Las Terrenas villa rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Las Terrenas Villa Rental Photos and Description
2 bedroom villa + bungalow - 2 bath can accomodate from 2 to 7 guests or more

MONTE PLACIDO holds the Highest Number of HOMEAWAY 5* REVIEWS in the Dominican Republic or in its quality/price category. Trust passed guests, let them share their experiences.

Our guests appreciate the quality of our services and our flexible rates that are based on occupancy for 2, 3, 4 , 5 , 6 and 7 guests or more as Villa FALCONA

Our guest fall in love with breathtaking panoramic view of the beautiful blue ocean strategically located to reach 1/2 dozen pristine beaches. From our mountain admire lush coconut groves. and rolling hills. Monte Placido is quiet and tranquil, gated and safe. Our gardens have a beautiful variety of tropical plants and flowers. In the center of the garden is our lovely infinity pool. It is the perfect place to relax on a lounge chair, prepare a barbeque, or go for a nice cool swim. For more information please visit http://monteplacido.com

Imagine a Falcon perched atop a palm tree surveying the flat lands and ocean below. This describes the view from the second floor apartment, Falcona. The living and dining area are spacious with sliding doors that open to the terrace and magnificent ocean and garden panorama. It has two bedrooms and one bathroom. The master has a king bed, the second bedroom a queen bed. It is comfortable sleeping for two couples. A cot can be placed in the second bedroom and a child can also sleep on the sofa bringing its maximum capacity to six or more. Because, adjacent to FALCONA we offer an additional Room/bungalow with bath. The additional guests appreciate the convenience of being close by but also the privacy.

MONTE PLACIDO is a gated Residence comprised of 6 properties all positioned and design to offer maximum privacy Exceptionally and occasionally, we welcome special events such as small weddings and seminars, yoga retreats bird watching, hiking and kite surfing groups. we can comfortably welcome up to 23 guests. We offering catering on request, organize airport transfer, organized tours/excursions...

More Details
Hide Details

We live here and we are around to assist you! When you rent a home from us, we do more than simply had over keys. We provide optional services on site such as welcome meals, massage, and vehicle rental. We are happy to give our advice on where to go and how to get there. It is our goal to help your vacation be everything you dreamed of.

Don or Diana Case purchased this villa in 2003

Our environment is unique in Las Terrenas because we offer the best of both worlds. Monte Placido captures the peaceful and calming tropical spirit. Travel down our little mountain and in minutes you are at a dozen marvelous beaches. Reach the heart of Las Terrenas in only fifteen minutes where you can enjoy the many fine restaurants and Caribbean nightlife.

The most amazing feature of Monte Placido is our Yoga Cave. The yoga studio has ocean view, a wooden workout deck, and an Iyengar rope wall. It is fully stocked with mats, blankets and blocks. Up the inside stairs is a natural cave, perfect for small discussion groups or meditation. As guests of Monte Placido you are welcome to use the Yoga Cave for your own private workout.

51 Reviews of Property 272152 in Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic

Villa Ocean View Mountain Top Infinity Pool, Beache(S), Gated Residence
average rating of 4.882353 based on 51 reviews
business
Villa Ocean View Mountain Top Infinity Pool, Beache(S), Gated Residence
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272152
+1 8097297879
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
5

A great place to stay, a hard place to leave.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We came across this rental on line by chance and loved how interesting it looked. The real thing was even better. We would definitely come back and are hoping to around Christmas. Don and Diana are the perfect hosts, in that you don't even know they are there unless you need them. Then they are there with all the help you need. The grounds of Monte Placido are so beautiful and immaculately kept, the pool is just lovely and to start or end your day in there was just wonderful. We chose to spend most days down at one of the beaches in Las Terrenas which is a 5-10 minute drive away depending on what beach you chose. But a lovely day could be easily spent by the pool. They are well set up for barbequing by the pool and they have a lovely outside dining area under cover even if a quick rain shower were to occur.
You can also arrange to have meals cooked for you, which we did one night and the food was delicious. Fresh fish cooked local style, with salad and plantains and she also made a delicious dessert.
Another service they offer on site are massages, which we just great.
Monte Placido has a lot of charm and it was reassuring to have such seasoned owners on hand to answer any concerns. All together this place was great value for money.
Owner's Response: See you next Winter, the temperatures will be just right. Be sure to plan a little ahead as we will be getting busy.
Of course and as usual a special discount coming your way as repeat customers.
Thank you on behalf of future guests, your comments will help them in their decision making. Waiting for scans of your wter color paintings...
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Villa Ocean View Mountain Top Infinity Pool, Beache(S), Gated Residence
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272152
+1 8097297879
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
5

Great place to getaway from it all!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My husband & I just returned home from our 11 day stay @ Monte Placido, having celebrated our 10 yr wedding anniversary. This is our 4th time to the DR but our 1st trip to the Las Terrenas area, so we consider ourselves "seasoned" DR travelers. With that said, a.) we will probably never vacation in another area of the DR again & b.) we will be staying at Monte Placido when we return (we will never go back to doing all inclusive ever again). Don & Diana are the absolute BEST at what they do. Although we knew we wanted this trip to be "outside the box" from our others, I was still a bit nervous & did not know what to expect. We wanted a place where we didn't have to deal with the all inclusive madness-you know the crowds at the buffet, the fighting for a chair at the pool or beach, the watered down drinks. We wanted time alone, the quietness, come & go as we pleased. The personal guidance & advice that Don & Diana provided during our stay was second to none. This is by far THE BEST way to get to know the land, it's people & their culture. We could not have done it without the assistance of these 2 wonderful people. We stayed in Lilka which had absolutely gorgeous views of the "hills" and the ocean from our terrace. We took advantage of several optional services that Don & Diana offered. This included the pick up/drop off service to/from the airport, rental of their onsite vehicle (much cheaper than renting at airport so take advantage of it), massage service (wow is all I can say-pure coconut oil-my skin is the softest it will probably ever be!) & 2 dinners cooked for us by Molly. Probably the best dinners you will ever get on the entire Samana peninsula! Absolutely incredible! The amount of food she cooked for 2 could have easily fed 4! Her cooking skills are worth far more than what we paid so we made sure she received a very generous tip! Speaking of tips (propinas), please be mindful of the people who work hard to keep the grounds beautiful and the homes clean. Be generous, after all they are working hard for you to enjoy your vacation and will go out of their way to make sure that you are not disappointed. A big thank you to Jean Claude, Nana, our housekeeper, masseuse (I forgot their names and I apologize) & of course Molly. You were all wonderful & should all be commended for the hard work that you do. If you want to get away from the madness of your everyday lifestyle, this is the place to go. You will NOT regret it!
Owner's Response: Thank you Lisa. We have a great Staff and they will really appreciate your compliments. I will pass it on to them.
Of course, We are biased but All Inclusive "feeding/drinking factory"versus a "home"away from home the second takes precedence.
We understand , it is a personal choice but more travelers should try renting and discovering the countries where they are staying which is very rarely the case at All Inclusives. Your review will help future guests in their decision making.
Looking forwrd to welcoming you next year. D&D
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Villa Ocean View Mountain Top Infinity Pool, Beache(S), Gated Residence
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272152
+1 8097297879
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
Oakdale
5

What an amazing relaxing beautiful stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Wow where do I start. My wife and I just can't stop talking about how wonderful our stay was. We keep telling each other I wish I was back in the DR again. Let me just say that Don and Diana are so accommodating. They had made sure our stay there was the most memorable trip we could have. Totally awesome. When we had arrived we had dinner prepared for us on our awesome terrace. Which overlooked the mountain top and ocean view. We stayed in the Jasmine. Which I highly recommend. Diana was so sweet with sitting down with us and accommodating Yoga for my wife and any questions we had to make us feel right at home and very comfortable in anything that we wanted to do. Don was great about helping us plan our outings. He sat down and explained where the best spots were, prices, and directions and what to expect. We could not have done it without Don and Diana.

We are a pretty active couple so sightseeing and activities is what was on our list. We went to Don's sailing club which was an amazing experience. Went sailing with Saul on one of there catamarans. Swimming in the middle of the ocean with perfect bath water was like a dream come true.

Our second outing was horseback riding in the mountains at the waterfalls. The people our so nice in making sure we are having an awesome time. Taking pictures for us. Spectacular views of the hill side and waterfalls. Oh and I cannot forget we did our grocery shopping in town. Then had Mauty the cook prepare our dinners for us. When we would arrive back at the resort everything was done dishes, table set, dinner on the table. Perfect cooking. That was so awesome. We felt so special and treated so fairly threw-out our stay.

Among a couple of other things we did is walked the beaches, tanned on the beaches which our simply gorgeous. Did the zip lines in Samana. Wow what an experience of a lifetime. Truly that was the highlight of trip. Did some snorkeling. Very beautiful. The true blue waters, the white sandy beaches average of 88-92 degrees F everyday.

I can tell you this. My wife and will again return. We were so impressed with the Island and everything it had to offer. The Monte Placido is definitely the place to stay. You will not regret your stay!! Thank you so much Don and Diannia. You helped My wife and I have the perfect honeymoon of a lifetime. Can't wait to see you and the DR again.

Sincerely, Robert and Annia
Owner's Response: Thank you Robert and Annia for all the details. Future visitors to Samana Peninsula will appreciate your comments when planning their outings.
For sure next Winter up in Minesota you will be dreaming of coming back down as soon as possible.. You will be most welcome.
Without being biased I truly believe that the DR and Samana Peninsula has much more to offer than many other Carib. islands.
Namely, the costs are much lower, frequent flights, friendly Dominicans that just make the difference as most of others have beaches and mountains as nice as ours. Don and Diana
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Villa Ocean View Mountain Top Infinity Pool, Beache(S), Gated Residence
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272152
+1 8097297879
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
5

Terrific Tropical Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We loved Monte Placido. The owners are helpful and friendly, and the staff on the job and sweet. The landscaping is breathtaking--you are living in a garden. I used the yoga cave frequently for a private exercise space with a view and shade. Our Leuka cottage came with lovely French cookware, crystal and china. What a delight. Be mindful of the steep grade and hairpin turns on the driveway--a challenge on our arrival after dark, but the directions were excellent from Santo Domingo. A car is not essential, but we are very glad to have rented one at the airport for our month long stay. We drove into Las Terrenas, about 8 k away, frequently, for lovely fresh produce and fish. And we drove daily to a beach only 3 k away for sun and sand.
Owner's Response: Thank you Caroly. The fact that Portillo beach where you went most often is just 1 of another 1/2 a dozen to choose from.
Yes renting a car, or a motorbike or a quad to tour Samana is better than depending on tour operators to show you around.
Much more flexible and not that more expensive. Oh yes quite a drive up but worth as say all our guests.
Thks again for your comments. Don
business
Villa Ocean View Mountain Top Infinity Pool, Beache(S), Gated Residence
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272152
+1 8097297879
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
5

Fantastic Villas in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This place is wonderful.  Our family of 5 spent four nights here in mid-April, in the Gardenia unit.  These are Mediterranean style houses build on top of one of the many hills in this area.  The views of the region and the ocean to the North are stunning.  I believe the Gardenia unit is the only unit that does not have ocean view directly from the rooms, it looks over a lovely valley to the east.  The grounds are stunningly landscaped; and the pool and yoga grotto are just beautiful.  Just as wonderful are the hosts.  Don gave us very helpful advice on what and how to see the attractions in the area, and what to avoid.
This is a perfect base for exploring the entire Samana Peninsula. We visited 6 beaches during our visit, all of them nice in their own distinct way. We took out a Hobie cat from the LT Sailing Club, a nice perk when staying at Monte Placido. The zip line north of Samana and the waterfalls near El Limon are both very convenient from Monte Placido, and worth visiting. The day trip over to Las Galeras is a little over an hour, and a nice place to visit.
Compared to the alternative of staying at a place in Las Terrernas, there is no comparison in my mind. LT has lots of cars, noise, and the smell of burning garbage at night; worth a visit during the day, but you wouldn't want it to the focus of your visit.
Any difficulties? To get that beautiful view the villas are on top of a steep hill. The driveway up the hill is similar to some drives on the Mediterranean, steep and winding, and a bit daunting to flatlands like me the first time.
If we are lucky enough to return to this area, we already know where we will be staying.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind compliments. We really appreciate it. It is true MONTE PLACIDO is strategically located just East of Las Terrenas to explore Samana, its many beaches and wonders In my opinion why stick to 1 over developed beach close to town when you have 1/2 dozen pristine beaches just waiting for you after a short drive.
True, it is nice to be close and a reasonable walking distance to one beach for a nice leisurely morning walk. But being close to beach also means being next to wet lands in the back where mosquitoes naturally reproduce then in the evenings come looking for worm blooded creatures trying to enjoy a drink on the terrace next to the pool. Up here on our little mountain, we are virtually bug free as we are open to the trade winds.
Yes, it is challenge to come up our road the 1st time. But then guests get use to it and say each time that it is worth it.
Welcome to future guests.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Ocean View Mountain Top Infinity Pool, Beache(S), Gated Residence
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272152
+1 8097297879
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
5

Enchanting place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We had a wonderful 3 night stay at Monte Placido. The property is absolutely gorgeous. We stayed in Magnolia, a lovely 2 bedroom home with a breathtaking view of the ocean and valley below. The kitchen had almost everything we could need, and I was so grateful for some details (such as coffee and a small box of milk, dish washing soap, and hand soap) that are often missing in rentals in the DR. The owners are incredibly helpful and gracious. The pool and yoga cave are incredible. Be prepared for the steep driveway - you may not be able to make it without 4 wheel drive. We loved Monte Placido and I hope we can go back!
Owner's Response: Thank you Bridget. Yes, we put ourselves in travelers shoes and make sure that small details even dish soap with a sponge will make a difference.
Our WELCOME BREAKFAST BASKET is considered a God send by our guests that can enjoy a sunrise continental breakfast over the ocean. Who wants to go shopping first thing in the morning? For late arrivals we also have dinner prepared by our cook or we have pizza delivered.
Yes, it is impressive the 1st time up here. After 1st impression all our guests say it is worth it. And in any case we do have our own pool of 4x4s.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Villa Ocean View Mountain Top Infinity Pool, Beache(S), Gated Residence
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272152
+1 8097297879
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
5

Just BEAUTIFUL!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
What an amazing place Monte Placido is! The pictures don't lie, it was like staying in paradise....and that's becasue that's exactly what this place is. Amazing views, landscaping and the pool overlooking the Caribean Sea.
My boyfriend and I stayed at one of the villas for 5 nights (we even got a free upgrade from one bedroom villa to a two bedroom!) and we couldn't have been happier about the place. Beautiful, spacious, quite and clean. The owners, Don and Diana, were very helpful and gave us tips on trips, restaurants,etc.which you do need if you have never been to Samana before. Also, renting one of their scooters is a must - riding around and feeling like a dominican was super fun, just watch out for the missing menhole covers!
We will definitely recommend Monte Placido to our friends and family.
We Hope to be back one day.

Thank you Don and Dianna! And special thanks to Jean Claude!!
Vendula and Daniel
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. It makes us happy to know that you enjoyed our beautiful Peninsula and staying with us on top of our little mountain. As you mentioned, it will be a pleasure to have you back
Diana and Don
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Villa Ocean View Mountain Top Infinity Pool, Beache(S), Gated Residence
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272152
+1 8097297879
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
Wakefield, R.I. USA
5

BEAUTIFUL VIEW AND GROUNDS. GREAT STAY!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My wife and adult son stayed here for a great vacation week.
View is breathtaking as are the grounds. Beautiful plantings abound tended to by a great staff and owners. The house is charming also and is displayed accurately in the photos [we stayed in Falcona]. Very tastefully and artfully decorated. There was a small plumbing issue that was addressed quickly. Kudos to Jean Claude. The downside for some may be the need to drive to any swimming beach but there are so many to choose from that its completely worth it. By all means get a high clearance vehicle if not a 4 wheel drive if possible if you plan on traveling the smaller side roads. Which is almost necessary to reach any of the more remote and beautiful beaches [i.e. Coson,
Moron and Bonita].
For restaurants our favs were La Cave Y Vin which features a great wine selection at the lowest prices by far. For lunch enjoy Cafe Coson and the restaurant at the Atlantis hotel at Playa Bonita.

Don will be more than willing to help with recommendations on beaches, restaurants and touring the area. For us, a great week.
Thanks again Don and Diane. We hope to return and would highly recommend this rental.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your great review. It will be of great help future guests in their decision making.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Villa Ocean View Mountain Top Infinity Pool, Beache(S), Gated Residence
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272152
+1 8097297879
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
5

Spectacular property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We spent one week in this wonderful hilltop villa at the start of our 2 week vacation in the Samana region of the DR. My husband found this on line and since the overall reviews were all great we took a chance. Well you really have to see it to believe it. How Don & Diana created this gorgeous property out of the hillside is truly amazing and their creative vision is rare. The property is so well laid out right from the villas themselves to the grounds, pool and what can be said about the new yoga studio and meditation cave......surreal. :) The property owners are super helpful and so friendly and accommodating to your needs. It is a steep road up to the property and if you are healthy and fit you can walk it but not with a lot of stuff to carry. The 4 x 4 we rented from Don & Diana was great and since we were not super confidant with driving the road esp when it is wet ( FYI we live on the bald prairie in Manitoba where hills are gradual and rare) Don allowed us to leave it at the base of the property and we just walked up and down each day with our backpacks on. The little town of Las Terranas is a short 10-15 min drive and the beach there is so beautiful and LONG....we walked for miles each day. Great food, lots of restaurants to choose from...that's another review :) But do not miss the French bakery...just ask Don. The villa was clean and well appointed...loved the shower cuz it felt like you were showering outside with an amazing view of the mountaintop behind. The beds were comfy and there was no need for AC as the bedroom ceiling fans were great and really the breeze great as well......no pesky mosquitos either. The terrance was perfect for watching the sunrise each morning sipping dominican coffee and reading......also sun salutations as the sun rises....an experience that cannot be imagined. The kitchen has everything u need with a full fridge although we only cooked breakfast mainly and ate out otherwise....vacation you know. There are some lovely cooks on site that will prepare a full dominican style meal for you at a very reasonable price and did so for us twice....scrumptious! The infinity pool is so refreshing and you feel so " rich" while relaxing in it. We ate both our meals by the pool in the dining area which you can just arrange the cook to bring the food down there to you after she prepares it in your kitchen ( and cleans up after) This place is really great value for the beauty of what you will experience!!
Owner's Response: Val said it all! We are very appreciative as her review will help future guests decide to come and stay with us on our little mountain top.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Villa Ocean View Mountain Top Infinity Pool, Beache(S), Gated Residence
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p272152
+1 8097297879
Las Terrenas Dominican Republic North Coast
5

a private paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
I had the chance to take a long weekend break from work in New York and needed some quiet R and R when I found this listing. I have frequently visited Las Terrenas and know if quite well, but now there is a service on Jet Blue that goes from JFK to Samana El Catay Airport in just 3.5 hours direct. Previously I had flown to Santo Domingo and rented a car to drive the 2 hours to Las Terrenas. This new service cut hours off the travel time and I was in LT by lunch! What a difference this new airport and the new scenic highway along the ocean makes to traveling to Samana.
The studio Rosa fit my budget (low) and Don was able to arrange transfer from the new Airport to their place. I did rent a good 4 wheel drive car to get up and down the mountain paradise, which is a steep and sometimes slippery route. I have never felt so safe and secure in Las Terrenas nor have I ever slept so well as I did on "Monte Placido" I found the room comfortable and clean and enjoyed the private patio in the evenings. I didn't use the pool but it is lovely and the view of the ocean is magnificent. Don is a great gardener and the estate is beautifully landscaped.
I found it very easy to communicate online with Don and Diana and they were wonderful hosts. I appreciated that they left me to myself and I felt very private up there. I was down for some serious rest. They provided a bunch of breakfast food and booze on arrival which is so kind; you don't have to worry about groceries on the first night.
The place is about 15 minutes drive on a beautiful stretch of road along the ocean to Las Terrenas town where you need to go for shopping, eating out and beaches. There is a good French owned grocery store with a remarkable range of imported food and there is a range of good and cheap places to eat in town. But after a few hours in the blustering noise and activity of Las Terrenas, you are happy to return to the peace and tranquility of the Monte.
I would recommend this place to people who want more independence and a tranquil holiday. This is not a place for party animals. I had a great time and cant wait to get back to the DR.
Owner's Response: David come for more R and R in the Las Terrenas only 3.5 hours away from NYC. We are sure that you will be coming back very soon. It was a pleasure welcoming you and thank you for your review that will help future guests plan their venue.
Helpful votes: 3/3