Gatlinburg cabin rental
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Gatlinburg Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 4 Bedrooms + Sleeping Porch, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 9-12)

*LAKE FRONT LOG CABIN:

'MUST SEE VIDEO AT BOTTOM OF PAGE UNDER CALENDAR'

You have found a spacious and beautifully decorated log cabin on beautiful Douglas Lake. The Pioneer offers the best of both worlds...A LAKE AND MOUNTAIN VACATION!

Stay at the beautifully appointed, Pioneer Trading Post, located just 17 miles from Dollywood and only 30 minutes from Gatlinburg and the National Park.

*5 BEAUTIFULLY DECORATED BEDROOMS:

Each room has it's special own special charm and appeal. You will find 100% cotton sheets, feather pillows and authentic hand stitched quilts for the feel you only get at Granny’s house.

*YOU HAVE A 4 ACRE PRIVATE PENINSULA TO YOURSELF:

The house sits on a 4-acre wooded peninsula surrounded by calming waters of Douglas Lake. Parents can relax knowing their kids are always within ear-shot on the 4 acre gentle sloping peninsula.

*3.5 BATHROOMS

There is a large, modern two- person shower; three claw footed tubs with showers, two outdoor showers and a 6-person hot tub over looking the lake.

*SCREENED IN SLEEPING PORCH

There is also a screened in sleeping porch with an antique 3/4 bed and a sitting area.

APPALACHIAN CULTURE AND HISTORY:

The home was built by the first American settlers to the region. Each log was hand hewn. You will find early American chestnut walls and ceilings, vintage oak and heart pine floors, spinning wheels, church pews and butter churns, pie safes, cedar chests and family antiques throughout, yet with all the amenities of plush modern living. The Pioneer is a living museum to Appalachian history.

*A REAL CHEFS DREAM:

The kitchen is a chef’s dream with a 6 burner gas stove, a full range of modern cookware, Stainless steel refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, Carrera marble counter tops and a 7’ antique porcelain sink. If you like to cook, you won’t find better appointed kitchen. The Pioneer includes an arsenal of stocked spices and some fresh herbs on the grounds.

*AN OUTDOOR KITCHEN AND DINING AREA OVERLOOKING LAKE:

*TOTEM POLE:

Pull up a seat next to the fireplace and study the vintage hand-carved totem pole made by Chief Blue Cloud of the Cherokee Nation as a gift to the family.

*NATURE:

Enjoy the foot-trail around the woodland property and lovely landscaping with many secluded sitting areas with swings and hammocks to sit or lay back and take a load off. There is a fire pit as well as a yoga/ camping platform. Watch for deer and fall asleep listening to the song of rare whippoorwills.

*AMENITIES:

46-inch flat screen TV with stereo, DVD, I pod connection, XM Radio and Wi-Fi connection. In the poker room you will find a smaller 27-inch TV with DVD.

Wrap around decks, large stainless steel BBQ, Fire pit, central heat and air, on demand water heater, ADT security system, gate, Jacuzzi Hot Tub overlooking the lake, boat launch area and plenty of parking.

GATEWAY TO THE GREAT SMOKY MOUNTAINS:

The Pioneer is located in a rural setting on beautiful Douglas Lake in Sevierville, TN., just 15 minutes from Hwy 66 which is the gateway to the national park, Sevierville, Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. Skip the traffic and take the back-roads and short cuts from the Pioneer to surrounding attractions. (Maps will be provided).

HANDICAP ACCESSIBLE and KID FRIENDLY RANCH STYLE LAYOUT:

With ramps and wrap around decks, it easily accessible to the elderly, handicapped and small children.

Keywords: log cabin, mountains, lake, private, honeymoon, special, family vacation, romantic getaway, Smoky Mountains, fishing, boating,

More Details
Hide Details

We love the great outdoors. Our family really enjoys good food and coming together around the large harvest table at the Pioneer. The kitchen is very large and this is where we spend most of our time together.

Parents can relax knowing their kids are always within ear-shot on the 4 acre gentle sloping peninsula. The boys love to waterski, fish and hang out around the camp fire.

This was once our Grandmother's home. Granny knew the Smoky Mountains like the back of her hand. She knew just about every thing that grew in the woods and what it was used for. The building techniques of the Early American settlers have last to this day. Each log is a work of art.

Guest get to experience a glimmer of what life might have looked like during the early 1800's, but with all the comforts of modern living. Guests get the pleasure of staying in a real home that was full of love and music...you feel it right at home as soon as you walk in the door. Staying at the Pioneer is like having the best of both worlds. You have the lake shore vacation that is within easy driving distance of the mountains and all the action of Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg.

36 Reviews of Property 207299 in Gatlinburg, Tennessee

**AMAZING CABIN** LIKE NO OTHER, PRIVATE COVE & 4 ACRE PENINSULA
average rating of 4.9 based on 36 reviews
business
**AMAZING CABIN** LIKE NO OTHER, PRIVATE COVE & 4 ACRE PENINSULA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207299vb
+1 8283373362
Gatlinburg Tennessee
Maryville, TN
5

Such a great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We took a girls trip to the Pioneer Trading post and could not have asked for a better cabin and location. Everything was perfect from the kitchen to the lake dock to the bedrooms. Every person in our group couldn't help but go on and on about the charm and character inside and out. We had such a great, relaxing time and will definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Shawn- We hope you can come back and stay longer, because you are right - there is so much to see and take in - inside and out. We are happy you chose The Pioneer and welcome you back anytime.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
**AMAZING CABIN** LIKE NO OTHER, PRIVATE COVE & 4 ACRE PENINSULA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207299vb
+1 8283373362
Gatlinburg Tennessee
Islamorada, FL
5

from the Keys

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
as described - nostalgic/quaint yet with modern conveniences. incredible views/set up with utmost privacy and Dobi was fabulous during the stay he truly was our host. we will return for sure we cooked all meals at the house except for one night at the Old Mill kitchen was well equipped beds were extremely comfortable and plenty of hot water for baths/showers. Excellent accommodations.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
**AMAZING CABIN** LIKE NO OTHER, PRIVATE COVE & 4 ACRE PENINSULA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207299vb
+1 8283373362
Gatlinburg Tennessee
Sevierville, TN
5

Thanks for the memories

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Thank you so much for opening your grammy's house for our family vacation. My husband and I live here in Sevierrville, however I'm originally from the Toronto area. The Trading Post provided the perfect setting for a chance to hang out and be with the rest of my family. To quote my 10 year old nephew "this is #1 on my top 10 list!" Your gourmet kitchen allowed us to eat like kings. The view was astounding and very relaxing. Again we really can't be more relaxed and thankful for a getaway like this one.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
**AMAZING CABIN** LIKE NO OTHER, PRIVATE COVE & 4 ACRE PENINSULA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207299vb
+1 8283373362
Gatlinburg Tennessee
Coal City, IL
5

Wonderful Place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
This cabin was just wonderful, the perfect balance of rustic charm with modern convenience! The layout was great for multiple families traveling together, as we each had our own "wing" to relax in seperately, or meet up on the porch and kitchen for together time. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer, or come when the lake was full, but we'll be back, and next time make sure to correct our errors!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
**AMAZING CABIN** LIKE NO OTHER, PRIVATE COVE & 4 ACRE PENINSULA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207299vb
+1 8283373362
Gatlinburg Tennessee
Huntsville, AL
5

Exceptional Vacation Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
My wife, two high-school-age kids, and their friends stayed four days in this awesome mountain cabin on Lake Douglas near Pigeon Forge, TN. An incredible experience, the cabin is known as the Trading Post. The property had the feel of an authentic 1800s cabin, but with today's creature comforts. I highly recommend a family getaway here ... great features and so much to do in the Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for choosing the The Pioneer! We're so happy you could be there and enjoy it. Take care and come again!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
**AMAZING CABIN** LIKE NO OTHER, PRIVATE COVE & 4 ACRE PENINSULA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207299vb
+1 8283373362
Gatlinburg Tennessee
Tennessee, Georgia and Alabama
5

Family Gathering

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We enjoyed our time in this lovely home. It is truly as if we stepped back in time. We gathered at the table, played games and ate together. We enjoyed the swings - inside and out. Every detail has been addressed and thought of. The cabin is super clean, the beds are wonderful, and the bedding is top notch. The hot tub worked great, the view was amazing. Thank you for sharing this lovely cabin in the perfect location!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
**AMAZING CABIN** LIKE NO OTHER, PRIVATE COVE & 4 ACRE PENINSULA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207299vb
+1 8283373362
Gatlinburg Tennessee
3

A wonderful place!

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Very rustic quaint cabin feel... it brought us back to a simpler time. A very nice get-away. Something we thought the site mislead us on was that it really only comfortably sleeps 8 adults and 2 small children which might not be safe for them to climb the steep stairs leading up to the loft.

The hot tub blew a fuse after adjusting the temperature to 102 degrees (the first night) and we called the handy-man the next day and never heard anything back.

Dobie is a great dog that lingers around the property, never once was he a problem but if you have someone with dog allergies or doesn't like animals, you can tell the neighbors to leash him up.

Plan accordingly you'll enjoy this great cabin!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
**AMAZING CABIN** LIKE NO OTHER, PRIVATE COVE & 4 ACRE PENINSULA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207299vb
+1 8283373362
Gatlinburg Tennessee
Asheville
5

Warm, inviting and totally original!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Looking for something like no other? This cabin was built with love and I could feel it as soon as I stepped inside. Every detail- from the old church pews welcoming guests to sit on the porch, to antique kitchen pie safe, dining table and chairs, the exposed hand hewn chesnut logs inside and out , stainglass windows and old family photos beautifully arranged on the wall - tell the story of those that have come to love and honor the history of this cabin. The artistic style and quality design separates this place from every other cabin on the mountain and lake. Everytime I return, it feels like a home away from home. With so many outdoor activities... campfires, swimming, hiking , fishing , wildflower picking, boating ....it feels like summer camp, too! The sleeping porch is a perfect place to simply rest and just listen to the birds. It truely is a peaceful place. Very private and secluded, but still near all the conveniences (groceries, gas, fishing equipment and boating gear etc). I highly recommend this to anyone considering a lakefront cabin! Worth every penny!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
**AMAZING CABIN** LIKE NO OTHER, PRIVATE COVE & 4 ACRE PENINSULA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207299vb
+1 8283373362
Gatlinburg Tennessee
Rockmart, GA
5

I want to go back again and again!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 16, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
I totally fell in love with The Pioneer Trading Post online when I was looking for a cabin for a family vacation. I really wanted somewhere that had an authentic rustic feel and not a typical cookie cutter cabin. This property totally exceeded my expectations. I am still marveling at the time and love it must have taken to build this place. The grounds are beautiful and the house has such a charm..you practically feel its character! There is tremendous attention to detail in regards to the areas history along with all the modern amenities and comforts. The owner, Tara, is extremely courteous and helpful in giving tips about the area and the house. Also, I cannot forget Dobi. He was such a great and friendly addition...total gentleman. I have already booked my next trip and I cannot wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
**AMAZING CABIN** LIKE NO OTHER, PRIVATE COVE & 4 ACRE PENINSULA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207299vb
+1 8283373362
Gatlinburg Tennessee
Horn Lake, Ms
5

Peaceful Loving Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
I can not begin to tell anyone who reads this, the peace, comfort, relaxation that we all felt while staying at this beautiful cabin. No matter where I sat, inside or outside, I could feel the love that has gone into the care of this cabin and its surrounding land. Stepping back in time is awesome. Every room has something that tells of its past. The pictures, the furniture, the totem pole, just everything brings such a longing for the past and its simpler (yet harder) times. The sign over the door in the bathroom says it all "Live Simple So others can simply live"...Love it! Thank you so much Tara for sharing such a beautiful home and your families past with us. I could truly make this my forever home. Doby was such a special addition also. My grandsons kept asking me to call you and ask if we could keep him! lol! I had to tell a little fib and tell them I called and you said that this was HIS forever home and he had to stay to take care of it and watch over anyone coming to stay. We will be back for sure! The property was awesome! Photos accurately depict the cabin. Tara was awesome to speak with and very very helpful with any and all questions we had.
My love for the Smokies just grew even more staying here. Someday it WILL be my forever home out that way.
Thank you again from the bottom of my heart for sharing!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1