Alexandria cottage rental - Private Entrance to Cottage
Private Entrance to Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Alexandria Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

SPECIAL: ANY NIGHTS (MAY AND JULY). EMAIL US for SPECIAL RATES!

CHARMING Cottage (Perfect for 2. Can sleep 4). AC & Heating throughout. 3 private entrances & 2 levels of absolute charm. Unpack your bags & stroll into Old Town. Park directly in front of Cottage. Walk to King St. or Braddock Road Metro. Conveniently located in a quiet/safe upper-class neighborhood.

Level 1: Combo Living Room/Bedroom w/FLAT SCREEN TV/DVD. Open & airy. Hardwood floors & Full bath. Furnishings include: KING-Sized bed w/top-of-the line Sleep Comfort Mattress, Dresser, BluRay DVD, Clock Radio.

Lower Level: FULL KITCHEN w/FLAT SCREEN TV/DVD. Marble floors throughout. Opens to a beautifully landscaped walkout (fenced-in private 15 x 15 patio). Weber BBQ Propane Grill. Beautiful landscaping. Separate Laundry Room! Our Cottage is PERFECT for all travelers desiring the feel of a 'Home away from Home', along with privacy and convenience while on travel.

More amenities & privacy than a Hotel! We offer a very CLEAN environment. Fluffy pillows, luxury towels, soaps, body wash, Q-tips, Cotton balls, shampoo, conditioner, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, coffee, tea & hot chocolate. Hypo Allergen pillows are avail. Ride the TROLLEY in Old Town & enjoy many shops, cafes & restuarants, The Torpedo Factory & the Waterfront. Reagan Airport (10 mins.). Mins. to downtown Washington DC, Pentagon, Patent Office, Rosslyn, & Crystal City. We go the extra mile to make sure your stay is most enjoyable! CHECK OUR REVIEWS.

Keywords: Alexandria Cottage

More Details
Hide Details

We have been opening up our Cottage from time to time and have enjoyed meeting so many nice people. When we open up our Cottage, we want our visitors to have a unique and memorable experience. If you have a good experience with us, you'll come back and you will also tell your friends about us!

Jack purchased this cottage in 2007

Alexandria is FULL of history and conveniently located to downtown Washington, DC. We like the 'neighborhood' feel of Alexandria and the beautiful architecture, along with the convenience of the nearby King Street Metro and Alexandria Union Station.

Staying at The Cottage vs. a Hotel room. We offer the following:

Kitchen

Prepare gourmet meals or a Thanksgiving feast. The Cottage is fully equipped with all you need to prepare meals for families with small children and people with special dietary needs. Vacationing on a Budget? Eating at home leaves more money for shopping and area attractions.

Space

The Cottage allows you to relax in private (indoors or out). Enjoy the beautifully landscaped Patio with Weber Gas Grill.

Privacy

No need to hang out the “ do not disturb ” sign. For a romantic getaway or a 'get away from it all.' YOU decide when you want to wake up.

Luxurious Extras

We supply shampoo, conditioner, cotton balls, Q-tips and so much more.

Laundry

Separate Laundry Room where you can wash, dry and fold. We even supply the detergent and dryer sheets.

Convenience

Walk to King Street Metro or stroll into Old Town, Alexandria

A/C and Heating!

68 Reviews of Property 193588 in Alexandria, Virginia

LOCATION/CONVENIENCE/CHARM!...Walk to King St. Metro, Mins. to D.C.
average rating of 4.955224 based on 68 reviews
business
LOCATION/CONVENIENCE/CHARM!...Walk to King St. Metro, Mins. to D.C.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193588vb
(703) 629-7814 (Virginia, USA)
Alexandria Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Edmond, Oklahoma USA
5

A First Class Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
This was out first time using a vacation rental property and everything was exactly as described. We will plan to use again in the near future. Jack is great and makes the stay very, very enjoyable. In "Ebay language" A++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
LOCATION/CONVENIENCE/CHARM!...Walk to King St. Metro, Mins. to D.C.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193588vb
(703) 629-7814 (Virginia, USA)
Alexandria Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Vancouver, WA
5

Our Trip to the Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
Awesome! The cottage is awesome, the neighborhood is awesome, Jack is awesome and of course Nyla is awesome. We stayed 12 nights at the cottage while visiting Washington DC and Alexandria and we loved it! We are planning on returning for another visit and would not think of staying anywhere else than the cottage. Cute, clean, great location, beautiful yard, only to mention a few things! If you choose to stay at the cottage you won't be disappointed. Jack is the best. He takes great pride in his rental and is so very helpful. The cottage has everything you need and things that you didn't even think you needed!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
LOCATION/CONVENIENCE/CHARM!...Walk to King St. Metro, Mins. to D.C.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193588vb
(703) 629-7814 (Virginia, USA)
Alexandria Northern Virginia - Washington DC
New York
4

Cozy space at a very good price!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
I arrived to a fully decorated Christmas wonderland. I found it to be cheap and cheerful, exactly what most people need in terms of proportion. The location was also very good, near to Del Ray and King Street, what a lovely place in America. The owner was very hospitable and helpful, yet nor overbearing.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
LOCATION/CONVENIENCE/CHARM!...Walk to King St. Metro, Mins. to D.C.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193588vb
(703) 629-7814 (Virginia, USA)
Alexandria Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Bowling Green, kY
5

Wonderful vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We had such a great time at the cottage. We loved the free trolley that took you up and down King Street...very convenient to find somewhere to eat! It was great to have all the amenities of home!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
LOCATION/CONVENIENCE/CHARM!...Walk to King St. Metro, Mins. to D.C.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193588vb
(703) 629-7814 (Virginia, USA)
Alexandria Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Ashland, OR
5

Feel at home while on vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
My husband and I recently (Sept., 2010) stayed at the cottage for a week of sightseeing and relaxing. It fit our expectations perfectly. Jack was as accommodating as everyone else has said, going above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. Having our own kitchen, patio, back yard and laundry really made us feel at home. The walk to the Metro in the morning was easy, but a couple of times we took the Dash Bus back, after a long hot day of walking in D.C. If you don't have a car, I'd recommend that you visit the Transit Shop near the King St. Metro on your first day to figure out the bus/metro system and possibly purchase a Smart Card or weekly pass. We would definitely recommend this vacation spot and would stay there again. Jack is a real gem of a host!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
LOCATION/CONVENIENCE/CHARM!...Walk to King St. Metro, Mins. to D.C.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193588vb
(703) 629-7814 (Virginia, USA)
Alexandria Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Michigan
4

DC trip

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We stayed at the cottage and had a wonderful trip, Jack is a great host and his dog is sweet as well. Alexandria is a great place to visit with shops and great places to eat, with an easy walk to the metro. Loved our trip and this town!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
LOCATION/CONVENIENCE/CHARM!...Walk to King St. Metro, Mins. to D.C.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193588vb
(703) 629-7814 (Virginia, USA)
Alexandria Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Cypress TX
5

Love it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
This was our first time to use VRBO and were a little unsure of how it would all work out. Now, we are sold! Jack was such a gracious host and the accommodations felt like home. We had 5 people in the cottage and while it was a little tight at times--having 5 people sharing a any space can be tight and just goes with the territory on vacations, at least for us anyway--it was great. The backyard gardens are just beautiful and the neighborhood is very quiet in the evenings. The short walk (about 7/10 of a mile each way) is a nice warm up for the manymiles you will walk if you are visiting DC.

We would definitely stay at the Cottage again! Thank You, Jack!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
LOCATION/CONVENIENCE/CHARM!...Walk to King St. Metro, Mins. to D.C.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193588vb
(703) 629-7814 (Virginia, USA)
Alexandria Northern Virginia - Washington DC
San Antonio, TX
5

A Great Place to make your stay special

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We found that all our expectations were met for a great stay near Old Town Alexandria and Washington DC. Not only is Jack a wonderful host, but his dog, Nyla was a nice bonus as well. The apartment features a superb kitchen with access to the garden, which for me, took the rental over the top. Sitting out there reading the paper or my book with a cup of tea couldn't have been more pleasant. We enjoyed the easy walks to the Metro and Old Town. One of the things one often doesn't often consider is the overall locale when making a review. This neighborhood setting is one of the nicest in which we have stayed. Don't hesitate to consider this when you need a place in the Washington DC metro area. I offer this without any reservations.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
LOCATION/CONVENIENCE/CHARM!...Walk to King St. Metro, Mins. to D.C.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193588vb
(703) 629-7814 (Virginia, USA)
Alexandria Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Utah
5

Can hardly wait to return

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
What a great place to stay with such wonderful hosts! My husband and I stayed at The Cottage 7/11/10-7/18/10. I'm so glad I booked early. The previous reviews were right, The Cottage has everything to be a home away from home. Located in a beautiful, quiet residential neighborhood, it is very clean with a full kitchen stocked with staples, full sized washer/dryer stocked with supplies, lovely backyard/garden, patio w/grill, Directv, good internet access, 20 min normal speed walk to King Street Station.

If I have family or friends traveling to the area, I will insist they stay at The Cottage. Jack and Nyla are amazing hosts. So very helpful, kind and available without being at all intrusive.

The Cottage is multi-level, like homes typical of the area, so being able to navigate stairs is a must.

Nearby recommended eats: King Street Blues (1/2 block from King St) and Pines of Torrance (on King Street).
Nearby recommended shops: The Christmas Attic, Today's Cargo, Irish Walk, The Book Bank, Potomac Bead Co.
Nearby recommended attractions (other than American history/civic/military related): Medieval Madness, AMC movie theaters close to Eisenhower Metro.

Jack and Nyla, thank you so much for sharing your cottage with us. We both look forward to visiting you and the area again!

AS & KS,
Roy, UT
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
LOCATION/CONVENIENCE/CHARM!...Walk to King St. Metro, Mins. to D.C.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193588vb
(703) 629-7814 (Virginia, USA)
Alexandria Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Michigan
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
My husband and I stayed June 2010 for our Washington DC vacation and absolutely loved it! It was fairly close to the Metro, a great location, very safe. We walked home from the Metro at 10:30p one night and were very comfortable with our surroundings. Jack was very helpful and friendly! The BBQ grill, patio and full kitchen were fantastic amenities after a long day of sightseeing. The place was clean and the landscaping is georgeous. I highly recommend the cottage to anyone visiting the area!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1