wheel Steam Boat Natchez, La Petite Theatre, Mahalia Jackson Theatre for the Performing Arts, Audubon Aquarium, Harrah's Casino, plus much more!

The cultural love child of genteel old Europe, the exotic Caribbean and the sultry South, New Orleans' original colonial neighborhood sets the scene for memorable romantic getaways. This is a city that revels in its passions, and for the visitor with an open heart the sensuality here can be infectious. It is also a city where people come to celebrate, whether by joining the massive public exuberance of Mardi Gras and other events or marking personal milestones in the lives of lovers, such as honeymoons and anniversaries. When a couple raises a glass in toast to each other, it can seem as though the entire town is following suit here.

Part of the appeal of New Orleans is its relaxed pace - a key ingredient to any romantic experience - and a leisurely carriage ride for two is a romantic way to get acquainted with the neighborhood at the beginning of a visit. Various types of mule-drawn carriages are available for hire at Jackson Square on Decatur Street. Carriage drivers generally narrate their tours of the Quarter with stories of various landmark properties, but just let him or her know at the start that you prefer to concentrate on your companion's company and you will have a serene cruise past the beautiful architecture and colorful street-scapes of the Vieux Carré. Snuggle under a blanket on the occasional chilly evening or bask in the tropical sunshine during another beautiful New Orleans day.

The French Quarter's many elegant restaurants make ideal venues for special meals with loved ones. But while the city is most famous for its Creole cuisine, it is the Italian restaurants of the French Quarter that offer some of the most romantic settings.

Keywords: Cozy, private, apartment

More Details
Hide Details

I am a professional who came to New Orleans post-Katrina to work on homes in Chalmette, (Saint Bernard Parish) that were damaged by water and the oil spill that occurred from Katrina. I fell in love with this city and the people here and decided to purchase a home and re-locate. I believe in the special magic of New Orleans and it's people and am dedicated to the rebuilding process.

The Owner purchased this studio in 2007

New Orleans is the most unique city in the United States with a European 'feel'. New Orleans architecture, history, music, art, and world renowned cuisine attract visitors from all over the world. I chose this property because of its proximity to the French Quarter and Frenchmen Street. Our home is located in the famous Bend of Bourbon where the 'Street Car Named Desire' once traveled. We are surrounded by mansions and homes on the National Historical Registry.

We are located in the historic Marigny in a quiet, residential neighborhood, a stones throw from the French Quarter and 2 blocks from Frenchmen Street, where traditional live jazz still reigns king.

Enjoy convenient, free on street parking directly in front of our home.

New Orleans is a walking city and our home is conveniently located to access famous restaurants, watering holes, live music, live theatre, shopping, museums and sightseeing without the use of a car.

33 Reviews of Property 277992 in New Orleans, Louisiana

'Lofty' New Orleans Oasis - Famous 'Bend of Bourbon'
average rating of 4.5151515 based on 33 reviews
business
'Lofty' New Orleans Oasis - Famous 'Bend of Bourbon'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277992vb
New Orleans Louisiana
Shelton, CT
5

Just Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
It was indeed and oasis. It was clean, we had AC and plenty of hot water. Everything is in walking distance, and Carol is a wonderful hostess. She put together a notebook for the room with all the maps and contact information you could want...especially from a local! Yes, it's small, but that's what makes it romantic! My boyfriend and I had a wonderful 6 nights there, and I, for one, will definitely be back. I will never stay in a hotel when I have the opportunity to stay here...AND it's affordable, too. In these tough economic times it's hard enough for some of us to even take a vacation, let alone stay somewhere so peaceful. Thank you Carol ;)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
'Lofty' New Orleans Oasis - Famous 'Bend of Bourbon'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277992vb
New Orleans Louisiana
San Diego, California
5

A wonderful time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
I was in town for a busy conference and the loft was a great escape! Carol was very helpful with suggestions, helped me locate the trolley, as well as some amazing seafood! The loft is cozy and comfortable, close to Frenchman Street and the craziness of Bourbon Street, but far enough away to be peaceful.
No complaints at all, I will be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'Lofty' New Orleans Oasis - Famous 'Bend of Bourbon'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277992vb
New Orleans Louisiana
Florida
4

Cozy, Comfortable and Convenient

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
My husband and I enjoyed our cozy little loft; it was romantic. We were able to walk to Bourbon Street and made it there every night except the night before we left; restaurants, bars, music; everything within walking distance. The loft; however, was just far enough away so that you didn't get all the noise making it a wonderful retreat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Lofty' New Orleans Oasis - Famous 'Bend of Bourbon'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277992vb
New Orleans Louisiana
Centerport, NY
5

Great Place to Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
My wife and I rented this cottage when we were in New Orleans to work with the St. Bernard Project. Everything about our stay was wonderful. The cottage was exactly as advertised, and within walking distance of the French Quarter and all the jazz clubs on Frenchman's Street. Carol was a fantastic host, giving us tips on restaurants and other activities in the area. We would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for an intimate, cozy place to stay, and a price far less than the big hotels.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Lofty' New Orleans Oasis - Famous 'Bend of Bourbon'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277992vb
New Orleans Louisiana
1818 Dauphine street. No, La.70116
5

This is a "Lofty Oasis" in a covenient location..

This is a "Lofty Oasis" in a covenient location..
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
My memories of New Orleans returned when we walked down the side of the main house and entered an enchanting private courtyard. We were tired from the flight and the drive from the Airport by a one eyed cab driver ( good memories)
Upon walking in? We noticed the home like feeling right away. Great bed with the best linens, towels like at our home,
Our host was not only friendly but helpful in finding our way around.
1 week vacation turned into our latest home just around the corner.
I must mention that our new home is not as quiet as the "Lofty Oasis"i
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'Lofty' New Orleans Oasis - Famous 'Bend of Bourbon'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277992vb
New Orleans Louisiana
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
5

Fabulous!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We stayed here for Mardi Gras and had the best time ever! A stone's throw from Frenchman Street (a great local hangout for live jazz) and just far enough away but close enough to the French Quarter! The owner Carol, is as welcoming and nice as can be. Would (and will) definitely go back. Arielle
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Lofty' New Orleans Oasis - Famous 'Bend of Bourbon'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277992vb
New Orleans Louisiana
Varysburg, NY
1

Falsly advertised

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
My husband and myself stayed at this property in October. To say we were dissapointed is putting in lightly. The bed and linens were certainly not as claimed. The pillows were flat and not at all comfortable. The room was so small that when you had the ac on it was either to cold and with it off to hot. We could not sit outside as the table top was broken, and so no place to have al fresco dining as she had advertised. It was so bad that we acutally left 2 days early and stayed with relatives who were also renting. We have been to New Orleans many times and have rented from VRBO the past 5 visits. This place was by far the worst.
Owner's Response: The linens and towels in this apartment are brand new and top quality as you can see from my 5 star reviews.

What these guests did not know (and I discovered after they checkout out when I compared notes with my friend down the street who also rents was that we both had unpleasant guests from Buffalo, New York) My guests were crashing at my friends apartment complex down the street and staying with their sister, without paying him..........but still coming and going at my apartment.

Enough said.
Helpful votes: 11/13
business
'Lofty' New Orleans Oasis - Famous 'Bend of Bourbon'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277992vb
New Orleans Louisiana
Columbia, South Carolina
5

Frequent Visitors Love the "Oasis"

Frequent Visitors Love the "Oasis"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
We have stayed in New Orleans many times and were very pleased with the "Lofty New Orleans Oasis." Carole was an excellent hostess, provided us with good information without being intrusive. We loved the convenience to the French Quarter and the parking accommodations. The room was very comfortable, functional and pleasant. We highly recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
'Lofty' New Orleans Oasis - Famous 'Bend of Bourbon'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277992vb
New Orleans Louisiana
Missouri
1

Queen Size Bed? Not Quite

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
My girlfriend and I made a reservation with the “Lofty New Orleans Oasis” in the middle of October of 2010. I have spent nearly my entire life on the Gulf Coast, have travelled and stayed in New Orleans nearly 50 times, and also lived in New Orleans between the uptown and French quarter neighborhoods for well over a year. As people familiar with the city, we weren’t particularly interested in having personal tours or advice from the vacation rental owner, so this aspect of the property was not relevant to our decision to stay here.

The owner of the property has misrepresented accommodations on the website. The property does not have a queen size bed. The owner claimed that this was because the queen size bed was broken and that the only available replacement at the time was a full size bed. The owner further clarified that under no circumstances would a refund of any kind be offered to compensate us for the inconvenience.

If you look closely at the photos of the bed in the property listing it is obvious that the bed size does appear closer to a full size than a queen size. Notice in the photos that two standard size pillows cover the entire width of the bed. The owner further stated that she was insulted that we were not satisfied with a full size bed considering two people larger than us had recently rented the property and had not complained. We found it unfathomable that the owner would fraudulently advertise her property and then act as though we were wrong for demanding the size bed which we paid for. If we had known that the property would have had only a full size bed we would have not made reservations here.

The situation and confrontation made us so uncomfortable that we decided to leave and stay elsewhere and forfeit two nights of room rental. Our final decision to leave was based on our opinion that any inn-keeper or hotel operator who fraudulently represents a property in her advertisement, admits she did so, and then firmly refuses to offer any type of resolution to the situation cannot be trusted with guests’ personal belongings that are left in the room. The only advice I can give to prospective travelers who are considering traveling to this property is to stay elsewhere. If you do decide to stay here and are anticipating having a queen size bed it would be wise to confirm with the owner that the unit has a queen size bed before making any reservations. Otherwise, you may be quite disappointed upon arrival.
Owner's Response: The review written by these young people is completely false and slanderous. I believe it was their intention to be reimbursed for their stay upon arrival as they probably had friends to stay with in the City. Please refer to my other reviews and disregard this one.
Helpful votes: 29/40
business
'Lofty' New Orleans Oasis - Famous 'Bend of Bourbon'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277992vb
New Orleans Louisiana
Tampa Bay
5

Oasis description is perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
In town for a family wedding, we purposely chose the property because of its location - close to the French Quarter, yet an oasis from all the hustle and bustle. The stay was perfect in every way. Carol, our host, was very informative and helpful as it had been many years since we had been in New Orleans. Being "on the Bend in Bourbon Street" was wonderful, as we were close enough to wander the shops and establishments of the Quarter on foot, and then escape to our "oasis" of quiet. We recommend a stay here for any couple - you will be pleased.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 13/20