Tamarindo studio rental - Teak decking with a deep pool in a tropical jungle setting.
Teak decking with a deep pool in a tropical jungle setting.
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Tamarindo Studio Rental Photos and Description
Quality cabinas, surfboards and bikes. Surf lessons and guide available.

Harry's El Escondite offers 1 of 4 secluded studio-apartment style house in famous Playa Tamarindo, Costa Rica and is a favorite 'hideout' for both returning surfers and first timers. The cabina is situated around a pool and garden setting on a single 1/4 acre property. El Escondite has accommodations for individuals up to a party of 3 in a cabina.

All guests get free use of surfboards and bicycles. A surf guide and lessons are also available for those new to the area or to the joys of surfing.

El Escondite is located at the end of a quiet and private dead-end road; just a short walk to the surf breaks and the attractions in downtown Tamarindo.

A cabin can sleep up to 3 people and has a kitchen, large bathroom with hot water, air-conditioning and cable TV.

El Escondite also has laundry facilities, phones and wireless Internet access.

A pool, BBQ, hammocks, and a 2nd floor sundeck with lounge chairs round out a perfect place to hangout after surfing.

In the beginning I came to Tamarindo Beach to take time off from skiing. A knee injury had forced me to leave my home in Whistler, B.C. to pursue other activities during the winter. I tried surfing while recovering here in Tamarindo and ended up preferring the waves over snow and the beach over the mountains. Over the years I've grown to love this small beach town and eventually decided to move down permanently. El Escondite means 'the Hideout' in Spanish and that was the start of Harry's hideaway.

Harry purchased this studio in 2001

Tamarindo Beach in Costa Rica has a unique combination of consistent off-shore winds for surfing and easy access to amenities and services without the need for a car but still having the feeling of a small laid back community. There are plenty of bars, restaurants, banks, shops and surf breaks; all within walking distance.

The 'El Escondite' grounds was established in 2001 and over the years has been expanded, renovated and improved to keep up with needs of clients. The cabinas are Tico style with outdoor living kept in mind yet has all modern the conveniences expected from a quality hotel. Relax and hideout at this quiet, private and secluded villa. All guests have free access to surfboards, bicycles, beach towels and bamboo mats.

99 Reviews of Property 172742 in Tamarindo, Costa Rica

Harry's, El Escondite ~ FREE SURFBOARDS & BIKES!
average rating of 4.9690723 based on 99 reviews
business
Harry's, El Escondite ~ FREE SURFBOARDS & BIKES!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172742
+11 506 8842-3419
Tamarindo Guanacaste
Augusta, Georgia
5

What are you waiting for? Book your cabina!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 11, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
What can I say that’s not already been said? My husband and I spent a week (3-10 May) at Harry’s in the blue cabina, and I am already planning a return trip.

We arrived later than expected, due to a flight delay, but Harry and Don’t the Dog were there to greet us with smiles. Having experienced everything from hostels to resorts to 5-star hotels, I must say, Harry’s place is definitely my favorite!

Harry has a knack for knowing the needs of his guests--always was there when we needed him or wanted to chat, but also was magically invisible at times, so we felt as though we had the place to ourselves. He’s a quick friend, gracious host, and a breath of fresh air. His advice on things to do, places to eat, local customs, and spots to visit were more than we could have ever asked for. (I'm already sad that I won't be drinking a cranberry-vodka at Nougi's with him, watching the sunset!)

Everything was top notch! A few amenities that you’ll love: comfortable bed, great water pressure, deceptively deep pool, clean cabinas, and cold A/C. The location is a quick walk or bike ride into town or the beach and is at the end of a quiet cul-de-sac. What more could you ask for? Oh yeah, a friendly pup and a talkative cat! =)

Harry even went out of his way to surprise us with champagne that my work arranged to be waiting on us one night. When I got back to work this morning, one of the first things mentioned was how great, easy to work with, and on the ball he was when they emailed to coordinate the gift. I appreciate that he was willing to take the extra step that many would have just regarding as an inconvenience.

If you are contemplating where to stay in Tamarindo, don’t hesitate…book a cabina with Harry. I look forward to seeing him again soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Harry's, El Escondite ~ FREE SURFBOARDS & BIKES!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172742
+11 506 8842-3419
Tamarindo Guanacaste
Augusta, Georgia
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 11, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
What can I say that’s not already been said? My husband and I spent a week (3-10 May) at Harry’s in the blue cabina, and I am already planning a return trip. We arrived later than expected, due to a flight delay, but Harry and Don’t the Dog were there to greet us with smiles. Having experienced everything from hostels to resorts to 5-star hotels, I must say, Harry’s place is definitely my favorite! Harry has a knack for knowing the needs of his guests--always was there when we needed him or wanted to chat, but also was magically invisible at times, so we felt as though we had the place to ourselves. He’s a quick friend, gracious host, and a breath of fresh air. His advice on things to do, places to eat, local customs, and spots to visit were more than we could have ever asked for. (I'm already sad that I won't be drinking a cranberry-vodka at Nougi's with him, watching the sunset!)Everything was top notch! A few amenities that you’ll love: comfortable bed, great water pressure, deceptively deep pool, clean cabinas, and cold A/C. The location is a quick walk or bike ride into town or the beach and is at the end of a quiet cul-de-sac. What more could you ask for? Oh yeah, a friendly pup and a talkative cat! =)Harry even went out of his way to surprise us with champagne that my work arranged to be waiting on us one night. When I got back to work this morning, one of the first things mentioned was how great, easy to work with, and on the ball he was when they emailed to coordinate the gift. I appreciate that he was willing to take the extra step that many would have just regarding as an inconvenience. If you are contemplating where to stay in Tamarindo, don’t hesitate…book a cabina with Harry. I look forward to seeing him again soon!
business
Harry's, El Escondite ~ FREE SURFBOARDS & BIKES!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172742
+11 506 8842-3419
Tamarindo Guanacaste
Alberta Canada
5

Sweet Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
Harry's place was awsome! Thanks for everything Harry!
Harry's vacation rental was just as described, if not better. There is a full selection of surf boards and bikes, and a deep pool which was amazing to jump into at anytime of the day when trying to cool off from the insane heat. The rental is hidden away from the downtown of Tamarindo which makes it a quite stay. The room had a nice air conditioning system that saves you from the heat while your trying to sleep through the night. Also, as described in other reviews, Harry himself is a great guy, with a great knowledge of the Tamarindo area. This place is a safe and quite stay (Harry has even installed a safe in the room to lock up your valuables). I could write more about Harry's pad, but you should just go and get the experience yourself.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Harry's, El Escondite ~ FREE SURFBOARDS & BIKES!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172742
+11 506 8842-3419
Tamarindo Guanacaste
New York, NY USA
5

Tamarindo Oasis

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
My boyfriend and I stayed in the blue cabina at Harry's at the end of April for one week and had a wonderful relaxing stay. We used the free surfboards and bikes every day which made our overall experience in Tamarindo that much more fun and cheaper. The cabinas are clean, quiet, very comfortable and private. We spent a fair amount of time just hanging out at the cabina, grilling food, laying in the hammock, or taking a dip in the pool. Harry is an open and welcoming host who shared his knowledge of the town and hooked us up with a great surf instructor as well as the perfect bar for sunset-beers. The cabinas are a little walk from the beach but truly made up for it as a serene oasis from the beachfront "scene". Hop on a bike and you're beachfront in 2 minutes.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Harry's, El Escondite ~ FREE SURFBOARDS & BIKES!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172742
+11 506 8842-3419
Tamarindo Guanacaste
Richmond, VA/USA
5

great spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
Harry's cabinas are a great spot to come back to after a long day of surfing and scorching in tropical sun. There is plenty of shade, nice balconies with hammocks and clothing lines and a small pool that is great to soak in with a cold beer. It's just out of the cut at Tamarindo so it's not crazy and loud but an easy walk into town and to surf spots. Harry is a great host with good advice and local knowledge. He won't smother you either. I love the "guard dog" - his name is Don't - very friendly dog that keeps vermin and intruders at bay.

If you are looking for maids and room service go somewhere else. If you're looking for comfort, security, and free access to a wide range of surfboards - look no further.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Harry's, El Escondite ~ FREE SURFBOARDS & BIKES!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172742
+11 506 8842-3419
Tamarindo Guanacaste
Vancouver,B.C.
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
Harry is one of the BEST hosts I have encountered in my travels. The Cabina's are spotless,everything you would want is there. The pool is awesome & the atmosphere is relaxed/laid back. Don't is the sweetest canine & had I had room in my luggage he would have come to Canada! THANK YOU Harry for sharing with us your Oasis! Costa Rica is amazing! We will be back soon.....that I can guarantee!
Cheers!
Maureen & Jackie
business
Harry's, El Escondite ~ FREE SURFBOARDS & BIKES!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172742
+11 506 8842-3419
Tamarindo Guanacaste
Portland, OR
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
Just came back from a great vacation at Harry's El Escondite. Harry was very helpful in showing us around the many amenities of the cabinas and telling us about places of local interest. He was also very accomodating of a couple of last minute changes on our end. Plus I loved the pool, shaded by palm trees. I think I want to build one at my house.
business
Harry's, El Escondite ~ FREE SURFBOARDS & BIKES!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172742
+11 506 8842-3419
Tamarindo Guanacaste
Malvern, PA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
We stayed at Harry's place for two weeks, and it was amazing. Harry told us about all the local spots, hooked us up with contacts for activities, and taught us to surf. Everything about the cabinas was so convenient . . . contents/amenities, location, etc. What a fantastic vacation. Thanks Harry!!! You made our stay a great experience and a total blast. See ya next time! :)
business
Harry's, El Escondite ~ FREE SURFBOARDS & BIKES!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172742
+11 506 8842-3419
Tamarindo Guanacaste
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
I just got home from a fabulous stay at Harry's place for 2 weeks and I miss it already.

The cabinas are very comfortable and quiet. Having a private pool within 10 feet from my door was amazing, and the beach was only a couple of blocks.

Harry is the best host ever! His recomendations were always right on. He was fun, helpful and patient enough to teach even me how to surf:)

I highly recommend staying at Harry's!!

Lynn Harvey
business
Harry's, El Escondite ~ FREE SURFBOARDS & BIKES!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p172742
+11 506 8842-3419
Tamarindo Guanacaste
toronto, Canada
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
We had a great stay at Harry's last May! The Cabinas are very clean and spacious and the air conditioning was a great plus. We were really happy to have that wonderful little pool on the days we were roasted from the sun and really stoked to have access to surfboards whenever we wanted!
We also loved how it was an easy option if you hate resorts.

Harry was so laid back and easy to talk to. I would definitely recommend staying here!

Also, a MUST eat: Kahiki Restaurant (part of hotel Mamiri) We had two fish dishes that were spectacular!

Thanks for a sweet time Harry!