Cleanliness Is A Issue
Here is my letter to owner that decided my concerns were illegitimate. You decide for yourself. "Just wanted to let you know how dissatisfied myself and the two families were with staying at your rental house this weekend. Your online ads boast "luxurious" furnishing and your personal emails guaranteed "no disappointment" however when we arrived at the cabin we found most of the house to be in ill repair. The luxurious accommodations were all dated furnishing from Im guessing early 80's that looked to be very tired and much of the house needing painting, gardening, etc. The view promised from all rooms were blocked by a large shrub that looked to have not been trimmed in years. In addition the state of cleanliness was deplorable. The towels and bedding were not washed, the kitchen had spills, hair, and stains in all cabinets, the BBQ had a layer of dirt and grease and inside looked to have never been cleaned, the furniture and carpet were mostly stained, etc. The grossest seemed to be the white stains on the pillow cases in the master bedroom. I would request a refund of the cleaning fee and some type of reimbursment for the accomadtions made per night. I truely feel you misrepresented the quality and cleanliness of your cabin. I will send pictures to back up my claims and look forward to a quick response from you in getting this settled."
Owner's Response: We're so sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with our home and definitely don't feel that your concerns are illegitimate. This is the first negative response we've ever received and we take it very seriously. We would have been happy to take care of these issues right away for you if you had let us know about them during your stay. We take great pride in our property and it is absolutely as wonderful as our previous guests have praised about.
To address your other issues....
Some of the furnishings are fairly new and some of them are many years old. All of them, however, are high quality and in excellent working condition as the pictures clearly depict. I don't quite understand how this would detract from your enjoyment of such a beautiful home.
As for the view, it is absolutely amazing. Probably one of the best views from any house in Big Bear and one of the main reasons we bought the home. It can be seen from every room in the house with the exception of the hot tub room which is made more private by the tree "shrub" that you speak of.
To all future guests considering staying at The Grand View Chalet, rest assured you will have a wonderful stay as our other guests have all confirmed!
Helpful votes: 5/7
Did you find this review helpful?