North Captiva Island house rental - Blue Door Villa - home away from home
Blue Door Villa - home away from home
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

North Captiva Island House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 4 full bathrooms, outdoor shower, sleeps 6 - 8

Enjoy our tropical retreat on the beautiful Island of North Captiva, Florida. North Captiva is a remote island several miles off shore and is accessible by water taxi, private boat or small plane. Upon arriving on the Island you will travel by golf cart as there are no cars on the Island. North Captiva is a pristine, idyllic island that boasts some of the best shelling in the world. Miles of beautiful white sandy beaches, 350 acres of state preserves with lush foliage and incredible wildlife comprise this special destination. Additionally guests may use the North Captiva Island Club during their stay. The club is complete with an adult pool, a children's pool, tennis courts, a fitness center, rental kayaks, jet-skis and more. There is abundant fishing from the beaches, docks, boats or enjoy guided fishing charters. Enjoy watching the playful dolphins and large manatees on the bayside of the island. BLUE DOOR VILLA IS AN IMMACULATE HOME - YOU'LL LOVE IT! Check out our website www.bluedoorvilla.com

I am an English Physical Therapist and my American husband is a Strength and Conditioning Coach. We live in New York City. We got married on North Captiva in 2011. We love to escape the fast pace and noise of the city to the peace, beauty and nature of North Captiva. There are no cars, it is quiet, with beautiful sandy beaches, amazing sunsets, great fishing, wonderful long walks, fabulous swimming in the Gulf, and lots of interesting wildlife which we love to photograph. This is where we come to relax, unwind, and re-energise. Owning this house is a dream come true - an unspoiled, back to nature island.

Annie Gow purchased this house in 2009

We first visited North Captiva in 2007 as we had friends living on the island. We fell in love with the island and then had the opportunity to actually purchase a home here - the minute we get on the ferry we leave all our stresses behind. We LOVE IT!!

Our home is a very 'modern - one of a kind' beach house, which is exquisitely decorated with high end furniture, a well equipped kitchen (I love to cook so there is everything that one would need), beautiful bed linens and above all CLEAN!! The bath in the master bathroom is a great place to relax with a bubble bath and a glass of wine - sheer decadence!! Outside, the garden is well maintained and we often have dinner outside or just watch the world go by in our beautiful signature orange chairs. We love the views, the sunsets, and sunrises from the roof - which can be great for cocktail hour or the early morning cup of tea or coffee. The ability to do absolutely 'NOTHING' and not worry about it is a wonderful feeling!! Boat trips to nearby islands and dolphin watching is fun, as is fishing from the beach and shelling - have found fabulous shells and sand dollars. There are lots of photo opportunities of wildlife, sunsets and nature, and we absolutely love just BEING!! Just a minutes walk to the beautiful beach - and it is even more amazing at sunrise and sunset. Once you have experienced North Captiva you will never want to leave!!

36 Reviews of Property 268650 in North Captiva Island, Florida

Luxurious Custom-Designed Contemporary Home, a Stone's Throw from the Beach
average rating of 4.928571 based on 36 reviews
business
Luxurious Custom-Designed Contemporary Home, a Stone's Throw from the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p268650
+001 914 5255974
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
5

I Couldn''t Ask For More!!!!

I Couldn''t Ask For More!!!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
So I celebrated my birthday at the Blue Door Villa. All I could say was wow. From the gracious Vikki welcoming us and making me feel very comfortable to the most chic house on island. This was a vacation I will never forget. Annie was so easy going and so sweet. I wanted to stay longer. I got so sad when I got back on the Ferry to come back to reality. This house is a MUST RENT. You will love it.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Luxurious Custom-Designed Contemporary Home, a Stone's Throw from the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p268650
+001 914 5255974
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Ireland
5

Fantastic House Beautiful Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Greeting from Ireland. We spent a week,in early May with our friends from New York in your truly fabulous unique house,on North Captiva "a real get away from it all location" The house is fantastic,the attention to detail, the design and decor make for a truly memorable experience. Very unique and totally different to any other property on the Island. It was a perfect location to spend time with our friends, no distractions, except for the wonderful wildlife and beautiful beaches and the sunsets. We came home feeling very relaxed and looking forward to a return trip sometime soon. Many thanks.

Tom and Dee
business
Luxurious Custom-Designed Contemporary Home, a Stone's Throw from the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p268650
+001 914 5255974
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
New York
5

The Blue Door Villa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We just returned from a fabulous nine days in North Captiva. We loved the island. The long walks on the beaches, the peace and quiet and the wildlife were great. One of the highlights of our stay was kayaking with the Dolphins.

The accomadations were exceptional. We loved the design, the decor and found it to be very comfortable. Everything one needs for a wonderful vacation is at the immaculate Blue Door Villa.

It was a perfect vacation. Thank you so much Annie and Dave.
We look forward to our next visit.

Best wishes,

Peter and Harolyn
Manhattan, New York
business
Luxurious Custom-Designed Contemporary Home, a Stone's Throw from the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p268650
+001 914 5255974
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
East Coast, FL
5

Terrific!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We stayed in Annie's place to get away and relax. It was more than we expected.
We were able to just relax and explore this unique island and we are also from a tropical paradise.
It is a wonderful place for couples, or even families.
We definitely plan on returning for regular visits to just relax and rejuvenate.
The high speed internet was faster than our home. Even with the fact you are away from it all you can spend your days in luxury and remain up to date with the world(if you want to).
The home was lacking for nothing and exceptionally clean.
We brought our food over from the mainland, and don't be afraid to take what you need. We enjoyed barbecuing and preparing our food in a luxury home.
We will definitely reccommend it for anyone who is looking for a unique get away from it all vacation.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Luxurious Custom-Designed Contemporary Home, a Stone's Throw from the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p268650
+001 914 5255974
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Indiana
5

A perfect vacation in a wonderful beach home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We traveled to North Captiva from March 13-March 19, 2011. Everything from the beginning to the end of our stay was perfect. The owner Annie and her local assistant Lois were easy to work with and incredibly responsive and helpful. In my opinion this beach home is the nicest on the Island and creates a wonderful experience for visitors. It is unique, well appointed and comfortable.

We had never visited the Island and it is a bit of a unique experience but wonderful. We had our groceries brought in and they were waiting for us in the home when we arrived. Having the food in the house and put away is one of the nicer amenities available through Annie. We were lucky to have the perfect amount of food and never ate anywhere other than the house and it never seemed like a burden to prepare our meals.

The Island is quiet and attracts mostly families. I traveled with my wife and two 16-year-old girls who loved the freedom that the Island provided to them (as well as golf cart driving privileges). We were never worried about the girls being out on their own. The Island visitors are mostly families with no college spring break visitors.

The weather was absolutely perfect (low 80's, no clouds during the day/high 50's+ at night) and we could not have had a more relaxing or better vacation in a wonderful location in a beautiful home.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Luxurious Custom-Designed Contemporary Home, a Stone's Throw from the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p268650
+001 914 5255974
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Blue Door Villa

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
We had such a great time, it was an adventure beginning with the boat ride over - the captian of island girl was great and circled around the dolphins for us... Lois met us to escort us to the blue door villa... The kids reaction when we walked into the front door was priceless and I think you would have enjoyed hearing it, they all were yelling WOW! There were so many things to love, the artistic flare, the architechture, the blue door (i loved) the orange chairs, the zen stone garden, the view from the top of the stairs to the bottom of the stairs, the soft linens and pillows, the roof top view, the stone showers, and all the splashes of color throughout your home!

We saw manatee, dolphins, sand sharks, turtles and snakes (yuk), the sun was shining from morning to dusk every day was a perfect 80 degrees, the ocean was a perfect aqua blue, the sunsets were breathtaking, and the stars never ever seemed so close... I felt like I was on another planet... so good to get away from civilization for a moment!

We cooked great food and had lots of laughs... We had a pirate/treasure hunt and all the kids dressed up like pirates - even the adults and we put pirate flags on the golf carts and we led the kids through a maze of hunting for clues leading to an awesome treasure buried in the sand at the beach... I think they will remember this trip forever! We found so many interesting things about the island, pieces of ships buried in the sand, tons of driftwood that formed beautiful pieces for photography, coves of shallow water behind the rocks and so many things that were interesting along our beach walks.

It was a home away from home... I hope to go back again very soon!
business
Luxurious Custom-Designed Contemporary Home, a Stone's Throw from the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p268650
+001 914 5255974
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
Review Submitted: March 16, 2010 Date of Stay: February 2010
We loved our stay in your home and our long walks on the beach. The house is truly stunning. You could get use to the absence of automobiles. Thank you so much for your hospitality and all the effort you put into making our time at Blue Door Villa so comfortable.

Joan
business
Luxurious Custom-Designed Contemporary Home, a Stone's Throw from the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p268650
+001 914 5255974
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
Review Submitted: March 16, 2010 Date of Stay: February 2010
We had a great time. Delicious meals at home, lots of letting the kids run free on the beach, and my 5 yr old swam every day at the Resort, despite temps in the upper 50's!

Our trips back went seamlessly. Thanks for all of your help with the planning/arranging, it is much appreciated.

Thanks again, what a great vacation spot!

Meghan
business
Luxurious Custom-Designed Contemporary Home, a Stone's Throw from the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p268650
+001 914 5255974
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
fabulous house
spenelope newport, ri
Review Submitted: March 31, 2010 Date of Stay: March 2010
Blue Door Villa was perfect for us and two teens, who appreciated the space and privacy we found in the house. Beautifully designed, and simply and tastefully decorated, the house was pristine and well-equipped, even down to great quality linens. It is well situated on our favorite end of the island near the park, and is a short walk to the beach. Annie was always easy to reach and very helpful, providing us with useful information about arrival details and advice. Lois, who met us at the boat, was also kind and knowledgeable. It's a lovely house with fabulous views and everything you need for a great stay!
Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Luxurious Custom-Designed Contemporary Home, a Stone's Throw from the Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p268650
+001 914 5255974
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
The Door to Natural Fantasy...out of the Blue!
the three long islanders long island
Review Submitted: June 4, 2010 Date of Stay: May 2010
As soon as we entered the Blue Door Villa, our island fantasy commenced. What a SPECTACULAR and UNIQUE beautiful home with artful treasures and views. We thoroughly enjoyed this beautiful home and all the amenities it provides (Especially the ELEVATOR to the various scenic levels, GOURMET KITCHEN, luminous ARCHITECTURE, modernism with a flare worthy of a pictorial spread in Architectural Digest.)

The calls of the birds, crossing of the turtle parades, manatees and dolphins abound everywhere in this pristine, natural,primitive setting.

We loved the thrill of taking the golf cart everywhere to explore this island ..( we bought a Pirate's flag for our fine mobile!) This took us everyday for teatime to the poolside bar at the club for our frozen drink delights.

One must experience this remote island and the immaculate, outstanding Blue Door Villa. It should be listed as a chapter in the book, "1000 Places to See Before I Die "

The Three Long Islanders.......
Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1