Harlem apartment rental - St. Nicholas Avenue -- New York City
St. Nicholas Avenue -- New York City
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Harlem Apartment Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, Garden, Sleeps 4. Non Smoking.

Beautiful apartment, beautiful garden, great location! The apartment was recently renovated and includes everything you would expect in luxury accommodation. Directly above four Subway lines - 10 minutes to mid-town. Near parks, sports club and large 24-hour supermarket. Spacious, fully furnished kitchen with ice maker and dishwasher. There's is no smoking in the apartment or the garden.

We constantly update our calendar so you can see if dates are free for your trip.

Payments: Deposit payments and prepayment of rent may be made by credit card. If you wish to pay the rent in advance, we request that you make these payments before leaving home. When credit card companies see a large debit away from home they often block your card.

The House: This beautiful apartment is on the ground floor of a five floor Brownstone. The house was built in 1888 as a single family house -- five floors plus a cellar! Those were big families back then. During those years, this garden apartment was the kitchen and informal dining room for a very extended family.

The entire row was built at the same time. It was built to match the row just north of the house. The area was made into the Sugar Hill Historic District in 2003. The landmark status assures that the area will continue to improve and that the homes, over time, will be restored to their original splendor.

The Neighborhood: Sugar Hill and Hamilton Heights have long been desirable neighborhoods. Hamilton Heights is named for Alexander Hamilton. Hamilton's country home, The Grange, was located on his estate just south of 145th Street. Today The Grange is part of the National Parks system and can be visited at the north end of St. Nicholas Park.

During the Harlem Renaissance, African Americans made their mark on NYC as they had never been permitted to do so before. And when they could afford it, they wanted to buy a brownstone up on the hill -- everything would be sweet then -- thus - Sugar Hill.

More Details
Hide Details

49 Reviews of Property 259166 in Harlem, New York

Lovely, quiet, garden apartment in the Sugar Hill Historic District
average rating of 4.9591837 based on 49 reviews
business
Lovely, quiet, garden apartment in the Sugar Hill Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259166
+1 212 9267030
Harlem Manhattan
5

Great apartment!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
My friend and I were quite pleased with the apartment!!! Very nice, updated with new appliances, and great amenities!!! Very knowledgeable about the area and suggested good places to eat!! Will definitely stay there next time I am in town!! Great location, right next to subway...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lovely, quiet, garden apartment in the Sugar Hill Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259166
+1 212 9267030
Harlem Manhattan
United States
5

The Best Choice for Manhattan!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
I had to work 4 out of my 7 day trip from August 5th - 12, 2011, so I really wanted to find a place that was cozy, had a good internet connection, and was close to the subway. I also wanted to stay someplace historic in Manhattan, so Harlem was at the top of my list. This apartment didn't disappoint!

The apartment is the bottom floor of a 5 story brownstone (limestone) in Sugar Hill and sits directly above the subway line. Subway entrances are a block away in both directions. There's a small grocery store next to the subway, a Starbucks and a drugstore around the corner. Getting into midtown on the express trains was so quick! Columbus Circle is 2 stops away and was a favorite place for me.

I have to say that coming from a quiet residential central Florida neighborhood to a busy Harlem street was intimidating at first, but after my first subway ride I realized how safe the neighborhood was. The apartment is in West Harlem, which I was told may be safer than East Harlem, but I toured the entire Harlem area during the day and it was all wonderful! I even found that people were actually friendlier there than they are in Midtown...probably because in Harlem you get the feeling that most people live there and aren't just passing through like in other Manhattan neighborhoods.


The owners are so accommodating. The first day they told me all about the neighborhood, the history of the area, the architecture of the building, how to get around on the subway, the best places to visit and eat. They are also available all the time since they live on the top floor and are eager to help. They thought of all the details including umbrellas and an extra set of keys!

Two NY friends came to visit me and they were so impressed with my living quarters that they inquired about accommodations for future dates! If New Yorkers are impressed, then you know you've got a great deal!

I highly recommend staying here and can't wait to get a chance to go back...next time with my family as it was roomy enough to accommodate all of us!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lovely, quiet, garden apartment in the Sugar Hill Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259166
+1 212 9267030
Harlem Manhattan
5

Absolutely the best!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
This accomodation was better than we could imagine.
Jim and Matthew were very kind and they gave us every informations we needed.
The house was equipped with all necessary, including a useful electric massager for our tired legs because of long walks.
The neighborhood was very nice and subway stations nearby.
Upon our return to Italy we have advertised a lot this home among our friends, because we liked it very much!
Thank you so much Jim and Matthew!
Rosetta, Cosetta, Ezio e Claudio from Turin
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Lovely, quiet, garden apartment in the Sugar Hill Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259166
+1 212 9267030
Harlem Manhattan
5

First Trip to NYC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
This apartment was perfect for my family's vacation in NYC. Jim and Matt were very helpful. They stayed up late and waited up for us to let us in. They had everything we needed and to our surprise they even had a nightlight for our two little ones which was fabulous. The apartment was exactly what we expected and there were no surprises. It was very clean and comfortable. It was very close to the subway and we had no problems getting to and from Times Square. I would definitely rent this apartment again if I go back to NY. Thank you guys
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Lovely, quiet, garden apartment in the Sugar Hill Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259166
+1 212 9267030
Harlem Manhattan
United States
5

Outstanding unit in NYC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
This unit is very nicely appointed and in a handy location with the subway one block away! We very much enjoyed our stay and will plan to rent again.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
business
Lovely, quiet, garden apartment in the Sugar Hill Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259166
+1 212 9267030
Harlem Manhattan
The Netherlands
5

Beautiful apartment in New York/Harlem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We stayed with 4 ladies in this very nice apartment in the first week of April 2011. The owners made us feel at home, especially because one of us was very ill and could not visit NY. The others were in very few minutes with the subway into the centre of Manhattan. Due to the illness of one of us we were able to cook in this very nice apartment the meals in the evening. The supermarket was only 3 minutes from the house. We wish to thank the owners Jim and Matthew for their help visiting their physician. We recommend this place to everybody visiting NY in the near future. With best wishes from the Netherlands, Leonike, Madelon, Frederique and Minke
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Lovely, quiet, garden apartment in the Sugar Hill Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259166
+1 212 9267030
Harlem Manhattan
Vienna, Austria
5

absolut empfehlenswert

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Wir haben uns in dieser Wohnung sehr wohl gefühlt. Sie ist geschmackvoll mit viel Liebe zum Detail eingerichtet. Die Küche ist sehr gut und hochwertig ausgestattet und die Betten sehr komfortabel. Obwohl an einer Hauptstraße gelegen, ist es in der Wohnung sehr ruhig, jedenfalls bei geschlossenen Fenstern. Das einzige Geräusch, das etwas unangenehm sein kann, ist die Heizung, wenn sie sich am Morgen einschaltet. In der Wohnung findet man einige durchaus brauchbare Reiseführer und Prospekte über New York. Besonders empfehlenswert eine Kartei namens: 50 City Walks in NY.
Die Vermieter sind außerordentlich freundlich, hilfsbereit und der Emailkontakt vor unserer Anreise mit ihnen hat hervorragend geklappt.
Auch wurden wir von ihnen im vorhinein mit umfangreichen Informationen über die Wohnung, die Umgebung, öffentliche Verkehrsmittel in NY, interessante Lokale in NY und vieles mehr versorgt. Nach unserem Aufenthalt können wir sagen, man muss keine Angst davor haben, in Harlem zu wohnen. Im Gegenteil es ist eine sehr interessante Gegend und die U-Bahnstation, von der aus man in 15 Minuten im Zentrum von Manhattan ist, liegt direkt vor der Tür. Insgesamt eine wirklich sehr empfehlenswerte Unterkunft.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Lovely, quiet, garden apartment in the Sugar Hill Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259166
+1 212 9267030
Harlem Manhattan
Vermont
5

I will never stay anywhere else when in NY again!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
I am thrilled to write a glowing review for this lovely property. I stayed with a friend for 3 days in March of 2011. This ground floor apartment is spotlessly clean and very tastefully appointed. Everything we could have possibly needed was provided, with one exception, a dvd player. But other than that one item, we used our lap top to watch the disk we had brought, I simply cannot fault this unit. From the high thread count sheets, down comforter, and multiple pillows (the Queen had 6!) on the beds to the large soft towels in the bathroom, more of them than we could have ever used, it was obvious this would far outshine any hotel room stay. The kitchen was well stocked and even included a free bottle of wine, with more to buy if we liked. After our long travel time getting to NY it was nice to not have to go out to buy wine, it was ready and waiting on our arrival.
Classy touches abound.
The umbrellas in a stand by the door, great art work on the walls, live palm fronds in water on the bathroom counter, the full sized bar of soap in the tub, much thought has gone into making this a comfortable place for people to stay. And lets not forget the washer and dryer! Even the detergent is provided, the hosts have thought of everything.
Speaking of hosts, they simply could not have been nicer or more accommodating.
I was able to park my vehicle for the length of my stay for FREE!
And it was secure parking, behind a locked gate no less. All they ask is that you don't try to go in and out during your stay, but who drives in NY city? It just isn't necessary especially given how close this apartment is to the subway, a half block in either direction is a station. You can hear the subway under ground, but neither I nor my friend felt it was so loud as to keep anyone awake at night. If your a particularly light sleeper, bring a small fan or white noise machine, but we didn't mind it at all. Street noise was minimal given it was a warm spring week-end, which brings people outside. The bedrooms are in the back so they are very quiet. The court yard garden is lovely and right off the Queen bedroom. I checked for bed bugs and found absolutely none, something all travelers probably worry about these days.
The location was great, a short train ride had us downtown in just a few minutes and there is a Starbucks, restaurants and food stores within a block.
All in all just a wonderful unit run by wonderful people and financially it is the best deal around. ENJOY!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you.

It means a lot to us to get a review like this.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lovely, quiet, garden apartment in the Sugar Hill Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259166
+1 212 9267030
Harlem Manhattan
London England
5

Wonderful Apartment in New York

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
Stayed for 7 nights over Christmas. The apartment is beautiful and clean, lovely furnishings and great pictures on the walls. We had a wonderful time even made a full roast Turkey dinner on christmas day. We took our daughter who is at university in Texas to New York as a treat. Apartment is right by the subway on the express line so two stops and you are at central park. We had heavy snow on 26th but Jim and Co had cleared the paths and we were off to Times Sq. Jim, Mat and Don were so helpful nothing was too much trouble. Jim we will definitely be back, you have a great taste in Red wine.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: This lot can come back anytime! What a pleasure to have them around.

Jim
business
Lovely, quiet, garden apartment in the Sugar Hill Historic District
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p259166
+1 212 9267030
Harlem Manhattan
Pittsburgh, PA
5

Our wonderful stay in NYC!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We ( a couple from Pittsburgh, PA and our dear friends from Italy, celebrating their 25th Wedding Anniversary with their first trip to the USA) stayed 6 nights at this beautiful, comfortable apartment. We all had a great time in NYC, in no small part due to our outstanding accomodations (our Italian friends felt completely at home as we cooked together in our well-stocked kitchen every night, including use of the terrace barbecue). Jim and his friends were so helpful. This was the highlight of our 20 day USA tour. We definitely plan to return and have already recommended this lovely location to friends and family. We never used our car during the visit, opting for the easily accessible ( 3min. walk!) Subway and Bus access.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Connoisseurship is alive and well
and in the good hands of Kathy and Nick!
Two great couples that know how to live.
Helpful votes: 1/1