Mendocino house rental - Dining with a View
Dining with a View
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Mendocino House Rental Photos and Description
House, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2 Maximum)

UPDATE APRIL 1, 2014: We are now taking reservations up until June, 2014. (See reservation schedule below)

FOR YOUR CONVENIENCE, PLEASE READ OUR RESERVATION SCHEDULE AND COTTAGE DETAILS:

WE ONLY TAKE RESERVATIONS A FEW MONTHS IN ADVANCE. Here is our reservation schedule.

April 1, 2014: Taking reservations until June 30, 2014.

May 15, 2014: Taking reservations for July and August.

July 15, 2014: Taking reservations for September

August 15, 2014 Taking reservations for October, November and and December.

To SEE OUR VIDEO TOUR, click on the video tab above the photo. Please CLICK ON 'CALENDAR' above the photos for availability and please CLICK ON 'RATES' for all rate details.

The cottage is a NO PETS, smoke-free environment. 2 adults Maximum. NO ADDITIONAL SLEEPING SPACE.

NOT SUITABLE for divers or any wet sporting gear, RV's or motorcycles, no portable BBQ's, or outdoor fires.

The cottage has an amazing location on a bluff above a magnificent cove, sandy beach and island. A short private path on the property leads you down to the peaceful cove. The cottage is just 3 miles from Mendocino Village and close to restaurants, markets, activities, golf and hiking. It's a perfect romantic place for 2 (or an inspiring single's retreat). It's a great place to celebrate an anniversary, birthday or just get away from it all.

This charming oceanfront cottage is a separate and private building on the owner's 3-acre property. It's light and airy, nicely decorated, and very clean! Vaulted ceilings give an open feel to this romantic little house. It is well-equipped with electronics, including 2 Cable TV’s, WIFI, DVD player, stereo IPOD docking station, and CD player.

Enjoy the scent of the ocean, see and hear the waves, and have a front-row seat for the sunset. And on clear nights, enjoy the moon shining on the water and an amazing array of stars.

THANK YOU for taking the time to read it all. If this suits you, we will be happy to welcome you for a special oceanfront getaway. Ginny & Norm

More Details
Hide Details

We fell in love with Mendocino in the late 80’s while staying at an oceanfront vacation rental. In 1989, we got the wild idea to buy an oceanfront property and left our home in Sausalito to become “Mendonesians”. Since we both had jobs in the wine business which allowed us to work out of our home, we have managed quite well over the years thanks to the FAX-era of the 80’s, the dial-up era of the 90’s, and finally the high-speed era of today.

The cottage was almost totally rebuilt in the 90’s and was used as our offices for several years. We also lived there while we built our new house and have very fond memories of our years in the cottage. On sunny days, we liked to sit on the porch steps for our evening glass of wine.

We have only been renting the cottage since February, 2010 and so far it's been a 100% positive experience for us, as well as our guests. We give our guests the key and we usually don't see them again until they leave, totally relaxed and happy. Most people report that the cottage is like a decompression chamber and a great escape from work, home, and city life. This is always music to our ears!

The Owner purchased this house in 1989

65 Reviews of Property 279299 in Mendocino, California

SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
average rating of 4.9846153 based on 65 reviews
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
Venice
5

Magical Oasis

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This amazing cabin made my trip to Mendocino absolutely perfect. It was so nice, gorgeous, cozy, warm and private--and that doesn't even begin to talk about the views! My favorite part was cooking in the very nice kitchen and watching the waves. I cannot wait to go back. This little cabin is an oasis. I wanted to stay forever!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
5

Location, View, and Comfort!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We stayed here over the Easter week 2012. Can't say enough good things about how this cottage and our hosts enhanced our stay. Just the right size with comfortable bedding and couch. Overlooks the cove and is an easy walk down to the beach. The location was perfect for venturing out on day trips to points north, south, and east. And you are still just minutes from Mendocino. Ginny and Norm provided the essentials for toast, jam, and coffee from the local market. The cottage is next to the house but situated in such a way that you still have privacy. I do wish the cottage had it's own wi-fi router since there is no cell service in the area. The signal from the house was virtually unattainable. The cottage and hosts exceeded our expectations in every other way. Made for this trip being one of our best vacations. Thank you.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review! We do have WIFI and it works fine. Cell phone service is only in Mendocino Village and Fort Bragg.
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
Chicago
5

Wonderful Retreat For One

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
This was a lovely get-away for one. I spent five days alone here and it was everything I had hoped for: breathtaking views, a peaceful (very cozy) cottage, and beautiful drives in every direction. All of the owners' recommendations -- whether for activities or restaurants -- were just great and allowed me to get more of a local's feel for the area. I would highly recommend this cottage as a romantic get-away for two or as a retreat for one.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
5

Perfect Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We stayed at the Cottage for three (3) nights on our first vist to CA. The size is ideal for two people. Waking up to that spectacular view is wonderful. The cottage is very neat & clean. It has everything that you need and the bread, jam & coffee are excellent additions. I wish that we could have stayed a week but we will be back! Ginny & Norm are delightful people and gracious hosts. They tell you what you need to know, offer more if you need it and then they leave you alone to enjoy. We did the "secret" hike that Ginny suggested and it was great. We'll be better prepared to hike some of the other suggested areas on our next visit. The Mendicino Hotel has a great lunch and the Little River Inn has a good evening meal and it's hoppin' on weeknights. Wild Fish (across the road from LRI) was less than spectacular but expensive! Thanks to Ginny & Norm for a great cottage experience.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
Denver
5

Great Find

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My husband and I stayed at this cottage for 3 nights and we did not want to leave. It was a perfect size for 2 people, very clean, the bed was comfortable, the living room sofa was big and cozy, and the view from the dining room/living room area and the bedroom area was spectacular. Norm and Ginny were there when we arrived and then left us alone to enjoy fresh bread and jam. We spent most of our 3 days hiking around the Mendocino area (don't miss the botanic gardens) and then looked forward to coming back to the cottage to enjoy the views, the stars and the comfy sofa. We highly recommend this place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
5

Rita & Louie, Atlanta, GA

Rita & Louie, Atlanta, GA
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Sitting on the portico.
Sipping our steaming mugs of morning coffee.
Mesmerized by an ocean that seemed to rise up to meet the remote edge of the world.
Foam topped breakers dissolved to gentle runners by the distant sea stacks.
Morning, near Mendocino.

Walking down to the cove.
Each angle of sight gives a different view of the headlands.
The Cathedral Sea Stack, main feature of the cove, stands tall, resisting the unrelenting onslaught of the waves.
It's vaulted entryways, great fissures at its base, visible only at low tide.
Mid-day, near Mendocino.

Perched atop the headlands bluff.
Watching the sun change from ocher to crimson as it slides into the sea.
Misshapen, serrated edges engulfed by the isolated horizon.
Evening, near Mendocino.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
St. Louis, MO USA
5

Solitude with and Ocean View

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Norm and Ginny’s cliff-top cottage was everything that we had hoped it would be. It was very clean, well-kept and nicely appointed with a fully equipped kitchen and so private and comfortable it truly felt like coming “home” every day. We spent most of our days hiking through the redwood forest or along the gorgeous northern California coastline and the evenings watching the beautiful sunsets over the ocean from the front porch. There are so many beautiful places to see around the area and great places to dine if you don’t feel like cooking. I only wish we had more time – the week went by so quickly. Thanks again to our gracious hosts Norm and Ginny for sharing their lovely cottage.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
Chicago IL USA
5

Perfect for a couple's getaway

Perfect for a couple's getaway
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This is the perfect vacation cottage for two adults who literally want to get away from it all. The cottage is neat, well-built and nicely furnished, with plenty of fluffy towels and a comfortable bed (and a nice-size TV if one tires of the full ocean view visible from the bedroom and living room). It's a short drive to Mendocino, shops, restaurants, etc. It's small but big enough for two people to spend a quiet afternoon - necessary after a week's worth of sightseeing - listening to music and drinking beer. The owners are quite hospitable - they emailed us tide schedules and the welcome basket is a loaf of delicious local bread, some ground coffee, butter and jam - and disappeared once we were settled in. A few comments: I wish we would have gone into Little River Grocery/Deli/Market earlier - it is a cornucopia of good food, both prepared and to make at home. The wi-fi was a little tricky - the owners might want to invest in some sort of booster in the future. That's not a complaint, just an observation. I'd highly recommend this to a couple who wants a quiet, civilized vacation in the wonderful wilds of northern California.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
Elk Grove, Ca
5

Pride of ownership shows!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We are repeat renters at this property because it's as good as it sounds! Immaculately maintained, which truly meant comfort for us. All the small touches that add up to an enjoyable stay. Plus, as you can see, the view from this cottage is gorgeous! It's a short drive to Mendocino Village and Fort Bragg. When it comes to eating out, we'd suggest you access "Yelp" for the local reviews.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
Scotts Valley, CA
5

Perfect Romantic Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We were looking for a quiet, beautiful, peaceful place to spend the weekend and we found it here. The cottage is lovely and private. We very much appreciated the wonderful fresh bread, jam and coffee provided by our gracious hosts. The location of the cottage is perfect because it is so close to Mendocino. The views from the cottage are breathtaking. The cottage was spotless and incredibly well-maintained. It is a truly wonderful place! The perfect romantic getaway!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2