Brooklyn townhome rental - Neighborhood view
Neighborhood view
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Brooklyn Townhome Rental Photos and Description
1- bedroom, 1 queen,1 sofa sleeper , 1 dbl. air futon 1 bath sleeps 6

Classic Brooklyn Brownstone neighborhood 2.5 blocks to subway 10 min. to Manhattan/Chinatown,

20 min.midtown 2 blocks to S train which is a 10 min. ride to Brooklyn Botanical gardens, Brooklyn museum and Prospect park/Park Slope. Jazz clubs, Restaurants, boutiques, and antique shops. Convenient location for groceries. Awesome gourmet kitchen, back yard with grill, fireplace, parquet floors , washer/dryer,cable t.v., Internet access, and car service available upon request. Very busy neighborhood,very safe neighborhood.

Great Brooklyn Spirit!: Brooklyn is a place that anybody from anywhere can have a great time.

. The Spirit of Brooklyn is a positive vibe. BK's realistic approach to life is what makes Brooklyn what it is. Brooklyn is still shedding it's negative skin from it's past history. But believe, this Brooklyn is back! Come experience what most tourists miss. You'll have a great time!

Welcome to the World.: We've got everybody in Brooklyn! Traditionally Brooklyn is and will always be the true crossroads of America.

It is from this Borough that so many Americans got their start. Brooklyn represents the world, we have every person from every part of this globe chilli'n and maken a livi'n.

Brooklyn will awaken your senses, and give you stories to talk about for a life time.

Yes, Brooklyn is the heart of New York City! We have the most people 2.3 million!

From the Brooklyn Bridge to Coney Island we are a rainbow of people,

all united to live as one in harmony.

Brooklyn's Art Scene: Williamsburg Brooklyn which is a 15 min bus ride down Bedford Ave. is a metropolis for artists within NYC,

within the past 6 years Williamsburg has become a literal extension of the lower east-side village.

There are a reported 35,000 artists working and living within the williamsburg section of Brooklyn.

The largest artists population in the world. Great restuarants,clubs,bars, galleries,studios, a real fun place to go out at night. And extremely easy to get back to property location.

More info available.

More Details
Hide Details

50 Reviews of Property 157019 in Brooklyn, New York

Beautiful Historic Brooklyn Brownstone neighborhood
average rating of 4.82 based on 50 reviews
business
Beautiful Historic Brooklyn Brownstone neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157019
+1 347 365-4721
Brooklyn New York City
Tampa
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
My husband, son, and I (along with our golden retriever) stayed in this beautiful apartment in July of 2010. The trip to New York City was a graduation trip for our son. The neighborhood is...interesting, to say the least. The brownstone was amazing and the apartment was perfect. What a unique opportunity to stay in such a historic building. The neighbors were very nice with one neighbor sitting on the stoop with us giving us a history of Bedford Sty and another directing us to the grocery store and good, Brooklyn pizza. The walk to the subway was five minutes. All in all, the trip created wonderful memories.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and we would like to reach out to all Floridians that are contemplating a visit to our great city that to have a genuine feel for the NYC metro area there is no better place than Brooklyn for a true slice of ethnic diversity . Our neighborhood provides easy access to Manhattan and is one of the best examples of some of the finest Brownstones in Brooklyn . Our home was designed in 1882 by John G. Prague the famous architect that designed the Russian Tea Room and countless brownstones on the upper East and West sides of Manhattan.Thank you again and we hope that have a chance to meet again . David and Jacqui
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Beautiful Historic Brooklyn Brownstone neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157019
+1 347 365-4721
Brooklyn New York City
Phoenix, Arizona
5

Relocation and Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
Our son Matt received a transfer with Apple from Az to the Fifth Ave store in NYC. With only a few days for him to find a room to sublet David and Jacqui's home proved to be a great location for him to look. We located a place for him on our third day about 1/2 mile away in the Crown Heights section of Brooklyn. We then had a few days to enjoy the City. This apartment was perfect especially with the large kitchen and table which we had a couple of delivered meals from the area. And it was a great area just to talk and plan the next day. Both David and Jacqui were very helpful making our time there very productive. The garden was a plus to just sit back and relax in the morning. The neighbors were friendly and we felt very comfortable walking the area, at any time of the day. It could not have been a more perfect five days. On our last day we had to get Matt's luggage and extras over to his new place. David helped us flag down a local taxi service which saved us both time and effort. If you want to get a taste of New York as it was 100 years ago (except for a few modern conveniences) then this apartment is a must. Since our son lives only about 1/2 mile from David and Jacqui's place we know where we will stay when visiting. It was a wonderful experience staying in the NYC area. Our hosts made it perfect.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Mike, It's a pleasure to serve travelers from both the U.S.and abroad ,introducing Brooklyn Neighborhoods such as ours gives people a better perspective of the real taste of New York. Were happy to have your son make his new home in the the best of the Boroughs. We look forward to your return . David & Jacqui
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Beautiful Historic Brooklyn Brownstone neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157019
+1 347 365-4721
Brooklyn New York City
Cleveland, Ohio
5

Like Being At Home....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
I write this review reluctantly. I have hesitated even though I have stayed here twice. See, if I write the glowing review this place deserves, you'll want to stay here and then I have to work my schedule around yours!

The pictures don't do it justice. The front garden with the little glider hidden behind the plants. The beautiful and interesting decor. And the back garden--I have actually designed my garden in my urban home to be like it. A little patio, lots of interesting plants and googaws hiding between them. My friends love it and it reminds me of the best place I have ever stayed in New York--and I have stayed in 11 different places.

So, if you want the best of New York and Brooklyn; if you want to get the feel of life as a New Yorker/Brooklynite; if you love to relax when you get home and don't want someone at your door at 8:00 a.m. saying "Housekeeping"; if you want owners who are helpful when needed, but respect your independence; if you want your co-travelers' jaws to drop when they see this place and rave about it later to their friends; if you want a place as clean and fresh as the standards that you keep your own home--stay here. BUT NOT WHEN I WANT TO, OKAY?

Audrey
Cleveland, Ohio
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Audrey,Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review . We enjoyed having you and do hope that you return. We take pride in making the presentation right and are glad that you commented on the ambiance in such a novel way. We hope that someone doesn't mess with your next booking ....besides your on our priority list ! Thanks for noticing................ Best wishes and hope to see you soon, Jacqui and David
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Beautiful Historic Brooklyn Brownstone neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157019
+1 347 365-4721
Brooklyn New York City
Boulder, Colorado
5

Absolutely Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We stayed with Jacqui and David for 9 days in August before and after the wedding of our daughter in Prospect Park. We took the Garden Suite, which gave us access to the tranquil back garden/patio area. That and the oversized kitchen proved to be ideal for a large pre-nup gathering of family and friends.
A five minute walk to the Nostrand Ave A-C train station made for easy access to Prospect Park, Manhattan, and JFK. And there are a grocery and liquor store within easy walking distance, and some nice restaurants. Also an outstanding expresso cafe just around the corner!
Jacqui and David are wonderful hosts who went out of their way to make our stay delightful and to help us with several logistical issues. We enjoyed more than one glass of wine with them around the big kitchen table.
In May Sandra stayed in the Parlor Suite with the stepmother and the future mother- and grandmother-in-law of the young couple. Again it was perfect. We celebrated the bridal shower there in grand style.
We could not recommend Jacqui and David's apartments more highly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Sandra and Dewitt, Thank you for the glowing review . It was a pleasure, and we
hope you return again in the future. We appreciated your patronage,and thanks
for the invite to your gathering before the Wedding.Hope that you enjoy the rest
of the remaining summer and the cooler weather this Fall. Thanks
Again, David & Jacqui
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Beautiful Historic Brooklyn Brownstone neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157019
+1 347 365-4721
Brooklyn New York City
Oakland, CA
5

the perfect stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
David and Jacqui are the perfect hosts in this lovely unit in an ideal Brooklyn brownstone. The location is perfect - close to the subway and to daily shopping needs - grocery, bodega, restaurants, etc. The entire process of scheduling and booking could not have been easier. Exchanging emails with prompt replies. I could not have been happier! It is so nice to have somewhere that feels like a little bit of home while visiting a place like NYC. Also, the kitchen is excellent! The cabinets are stocked with every cooking tool and then some that you could need. I cooked a great dinner on my final night here and felt like I was in my gourmet kitchen at home.

I absolutely love the energy and spirit of Brooklyn and enjoyed feeling immersed in it. A quick subway ride will take you into Manhattan or around other parts of Brooklyn or the other boroughs.

I will very likely stay here again!! I can't say enough good things about this apartment. I almost wish I could call it my permanent home!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Beautiful Historic Brooklyn Brownstone neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157019
+1 347 365-4721
Brooklyn New York City
Northern Ireland
5

Excellent apartment for a wonderful holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
We stayed in Jacqui & David's superb garden apartment for 2.5 weeks over Christmas and New Year 2009-10 and had the most wonderful time. The apartment is much better than described in the listing and the photographs really don't show off just how good the accommodation is.

The kitchen is fabulous and we used it regularly, in fact cooked our Christmas dinner there. The weather outside was extreme cold and we had snow storms - though inside it was lovely, warm & cosy and always had lots of hot water.

Plenty of space for 4 adults, 2 blocks to Nostrand Ave subway directly on the A line into Manhattan (approx 15mins), or C local through Brooklyn. Brooklyn itself is amazing and has so many lovely restaurants and very friendly people. Supermarkets and local food stores nearby made keeping the fridge stocked with whatever we wanted effortless.

One of the high spots for us was feeling like we were living in the area rather than being tourists - having a "home" to come back to was brilliant and we appreciated the fact that we could open a beer or have a glass of wine and relax after a long day. Broadband meant that keeping in touch with friends and family was easy over the holidays and the area was so convenient that we don't think we'll ever stay in Manhattan again - Brooklyn is much nicer to come back to in an evening after the hectic rush of the city.

Jacqui & David were great hosts who have put a lot of work into bringing their lovely Brownstown home up to a very high standard of accommodation which is very comfortable and has everything that anyone could require. Spotlessly clean, with plenty of fresh fluffy towels and clean fresh bedding.

We feel we have been lucky enough to have had both a fantastic space in which to enjoy our holiday, whilst at the same time making new friends in our hosts and look forward to staying in this brilliant place again (hopefully when the weather is kinder and we can enjoy the garden with the outside dining area and barbeque grill).

Also, the apartment was decorated for the Christmas holidays which was a very thoughtful touch.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Beautiful Historic Brooklyn Brownstone neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157019
+1 347 365-4721
Brooklyn New York City
Los Angeles
5

A Writer's Haven

A Writer's Haven
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
I'm a writer who came to New York to try to find representation for a book I'm working on. Though I didn't secure an agent on this visit, I did find a writer's retreat in this restored Brooklyn brownstone that I hope to return to again and again. I chose the property in part because of the gorgeous pictures, which don't really do it justice. It is even cozier and more aesthetically pleasing in person with beautiful wood floors, artistic touches, and comfortable furnishings. I also chose it because the owners were so prompt and thorough in answering all my questions over email and so welcoming. In person, they were even more so! I arrived at 6:30 am on a red-eye flight, and though my unit wasn't yet ready to check into, they made arrangements so I could leave my luggage, rest, shower, and get ready for a meeting on another floor of this four-level brownstone. It was so amazing for them to extend that kind of hospitality. Once settled, I found cute cafes for breakfast within walking distance and an easy stroll to the A line Metro, which whisked me into Manhattan. The neighborhood of Bedford-Stuyvesant is one in flux. 10 years ago it was considered dangerous, but gentrification is clearly underway. I felt safe as a female traveler alone, even when coming home at night after midnight. The weather was stormy while I was there, but luckily I felt cozy and comfortable in this brownstone retreat. I bought groceries (Super Foodtown, in walking distance, stocks many organic products) and took advantage of the spacious, gourmet kitchen in the unit to cook meals. I hooked into the provided internet connection and did work on my laptop. I curled up in the soft brown leather chair in the living area and read a novel. Though official check-out time is at 10 a.m., the owners again accommodated me on my day of departure by letting me stay in the unit until I headed out for the airport at 3:30 p.m. at no extra charge. They helped me find a driver who could take me. These are truly wonderful individuals, whose love for Brooklyn and for their home is reflected in all the caring details of their property. The only drawback to the unit I found was that, due to its location on the bottom floor, the footsteps of people in the unit above were quite loud. I was trying to sleep in after a late Friday night and was awakened early by the rapping of their feet on the hardwood floors. Other than this, however, the unit and the neighborhood was very quiet. 5 stars!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Beautiful Historic Brooklyn Brownstone neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157019
+1 347 365-4721
Brooklyn New York City
Melbourne
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
We stayed with Jacqui and David at this fabulous place for one week in Oct. 09. A home away from home, with an easy ride to Manhatten, as the express subway is just around the corner.
The whole place was so well set up, with interesting art work all through the apartment, a comfortable bed, great kitchen and very clean throughout. The surroundings are very diverse and cosmopolitan, full of life and safe day and night.
The walk around Brooklyn Heights with a view onto Manhattan was my favourite!
Walking over the Brooklyn bridge is also not to be missed..
Jacqui and David were always there to greet us. We even went to a fabulous restaurant with them one night. They are great company and judging by the reviews everyone wants to go back to see them and Brooklyn . We certainly do!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Beautiful Historic Brooklyn Brownstone neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157019
+1 347 365-4721
Brooklyn New York City
Manchester, UK
5

Great base for a trip to New York

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
We had a fantastic stay in the apartment. It was spacious and really comfortable- perfect for relaxing in after a long day sightseeing! The kitchen was well equipped with everything you could need and there were several grocery stores in the neighbourhood. The place was also spotlessly clean with a helpful subway map shower curtain so you can plan your route while you shower in the morning!

Manhattan was a short train ride away on the A or C train from the Nostrand Avenue station a 2 minute walk from the apartment. I would definitely recommend getting a weekly subway ticket ($27) if you are there a few days like we were. These are also valid on the buses which were a great way of seeing the sights of the city without having to walk for miles. The A train also goes to Howard Beach station from where you can get the Air Train to JFK airport.

The owners were really friendly and helpful- we had a great stay there and would definitely book the apartment for future visits to this great city, especially as we would love to explore Brooklyn some more.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Beautiful Historic Brooklyn Brownstone neighborhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p157019
+1 347 365-4721
Brooklyn New York City
5

A great base for a great week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
I have to say that this was the perfect base for our explorations of the big Apple. With a two year old in tow we thought that an apartment would be a better choice that a small hotel room in Manhattan for our week in NY and what a perfect choice this apartment was!. Jacqui and David were the perfect hosts and they really have provided a home from home, the love and attention they have put into this apartment really shows: from the cupboard full of toys, the washer and dryer (no laundry to come home to!) the yard out the back (complete with grill, tables and bikes) and a kitchen with everything you need. We spent most of our time in the very large kitchen, a drink around its big table was the pefect place to relax after a hard day shopping and sightseeing! with the subway at the end of the road, you were right on the main line, just hop of the 8th Avenue express and in 20 minutes you were in the heart of the city. Its not in the most affluent area of Brooklyn, but you do feel safe (even coming home late) We didnt find any nice bars or resturants within walking distance (I'm sure there are!) but we really felt like we had a taste of what it was really like to live in New York. I recommend to anyone who wants to escape the hustle and bustle at least at night time and as my little girl still says now "are we going back to Jacqui's house?" I would easily go back there anytime! I just hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did....
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/6