San Diego house rental - Pool Lanai, unbelievable ambience! Ahhhhhhh.
Pool Lanai, unbelievable ambience! Ahhhhhhh.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

San Diego House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 4 Baths, Sleeps 10

Resort Style living at its best. Contemporary Architecture, Tropical Hawaiian palate, your mind will drift once you've arrived. Indoor outdoor living, featured in San Diego Magazine, it's a perfect setting for special getaways both vacation or corporate. Infinity edge pool/spa on the canyon's edge (Ask about pool/spa heating charges) panoramic views, cascading 10 ft. waterfall. OUR VIRTUAL TOUR IS A MUST SEE! SCROLL PAST AMENITIES AND CLICK ON VIRTUAL TOUR! NO PARTIES/LOUD MUSIC. Our home is truly meant for 'SMALL' quiet family and friendly retreats. A maximum of 10 people on property at 'all' times unless approved by owners - Strictly enforced. You will be surprised how close you are to all there is in San Diego, yet once behind closed doors, you can enjoy San Diego's sunny weather in luxury. Get tickets to Pet Co Park, the Old Globe Theatre in Balboa Park or have your own private dinner at home alfresco under the falls.

Hello, My name is Bob & I have been living in my native hometown of San Diego for 48 years. I have been many places in the world and San Diego has simply stayed in my comfort zone because of it's sunny weather, eclectic lifestyle as well as the beautiful coastline. I am an Ice Skating Instructor, interior designer, Real Estate Agent & dog lover. I am very much a people person and the vacation rental industry has given me such pleasure, affording the opportunity to meet such awesome guests from all over the world that we have welcomed to our homes here in San Diego. I can only say; 'I hope that I have the pleasure of meeting you someday & if so, look forward to the many return visits that most of our guests take pleasure in!

Bob Pellaton purchased this house in 2001

Originally this home was bought to remodel and sell, because of the business I am in. The location is just so convenient and freeway accessable that it became obvious that living here would be quite comfortable. So after the first 2 years the (then) 2100 sq.ft., 2 bedroom, 2 bath was remodeled. Within the next year the downstairs spa retreat was added and finally within 5 years, the second floor, family room & pool were complete. A lot of thinking was enabled, because we remodeled and added in stages. We have had the home for 13 years now and truly love the tropical, resort style feel this home exudes.

When you enter the home, you will feel a sense of calmness & relaxation. The sound of the cascading waterfall will sooth your senses. Although the home is 3300 sq.ft., there are so many intimate spaces and + over 1000 sq. ft. lanai and outdoor living space that it doesn't feel overwhelming. The best part about the home is that you find yourself wanting to simply settle at the home and won't feel the need to leave in order to believe that you are on vacation!

87 Reviews of Property 194916 in San Diego, California

PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
average rating of 5.0 based on 87 reviews
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
5

Thank you Bob!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
There is definitely a reason why everyone is giving this home a 5* rating!
Bob, your home was fabulous and our families thoroughly enjoyed every part of it!
The interior and exterior of the house was incredible - the pictures do not do it justice!
We loved waking in the morning and enjoying the beautiful pool area!
Thank you for the incredible stay!
We would love to stay again sometime in the future!

All the best!
Ryan and Meredith Sawatzky
Tom and Lisa McGovern
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking such great care of our home and for all of your kind words.
Good to meet you and likewise we would enjoy having you stay again.
Take care for now.
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
Atlanta, Georgia
5

Fabulous Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2011
I am little embarrassed to say I am submitting this review extremely late, approximately 14 months since my stay. Yet, I also think the fact that I am still thinking about my family's stay at this property speaks volumes for how great this property is - it's a must stay. My husband, toddler son, and father stayed here during a portion of our vacation in May/June 2011 and absolutely fell in love with the house. It was very special for us and allowed all of a little space of our own. My father stayed in the downstairs master retreat with the indoor/outdoor shower and cabana/lounge area near the pool, which his little paradise. It was lovely having the pool, hot tub and fire pit. We actually made smores on several evenings and just lounged outside. Fantastic! My family is accustomed to luxury accommodations when we travel and this place certainly delivered. It was home away from home. And...I must mention, the owner, Bob, was great too! I highly recommend staying here.
Owner's Response: In this case when we say better late than never, it truly is better late with your review as it is so generous. We are so thankful for your kind words and would love to have you back again real soon!
With Warm Regards!
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
5

One of the Best Vacation Rentals in SD

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This house is very well designed and furnished, very clean and well maintained, offers a lot of living areas, located in a very nice neighbourhood, and of course has probably one of the best swimming pools and hot tubs in the SD area.
The kitchen is very well equipped and you are encouraged to use it all.
There really are a lot of good things to say about this place, but let me tell you that even only the pool and hot tub is bringing your vacation up to another level.
The description and photos listed on the web page are actually telling it.

The only things that need to be improved are, that it would really be nice to have some small speakers and an iPod dock around the pool area and be able to listen to some music outside. And more importantly, even the master bedroom is getting too much light and there are not enough shades to prevent all the sunlight coming into the rooms in the early mornings. It would really be nice to add some more curtains and doors maybe..

Yet, I will definitely stay at this place as long as it's available whenever I travel to SD. Thanks Bob.
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your review.
Hope to have you bacl again real soon.
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
5

Gorgeous home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Our family of three generations has rented homes across the United States for the past six years. This home is by far one of our favorites. It is private, luxurious, comfortable and exceptionally clean. Everything was exactly as stated in the description and the pictures give an honest portrayal of the home.
Bob went out of his way to make sure everything met our approval, and we greatly appreciated the fact that he met us at the house upon our arrival. He also made sure we had enough time to shower and change so we could attend our nephew's wedding rehearsal dinner.
We created numerous family memories here that we will cherish for years to come!
Owner's Response: It was nice to meet you and hope to have you back again real soon.
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
5

Pretend you live there..

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
They aren't kidding with the "resort style retreat" sentiment. This house had more places to take your mind off things than a resort does! Every corner was thoughtfully assembled to give guests a place to relax -- couches facing the sunrise, soft balcony chairs facing the sunset.... The owners have the spa set to turn on every day at the perfect time, the kitchen and seating and rooms are all perfect for group gatherings. The only thing wrong with this place is it makes your regular life look dull!
Owner's Response: I sure hope you get the chance to come back again!
Thanks so much and take care for now.
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
Connecticut
5

The perfect house for a getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Three couples stayed for a week including 2 small children. The house was so amazing that we did not want to leave but we did manage a few day trips. The location is very convenient; a short drive to most major attractions including beaches and the San Diego Zoo. Even Disney is less than 2 hours away. There are many great restaurants in the area or if you want to stay in and relax at the house, many places deliver or you can cook your own food in the amazing kitchen. Don't forget to visit the farmers market if you are there on a Sunday. The temperature during our visit in late April was very comfortable and we made good use of the pool during the day and hot tub in the evening. We had to keep a watchful eye on the kids around the pool but did not have any problems. If you are thinking about visiting the San Diego area, this is the place to stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much ~ take care and hope to see you again real soon!
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
Nothglenn, CO
5

Three generations of a Colorado family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Simply put our experience was outstanding.

The house was superior to any of the high-end marina area hotels and other San Diego rentals that we’ve stayed at over the past couple of years. Bob is a wonderful host who’s done a magnificent job on the house design and furnishing.

We actually saved several hundred dollars by staying at the house, compared to paying for three hotel rooms per night for the three generations of our family. Avoiding the $25 - $35 per night in hotel self-parking parking fees; having access to a gourmet kitchen for morning orange juice, late night snacks or family meals; a washer/dryer setup to help reduce the number of checked bags; and having the access right out the back door to a great pool and spa make this the only San Diego choice for us whenever its available.

We also found that if you sit by the pool or open the upper level windows you can hear birds singing even at night. Watch for the hummingbirds in the morning to the right of the spa.

Even if only my wife and I are traveling together we’ll be staying here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: All we can say is WOW.
Thank you for your great review! We would be delighted to have you stay with us again.
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
Nothglenn, CO
5

Three generations of a Colorado family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Simply put our experience was outstanding.

The house was superior to any of the high-end marina area hotels and other San Diego rentals that we’ve stayed at over the past couple of years. Bob is a wonderful host who’s done a magnificent job on the house design and furnishing.

We actually saved several hundred dollars by staying at the house, compared to paying for three hotel rooms per night for the three generations of our family. Avoiding the $25 - $35 per night in hotel self-parking parking fees; having access to a gourmet kitchen for morning orange juice, late night snacks or family meals; a washer/dryer setup to help reduce the number of checked bags; and having the access right out the back door to a great pool and spa make this the only San Diego choice for us whenever its available.

We also found that if you sit by the pool or open the upper level windows you can hear birds singing even at night. Watch for the hummingbirds in the morning to the right of the spa.

Even if only my wife and I are traveling together we’ll be staying here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
Az and Ohio
5

Fantastic Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This was our first time renting from home owners and we were not disappointed at all. Bob met us at his home, showed us through the place, gave us alot of helpful information for our stay and was most accommodating to our every need. It was all that we expected and then some. Even though it rained the first days we still had lots of time for the pool and hot tub. This was a three family vacation and with so much room we never got in each other's way. We could have just stayed at the house the whole time as it was so inviting and lots to do. There were six adults and three children and we all had a great time. It was so enjoyable for me to have that special time with my grandchildren as I was not able to do much sight seeing with them. Your home is just fabulous and loved the furnishings.It was clean and very well kept. They went to museums, aquarium, sea world,zoo and whale watching. And don't forget all the shopping and boardwalk. So much to see and do. Thanks again Bob and if we come to San Diego again we will be staying there. This home is close to all attractions.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was truly nice to meet your family. So glad we were your first hope rental and certainly hope to have you back again real soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
5

Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
The property was excellent for any family that wants to visit San Diego. There are enough beds and bedrooms to comfortably sleep 10 people with no problem. Around every corner there is another bathroom, another deck to enjoy, another fireplace to sit in front of.

The location is perfect for access to all that San Diego has to offer. It never took longer than 10 to 15 minutes to get to all that we wanted to get to. Bob walked us through everything we needed to know right when we got there and then was instantly available by phone or text.

Sitting in the hot tub every night looking out over the ravine and city lights was a perfect end to every day. Balboa Park with the zoo and more museums than you can visit in a week is a must see along with Sea World. I was able to run every day along the beach after a 10 minute drive to Mission Beach.

Thanks again for an awesome family vacation. We will be back.