Captain Cook cottage rental - Welcome to Makalani OceanView Cottage
Welcome to Makalani OceanView Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Captain Cook Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage-Studio w/King bed & Queen futon + addtl.BR, 1 Bath (Sleeps 1-5))

Makalani (Heavenly View) Cottage is a delightfully romantic cottage surrounded by a tropical garden in South Kona's coffee-belt with a breathtaking panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean. For the adventurous traveler seeking authentic Hawaiian beauty and serenity, you can spend your whole vacation here gazing out over the endless ocean and its incredible sunsets. In the winter, you can spot whales breaching from your outdoor lanai or listen to them singing at night. Awaken to the music of colorful birdsong from papaya, mango and banana trees.

With a perfect year-round climate, perched at 1200 ft. above the sea on the side of Mauna Loa Volcano, Makalani Oceanview Cottage is authentic Hawai'i unspoiled by crowds and resorts. A great location that gives you many options for experiencing The Big Island's natural diversity. From your cottage you are just 4-minutes from the closest beach and 15-minutes to Ho'okena Beach State Park for sunbathing and swimming with dolphins. A 20-minute drive brings you to the famous Pu'uhonua o'Honaunau (Place of Refuge) National Historic Park and Kealakekua Bay where you can kayak to Captain Cook's monument and snorkel with an endless variety of tropical fish and sea turtles. And best of all, you're only 65-minutes from Madame Pele's live action at Volcanos National Park.

Your cottage is tastefully appointed with Indonesian teak furniture providing a romantic comfort reminiscent of Colonial British tropics. Your large open-room (studio) cottage sleeps two luxuriously with a romantic king-size canopy-bed with a memory-foam mattress fit for royalty. There is also a convertible couch-futon which can comfortably sleep two additional guests. You'll have a fully-equipped kitchen as well as dining area for four. A large outdoor lanai with barbeque gives you garden seating with a stunning ocean view. Your detached private bathroom with semi- outdoor shower will provide a refreshing Hawaiian experience with nature.

There is also a detached guestroom/meditation room available which is set in a grove of mango trees overlooking the ocean, called the 'Mango Grove Lookout'. It has a sofa-futon which can comfortably sleep one or two people. Serene and magical, this special extra-room provides daytime privacy as well as an intimate camp-like Hawaiian sleeping experience.

Managed with aloha spirit, Makalani Oceanview Cottage is the perfect vacation/retreat cottage where you'll find yourself surrounded by the natural beauty of Hawaii.

We hope your stay here will be the first of many happy vacations to South Kona and this beautiful island of Hawaii.

Keywords: Cottage/Ohana

More Details
Hide Details

I love Hawaii and sharing it with friends and guests, especially those who appreciate the spirit and mana of the island.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2005

To be in authentic and natural Hawaii,close to the ocean and untouched by tourists, hotels and resorts.

I love the ocean and the secluded beaches nearby with the wonderful trails leading to them. It feels like 'Old Hawaiiana'. The sounds of the birds, wildlife and whales singing at night in the winter makes you feel like you're in the great outdoors. The tropical garden and romantically furnished interior provide a unique comfort. Lots of wonderful wildlife to encounter.

25 Reviews of Property 199288 in Captain Cook, Hawaii

Romantic Tropical S. Kona Cottage with Incredible Oceanview
average rating of 5.0 based on 25 reviews
business
Romantic Tropical S. Kona Cottage with Incredible Oceanview
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p199288vbi
(808)328-9730 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Ocean Beach, CA
5

Makalani oceanview end of April/early May 2009

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
We stayed at the bungalow for our "honeymoon" after getting married & spending a week on Kaua'i. Harry the owner was very polite, conscientious and friendly, yet also allowed us our privacy. Use his directions & cues to find the place, as it is not easy to spot the first time you drive there.
Positives: quiet, tastefully decorated, full kitchen comes fully loaded w/tons a spices and a few other cooking essentials. BBQ grill is easy to use. Clean & well kept. Fresh fruit & flowers. Friendly cat. Peaceful and "away from it all". We had been to Captain Cook before and really liked it.
Surprises: the driveway is grassy - we weren't sure if our little economy size rental car would make it up & down the grassy steep hill, but it did. Having bathroom in seperate building required some coordination to get to, in the middle of the night, after a few mai tais! Toilet is earth friendly, yes, but not something we were accustomed to. Eventually we got used to it, but were happy to return to our plumbing at home too!! The bungalow is in South Captain Cook - a great location for peace & quiet. If you are looking to make regular trips into Kona, it's a bit of a drive. (But worth it for the seclusion, in our opinion!)
We would stay here again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: In Dec. 2009, the "earth-friendly" composting toilet was replaced with a modern full-flushing toilet. More user-friendly and Madame Pele is still smiling !
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Romantic Tropical S. Kona Cottage with Incredible Oceanview
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p199288vbi
(808)328-9730 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Seattle WA
5

Makalani Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
My husband & I spent 10 sweet days of our honeymoon at Makalani Cottage and we loved it. Our host, Harry, was so hospitable and helpful with sharing all his "secret beaches" and favorite places. We especially liked snorkeling at "2-step", just south of the City of Refuge. The cottage is beautiful & comfortable, our little home away from home. We made breakfast & sometimes prepared our picnic lunch at the cottage, and enjoyed some great restaurants at nite. Loved watching the ocean view and the wild goats & pigs below the ridge ,in the morning as we sat on our deck sipping local Kona coffee. We are already planning to return next Spring!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Romantic Tropical S. Kona Cottage with Incredible Oceanview
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p199288vbi
(808)328-9730 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
portland, oregon
5

Perfection personfied!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
Harry's cottage is a tota delight. It is quiet, beautifully appointed with all the amenities necessary. He is a marvelous generous host. His information about the island proved faultless- the spots he recommended to us were all incredible. The view of the stars at night from the cottage took my breath away and I had to move my chair out and partake- saw the galaxy in a new way. The comfort and beauty of the place were incredible. Thanks again

Dana Jean, MIchael and Greg Feb 2009
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Romantic Tropical S. Kona Cottage with Incredible Oceanview
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p199288vbi
(808)328-9730 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Zell am Moos/Austria
5

be lucky when you can be there

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
from the first second on we have been avid and felt home immediately!
Harry - the owner and neighbour - let us feel welcome from the moment we stepped in and he had brilliant tips where to go (insider knowledge from a local - what do you need more?!)
The style of the bungalow and the whole parcel (with lots and lots of different fruit trees - you may harvest them!) let you feel the spirit of Hawaii (dont forget to enjoy the litte outsidehouse)
and not least youre living there with contemporary technoligy - on th one side a shower with rainwater, toilet is going to become compost - GO GREEN, and on the other hand a modern kitchen, hudge fridge and everything else you need to feel good!
once we will be back......
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Romantic Tropical S. Kona Cottage with Incredible Oceanview
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p199288vbi
(808)328-9730 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Reston, VA
5

A True Tropical Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
We stayed at Makalani Cottage for 10 days and I cannot say enough positive things about the place. My husband and I enjoyed waking up in a truly comfortable bed and seeing the ocean. Our kids, ages 8 and 10, loved staying just steps away from us in the Mango Grove Overlook. We explored a different beach everyday, kayaked with dolphins, snorkeled, went cofffee and macadamia nut tasting and more. The cottage is very clean, cozy and well-equipped and the ocean views are spectacular. We tried to think of ways to improve the place and couldn't. The owner has thought of every detail and also provides excellent pointers on where to go and what to do. We hope to return to Makalani in the very near future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2