Harlem townhome rental - Living Room
Living Room
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights
 

Harlem Townhome Rental Photos and Description
Apartment - 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s) - 1 Bath - (Sleeps 3)

Sankofa Guest Apartment is an ideal location whether visiting NY for business or pleasure. This beautiful self contained apartment with a private entrance, is on the top floor our privately owned brownstone located in Central Harlem. There is no elevator.

The neighborhood is quiet, safe, residential, historic, eclectic, and right in the heart of Harlem. Take advantage of all Harlem has to offer-- delicious dining, Central Park, neighborhood tours, gospel brunches, church, jazz clubs, museums,and friendly folks. There is something for everyone.

After a day of fun in Harlem, lower Manhattan or the other boroughs, unwind in an oasis of tranquility at Sankofa Guest Apartment. The accommodations are immaculate, quiet and safe, with plenty of light and sunshine.

The bedroom which overlooks the garden has three windows, a comfortable queen size bed with a pillow top mattress, 600 count sheets, ample closet space, a comfortable lounge chair, Bose Wave Music system with an alarm clock. You can also play your iPod through the Wave music system.

The bathroom is adjacent to the bedroom. Liquid Soap, plush towels, bathrobes and 'complimentary slippers' are provided during your stay.

One of the hall closets houses a washer/dryer and laundry detergent.

The all stainless steel kitchenette is complete with everything you need to prepare a meal.

The living room has a small library, 27 inch flat screen cable HDTV with premium channels, two sofas--a twin sleep sofa with air dream mattress, and regular sofa plus other seating. There is a dining area with seating for four adjacent to the kitchen pass through.

If you value peace, beauty, quality, convenience and value for your money, why not make an inquiry?

Please check calendar for availability before making and inquiry.

More Details
Hide Details

81 Reviews of Property 173458 in Harlem, New York

Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
average rating of 4.975 based on 81 reviews
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
5

Sankofa Guest Apt

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
What a great place; better than I thought it would be when I booked. A great location; easy for public transportation. The apt was immaculate @ everything worked great. Edith was so helpful in providing recommendations regarding dining, shopping, etc., and answering questions.

The bottle of wine and gift certificates were so thoughtful.

I would highly recommend Sankofa to anyone & it will be my "home" the next time I visit NYC!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
Alpine, Texas, USA
5

A highlight of our trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Superlatives were invented to describe Sankofa. All the reviews that have gone before are true and then some. Edith and Norma are always coming up with more to make the apartment a delightful respite with art and books and textiles that ignite the imagination. Thank you, gracious ladies, for creating this oasis of calm and beauty. We can't wait to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
Brisbane, Australia
5

Superb accommodation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We had the most wonderful nine nights at Sankofa from June 24th to July 3rd 2012. The owners ,Edith and Norma who live in the apartments below were so wonderful to us.
On our arrival we were greeted and shown around the apartment.Edith welcomed us with yummy croissants and in the fridge were a dozen beers,a bottle of wine,gourmet jams,butter,and juice.
They also gave us crackers chips and nuts.
The gourmet coffee machine was very nice and it was also stocked with lots of delicious pods for our stay.We were also given 2 ,$10.00 gift certificates for a great local cafe.
We were supplied with wonderful toiletries and the bedding and other linen was of a very high standard.
The apartment is just wonderful.
It is on the top floor of a beautiful old Brownstone and it is decorated beautifully.
The rooms are spacious and light filled.
The air conditioning works well and is very quiet,they have split system systems in the bedroom and living room.
The laundry was great as we could wash our clothes without leaving the apartment.the detergent was supplied as well!
We felt as if we were at home and did not want to leave.
The subway and bus are just a few blocks away and we used them all the time.
We never felt unsafe and we were walking around even at 11.00 pm at night.
There is a supermarket a few blocks away so we purchased food and had our breakfasts in the apartment.
We would definitely recommend Sankofa to anyone who wants to stay in New York.
It is in west Harlem and is about a 25 minute trip on the subway to the historical older parts of Manhatten,however it is an absolute oasis to come back to each evening after a full day out seeing the sights.
There are lots of nice restaurants that are only a few blocks away and the apartments kitchen has everything a cook would need in it if you wanted to cook a meal.
We really did not want to leave, and will definitely return to Sankofa as soon as we can.
Our friends were concerned when we said we were staying in Harlem but we felt safe all the time and everyone we met on the street was very friendly.
There are wonderful books to read in the apartment as well as lots of helpful literature on New York.
The apartment is totally separate from the owners and very private and secure.
There are lots of steps up to it so if you cannot go up steps you would have a problem..
Once again I only have wonderful things to say about Sankofa and hope to get back there soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
Melbourne, Australia
5

Two Seniors

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
The apartment was spotlessly clean and is accurately portrayed in photos. The bed is soooo comfortable with serious linens. The fully equipped modern kitchen allowed us to shop for fresh food (Chelsea Market at 15th/8th, Western Market at 14th/7th and Whole Foods at Columbus Circle are our favourites - all easily accessible by subway.) Local supermarkets are excellent too. We had a very relaxing time visiting the many museums and galleries around Central Park. Shopping access to Macy's etc is a breeze by M2 bus or 2/3 Line subway. Convenience of access to clean, regular and secure buses/trains just steps away is a big plus for Sankofa. Feet-up days were peaceful and quiet due to the location. Many restaurants are nearby for all budgets. Jimbo's is a budget diner cum social experience - with coffee in 10 seconds and a full breakfast in under 5 minutes - all produced in full view by the gymnastic "men in white". Harlem has the friendliest people imaginable, not least Edith and Norma as hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for these lovely ladies. A memorable stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
Canberra, Australia
5

Little more to say than just Excellent

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
As previous review I read when looking for a place in NYC, I don't think there is anything that can be added. Edith and Norma are gracious hostesses. We were greeted with a bottle of Australian Merlot, nuts, cheese, crackers, bagels, jam etc. totally unexpected. The lovely gift voucher to their friend's cafe, Cafe Latte, was delightful. We ended up going more than once. I have been to NYC before always staying around 50th street but much preferred the comfort of Sankofa. Thank you Edith and Norma for making the trip so delightful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
5

Great, cozy NYC apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
We spent 3 nights at Sankofa during our trip to NYC for the marathon. Was looking for a nice, quiet apartment away from the all of the 'touristy' hustle and bustle and convenient to transportation and nice restaurants. Sankofa was dead on! Edith, the owner, was very sweet and helpful. She made sure that we had everything we needed in the apartment or had access to it (the welcome 'snacks' were definitely appreciated), as well as provided key information about the area.

The apartment is a good size for a 1 bedroom NYC apartment. Well decorated and furnished, as well as clean. The decor was fitting given the history of the area. Plenty of sunlight and on a quiet street. All of the amenities available made us feel like home, from the washer/dryer to the Direct TV...oh, and Wi-Fi! Both beds were very comfortable (one in the bedroom and one in the living room).

The subway station was only a few blocks away and so was the city bus. Very easy access to all parts of the city. A good size market/grocery store was only a few blocks away as well and had all of the items we needed for our stay (fruit, veggies, bread, meat, milk, yogurt, etc.). CVS pharmacy and other shops were also w/in a short walk from the apartment.

Looking forward to staying at Sankofa during our next visit to New York! A hidden gem, for sure.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
5

Fully Recommended

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
This apartment was even better than we hoped from the descripton. Beautiful decor and good quality equipment and furnishings which made a lovely retreat from the busy city. An easy walk to bus and subway stops that take you straight to the main sights. There is an excellent supermarket close by if you want provisions. Edith was extremely welcoming and helpful with information and advice. We would thoroughly recommend this to friends and family members visiting New York.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
5

A Dream

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
This was my sixth visit to New York and my second stay at Sankofa, and I can only confirm, you can't find better accommodations in this city.

The neighbourhood is quiet and friendly with good food stores as well as a variety of nice restaurants and cafes in the vicinity.

Communications are also excellent. The subway takes you downtown in only 10 minutes, the trains run every other minute. If you want to take a bus there is one that runs along Fifth Avenue all the way down to East Village where you get a good view of the city and easy access to all the major museums and many other hot spots.

And the apartment is a dream. After a long day of exploring New York it is certainly comforting to enjoy its tranquillity. It is comfortable and spacious and has a homely feeling that you will never get in a hotel room. Tastefully decorated with plenty of artwork adding to the personal touch. Well equipped with what you could possibly need and everything from towels to kitchen utensils are of good quality. Even dressing gowns and slippers are included. This is true luxury for me!! You will find plenty of literature about New York and Harlem in the apartment. And as if that is not enough to make your stay in New York enjoyable, the hostesses, Norma and Edith, are very friendly and helpful. You can tell that they have put their harts and souls into this beautiful house. Thank you for letting us share it.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
Scotland
5

Two Very Content Travellers from Scotland

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We cannot overstate how wonderful this apartment is. There is every amenity anyone could possibly want. It is extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated with really interesting items. The hospitality of the owners is outstanding. They are two of the kindest people we have ever met. The apartment is a short walk to the subway and an even shorter walk to the bus stop. The subway journey takes about 15 minutes to get to 42nd street. The bus takes a bit longer but gives time to take in all the sights and sounds of New York. Harlem is a really good base for a holiday and not at all intimidating, despite its reputation. We never once felt uncomfortable walking around the area. In fact the architecture in the area is beautiful. We highly recommend Sankofa Apartment for your stay in New York.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
Melbourne, Australia
5

Two Senior Australians

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We have stayed at Sankofa twice - in 2010 and 2011. We notice Edith and Norma have recommended a no-show - and waived all costs - for a booking during Hurricane Irene. Such thoughtfulness is completely consistent with our experience. We have made a booking for a third stay in 2012 - 6 weeks.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1