Poipu condo rental - The Makahuena at Poipu from Captain Andy's Catamaran
The Makahuena at Poipu from Captain Andy's Catamaran
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Poipu Condo Rental Photos and Description
Two Bedroom Two Bath Sleeps Six King, Queen and Sofa Sleeper

One of our favorite things to do at our home away from home is to walk down to the vista point at the Makahuena in the morning and watch the whales or in the evening with a glass of wine. This spot is only available to Makahuena owners and guests and it is truly remarkable, as you are at the southern most point of Kauai. The ocean and sea life are stunning.

We offer a nice peek of the ocean from the lanai and close enough to hear the surf. Out your front door, we are less than 106 steps to the gorgeous Pacific.

The Makahuena At Poipu. The most important vacation decision you will make is the condo. This is a great unit for two couples as it has two bedrooms with private baths. Listen to the Waves as you drift off to sleep in our Home Away from Home. Welcome to the Makahuena Resort on the Southern tip of Kauai.

BREATH TAKING: You will be staying right on the pacific. Perched upon a black lava rock, the Pacific and all its beauty will be right at your feet. World famous snorkeling Poipu beach is a short walk away. Shipwreck beach next to the Hyatt is 1/2 mile walk along bluffs over looking the Pacific.

Poipu Beach was recently named the fourth best beach in the world by Travel and Leisure magazine.

FUN CLOSET: WE OFFER THE FAMOUS FUN CLOSET

What is a 'fun closet'? It is where we keep all sorts of fun beach items for your vacation enjoyment. It is actually in a big pirate chest and some in the closet.

Items do change due to guests.

We also have a Play and Pak.

I am a licensed sales person with Century 21 All Islands. If your dream is to own a piece of heaven, please let me know.

Transient Accommodation Tax # W51928484-01

More Details
Hide Details

29 Reviews of Property 239449 in Poipu, Hawaii

$99/NT Ocean Front Condo Development Pool Hot Tub Steps to Pacific GREAT REVIEWS
average rating of 5.0 based on 29 reviews
business
$99/NT Ocean Front Condo Development Pool Hot Tub Steps to Pacific GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p239449
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
Hawaii
5

Really Just Like Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We stayed at the Latham's Makahuena 2 bdrm unit for 4 nights. It was very well equipped. The kitchen was great for us since we made alot of our meals.
The condo unit was comfortable and we opened the sliding doors to let the wind blow in so there was no need for AC at all.
Overall the property was great, and the view is spectacular.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind comments
business
$99/NT Ocean Front Condo Development Pool Hot Tub Steps to Pacific GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p239449
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
Davidsonville, Maryland
5

Anniveraries in Kauai

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
What a wonderful way to celebrate our 45th Anniversary and my husband's brother and wife celebrating their 40th. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Makahuena. I can't think of anything the condo lacked. It was the most fully equipped condo we have ever stayed in. The point in front of the condo was awesome and we took advantage and toasted the sunset several evenings with our Mai Tais. One of the most outstanding adventures we had was Capt. Andy's Snorkel and Na Pali Coast trip. Do not miss this one. We drove from one end of the island to the other and fell in love with its beauty. For our final night we experienced one of the best meals on the island at the Beach House Restuarant. We all decided we would love to return for our 50th/45th respectively. Steve and Sherri have done a wonderful job in making their home away from home a special place for all their guests. You will not be disappointed. We appreciated their hospitality immensely.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
$99/NT Ocean Front Condo Development Pool Hot Tub Steps to Pacific GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p239449
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
Somerset, Wisconsin
5

Makahuena

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
The listing of this property was very accuate, it was very nicely supplied as promised with all the amentities such as pots and pans, coffee, soaps, suntan lotion and beach supplies and much more.
The owners are wonderful and are very quick to answer any questions you may have. I would highly recommend this property to anyone that may want there vacation to be easier for them. There was a wonderful little mom and pop grocery store in Koloa called Seouko, with lots of fresh meats and good prices, close to the condo. Must drive to the canyon for a great day. We would definitely stay here again if returning to Kauai. Also thrifty car rental was a great tip for us provided by the owners of the condo.It saved us lots of money.
Mahalo
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
$99/NT Ocean Front Condo Development Pool Hot Tub Steps to Pacific GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p239449
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
qville, pa
5

kauai getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
Had an excellent stay in the poipu area, great to get to Waimea canyon area and on to the boat tours out of Port Allen. Quick and easy ride to the East Coast, Lihue airport and Kapaa also. Only had two of us so plenty of room with two bedrooms and living areas. Great place to stay longer with the full kitchen and laundry facilities in the condo. Have to hike to the beach or drive a short drive but the rocks are great and the pool pleasant to cool off in and great for kids.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
$99/NT Ocean Front Condo Development Pool Hot Tub Steps to Pacific GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p239449
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
Lawrence, KS
5

Great place, great loacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
We just returned from our first visit to Kauai. We stayed at Steve and Sheri's condo apartment at The Makahuena at Poipu, which is a luxury resort on the southern most part of the island, and we could not have been happier with our accommodations and our location. Not only did our hosts provide us with a comfortable, fully-equipped apartment; they provided us with tips about where to eat, where to hike, where to snorkel, and how to get a great deal on our rental car. Really! Since we only had a limited time on the island—5 days— it was a great time-saver to have our hosts' insights. We are avid hikers and our hike along the Na Pali coast was one of the most breathtaking treks we have experienced—thanks, Steve! We also hiked Waimea Canyon which is about a 30 minute drive from the condo.

After long days of activities, we looked forward to returning to our comfortable condo to relax, hear the ocean, and plan our next day. One evening we grilled ahi that we purchased at the Koloa fish market and enjoyed a fabulous meal on our lanai (patio). We shall return, and we strongly recommend Steve and Sheri's condo for couples of any age who want an affordable, relaxing place to stay while exploring the Garden Island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
$99/NT Ocean Front Condo Development Pool Hot Tub Steps to Pacific GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p239449
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
Boston
5

Excellent Experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
We stayed at the Makahuna on Kauai for 10 days. The condo and facilities were excellent! The condo was immaculate, attractive, quiet and comfortable. The beautiful trade winds keep the condo cool and breezy when the doors are open. Everything you could need for a wonderful vacation is there for you including beach chairs, snorkle gear, body boards, beach towels, coolers etc. The kitchen and bathroom are stocked with everything you need including spices, tuperware, etc and washer/dryer. The facility has beautiful grounds right on the ocean as well as tennis courts, swimming pool, hot tub, grilling area. At the office you can rent movies, tennis rackets, etc. The location in poipu is excellent about a mile from poipu beach. Steve was very accomodating and a pleasure to deal with. I could not recommend this property more highly! Have a great trip!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
$99/NT Ocean Front Condo Development Pool Hot Tub Steps to Pacific GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p239449
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
Hauula,Hawaii USA
5

OUR STAY EXCEEDED THE EXPECTATIONS OF OUR FAMILY

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
Dear Steve & Sheri, Thank you for the experience staying at Makahuena condos was a delight,everything a vacation could ask for the area was just beautiful,the pool relaxing,the atmosphere just heaven sent.Again aloha from Hawaii,Idaho,Arizona we recommend your place to all our friends and family.Thank you for a wonderful stay.Looking forward for a return visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
$99/NT Ocean Front Condo Development Pool Hot Tub Steps to Pacific GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p239449
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
Anaheim, CA
5

Island Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
The condo was everything we expected and more, we really enjoyed our stay. We had everything we needed for a great vacation. Thanks for letting us use your island home.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
$99/NT Ocean Front Condo Development Pool Hot Tub Steps to Pacific GREAT REVIEWS
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p239449
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
Fish Haven, ID
5

Great vacation close to the ocean.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
My family really enjoyed our stay at the Makauena. The condo was well appointed with beautiful wall murals. The condo was clean, spacious and the owner, Steve, treated us like gold. I was so happy to see how close we were to the ocean.......beautiful and relaxing! One thing Steve did for us was to give us a great car rental tip. His tip saved us nearly $75. I strongly suggest you stay in this beautiful condo. You will not be disappointed. See you next year, Steve!
Paul George
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It is amazing how many of my guests are able to take advantage of my car rental saving tip.
Helpful votes: 8/8