Gulf Shores cottage rental - Photo taken from parking area
Photo taken from parking area
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Gulf Shores Cottage Rental Photos and Description
House w/3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, sleeps 6, 4 satelliteTVs, DVD/VCR, Screened Porch

Forget the elevators and extended hallways. Parking in front of the cottage provides easy, convenient access to your front door. Near Fort Morgan, this small community of single/duplex cottages is nestled at the edge of the Bon Secour National Wildlife Preserve and across the street from the beach (0.4 miles). Just 15 minutes from Hwy. 59 in Gulf Shores, The Rookery captures the perfect blend of nature. The Rookery hosts plenty of community activity as well with a large, zero-entry pool, covered gazebo, hot tub, tennis court, and community grilling area with picnic tables. The unit is professionally cleaned and has 2 bedrooms with queen-size beds, 3rd bedroom has twin beds, full sleeper/sofa in living room (new in Jan 2012), 4 satellite TV’s (living rm, and all bedrooms), 2 VCRs & DVDs, wireless Internet & all major appliances incl. washer, dryer, dishwasher, microwave, & ice maker, & small appliances (coffee maker, blender, toaster, crock pot, iron & board, blow dryer),

ACTIVITIES: Close By Activities include: Lots of golf courses to choose from, Wave Runner Rentals, Water Parks, Gulf Coast Zoo, Putt Putt Golf, Dinner Cruises, Shopping at the Outlet Malls and The Wharf, Various Festivals (seasonal) & Night Life. Tour historic Fort Morgan just a few miles away or take the ferry over to Dauphin Island for a visit to the Dauphin Island Estuary. Several restaurants, a marina and boat dock are nearby. Fish from the pier or launch your boat and enjoy deep sea fishing. Nearby along Fort Morgan Road is the scenic Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge.. a haven for nature lovers.

COTTAGE: The full-size kitchen has a stove, refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, and garbage disposal. Dishes and linens are provided, (also toaster, blender, crock pot, deep fryer, large lobster pot, & blow dryer) and full size washer and dryer. All on one level, there is easy access to the cottage with convenient parking. The beach is a state park area located across the street, 0.4 miles from The Rookery. Walk to the beach or take your car and park right at the beach for easy access.

THE ROOKERY COMMUNITY: The Rookery was designed to be a natural and quiet resort and is located adjacent to the Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge. This is a wonderful place for kids to play and swim as the large pool has an extended shallow end where little ones can wade and walk right into the shallow end with no steps to climb. This pool has a hot tub, as well as a covered gazebo area and a large poolside bathroom. There is a community grilling area with picnic tables and a tennis court. The public beach is a short walk down Cortez Street.

More Details
Hide Details

29 Reviews of Property 270426 in Gulf Shores, Alabama

Beautiful Decor in Relaxed Setting - Free WiFi - Pool - Hottub
average rating of 4.9310346 based on 29 reviews
business
Beautiful Decor in Relaxed Setting - Free WiFi - Pool - Hottub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270426
+1 205 903-4316
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Iowa
5

Cottage Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We had a great time at the Cottage. The pool was just the right size for the Cottage area, hot tub was the plus! You are out of the busy traffic and in a quiet area to relax. You are far enough away from the main “Hang Out” that the beach was not crowded, so you could do your own thing. We didn’t have to worry about keeping track of the kids because you didn’t have all the people around you. The parking was great didn’t have to walk far to unload or load your things. The Cottage was decorated very nicely with beach/tropical décor. I was impressed! Thank you for sharing your Cottage with us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Decor in Relaxed Setting - Free WiFi - Pool - Hottub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270426
+1 205 903-4316
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Ridgeland, MS
5

Labor Day Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
I just wanted to say that this is one of the best vacation rentals that I have ever chosen. Carol is wonderful. friendly and super helpful. There was one minor problem that we ran into but Carol was super helpful and the issue was resolved within 2 hrs. That's great customer service.Thanks! I definitely plan to return here soon. :0)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Decor in Relaxed Setting - Free WiFi - Pool - Hottub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270426
+1 205 903-4316
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Zachary, Louisiana
5

Better than imagined!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
This was the first time we had taken a vacation together as a family in many years. With 3 generations, it's hard to suit everyone, but not this time! Even our teenaged son had a great time. The cottage is very comfortable and more beautiful than shown in the pictures. Bring your food and family...everything else is there. The luxurious towels were a real treat. The cottage is about 15 miles from Wal-Mart and other major stores, but other than that it was very peaceful. The pool area is very clean and big enough to accommodate lots of people. We will definitely be returning to this cottage.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Decor in Relaxed Setting - Free WiFi - Pool - Hottub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270426
+1 205 903-4316
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Indiana
5

Great Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
We really enjoyed this cottage! It is beautiful and everything is kept really nice. The pool at the Rookery is great. All of my family loved spending time at the pool and at the nearby beach. It is far enough from the main stretch to be nice and quiet, yet close enough to still enjoy the attractions and restaurants.

We would definitely recommend this cottage to our friends and family, and hope to come back again soon. The owners are wonderful to work with and very helpful!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Decor in Relaxed Setting - Free WiFi - Pool - Hottub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270426
+1 205 903-4316
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Ridgeland, MS, USA
5

Rookery house in Fort Morgan

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
This house is even nicer than it appears in the photos. All amenities that were listed on the internet were available and much more. The on-site pools were large and very nice. The house was very clean and the owner was wonderful to work with.

We are in the process of planning a fall vacation and will definitely request the opportunity to stay there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Decor in Relaxed Setting - Free WiFi - Pool - Hottub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270426
+1 205 903-4316
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Tennessee, USA
5

Phenomenal!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
Fabulous place! Looking forward to our next trip. The cottage was clean and decorated beautifully which made it so enjoyable and relaxing! The area was phenomenal, with breathtaking views and friendly people. We enjoyed the scenic side of Alabama- fishing, visiting the Fort, and watching sunsets off the pier. The beach was a highlight- not crowded at all! A+!!!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Decor in Relaxed Setting - Free WiFi - Pool - Hottub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270426
+1 205 903-4316
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Montgomery
4

Really about 4 1/2 stars.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 19, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
The cottage we rented was great. The decor was more like home than what you would expect at the beach and I know that this isn't the case for all the properties there as we had friends at a different cottage and they were jealous. The layout of the property was very convenient with close access to the beach, which was very quiet when we visited in mid-May. The property is only 15 miles from hwy 59 and Gulf Shores which provides just the right amount of seclusion that will allow renters to experience the beach without having to put up with vacationers except for your trips shopping. The kitchen was well stocked with the essentials for cooking and cleaning. The pool was nice because it was quite large with an "ease-in" area where it gradually gets deeper so if you have small children they can enjoy the pool without too much worry about pool safety. The property also had a tennis court which looked brand new, although unfortunately we didn't have time to play. The weekend we were there I would say about 3/4 of the units were being used and it didn't feel crowded at all. My only issue with the property was dealing with the "noseeums" which are very small insects that bite, similar in size to gnats, although the owner was upfront about the possibility of those being a nuisance. They really were only an issue as we were using the community grills by the pool one night after it had rained most of the day, but after it had been dark a while, they seemed to disappear. The rest of the time we spent outside on the screened porch that had ample space for several adults to relax so bugs were not a problem or we were at the pool and I didn't notice the bugs being an issue. Given the location, some insects are to be expected and from my experience with this area, they are common to most of Gulf Shores, not just this property. I would not have an issue booking this cottage again and in fact, this will probably be our first choice for beach trips going forward.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Decor in Relaxed Setting - Free WiFi - Pool - Hottub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270426
+1 205 903-4316
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Jasper, Ga
5

Heavenly!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
My family stayed in this cottage for Spring Break and had a fantastic time! We highly recomend this cottage. Fully equipt house! Really enjoyed our stay and can't wait to come back! Thanks Carol for a great stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Decor in Relaxed Setting - Free WiFi - Pool - Hottub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270426
+1 205 903-4316
Gulf Shores Alabama Gulf Coast
Millbrook,AL
5

GREAT!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
Me and my family really enjoyed staying in the property. we had a very nice. we will be sure to look up the property for future trips.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3