Tybee Island cottage rental - Crushed white limestone yard
Crushed white limestone yard
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
 

Tybee Island Cottage Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 baths, sleeps 8

Lighthouse Cottage is in the shadow of the Tybee Island Lighthouse, which is just 1.5 blocks away. The beach also is just 1.5 blocks away. Leave your window open at night, turn on your ceiling fan, and sleep to the soft rush of the surf. In the heart of the former Fort Screven, this cottage was built in 1920 by the US Army to house non-commissioned officers. Just a block away is Battery Garland and the Fort Screven museum. This is the islands quiet, secluded north end preferred by celebrities. The army built the houses facing each other with a sidewalk between --- no street, just a sidewalk. The streets run behind the houses. The front of Lighthouse Cottage faces a sidewalk; the back is on a traffic-free street. The original clawfoot bathtub and the original enamel kitchen sink/cabinet have been newly restored. Most of the interior walls are 5-inch wide tongue and groove planks laid horizontally. These were discovered and restored when 1/4-inch paneling was removed.

Tybee Island's North Beach: Great dolphin viewing --- virtually guaranteed on the north end of the island. Dolphin boat tours are always available, but sitting on the north beach is just as effective. We once watched a band of dolphins frolicking with a delighted kayaker. Tybee's beaches are equipped with porch swings that seem to be about 100 yards apart. From the north beach swings you can watch the sun set over Savannah and the mouth of the Savannah river --- incredible sunsets. Savannah, being 15 miles away, is too far away to actually see but you can see the fireworks on July 4th and New Year's Eve. Shrimp boats with their nets spread like wings are always in view.

The 2 Lighthouses: Two lighthouses less than 3 miles apart but so radically different in character. As you approach Tybee Island, you see the impressive Tybee Light in the distance. Tall, dark, and handsome with a white cumberbund. He was honored a couple of years ago when he got his own US postage stamp. ( In lighthouse circles that is akin to an Oscar.) But then as you cross the Lazaretto bridge onto Tybee Island, you look down to the left and blink. Is that a lighthouse in the water? Indeed it is. That's plucky little Cockspur Lighthouse. Weathered, plain white masonry. Not flashy at all, except ... At every high tide Cockspur stands in the ocean well off-shore. Only at low tide does the stony spur appear that supports the little lighthouse. A firm foundation after all.

Lost in the 40's/50's: So far the quaint shopping district near the pier has pretty much escaped the wrecking ball. Witness Arby's --- Tybee Island's only fast food restaurant. This is what Arby's looked like when they began in the early 60's. As for shopping, no Sak's here. We're talking beach shopping: T-shirts, souvenirs, Sno-Cones, umbrella drinks, seafood. But remember, for culture and serious shopping, there is colorful, historic Savannah, just 20 minutes away. Recommended reading: Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, an amusing look at Savannah's high- and low-life (about 2 years on the NY Times nonfiction best seller list).

More Details
Hide Details

37 Reviews of Property 225700 in Tybee Island, Georgia

Lighthouse Cottage:modernized but the memories are preserved. Pets. WIFI
average rating of 4.382353 based on 37 reviews
business
Lighthouse Cottage:modernized but the memories are preserved. Pets. WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225700
+ 912 398 7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
JOHANNESBURG, MICHIGAN
5

WOMEN JUST WANT TO HAVE FUN!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
My 3 lady friends & I (60 +) felt like kids again. The atmosphere was so pleasing. The beach is a 5 minute walk, or you can drive in 60 seconds. Everyone we met on the island was just so friendly. The cottage was impecable. 3 bedrooms & 2 baths was just perfect! The food on the island still makes my mouth water! shrimp, scallops, crab legs and on and on, was the best ever! The cottage was so cute! Thanks Ted for your generous hospitality.
Sincerely, Diane, Marlene, Erika and me, Linda.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Lighthouse Cottage:modernized but the memories are preserved. Pets. WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225700
+ 912 398 7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
Columbia, SC
5

Tybee Island Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
My first time in the area. The people were friendly.The cottage was very comfortable for me and my 2 daughters (8,14). We had a lot of room to move about Ted did a great job . The beds were comfortable. We felt very safe. I was impressed with how well stocked it was ,just like being at home.. All you need to bring is your clothing/food. The washer/dryer was an added plus..The beach/lighthouse was in walking distance just down the block. 5minutes and you are there! Tybee ISLAND can be laid back for easy living. Loved it! The reasurants and shopping and go-cart rentals are all on the main drag if you want to kick up just a little dust. I recommend it highly .
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Lighthouse Cottage:modernized but the memories are preserved. Pets. WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225700
+ 912 398 7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
Greater Boston area
5

sweet escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
We stayed at Lighthouse Cottage for a peaceful, off season month, and can't say enough about it! The cottage itself is cozy and homey, well stocked,charmingly decorated, and just perfect for what we needed.Ted was always available to answer our questions,and has done a wonderful job with the house.Tybee Island is amazing, and we loved being an easy walk to the beach. Savannah, just a short drive away, is an incredible city, with many great restaurants and such beautiful architecture. We were sad to leave, and hope to return some day. Thanks, Ted!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Lighthouse Cottage:modernized but the memories are preserved. Pets. WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225700
+ 912 398 7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
upstate NY
5

just what we were looking for

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
my apologies for not writing this sooner ted -- but wanted to thank you so much for our time on tybee in october.

the cottage was just what we were looking for - quite comfortable with everything we needed. the cottage was well kept, everything was in working order and easy to find. it was a quick walk to the beach - which was VERY quiet in October - just what i was looking for - and a stop at the beautiful lighthouse on the way.

ted met us there - they were finishing up cleaning from the previous guests. he was very helpful - recommended some restraunts for dinner.

it was also close to savannah -- our first trip to the whole area. i would recommend this property --

thanks again! diane and paul
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/8
business
Lighthouse Cottage:modernized but the memories are preserved. Pets. WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225700
+ 912 398 7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
Hephzibah, Georgia
5

Thanksgiving 2009

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
We rented on 4th of July and came a second time on Thanksgiving. We love the house, and hope to come again. Ted, you have done a great job on this house! It has everything there, all you need is to bring your own food and clothes. And I love that it is so close to the beach and the light house. HOPE to see you again soon
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Lighthouse Cottage:modernized but the memories are preserved. Pets. WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225700
+ 912 398 7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
Pulaski Va.
5

Tybee Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
The cottage was clean, well stocked with appliances , towels and necessary items all we had to bring was food and clothes. The cottage is located for easy driving to all the sites in Savanna and surrounding areas. The beach, light house and fort is within walking distance from the cottage. We enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it as a home away from home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 4/6
business
Lighthouse Cottage:modernized but the memories are preserved. Pets. WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225700
+ 912 398 7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
winder, ga
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
This cottage is perfect! We had 7 people, 3 of which were children, and we didn't feel the least bit crowded. Ted has thought of everything that makes a trip easy and comfortable for his guests. The decor is charming. We enjoyed our stay so much!

The people on the island are quite friendly. The beaches are beautiful and clean. Walking everywhere was easy and pleasant.

We can't wait to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/6
business
Lighthouse Cottage:modernized but the memories are preserved. Pets. WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225700
+ 912 398 7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
Seymour, Indiana
5

Family/Friend Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
My husband, best friend, 12 year son, and myself had a wonderful time at the Lighthouse Cottage. It was a very quiet location with plenty of room for all of us. Ted was great and was available to us whenever we wanted to ask him any questions about where to dine etc. The beach is just a short walk from the cottage as well as the lighthouse. We went kayaking and were able to see several sea turtles and dolphins. The cottage was clean and had everything that we needed for a wonderful vacation. It was decorated appropriately for a vacation cottage and had a video and book library available for all ages. We will definitely stay at the Lighthouse Cottage next time in Tybee.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Lighthouse Cottage:modernized but the memories are preserved. Pets. WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225700
+ 912 398 7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
Riverdale, GA
4

A wonderful retreat

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
My family visited the cottage the last week of July 2009 and we had the most pleasant stay. The home itself was cozy and welcoming with all its homey accommodations. Even our two dogs were at ease here. Our only hope is that screen doors be put up - we are an open door family and missed having the breeze come in on balmy evenings! Otherwise, a most relaxing and pleasant place to stay - we can't wait to come again! Keep up the awesome work Ted!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We will indeed be getting screen doors. They had not occurred to me, but I do see the point.
business
Lighthouse Cottage:modernized but the memories are preserved. Pets. WIFI
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p225700
+ 912 398 7011
Tybee Island Coastal Georgia
lexington, sc
4

We enjoyed it

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
What I liked about it, was the fact that the cottage was centrally located and not close to anything noisy. I enjoyed the walk to the beach and around the island. The a/c worked very well although it was comfortable the week we were there. The cottage is located in the north end of the beach which is in the nice and quiet area of the island. No over crowded at the beach and you can ride bikes all over the place without worrying wheter you are going to get run over. If you want a lot of action go somewhere else. This place worked fine for me and the family, including a 10, 17 and 18 year old, no complaints, except the vacation wasn't long enough. Already talking about going back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1