Granby lodge rental - Living Room
Living Room
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps14
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights
 

Granby Lodge Rental Photos and Description
Lodge, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8-14)

This is a spectacular Appalachian style log home nestled between the entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park and Winter Park Ski Resort.

Built of hand-hewn logs, this luxurious mountain retreat is famous for the 'best views in Grand County' as you look out over the Continental Divide and Lake Granby. Its long wrap-around porch allows for excellent wildlife viewing in all seasons. You will enjoy a five-star kitchen with granite countertops, Viking cooktop and oven, GE Monogram refrigerator, other Bosch appliances while cooking for a small party or a large family.

Our hand-made dining room table seats 10 people. It is generously positioned to view Lake Granby and the Continental Divide. From every window in the house you will enjoy a wonderful view. Original contemporary art and antiques fill the home. Quality linens and soft goods are provided throughout. Two fireplaces and a large fire pit outside help you stay cozy as well as the in-floor radiant heat and sauna.

The elevation is 8800 feet so you really are on top of the world!

Keywords: Private Luxury Log Lodge

More Details
Hide Details

The Wunder family lives in Boulder, CO. We are a husband, wife and a teen girl. We enjoy traveling, snow sports, contemporary art, fine wines and gourmet meals. We moved from Santa Fe to Boulder to take advantage of the outdoor sports and athletic mindset that prevails in Colorado and Boulder especially.

Tom Wunder purchased this lodge in 2009

Rocky Mountain National Park (RMNP), wildlife, fishing, hiking, canoeing, skiing, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, horse back riding, golfing, snow shoeing, lakes, and sledding are a few of the reasons we chose to build in Grand County. There is aggressive hiking for the adventurous, beautiful less strenuous hikes along the Colorado River, and, at dusk, some of the best animal watching on the planet. Grand Lake is an unpretentious western town with the deepest lake in Colorado.

The views transport you and it is easy to spend hours on the porch or looking out the windows watching the colors, the sky, and the animals come and go. This lodge realizes all the images we hold of what a 'lodge' is: the hearth, the warmth, the beauty, the serenity, the comfort, the quiet, nature finding her way into the home. The windows are abundant allowing guests to enjoy all the views.

Cooking at the lodge is a communal experience with the kitchen producing meals that everyone proudly takes ownership of--crepes are a lodge favorite. On the wraparound covered porch is a large grill and a picnic table for 14-16 people. There are plenty of rockers on the porch for everyone to sit outside--chipmunks and humming birds are regular visitors.

If puzzles and games strike your fancy, there are dozens from which to choose. If you are a film buff, we have a serious collection of DVD's you can enjoy on our large screen. A beautiful 25 acre llama and alpaca farm can be visited across the road.

51 Reviews of Property 240966 in Granby, Colorado

Winter and Ski In The Rockies In A Luxury Log Cabin
average rating of 4.980392 based on 51 reviews
business
Winter and Ski In The Rockies In A Luxury Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240966vb
+ (303) 818-6031
Granby Rocky Mountain National Park
5

High Class and Comfortable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Three cousins and I rented Wunderview for four days to relax and spend time together. Although we went in the slower season between summer and skiing, the autumn weather was perfect for hiking and being outside, there were no crowds in Grand Lake and no waiting at restaurants. The house is a close drive to activities, and when we didn't feel like going out we sat on deck, drank in the fabulous views and listening to the elk bugle. We also took time to luxuriate in the sauna.

The house is set up well for visiting - there are a lot of comfortable seats both on the mail level and up in the loft. The open floor plan allows hanging out in the kitchen, main room or the loft and still being in the middle of things. The lower floor is a good place to go for more private or quiet conversations.

We have rented several homes, and this was the best stocked of any we have stayed in. No worrying about if there will be enough toilet paper or having to buy and then throw out little things like salt and pepper, or ketchup. We cooked in some nights, and there is a great selection of pots, pans, and other tools. The appliances are top-notch, as are all the fixtures in the home. There is wi-fi, a lot of movies to watch in the loft and the iPod on the main level is stocked with a lot of music. Washer and dryer also came in handy. Great art too!

We did not use all of the beds in the house, but found the main beds to be soft and warm. If you like to be cool at night, or need a hard bed for your back you may need to try the pullout airbed. Everything in the home was comfortable, clean and high quality. This is one of the nicest homes we have rented, and the cost was very reasonable. I highly recommend it.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Winter and Ski In The Rockies In A Luxury Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240966vb
+ (303) 818-6031
Granby Rocky Mountain National Park
5

Wunderview

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This place is simply awesome!!! We surprised my wife for her 40th by having family and friends from all over the country come in for a three night stay. Tom, the property owner, was truly a pleasure to work with. This place has everything you could ever need. We had a great time enjoying this beautiful home located in a beautiful location. On a scale of 1 - 10, this place is an 11!
business
Winter and Ski In The Rockies In A Luxury Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240966vb
+ (303) 818-6031
Granby Rocky Mountain National Park
5

Donna & Family (Chicago)

Donna & Family (Chicago)
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This was our second visit to Wunder-View and once again we were amazed! Our first visit was December 2010 and totally enjoyed the winter wonderland. Our second visit was the first week of September 2012 and late summer is just as unbelievable. The pictures do not do justice to this absolutely breath-taking property. The views from the outside deck are amazing. The inside is beautifully decorated throughout. Very quiet and peaceful setting but yet close to Grand Lake and Granby for whatever one would need. We spent 6 glorious days enjoying the warm sunshiny days and cool crisp nights. Tom and Melinda could not have been nicer. They were so pleasant to deal with and made our vacation that much more memorable. We cannot wait to go back again soon!!
business
Winter and Ski In The Rockies In A Luxury Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240966vb
+ (303) 818-6031
Granby Rocky Mountain National Park
5

A Perfect Way to Spend a Long Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This was the perfect place to gather friends from Denver, Salt Lake, and Boston for a surprise 50th birthday party for my husband. It was a wonderful weekend and one we shall always remember. Thank you for sharing Wunder-view with us. This is a beautiful home. It's well taken care of and filled with everything you'll need for a splendid get-a-way. We are already planning when we can return to Wunder-view.
business
Winter and Ski In The Rockies In A Luxury Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240966vb
+ (303) 818-6031
Granby Rocky Mountain National Park
Tulsa, Oklahoma
5

Perfect Getaway!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This was my family's second time to Wunder-View and first during the summer. There is even more to do in the summer and what a great escape from the HEAT! My only regret for giving this review is that it will make it harder to reserve for our next trip.

The host really thinks of everything and there is no detail left out. Thanks for a GREAT time!
business
Winter and Ski In The Rockies In A Luxury Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240966vb
+ (303) 818-6031
Granby Rocky Mountain National Park
Eastern Kansas
5

Family Reunion at Wunder View

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The spacious log house perched on the hillside offered exquisite views from three sides; lake, mountains, sunset. The owner graciously met us as we arrived, gave us a tour, and urged us to make the home our own for the week. Special welcoming touches were sample toiletries, a bottle of wine, extra bedding, jackets for cool evenings, wood for the fireplace and outdoor fire pit. We were offered the use of bicycles, fishing rods, canoes,indoor table games, internet connection, ample selection of DVDs and reading material. There was a printed resource list of special activities, good restaurants, and shopping. The property is well designed for family gatherings with a well appointed kitchen, clean and beautifully maintained. The owner was readily available during the week by telephone should questions arise. Some activities members of our family enjoyed were river rafting, horseback riding, hiking to Adam Falls, a boat ride on Grand Lake, driving into Rocky Mountain National Park, visiting Estes Park, the alpaca farm, evening conversations on the porch, watching the sunset and marshmellow roasts at the fire pit, picnic lunch and canoeing on Monarch Lake. The owner met us as we were leaving and graciously expressed his appreciation to us for selecting Wunder View. Here is truly a marvelous place to enjoy a peaceful, relaxing, setting with many possiblities for joyous activity.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Winter and Ski In The Rockies In A Luxury Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240966vb
+ (303) 818-6031
Granby Rocky Mountain National Park
5

Great Colorado Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This cabin was great! We were a group of 9 adults and one child and it was the perfect space. It felt comfortable, but everyone still had plenty of space. My favorite part was the wrap-around porch with the view, but it had a lovely kitchen, a large dining room table we could all gather around, and beautiful bedrooms with adjoining bathrooms. The owner was so easy to work with and generous with his home. Our group took advantage of the canoes available and had a great time canoeing on the lake. It was in good proximity to Grand Lake and Rocky Mountain National Park. We were able to easily get to those places, but the home was comfortable enough to just spend the day there relaxing as well. I am hoping our group will join me again, because I can't wait to go back.
business
Winter and Ski In The Rockies In A Luxury Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240966vb
+ (303) 818-6031
Granby Rocky Mountain National Park
Georgia
5

Beautiful Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
The pictures don't capture this breath-taking property. The views from the large deck are amazing. Inside, the cabin is decorated beautifully throughout. The kitchen is roomy and well equiped and opens to a large dining table, and the living room has plenty of seating around the fireplace. The whole place is clean and fresh and the Wunders were very accomodating. Rocky Mtn Park, Lake Granby, and the hotsprings are all a short drive away. We spent at long weekend retreat here, and it wasn't long enough. It is ideal for groups-plenty of room to spread out and places to gather. We hope to return and would give it more stars if we could.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
business
Winter and Ski In The Rockies In A Luxury Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240966vb
+ (303) 818-6031
Granby Rocky Mountain National Park
Woodstock, GA
5

Wunderfull !!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We spent a long weekend at Wunderview and it wasn't long enough. It is even more beautiful than in the pictures. There's plenty of room for groups to stay--gather in the living room, loft, big dining room, or on the deck. The place is decorated beautifully, very clean, and the kitchen is well-stocked. It was the perfect destination for our annual girls' spring get-away. It was easy to visit Lake Granby, the hot-springs, and Estes Park. The Lonesome Stone fiber mill was a treat-they spin the local alpaca yarn there and the owner was happy to give us a tour. I see Granby was not affected by the wildfires and the views from the cabin are amazing.
Highly recommend and hope to return. Would give it more stars if I could!
business
Winter and Ski In The Rockies In A Luxury Log Cabin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p240966vb
+ (303) 818-6031
Granby Rocky Mountain National Park
5

From City to Serenity

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We left the hustle and bustle of L.A. in hopes of finding some much needed R&R in Colorado. As we drove from the Denver airport up to the Rocky mountains, we felt the stress begin to fade. Arriving at this mountain home, our expectations were exceeded. With a glass of wine in hand we settled into the deck chairs on the wrap-around porch to watch a beautiful sunset. No cars, no lights, no noise, just the sounds of nature to lull us to sleep. As inviting and comfortable as it was to relax at home, the beauty of the surrounding area beckoned. We enjoyed riding bikes, hiking around Monarch Lake, and going to nearby Grand Lake for shopping. Our only mistake in choosing this place was not booking a longer stay. The owners Tom and Melinda were gracious hosts in every way and we can't wait to return to their lovely home. This was one Rocky Mountain high we won't forget!