Palm Springs house rental - The pool deck at sunrise
The pool deck at sunrise
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Palm Springs House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Large Living room plus den room, sleeps 6

Great, spacious late mid century home.

Owned by the author of many books, including 'modern retro', 'living modern', living retro', 'sarasota modern' and 'highrise living'.

Built in 1979 it has the elements of the earlier homes yet, the modernity of a later one.

The landscape is mature, with large swimming and reflecting pools. There are over 20 tall rustling palms.

The interior is an eclectic mix of all mid century.

Found from various sources, auction, thrift stores, estate and garage sales, everything in the house is there because we love it!

We have a well stocked dvd library, outdoor speakers for the cd sound system.

The hottub is located just off the deck that leads from the master bedroom.

Besides the main swimming pool there is a small shallow pool with water features.

Wireless broadband services the entire house.

There is a large very clean 2 car garage for parking also available.

I am the author of many books on mid century design and architecture, titles including modern retro, Sarasota modern, living modern and living retro. I also own and run design store/gallery in London that specializes in Mid century Modern furniture and design. I own homes in Florida, Palm Springs , London and Essex

Andrew Weaving purchased this house in 2007

While researching for my last book 'living retro' I spent a lot time in Palm Springs and really liked it. Son as soon as I could I tried to find a house to buy. Owning 1950s homes in Florida I didn't really want an Alexander, so was lucky to find this house built in the 70s, but still with great architectural features and bones.

37 Reviews of Property 251551 in Palm Springs, California

Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
average rating of 4.7297297 based on 37 reviews
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
New York, New York
5

Best House Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
I came here with 6 of my friends to celebrate my birthday over a course of 4 days, and we had so much fun. It's so beautiful, spacious, and designed well for groups. Barbeque's, swimming, it's extremely quiet as well. Everything is super stocked and clean, it's easy to make yourself feel at home. My mom is renting it out for herself after hearing about our stay. I loved this place!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
San Juan Capistrano, CA
5

Wonderful Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
My Husband and I spent our 23rd wedding anniversary here and had a wonderful time. We loved your books, all the gorgeous windows, and especially your backyard. You did a fabulous job decorating as well. We wish we could have stayed longer and we will be back very soon.
Thank you!!
Steve and Paula
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
San Anselmo
5

Comfortable, Easy & Stylin'

Comfortable, Easy & Stylin'
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We really enjoyed our stay in this retro retreat. The main living space is open, comfortable, and has lots of natural light. The entire house is decorated so well, with finishing touches that so many rentals ignore. Being mid century modern (with an eclectic mix of other styles too), it is stylish but also comfortable - not cold or sterile. Plus, it has all the modern amenities too -- i.e. good stereo system that you can plug your ipod/iphone into and have it play outdoors, coffee maker, microwave, ice maker, etc. Not only is the indoor space fantastic - the outdoor space is as well. The pool and pool area, with lots of lounge chairs, and surrounded by lush palm trees and beautiful landscaping make it the perfect retreat space. Truly a desert oasis! And, of course the hot tub is the cherry on top! It really was the ideal yard that I didn't want to leave. Even our little dog loved it - so much room for him to roam.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
Los Angeles, California
5

Relaxing experience.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
My family and I just spent an amazing week end at this house. From the very beginning was an excellent experience; the owners were easy to reach and very understanding of all our needs. The house manager, Ric, was available at any time of the day for any question ( even my stupid questions :)
The house is well equipped and very cozy. The back yard and the pool are gorgeous!! Our 2 year old spent the whole day inside the heated pool and loved it.
Grocery stores are walking distance; a short and quite beautiful drive to the main shopping area of Palm Springs.
At night it's so quiet and peaceful!
I highly recommend the house to any type of people.. couples, couples with kids, a group of friends.. etc..
Thank you again Andrew !
Cecilia, Adrian, Olivia and Mario the dog !
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
Mill Valley, California
5

A Great Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
My husband, daughter and I spent 4 days here over the Christmas holidays and I wish we could have stayed longer. The house is in a nice, quiet neighborhood, close to grocery stores, restaurants and just about
anything you might need, including a margarita at Las Consuelas. And while it is fairly close to the local airport, the sound of planes taking off isn't distracting or bothersome. In fact, we enjoyed lying in the pool watching the planes fly overhead. There are no flights at night so it's easy to sleep.

The home and grounds are gorgeous and
beautifully maintained. The mature, elegant palms clustered about the property make it extremely private. And the heated pool was the perfect temperature. (There's an extra charge for heating, but well worth it in the cooler months.) As mentioned, there's a seating bench that runs the entire length of one side of the pool...perfect for sipping a cocktail and reading a book, or hanging out with friends.The hot tub off the master suite is large and offers an unobstructed view of the night sky. A great way to relax before bed.

The inside of the open, airy house is beautifully decorated with comfortable, mid-century modern furniture. The master bedroom is large, with a very comfortable queen sized bed, huge walk-in closet and en-suite bath .Although I didn't sleep in any of the other beds, my daughter tells me that hers was very comfortable as well.

I like to cook, and was a little underwhelmed by the kitchen utensils. But I sent the owner an e-mail when we got back and he has already purchased the items I suggested. All appliances were in good working order and the kitchen is a good size and well laid out.

The on-site manager communicated well with us in the days preceding our visit, and when Mapquest directions proved inaccurate, he drove to the spot where we were and lead us to the correct address. We had his phone number and felt he was available at all times.

This is one of the nicest houses we've ever rented, and we have rented quite a few over the years. The location is wonderful, it's clean, spacious, and very well priced. It really was the perfect holiday get away and we hope to get back again soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks very much for your review.


This one does covers everything.
Hope it helps other potential guests to decide where they would like to take their vacation!!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
San Francisco
4

Just right for our family trip

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
My family stayed in the house with my parents-in-law for 4 nights and really enjoyed it. With 6 people, the house served us better than hotel rooms. It's nice to have a kitchen to make breakfast or just a cup of tea or coffee. The children loved the heated swimming pool and used it whenever we were not out on a tour. The house is tastefully and uniquely decorated with vintage furniture. All the pieces have character and are interesting to look at, though some of the piece feel a little too worn. The location of the house is also quite convenient. It takes about 10 minutes to drive to the center of downtown. My only complain is that the bedding is too old and not the most comfortable. The place would have a 5-star rating in my view if the bedding is little more luxurious.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
Milwaukee
5

Wonderful place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
Wonderful place to stay in Palm Springs. Would highly recommend. Great pool. Wonderfully furnished with great art books.

Thank you, would love to re-visit
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
Essex, UK
5

Stylish Sanctuary in Palm Springs

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
A real treat! A stunning house in a quiet, well-kept neighbourhood. The spacious living area looks out onto a beautiful desert garden with large pool, hot tub and barbecue. We enjoyed very relaxing evenings outside after some daytime exploring. Would recommend Palm Springs Aerial Tramway and Indian Canyons, both very close. The property was clean and well kept with some very interesting and well chosen furniture and decoration. Did not feel like your usual holiday home but a very elegant, carefully styled place with lots of character. Would love to stay again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
san diego
5

Very stylish, comfortable home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
This property was perfect for our family vacation. Good size and great style! The 2 pools were very nice too. :-) Will definitely be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
Germany
5

Stylish and relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
The home was exactly what we expected and provided a comfortable, stylish and relaxing environment. We were 4 adults and 2 children. The house was spacious enough with several living spaces, so we never felt crowded. The outdoor space with pool and jacuzzi was very private, clean and well maintained. The owner was extremely timely in his responses and the property manager was extremely helpful i.e. when the hot tub had a malfunction,he immediately responded and took care of the problem so we could enjoy this amenity. Great place to stay, but you need your own car to get around.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1