Lancaster cottage rental - Little Stone Cottage
Little Stone Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Lancaster Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 2)

Our vision is that this would be place of blessing for truly married couples only. Our desire is to honor God's definition of marriage 'One man and one women for life.' Therefore we ask that unmarried and divorced and remarried couples with a living spouse do not apply please!

Located just off the beaten path near the village of Gap, you'll find this cute getaway nestled in the quiet, among mostly Amish farms and businesses. This is a fully remodeled and tastefully decorated escape. It whispers romance, relaxation, and renewal.

You can eat on the back deck, relax in the hot tub and count the stars, or sit on the patio and enjoy the view of the tastefully landscaped backyard with a small pond and or watch the neighoring Amish children play.

In the stone basement an old original fireplace and comfy sofa beckons you to sit by the fire. The romantic bedroom suite features a comfortable king-size bed with a partial canopy. The fully equipped kitchen makes in house meal preparation easy. This is an ideal place for honeymoons and anniversaries, and truly a place you'll want to come back to. The vaulted bedroom ceiling with exposed beams and skylight is very distinctive.

This historic cottage is part of Spring Wood Organic Farm which is a 220 acre third generation Mennonite family farm operated by Roman and Lucy Stoltzfoos with the help of their eleven children. Most days you will see cattle and other animals peacefully grazing on well kept pastures nearby. All this is within 20 minutes of Lancaster's main tourist area, many good shopping malls, and excellent restaurants.

Keywords: Honeymoon Cottage Romantic Getaway

Married Couples Cabin Retreat

More Details
Hide Details

Roman and Lucy Stoltzfoos are operating Spring Wood farm for over 32 years which is a 3rd generation Mennonite family farm where Roman was born and raised. They were married on a bright sunny day in July 1978, near Iowa city, Iowa where most of Lucy's family still lives. After more than three years on a church mission near Charlottesville Va we were needed on the Home farm in Lancaster County Pa. So after working for dad one year we took over the dairy and were kept busy since raising our family in the Garden Spot. Eleven children and eight grandchildren later we are still kept busy on this 220 acre organic dairy and turkey farm. We also run 2500 layers that are free range grass fed happy hens. We enjoy sharing our slice of the country and some choice farm raised foods with cottage guests. Healthy children, Healthy food and Healthy marriages are the missions of Spring Wood Organic Farm. We want married couples to be renewed as they pullback from busy schedules and take time to love up on each other and bask in the blessing and fulfillment of the true marriage covenant. It is a gift from God and one of His choice creations.

Roman or Lucy purchased this cottage in 2002

We enjoyed over the years of our marriage getting away as a couple to romantic little retreats and when we acquired this property with a small run down little house on it we thought of perhaps turning into a romantic getaway which would be a retreat for married couples. It is refreshing to see the many that could benefit from their time here. We have enjoyed making romantic dreams come true for married couples and love to host those interested in the blessing of romance inside of marriage.

You will be able to relax and really spend quality time together. There are marriage books, tapes, romantic games, CDs, and DVDs here for your learning and enjoyment. There is something for everyone and you could spend several days or more here without becoming bored. Our desire is to honor the purpose for which God created marriage! Our goal is that you would be bonded in a new and refreshing way as you rest and relax at the cottage. Our great God broods over and protects the marriage covenant and so very much desires and wants us to experience it fully! The definition for marriage according to His eternal word is one man and one women for life. As such we cannot endorse couples using the cottage that are not married. May all the married couples that come here be blessed and encouraged to honor the designer of marriage and the creator of love and romance.

64 Reviews of Property 73588 in Lancaster, Pennsylvania

Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
average rating of 5.0 based on 64 reviews
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Langhorne, PA
5

Will be back again! Love it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
This family is a blessing! What a nice feeling to know your helping someones relationship by the hands of God. Thank you so much Roman and family. You made our stay so sooo special! This cottage will always hold a place in our hearts. Hoping to return ASAP! When we arrived there was rose peddles outside of the door... that lead all the way up to the bedroom. Music sounded the whole cottage. Candles lit... everything was so fairytail! We couldn't ask for better. This family really knows how to make you feel so special.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We can never bless someone without being blessed ourselves. Thanks for allowing us to bless you these few short days. Pampering marriage is what the Little Stone Cottage and it's real owner "God" does so well, as He invented it and as we honor His creation we receive so much of His favor on our lives! Who would want to live without it? Good marriages, = good families= good communities= a blessed nation. What a merry-go- round of blessings? It is very much a God thing!
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
New Holland Pa
5

Michael & Linda

Michael & Linda
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
We had a Really inspiring 20th Anniversary together, it was a great time alone with each other with no distractions. We have 8 dearly loved children who were almost as excited for us. We could finally experience for a time how it is to be "All There" "All the Time" for each other!! The hot tub was great too as well as the massage table and fireplace. Everything was nice, neat and tidy. We want to go back again sometime for sure! Thank You God for making it Great and for creating us in a way that we can feel Love! Thanks Roman & Lucy for making our stay everything it could be.
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words and for taking advantage of the opportunity to come to The Little Stone Cottage and invest in your marriage here! We hope you can return at some point and relax and be "all here all the time again." Every amenity here was intended to bless and enhance couple time and allow you to return to the real world rested, relaxed and ravished! Life is just more doable with the love tank full! God is truly the giver of life in any good relationship.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Dublin , Ireland
5

Is maith liom e - We like it.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
We very much appreciated the vacation at the 'cottage' , every detail was as advertised, well deserving of the 'excellent' rating. The location, the property and every detail of the maintenance worth every one of the 'five stars'. Every blessing in the Lord.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you foe enjoying it. We enjoyed hosting you and visiting with you and learning about you and Ireland. Hope to see you again!

Roman
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Amherst, VA
5

Our Own Little Paradise!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We were so blessed to spend the weekend at The Little Stone Cottage. Words cannot convey the peace and tranquility we experienced. We were reminded again of why God chose to put the two of us together. Everything about the weekend made it feel like a second honeymoon rather than just a weekend getaway. Our love has been renewed and our joy restored!

Thanks, Roman and Lucy, for your wonderful hospitality. God puts people in our lives for His purpose. We feel so priviledged to have met you and your lovely family. Thank you for allowing us the honor to worship with you at Mine Road Amish Mennonite Church on Sunday morning. That alone was worth the trip. I've never heard a more beautiful sound than the congregation praising God in perfect harmony. May God pour forth His blessings on each of you.

We are looking forward to our next trip!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the very kind words! We are humbled to see God use this little cottage to remind married couples of His blessing on marriage. Investing time into your marriage is a good idea and the reason the cottage is here ; To provide a special place to truly reconnect, body, soul, and spirit.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Oil City, PA
5

Perfect Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
What a wonderful romantic place for any married couple. Everything was perfect, from the food, the rose petals, the poem and prayer,to the music. Oh, I can't forget the hot tub. We felt welcomed from the moment we got there. The cottage is well furnished and everything makes your time there special. They have thought of everything to bless a husband and wife. Thank you and hope to return soon. :)
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words. As you were blessed our goals were met. We want every couple that comes to this romantic retreat to feel pampered and cradled in the love of God so they can truly reach each other and be blessed in their marriage. Rest relaxation and renewal are what we prepare this cottage for before each couple arrives. Blessings as you use what you gained here to bless others!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
East Stroudsburg, PA
5

Best Honeymoon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Roman and Lucy, your ministry to married couples is priceless. I can't think of a better way to start married life then honeymooning at the cottage. It was truly an opportunity to bond together as a married couple. We couldn't have had such an experience in a hotel or resort of any other kind. Thank you for your amazing attention to small details that make such a huge difference. Thank you for sharing your words and letters with us. We particularly appreciated the marriage prayer. We cannot wait to come back next year to celebrate our anniversary and many more anniversaries in the future. God bless you and your family!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: If your new marriage was blessed by being here we are glad you chose this romantic retreat. Thanks for being part of the vision to bless the sacred design of God. May you have many happy returns. Thanks for the kind words. Roman and Lucy and family.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Northeast Ohio
5

PERFECT!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
This by far is the best place to stay at when you're visiting Lancaster. From the moment that you cross the threshold, you feel the presence of the Lord. It is so peaceful. Roman & Lucy have literally thought of EVERYTHING. Our time spent there was perfect and we can't wait to go back. Keep up the good work!!!!!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Expressions of surprise and joy over what our guests see and experience here are very common but very much appreciated. It is our goal to WOW every guest with the uniqueness of this romantic and restful retreat. Also we want our guests to enjoy and be impressed with Gods special provision for marriage and His blessing on it.
Thank you for being a part of this vision.
Roman and Lucy
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
MOUNT UNION PENNSYLVANIA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
HEAVENLY IS HOW I WOULD DESCRIBE THE LITTLE STONE COTTAGE!! FROM THE MOMENT YOU WALK IN THE DOOR IT IS JUST SO RELAXING...EVERYTHING ABOUT IT IS DELIGHTFUL........I CANNOT WAIT TO GO BACK !! IF ONLY EVERY MARRIED COUPLE COULD GO TO THE LITTLE STONE COTTAGE, IT JUST REALLY RENEWS YOUR MARRIAGE.
Owner's Response: Rest, relaxation and renewal are all words that spell romance and blessing. That is our goal that the cottage would bless marriages by Gods definition= that is One man and One women for Life.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Philadelphia, PA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
My husband and I enjoyed celebrating our 7th wedding anniversary at the cottage. What a wonderfully peaceful and beautiful atmosphere. We worshipped and fellowshipped with God and each other. The floating bed was a sleeping adventure. We hope to visit again.
Owner's Response: Thank you for being adventuresome enough to float on the round bed. Because of preference for a regular bed, by our guests we removed it. Most enjoyed it but not everyone. Maybe at some point it will be a choice in another cottage....
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Baltimore, MD
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
How does one describe this little gem in Lancaster
County. From the homemade bread and soothing
music to happy Amish children smiling and waving
as they rode by on their way to school, this place
touches a person's spirit. We were truly able to
reconnect with one another and with God in this
beautiful setting. The hospitality we experienced
from Roman and Lucy and their family will not soon
be forgotten nor will the precious memories of our
time at the Little Cottage.
Helpful votes: 5/5