North Captiva Island house rental
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

North Captiva Island House Rental Photos and Description
Beachfront House, 4 Bedrooms, 2.5+ Baths, (Sleeps up to 12)

SEAWATCH ADVANTAGES

-NEWLY CONSTRUCTED (2007) BEACH FRONT HOME WITH EXPANSIVE BEACH/BAY VIEW

-SEPARATE MASTER SUITES UPSTAIRS AND DOWNSTAIRS

-EXTRA LONG DEEP WATER BOATING/FISHING DOCK WITH DOCK SLIPS

-COMPETITIVE PRICING COMPARED TO OTHER NORTH CAPTIVA BEACH FRONT HOUSES

-PRIVATE CLUB MEMBERSHIP WITH CLUBHOUSE, HEATED POOL, 3 RESTAURANTS, TENNIS COURTS, AND GULF OF MEXICO PAVILION, LAKE ETC.

-COMPLEMENTARY KAYAKS WITH DEPOSIT

-COCONUT PALM GROVE WITH PICNIC AREA

Seawatch is a brand new beach front home rebuilt in July 2007. It is ideal for couples and large, extended, or multiple families. The 4000 sq ft. home sleeps 10-12, and is one of only 2 N.Captiva homes with 4 or more bedrooms. It also has the only available deep water dock, included with the rental, as well as full access to the Safety Harbor Club. This membership gives renters access to a heated community pool, 3 restaurants, tennis courts, library, clubhouse, and miles of beach.

The 4 bedroom 2.5 bathroom home is fully equipped with: full linen and cleaning service, a full service upscale kitchen with all new appliances (glass stovetop, microwave, large refrigerator, dishwasher, washer/dryer), reverse osmosis drinking water from the kitchen, ample dining service, utensils, 2 televisions, CD players, port-a-crib, high chair, beach chairs, outdoors shower, fishing poles (please bring your own reels), radio, library, beach chairs and towels, tropical shaded picnic area, large bedrooms and baths & decks on separate floors for full privacy. It has 6 porches for excellent views: 1 large bay side ground level screened in porch, 1 large tropically landscaped ground level screen porch, 1 top floor large bay side screened in porch, plus 2 bay side and 1 large garden side sun deck. The private 4 mile long white sand beach has a 112' long deep water fishing/boating deck. The house is also very close to the wildlife sanctuary for hiking, shelling, or photography. Included in the rental are 2 kayaks and a golf cart. Bikes are available for rent from the Safety Harbor Club. A second golf cart is available for an additional $300.

VISIT OUR WEB PAGE AND VIRTUAL TOUR FOR MORE INFO AND REGISTRATION INFORMATION.

Keywords: Beachfront House

More Details
Hide Details

I grew up on the shores of Nassau Point in Eastern Long Island, and from a very young age developed a love for the sea. When I first came to North Captiva Island in 1984 and I fell in love with the natural beauty, the bird life, sea life, and amazing hiking and fishing adventures. In 1985, I returned and bought a beach front lot that had amazingly similar qualities to our childhood beach-front home on Long Island. My wife and I spent approximately 5 years developing the house plans, along with the requirements and procedures for the home and dock. The house, palm grove, and dock were completed in 1995, and we named the house Seawatch because of the beautiful views of the beach and bay, along with the marine life (i.e. Porpoises) that attracted numerous species of bird to the schools of fish. This was to be our retirement home, but circumstances have created opportunities for guests to share in this wonderful experience.

Jeffrey Wood purchased this house in 1994

Due to its natural beauty: Dolphins, huge variety of fish, numerous species of sea bird, white sand beaches, protected shoreline, and superb views.

Seawatch is a brand new beach front home rebuilt in July 2007. It has the only available deep water dock, included with the rental, as well as full access to the Safety Harbor Club. This membership gives renters access to a heated community pool, 3 restaurants, tennis courts, clubhouse including big screen tv, lending library, games and miles of beach. Seawatch amenities include 2 central heating and air conditioners, a gourmet kitchen with service for 10, 2 televisions, CD players, wireless internet, high chair, playpen, numerous chairs for lounging on the decks and porches, beach towels, beach chairs, finely crafted leather furniture in living room, all new linens, towels, sheets, beds [very comfortable], and a lending library through the Safety Harbor Club.

The home is on a wide private white powder sand beach,with a deep water fishing and boating dock. It has 6 porches for excellent views. The house is also very close to the wildlife sanctuary for hiking, shelling, or photography. Included in the rental are 2 kayaks, and a golf cart.

34 Reviews of Property 147512 in North Captiva Island, Florida

Seawatch -The Finest Beach Front Home on North Captiva Island
average rating of 4.3125 based on 34 reviews
business
Seawatch -The Finest Beach Front Home on North Captiva Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p147512vb
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Mass
5

Absolutely Breath Taking

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
10

I stayed at Seawatch in January of this year and it was absolutely amazing. One of the best vacations I have ever had. It was the first time in many years that I had a chance to actually fully relax and let go of all the hecticness that is involved with day to day activities. I actually got to sit back and take in all that life really does have to offer. The closeness to nature I felt was second to none. On first arrival I was blessed to watch a pair of dolphins swim about 30 feet from the dock. Walking the beaches without a crowd was such a treat and after exploring the island a bit and seeing the other houses I was sure that I had made the right choice by staying at Seawatch.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/5
business
Seawatch -The Finest Beach Front Home on North Captiva Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p147512vb
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Jacksonville fl.
1

Tacky Florida dump

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Where should I start. First off we tried to open the sliding glass doors that overlook the bay but they were locked by the owner and we didn't have a key. The golf cart didn't work. The Internet didn't work. Worst of all when we used the upstairs bath tub it leaked through the kitchen ceiling while we were cooking dinner. Yes disgusting!!! When the owner was informed he not only did nothing to remedy the problems he hung up on me. Definitely not worth the price. I suggest staying anywhere else.
Owner's Response: Well As this very disrespectful tenant stated...Where should I start? As an experienced property manager for over 38 years,I am happy to say this type of tenant is not the normal for us. These people were rude and destructive the entire time they were here at SeaWatch.
First of all it was in the contract SIGNED BY THE TENANTS that the sliding glass panels would not be unlocked for their use. The contract goes on to say that due to the possibility of stormy weather and to control air-conditioning the panels would be locked. Internet issue was reported at the beginning of their stay but was quickly resolved! These tenants actually went to The Safety Harbor Club and began making extreme demands to the manager and screaming at times. This manager is extremely professional and very well respected. He recently stated to me "Where did you find those hillbillies? The last of their destruction also was turned into a false complaint when they said the tub was leaking through the ceiling demanding a plumber at 11:15 at night,WELL,it turns out that they were having a big bubble bath PARTY which flooded the bathroom floor and that leaked into kitchen! It was quoted by my housekeeper as : "After these tenants left Sea Watch, this house was the dirtiest the it has ever been" Lastly, The golf cart not working is a BOLD FACED lie. These tenants were seen and heard riding around the island singing BAUDY songs at BREAKNECK speeds! According to Captain Dan, (the charter Captain)and Sally my housekeeper, these guests without my knowledge or permission transported 3 dogs (one of them unleashed) to SeaWatch. These tenants are every property owners nightmare and will never be allowed to rent Sea Watch again! In the last 15 years my guests have thoroughly enjoyed Sea Watch, a multi million dollar property on a white sandy beach ,with a great fishing dock, on a beautiful island abounding in nature.
Helpful votes: 16/19
business
Seawatch -The Finest Beach Front Home on North Captiva Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p147512vb
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Barrington Hills, Illinois
5

Christmas in paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
Our Christmas vacation with our entire family, all nine of us, was wonderful in every way. The location of the house couldn't be better for nature watching and just chilling out. It was quiet, peaceful and private. The beach, kayaks, golf carts, and lovely house was more than we anticipated. The owner was very helpful, quickly dealing with any small issues that we had. I would recommend this house tp anyone wanting a Gilligan's Island vacation.


The Watts' ----Barrington Hills, Illinois
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/5
business
Seawatch -The Finest Beach Front Home on North Captiva Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p147512vb
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Nashville, TN
5

Great Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Our stay at Seawatch was delightful. We saw manatee, dolphin, sea turtles, land tortoises, star fish, sea urchin, ray, osprey and more. The utterly amazing thing is that all this wildlife is viewed from Seawatches stellar dock or 360 degree all glass main living area. The house had everything anyone could need. Our party included (2) Grandparents (4) adult children and (1) grandchild. We had a fabulous vacation.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/5
business
Seawatch -The Finest Beach Front Home on North Captiva Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p147512vb
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Cape Coral, FL
5

Most Amazing Vacaion Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
This was the most amazing vacation ever. The house was absolutely beautiful. We would watch the dolphins frolicking in front of the dock while we were upstairs having breakfast! This is truely a unique getaway. There is something on this island for every one. We had our 4 year old grandson who never got bored. I put my chair down on the beach, and he would play for hours. He was either jumping off the dock into the water, or collecting shells along the beach. Of course, we couldn't forget to build the ultimate sandcastle. As for the adults, the Safety Harbor Club pool is just what the doctor ordered after a long day of either fishing or relaxing at the beach. The down stairs patio seemed to be the gathering place for our group. The only time we were in the house was at meal time and to sleep. I would definitely recommend staying at the Seawatch to anyone that is interested. The owner is very accommodating and the house is always clean and fresh. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything you could possibly need. We have been staying at the Seawatch twice a year for the last four years and can not wait for our next vacation there. Can not say enough about this wonderful home. Thanks for the memories Jeff!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/4
business
Seawatch -The Finest Beach Front Home on North Captiva Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p147512vb
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We had the very best family vacation ever! The house was great; the view over the bay was fantastic. Also the fishing off the dock could not be better; as a mater of fact our youngest grandson caught his first fish while we were there. The house was fresh and clean when we arrived so thanks to the folks who maintain Seawatch for you.

Thanks for allowing us to stay at your beautiful home.
Helpful votes: 2/5
business
Seawatch -The Finest Beach Front Home on North Captiva Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p147512vb
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Spartanburg, SC USA
5

"Paradise"

"Paradise"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
After finding "Seawatch" on the internet, I contacted her owner. Throughout our talks with the owner, Jeff, and manager, Tracey, we were treated with the utmost respect and honesty. Everything he promised, he provided.
The chartered boat ride to the island provided a beautiful scenic view of the lovely natural habitat that we were about to witness firsthand. Upon disembarking at our landing, we had our golf cart along with a huge trailer awaiting us. We also had another golf cart that Tracey, Jeff's manager, arranged for us to use for a fee.
We rode past a grass airstrip and saw a house that had a fence that rolled back so the airplane could roll right into the garage! WOW! We turned down our road and a few houses down turned into "Seawatch."
It was so lovely, with the palm trees hanging down, the charm of the house bewitched us. Then we went inside! Beautiful, but not in a stuffy don't sit on the furniture kind of way. Comfortable, and the view from the floor to ceiling windows in the great room just doesn't get any better that I know. Each room had charm, like the nice screened porch off the master bedroom upstairs had several chairs facing the ocean and my mom loved it up there because she doesn't like sitting in the sun but could still watch the ocean. The bathrooms were really nice, and there was plenty of privacy as there were eleven of us. Family! The dock at our house was awesome! We fished, especially the men and children, and used the nets to catch things like a starfish! We saw dolphins, stingrays, big fish, and lots of beauty. Every day we watched people fishing, in boats, coming over near our dock, and we were like this must be the fishing place! Well my dad took my husband, brother-in-law and nephew fishing on a private charter and was told we had the best fishing spot on the island!!
My ten year old nephew summed it up pretty well one evening when we were standing on the dock fishing,he said,"Man, this is the BEST vacation of my life!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/6
business
Seawatch -The Finest Beach Front Home on North Captiva Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p147512vb
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Ft. Myers, FL
5

Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
Beautiful house, beautiful view. A wonderful family vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/5
business
Seawatch -The Finest Beach Front Home on North Captiva Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p147512vb
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Arab, Alabama
5

Fabulous family vacation.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
The house was exactly as described and probably has the best loctation on the island. The fishing off the Seawatch pier is great, as a matter of fact our youngest grandson caught his first fish there. This was the first vacation we have taken as a family since our daughters were married. My wife and I were concerned whether our sons in law would enjoy a location that had no cars etc. we shouldn't have worried, they had a blast especially with the sea kayaks, fishing and the opportunity to relax and catch up on some reading.
Great vacation, we are looking forward to next year.

Best regard,
Judy and Don B.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/5
business
Seawatch -The Finest Beach Front Home on North Captiva Island
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p147512vb
North Captiva Island Florida South Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Burgetts

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
We had the very best family vacation ever! The house was great; the view over the bay was fantastic. Also the fishing off the dock could not be better; as a matter of fact our youngest Grandson caught his first fish while we were there.

By the way, the house was fresh and clean when we arrived so thanks to the folks who maintain Seawatch for you.

Thanks for allowing us to stay at your beautiful home.

Best regards,
The Burgetts
Helpful votes: 2/4