Craftsbury house rental - Welcome To The Farmhouse!
Welcome To The Farmhouse!
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Craftsbury House Rental Photos and Description
4BR/2.5BA/Sleeps 8

Only minutes from the famed Craftsbury Outdoor Center !

Your family will treasure the memories of a Vermont vacation at it's finest ! Enjoy the aroma of wood smoke on fresh mountain air surrounded by natural beauty, magnificent views, and family.

The road ends at our classic c.1850 hilltop homestead farmhouse, where you'll find hand hewn charm, modern comfort, and private rejuvenation. Except for the Maple-sugar house, we're the only place on a secluded dirt road, where you can enjoy acres of fields and forest, peace and quiet ( the nearest neighbor is 1/2 mile away).

High above the noise and worries of everyday life, the mountain meadows and panoramic views will make you melt, and give your family the retreat you deserve. Only 1 mile from Vermont. Route 14, there's easy access to everything the Northeast Kingdom has to offer. Truly a 4 season paradise.

In spring there's Vermont Maple Syrup (made just out back), Apple blossoms, and Lilac festivals. Summer brings lazy days at the multitude of area Lakes, hiking the Green Mountains, or exploring the hidden hamlets in search of that rare antique. (There's also plenty of 'Ben & Jerry's' ice cream at the local factory in Waterbury !). Fall brings out nature's palette of rich colors, sweet harvest, and whiff of wood smoke from the cook stove. Winter is full of the best skiing in the East (both Nordic and Alpine) and long cozy nights curled up by the fieldstone fireplace. X-country skiers will enjoy Vermont's premier destination, 'Craftsbury Nordic Center' with miles of trails and of course, 'THE' Marathon.

Downhill skiers have as many choices as days in the week !! Stowe, Mount Mansfield, Smugglers notch, Jay Peak, Burke Mountain, Sugarbush, Mad River Glen, Bolton Valley ..... The list goes on, all from 45 min. to an hour and a half away.

When it's time for you and family or friends to relax and enjoy life, come home to Craftsbury's 1850 Hilltop Homestead !! Kathy & Chip

More Details
Hide Details

28 Reviews of Property 193218 in Craftsbury, Vermont

WE HAVE SNOW...NORDIC SPRING SKI MECCA! Upscale Farmhouse, PANORAMIC VIEWS!
average rating of 5.0 based on 28 reviews
business
WE HAVE SNOW...NORDIC SPRING SKI MECCA! Upscale Farmhouse, PANORAMIC VIEWS!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193218
+1 8023635555
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
Dear Kathy & Chip,
We had an absolutely fabulous stay in your wonderful home!
We managed to consume almost all of the beautiful fruit basket
crackers, cheese, cookies, and of course the Ben & Jerry's
ice cream. The sweetheart Roses lasted us the entire week with
their delicate beauty on the dining room table. Now we are traveling home with our giant jugs of Maple Syrup to provide us with sweet memories of our stay for months to come. We hope to visit again. With many, many thanks for generously opening up this lovely piece of paradise for all of us to enjoy!
business
WE HAVE SNOW...NORDIC SPRING SKI MECCA! Upscale Farmhouse, PANORAMIC VIEWS!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193218
+1 8023635555
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
Dear Kathy & Chip,
This place has it all ! The breath-taking views that greet you from every window. The broad handsome kitchen table that generously accommodated our two families. The charm and warmth of the antique kitchen wood stove. The fabulous beds
(we all slept so well). Lovely artwork on the walls, and a well equipped kitchen which made meal preparation such a pleasure !
Thank you for opening up your little slice of paradise for all of us to enjoy !
business
WE HAVE SNOW...NORDIC SPRING SKI MECCA! Upscale Farmhouse, PANORAMIC VIEWS!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193218
+1 8023635555
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
Baltimore, MD
5

Guestbook Comment

Who could ask for more...attentive hosts Chip and Kathy...private yet convenient location--food shopping at the co-op in Hardwick was terrific...fabul...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
Who could ask for more...attentive hosts Chip and Kathy...private yet convenient location--food shopping at the co-op in Hardwick was terrific...fabulous views from every window...snowshoeing and back country skiing right outside your door and 15 minutes away at the Craftsbury Outdoor Center...spaces in the house to be together or to get away...a well equipped comfortable kitchen...our stay exceeded our expectations...and we look forward to returning...thanks Chip and Kathy...you are perfect hosts!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
WE HAVE SNOW...NORDIC SPRING SKI MECCA! Upscale Farmhouse, PANORAMIC VIEWS!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193218
+1 8023635555
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
Salem, MA
5

Guestbook Comment

We had 6 adults and 2 children(ages 6 and 3) and rented the farmhouse for the Christmas week. I can't imagine a better house to relax and celebr...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
We had 6 adults and 2 children(ages 6 and 3) and rented the farmhouse for the Christmas week. I can't imagine a better house to relax and celebrate a holiday in for a week.

The farmhouse location was ideal for us. Remote and refreshingly quiet while still close enough to food shopping (15 min) the Craftsbury Outdoor Center (10-15 min) and Stowe (30 min). It's an extraordinarily peaceful place with astounding views in all directions--if you have clear skies, the stars are amazing. We also took advantage of the hills in front of and behind the house and went sledding and snow shoeing around the fairly extensive trails.

The kitchen is very well equipped and we cooked all of our meals there including a fairly large Christmas dinner for 10. It is a spacious eat-in-kitchen which we all preferred and it made it easy to cook, serve, and clean up. The two wood stoves kept us warm and cozy and were very efficient. The bedrooms are all nicely appointed and have great light throughout. The mattresses are all good and there were plenty of sheets and extra pillows. The 2.5 bathrooms were more than enough for all of us and clean and modern. The layout and 2 living spaces allow you to easily hang out together or find a good reading chair and be by yourself. The house is old and creaky in places and while it may not be everyone's style, we found it to be cozy, clean, comfortable, inviting, and relaxing. A perfect place to call home for a week.

All 3 generations of our party (each with very different expectations) loved this place and were pleasantly surprised by the details Kathy and Chip attended to and their warm and caring approach. We felt like we were staying at a friend's house. When we arrived we experienced some car trouble and they were very extremely helpful throughout the entire process. By all accounts this was a great Christmas in a perfect location and we look forward to returning soon! I can't imagine a better way to enjoy Vermont.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
WE HAVE SNOW...NORDIC SPRING SKI MECCA! Upscale Farmhouse, PANORAMIC VIEWS!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193218
+1 8023635555
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
We had a ball & the unanimous decision was "THE BEST HOUSE"
Thanks for the goodies & hope the place is picked up to your satisfaction. Seriously, what a great spot ! We needed all the space as it turned out & instead of going to
Newport Saturday evening, we had 13 for spagetti dinner here. Terrific fun and universal approbation for the house and setting. We're talking about a mini-reunion in another
few years, We'll keep you posted.
Again, Kathy & Chip, THANKS !
business
WE HAVE SNOW...NORDIC SPRING SKI MECCA! Upscale Farmhouse, PANORAMIC VIEWS!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193218
+1 8023635555
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
New Jersey
5

Guestbook Comment

We stayed in this beautiful place for a weekend... and enjoyed every moment of the trip. The photos of 'around' the house donot really do ju...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
We stayed in this beautiful place for a weekend... and enjoyed every moment of the trip. The photos of 'around' the house donot really do justice to
what actually it is.

The place is awesome, the amenities great and the ambiance is simply superb.

Thanks to Chip & Kathy to have made our
trip a really wonderful and memorable one.

Kamal & Friends
business
WE HAVE SNOW...NORDIC SPRING SKI MECCA! Upscale Farmhouse, PANORAMIC VIEWS!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193218
+1 8023635555
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
We thoroughly enjoyed the peace & quiet and all those beautiful trees. It was nice to have sufficient "real" hangers instead of the few flimsy wire ones we've found in other houses. We had a great time sitting around the kitchen table eating and chatting away the evenings.
Thank you for being such great hosts !
business
WE HAVE SNOW...NORDIC SPRING SKI MECCA! Upscale Farmhouse, PANORAMIC VIEWS!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p193218
+1 8023635555
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
Katy, TX
5

Guestbook Comment

We stayed here 11 very enjoyable days and had room to invite VT relatives to visit and stay a while. The farmhouse is very clean and well furnished. ...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
We stayed here 11 very enjoyable days and had room to invite VT relatives to visit and stay a while. The farmhouse is very clean and well furnished. All the beds were more comfortable than you will find at most hotels - this is rare for vacation rentals. The owners are personally involved in making sure your expectations are met. The location is superb! Drive up through the woods, past the fields and you are there, in you own special place with an expansive view of the valley and mountains and a quiet, relaxing environment. If you're like us, you won't want to leave. Kudos to Kathy & Chip; we will be back!
Helpful votes: 1/1