Beaufort house rental - Sunset from the backyard
Sunset from the backyard
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Beaufort House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Welcome to the Low Country and slightly off the beaten path antebellum Beaufort, South Carolina. You've seen it in movies like Prince of Tides, Forrest Gump, or the Big Chill. This area is steeped in history with Charleston 70 minutes to the North and Savannah, Georgia 45 minutes to the South. A gradual and continuing 'discovery', which started here in the 1970's, has given Beaufort some fine restaurants and night life, but the pace is more relaxed than on famous Hilton Head Island, 35 minutes away.

Parris Island, with its Marine recruit depot, is 10 minutes away. Our house is very popular with families in town for Parris Island graduations. We offer a refund if, for any reason, the recruit cannot graduate as planned.

Our house sits on a high bluff which allows a furnished basement with a 9 foot slate pool table. Its view through the sliding glass door is of the fully fenced backyard sloping down to the live oak guarded marsh. The upstairs single story house is light and cheerful due to an open floor plan, lots of glass, skylights and celestial windows. The Master bedroom (with huge Master Bath) and the Great Room (with a Buck wood burning stove) face the marsh and river with an expansive westerly sunset view.

The kitchen and eating area have the same view through the dining room with its walls of glass that make you feel you can reach out and touch the river. An 8 foot wide porch (with 3 ceiling fans) that runs the length of the house faces a landscaped front yard.

The dock (with water, lights and electricity) comes off one corner of the backyard and offers easy access to the river and pristine marsh. The backyard has hosted numerous oyster roasts and crab boils. Shrimp, fish, and crabs can be caught off the dock (permit free).

The large floating dock has 6 feet of water at dead low tide (and 12 or more at high tide). A boat towed to the area can be launched at a close-by landing and following a 10 minute trip, tied up at the dock. Open ocean is about 30 minutes away with numerous fishing reefs easily accessible, or travel by boat to Hilton Head or Savannah relatively quickly.

This house is in a quiet residential neighborhood. Ride bikes that are provided, or jog or walk around the tree shaded mile-long oval that runs the perimeter of this older subdivision. Sitting on the front porch or the dock is always a treat.

Great value golf is available to the public at several courses in the area. Bluffton and Hilton Head offer world class golf at higher prices. Downtown Beaufort is about 10 minutes away and the public ocean beach at Hunting Island State Park with lighthouse, fishing pier, camping and nature walks is 30 minutes beyond. We provide a State Park Pass for free of charge access.

Beds: 2 queen pillowtops, 2 double beds

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

86 Reviews of Property 69054 in Beaufort, South Carolina

Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
average rating of 5.0 based on 86 reviews
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
5

WONDERFUL home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Our time at this house was perfect- a wonderful way to welcome our son back from boot camp- as we sat together in the comfortable living room, I cooked us breakfast in the kitchen, we enjoyed steaks on the grill. Everything was clean and lovely. There was plenty of room for all of our family, and it was minutes from Parris Island! We especially enjoyed the suggested places to visit and directions provided, which made us even more comfortable.

Wi-fi, the dock to sit on, lovely spacious areas to enjoy each other- this home was a delight!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
NY
5

Cook Family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
AMAZING is all I can say about our stay at your place. The photos do not do the place justice it was way more beautiful than the photos show. We visited the area for our son's Marine Corp Graduation and we loved it. Our new Marine enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere as we watched the wild life play off from your front porch. We will always remember your inviting home when we think back on our fond memories of our son's graduation. Thank you so much!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
5

Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Lovely. Simply lovely.

Thank you for sharing your home with us during our time of celebration reuniting with our just graduated Marine!

It was wonderful to have so much room for our family to relax and unwind after a 12 and a half hour trip! Once we scooped up our newly graduated Marine, it gave him a place to stretch out, enjoy the views and just relax!

Our grown "kids" got to enjoy shooting pool in the basement, collecting crabs (in which there are thousands at the dock), watching the water rise and fall...and the sunset in the evening. It was a joy to us seeing them take it all in.

Having the conveniences of home was priceless! I loved being able to run a load of clothes, cook something to eat and take a shower without the worry of taking up the bathroom. HOTELS cannot compare!

Thank you, just doesn't seem to be enough!

*highly recommend the South Beach at Hunting Park! (take bug spray, mosquitoes galore near the forest!) I also recommend a good stroll down in old Beaufort (great shops! Go to the old fashioned ice cream shop, great sundaes!). We also highly recommend The Dockside, fairly high priced, but amazing menu and food was FRESH as well as HOT).

ENJOY!!! Great people!!! Clean and homey! :)

God Bless Our Marines!!!

(THANK YOU, GINNIE!)
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

"Going back next year"

"Going back next year"
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Taken from email sent to homeowner:
"We were so happy at your house! We rented some kayaks and our son and his best friend came down and our best friends came by to visit as well. It was a great time and it was hard to leave on Sunday morning! Danny and I are already discussing going back next year. Thanks again for making your house available to rent."
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
5

Beaufort, SC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This home was perfect. The photos do not really do the size of each room justice. There was so much space. The basement has not only a pool table, but gym equipment and three sofas.

The kids were out on the dock and saw a sting ray and two dolphins... made their week!!!

We were able to invite other family members over for some dinner and there was plenty room for all. Seating for 10!

Overall it was perfect and we would definitely use this place again.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Boston, MA, USA
5

PI Grad 3/9/12

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Such a wonderful way to celebrate our son's graduation from Parris Island. A house big enough for 7 family members plus our new Marine. We were very comfortable and the location was excellent - only about 10 minutes to PI. We could all be together for cooking and sharing a meal or spread out and do our own thing. The front porch was a great place to read and the dock was perfect for my son to decompress and catch some solitude while he texted his friends back home. We loved the pool table in the rec room and the views of the sun rising and the moon rising were absolutely beautiful.

The property was exactly as described - clean, comfortable, spacious, with great amenities. The instructions and maps provided by the owner were very helpful in getting us back and forth to the main event. I would definitely recommend this property to friends and the rest of the family (which is pretty big now that we're a Marine family).

Thank you so much for sharing your lovely home. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Titusville, FL
5

Great Views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
What a great time we had at you home. All descriptions and pictures are exactly what you get when you arrive. We truly enjoyed the evenings in the hot tub watching the sun sets. The dock area was great as we brought our boat. My son was moving to the area so it was a great way to get him acquainted with everything. Once again, than you for letting us use you wonderful home. I would recommend it to anyone visiting the Beaufort area.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Burlington CT
5

Parris Island Grad 2/10/12

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
So spacious and inviting. Many amenities. I would go back to this property for a number of different occasions. Convenient to Savannah and Charleston for day trips and ideal for Parris Island graduations. It was so special to be able to share a home with our family for this special occasion and not a hotel. We were able to cook together, watch TV and chat together in the evening and the 2 teens we had disappeared and played pool for much of the stay. Beds were extremely comfy and the hot water for showers was top notch.
Communication with the owner went very well. We have no complaints, only compliments!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Coconut Creek Florida USA
5

We Loved It !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We were so pleased with everything about this home and yes it felt like our home while we stayed their for our sons graduation from Parris Island. Ginnie made the whole transaction so easy and the listing was very accurate as well as the directions. All of the pictures on the website were 100% spot on and the front porch was the best, we loved the swing. The all time best is what we came to call the "Book of Knowledge" Ginnie has compiled a 3 ring binder with printed out map quest directions to Parris Island and key surrounding amenities. It was wonderful to be able to choose somewhere for dinner and know that the comments from previous renters were well thought out and accurate. When you are there please be sure to go to The Corps Store and dine at Gilligan’s both are outstanding. This was a wonderful haven for us to come back to and rest and relax, we will always remember our time spent with fond memories.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Coconut Creek Florida USA
5

We Loved It !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We were so pleased with everything about this home and yes it felt like our home while we stayed their for our sons graduation from Parris Island. Ginnie made the whole transaction so easy and the listing was very accurate as well as the directions. All of the pictures on the website were 100% spot on and the front porch was the best, we loved the swing. The all time best is what we came to call the "Book of Knowledge" Ginnie has compiled a 3 ring binder with printed out map quest directions to Parris Island and key surrounding amenities. It was wonderful to be able to choose somewhere for dinner and know that the comments from previous renters were well thought out and accurate. When you are there please be sure to go to The Corps Store and dine at Gilligan’s both are outstanding. This was a wonderful haven for us to come back to and rest and relax, we will always remember our time spent with fond memories.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children