Wilmington house rental - Wilmington Magnolia House
Wilmington Magnolia House
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps13
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Wilmington House Rental Photos and Description
5 BR, 3.5 BA, sleeps 11-13

Former B & B in historic Carolina Heights neighborhood available nightly, weekly, monthly or longer term.

Built in 1921. 15 blocks to riverfront, downtown shops and restaurants. 15 minute drive to Wrightsville Beach.

Every room is bathed in sunlight with huge windows, many facing the large garden in the backyard with its old gracious magnolia tree, and pathway leading down three steps to a lower formal garden with a pond, fountain, Camelia trees and Azaleas.

There are 3 fireplaces (one working) with large 1920's decorative mantels. The house is filled with historic detailsi ncluding 10 foot ceilings,a wide brick path, the old (non functioning) call buttons. It was recently included in the Wilmington Historic Foundation Historic Home Tour.

The chef’s kitchen has stainless steel countertops and three sinks. There is seating for 6 around the kitchen island for informal meals. The dining room seats 8-10 people comfortably for special dinners. Catering can be arranged if neede

This is a luxurious and relaxing home. The bedrooms are large and private, with attached bathrooms. There are two staircases, making it ideal for more than one family to stay together and yet maintain privacy. It is perfect for wedding parties, graduations, family reunions, or relocation to the Wilmington area. It is also comfortable for smaller groups that just want some space to spread out. It is even ideal for a couple looking for a romantic home in Wilmington.

Children’s play equipment available including swing set and slide in backyard. Toys are available in the home to entertain the kids.

Pets considered on an individual basis.

More Details
Hide Details

52 Reviews of Property 233201 in Wilmington, North Carolina

4000 Square Feet, 5BR/3.5BA, Sunlit Downtown Historic Home
average rating of 4.75 based on 52 reviews
business
4000 Square Feet, 5BR/3.5BA, Sunlit Downtown Historic Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233201
424-233-6175
Wilmington Coastal North Carolina
New Jersey
5

A Wonderful Family Gathering Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
To celebrate the marriage of my granddaughter on the river in Wilmington, N.C., my family spent the weekend at the beautiful Magnolia House. The home is in walking distance to downtown and is very spacious. Furnished in the Victorian period, the home is well maintained for its age, very spacious and provided ample room for 10 adults. When entering the home, the center staircase extends to the second floor and then splits to the left and right. Five beautiful and comfortable bedrooms and 3 full baths are accessible. Although there are separate entrances to each bedroom, I found myself getting lost several times while looking for my bedroom. I particularly appreciated the fact that all linens and towels were provided with the rental. Coming from all parts of the country, the center island in the kitchen was the focal point for gatherings. We found the appliances, dishes, pots and pans were all we needed to prepare and enjoy a comfortable meal. I whole heartedly recommend the Magnolia House for your next visit to Wilmington or the surrounding beaches.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Sandra,
Thank you so much for your your review of the house. Your description is so thorough and well though out. When I think about the house, I remember time spent gathering in the kitchen as well. It seems to draw families together to eat and drink and chat while preparing meals together. I'm so happy when I hear that other families are sharing the house in the same way, and creating memories together there. I hope we can share our home with you again in the near future!

All the best,
Natalie
business
4000 Square Feet, 5BR/3.5BA, Sunlit Downtown Historic Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233201
424-233-6175
Wilmington Coastal North Carolina
NC
5

A Taste of Southern Charm!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
This home is the picture perfect setting of the "The Old South". This house is filled with character...Extremely comfortable, bright, and plenty of room for the whole family..A true Gem and well worth the stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
4000 Square Feet, 5BR/3.5BA, Sunlit Downtown Historic Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233201
424-233-6175
Wilmington Coastal North Carolina
Graham nc
5

Our stay at the magnolia house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Natalie,
We had a wonderful time at your home. Everything was perfect the only bad thing was vacation ended. We didnt want to leave your house and look forward to contacting you for our next trip to Wilmington. We didnt tell my mother in law anything about the house because she loves old houses and we wanted to surprise her. She fell in love and asked us to leave her there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Louise,
What a lovely surprise for your mother in law! Thank you for letting me know that you enjoyed your stay. Please let your mother in law know that she can consider the Magnolia House her home away from home. I can't wait to help you plan your next trip back to Wilmington. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back!
All the best,
Natalie
business
4000 Square Feet, 5BR/3.5BA, Sunlit Downtown Historic Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233201
424-233-6175
Wilmington Coastal North Carolina
Westborough, MA
5

July 12-19

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We chose to stay at the Magnolia House for our son's wedding - it was the best decision! Our family included 5 adults and 3 children and we had more than enough room. The home is warm and welcoming and so spacious. While the house and furnishings are lovely, it is so comfortable and was truly a home away from home. The kitchen and backyard were incredible. We were able to enjoy not only a wonderful wedding but additional visits from friends and family who came from all over the US to celebrate the special occassion with us. The Magnolia House was an added blessing for us. The caretaker, Libby, was a great help and very attentive to all our needs.

I would highly recommend staying at this beautiful home - it includes everything you could possibly want or need to have a great time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for staying with us and for the great review! When we spoke a year ago upon your initial inquiry, I know you had some concerns about the warm summer days in Wilmington, so I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It is always such a pleasure to to know that our home is enjoyed by families gathering together in celebration. We are grateful that you chose The Magnolia House as your home away from home. We hope you will come back for another visit soon!
business
4000 Square Feet, 5BR/3.5BA, Sunlit Downtown Historic Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233201
424-233-6175
Wilmington Coastal North Carolina
Easton, MD
5

Our wonderful time at Magnolia House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We just ended a fabulous week at Magnolia House Wilmington celebrating our daughter's wedding with friends and family from both coasts and even from England! There was plenty of room for all 14 of us and the children loved exploring all the ways to get around the house. It was great to gather around the dining room table, share breakfast in the kitchen, enjoy a barbecue in the yard, and just simply relax whenever we had a break in the wedding preparations.

I will never forget the quiet calm I shared with new friends and my brother and brothers-in-law before the bridal party came rushing in to get ready for the ceremony ... and the sight of Aly coming down the front staircase in her wedding dress was a parent's dream come true!

The days flew by quickly, but the memories will last forever!

Thank you for providing such a great place to celebebrate such a great event! We will send you some photos soon!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Dave,
It has been our pleasure accommodating you and your family during the week of Aly and Alex's wedding! Thank you for letting us be a part of this very special occasion. I have enjoyed getting to know you through our constant contact throughout the year as you were planning your trip and anticipating your stay. Please do send photos soon! We hope you will return for another visit to celebrate another family event--perhaps an anniversary? It is always wonderful to welcome back our guests!

Best wishes to you all!
Natalie
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
4000 Square Feet, 5BR/3.5BA, Sunlit Downtown Historic Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233201
424-233-6175
Wilmington Coastal North Carolina
NC
5

Perfect!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 19, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We could not have asked for a more perfect vacation!  The house is so welcoming and comfortable and the fenced in back yard your own personal wonderland of beautiful gardens with great privacy!!  This was a perfect house just for a getaway, or as we used it for wedding accommodations.  We were the "go to" house that everyone wanted to hang out at - I would highly recommend this house!!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
4000 Square Feet, 5BR/3.5BA, Sunlit Downtown Historic Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233201
424-233-6175
Wilmington Coastal North Carolina
Statesville, NC
5

Our home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
This is our second stay at the Magnolia House. From the moment we walked in the door we felt that we were home. Natalie and Libby do everything possible to make your stay the most comfortable and enjoyable you will ever experience. The location is so convenient to downtown Wilmington with all the shops and restaurants. But we enjoy the house so much we spent a lot of our time in the back garden playing cards. It is so gorgeous out there. And the kitchen....huge with stainless steel countertops and a big table to hang out at. They will even do the grocery shopping for you!
There are 5 bedrooms plus they have another bed in the butler pantry so it will sleep a lot of people. Huge dining room, living room and a den. So many places to hang out together or get away from everyone else to read a book..
As I said, this is our second stay here and we would never consider staying anywhere else. No one treats you like family like Natalie and Libby.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Ena,
Having your family back at the house was our honor and our pleasure. It was wonderful to have a chance to be a part of another family celebration! Knowing that you like the house and the amenities we provide is so rewarding. We hope you will come back again and again!
All the best,
Natalie
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
4000 Square Feet, 5BR/3.5BA, Sunlit Downtown Historic Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233201
424-233-6175
Wilmington Coastal North Carolina
Laplata
5

A Wonderful Stay for a Wilmington Wedding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Absolutely beautiful home. I had a great time speading a weekend with my wonderful family in this home. Downtown Wilmington was only minutes down the street. The house was in great condition and had such historic charm!! I had a wonderful time and would definetly go back again. Very friendly owners aswell :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much!! We enjoyed accommodating you. Please come back soon!
Best,
Natalie
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
4000 Square Feet, 5BR/3.5BA, Sunlit Downtown Historic Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233201
424-233-6175
Wilmington Coastal North Carolina
Southern Maryland
5

Wonderful Stay at the Magnolia House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
My family of 8 from Maryland stayed at the Magnolia House from Thursday to Saturday to attend an outdoor family wedding at Airlie Gardens and reception at downtown Wilmington. The Magnolia House was the perfect location and setting for our stay. We fell in love with the house. It's large, light- filled, warm, historic and very charming. I worried about the stairs and no gate for our twin toddlers, but they absolutely loved running back and forth in their spacious room and never had any problem with the stairs. The photos on the web gave me the impression that the house may be too much for us to maintain, but that was not the case. The house was clean and very orderly but it is an old house and has a lived-in family feel. I felt very comfortable there and worry-free about young adults and 2 toddlers living there. Everything was in working order and Libby could not have been more courteous and accommodating. Natalie was very responsive, kind, and quick to answer our concerns. My daughter loved the house so much she wanted to buy it! We all had such a good time in the house, but so little time to enjoy the sites due to the wedding events, that we want to return and visit the local attractions. We hope to do that one summer soon!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased that you felt comfortable and enjoyed your stay! And, I love your comment about your daughter wanting to buy the house because that is exactly how we felt about the house when we first stayed in it when it was a Bed and Breakfast!

We hope that the whole family will return soon for more fun!

Best,
Natalie
business
4000 Square Feet, 5BR/3.5BA, Sunlit Downtown Historic Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233201
424-233-6175
Wilmington Coastal North Carolina
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Natalie,

The house worked perfectly for the wedding! Everyone loved it and it was great to all be in one place and yet still have enough room where you don't feel cramped. Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us :)