Uvita villa rental - Enjoy views to the Osa Peninsula from the infinity pool......
Enjoy views to the Osa Peninsula from the infinity pool......
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Uvita Villa Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Set in a 60 acre private reserve, 3 minutes above beautiful Playa Hermosa, tropical modern Lattice House enjoys spectacular ocean views from every room. Completed August 2007, custom-designed finishes and furnishings were imported from Bali. Lattice House has been featured in the Feb. 2008 issue of the Costa Rican architecture magazine, Su Casa, and in the recently published book 1000 X Architecture of the Americas.

Lattice House is conveniently located half-way between Dominical and Uvita, right off the coast highway. You won’t have to spend your valuable vacation time driving up and down mountain roads to enjoy incredible views and privacy. The reserve encompasses large park-like spaces and even more area maintained as jungle--primary rain forest and old secondary. In any direction, you see only white water coastline, mountains, or rain forest. On any given day, you may see (and hear) howler and white-face monkeys, coaties, tayras, agouties, sloths, toucans, aracaries, hummingbirds, parrots, and dozens of other bird species, all from the house decks.

The master bedroom (king) and bedroom/office (double daybed) and two full baths are on the main level; two bedrooms (one queen, two twins) and a full bath are on the lower level. There are two sofas in the living room that can be used as additional beds.

Lattice House has all the amenities you expect in a luxury home and much more: partially covered total infinity pool with heated jacuzzi; four covered patios and decks; air conditioning in all the bedrooms; slate and marble floors and bathrooms; lattice work and hardwoods from Bali; outdoor master bath with copper soaking tub; copper and stone sinks; high end, fully equipped, stainless steel kitchen; beautiful furnishings, artwork and accessories.

Lattice House is a unique house in a very special property, and we look forward to sharing our piece of paradise with you.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

28 Reviews of Property 144776 in Uvita, Costa Rica

Lattice House - a Bit of Bali in Costa Rica
average rating of 4.964286 based on 28 reviews
business
Lattice House - a Bit of Bali in Costa Rica
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144776vb
(409) 771 3493 (TX, USA)Nov-May
Uvita Puntarenas
Mill Valley, CA
5

This is the place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2009
  • Stayed: Dec 2008
We had a fabulous time at the Lattice House and highly recommend it to others who want to take a dream vacation to Costa Rica. It is an elegant place with a beautiful view in a great location surrounded by birds and howler monkeys. Day trips are easily accessible whether you want to go to the Oso Peninsula and Isla del Cano, snorkel or surf in the ocean or take a zip line tour in the jungle.

But beware, it is easy to decide not to go anyplace and just relax in this retreat in the midst of its own wildlife preserve. On the property there are lovely places to hike, you can swim in the pool, or relax on one of the decks with your camera in one hand, your binoculars hanging around your neck and a cup of coffee or glass of wine on the table beside you. Close by there are excellent places if you want to eat out and well stocked markets if you want to fix a nice meal on the veranda by the pool. Ours was a three generation family trip with teenagers, young adults as well as older adults – and everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves. So grab your bathing suit, binoculars, a good camera (you won’t believe what wonderful photos you can take there) and you’re ready to go.

Jan and Tim
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Lattice House - a Bit of Bali in Costa Rica
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144776vb
(409) 771 3493 (TX, USA)Nov-May
Uvita Puntarenas
Longmont, CO, USA
5

Jungle paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
We have rented homes in many countries and yet, this one has been the best so far. After a week of constant traveling to see the varied sights of Costa Rica, we were ready to settle down for some serious relaxation: and Lattice House delivered in spades. Every morning we heard the howler monkeys at sunrise, and every afternoon the Toucans came to visit the trees near the house. In between? Eye popping views and an endless array of interesting flowers, fruits, birds, animals and insects to marvel over. The view is breathtaking and we spent long hours just hanging at the edge of the pool admiring the Pacific - and when we got tired of that we would turn around and look for monkeys in the nearby trees! The house, grounds, and pool are all meticulously maintained and the local hosts are ready and willing to assist with any needs that you may have. The owner has left an extensive booklet of tips about the surrounding area which was very helpful. While none of us are surfers, the waves were great for boogey boarding (and the owner has a number of boogey boards available for use). On our list of "not to be missed" is the Horseback ride to Nauyaca Falls with Don Lilo (where you MUST jump off the waterfall!) and a visit to the french baker in Ojochal. While the bread is indeed tasty, I greatly enjoyed the experience of just FINDING him!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
business
Lattice House - a Bit of Bali in Costa Rica
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144776vb
(409) 771 3493 (TX, USA)Nov-May
Uvita Puntarenas
Florida/New York
5

Paradise Found

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2008
This is definitely a relaxing oasis.
The house is perfect for entertaining day and night.
Every room is decorated and stocked wonderfully. They thought of everything...Interesting books, magazines full of recipes in which we used daily and cable TV for late night viewing. A list of local restaurants was in the "House Book" that proved to be excellent suggestions.
The kitchen had everything we needed for every meal (when we cooked).
We spent most of our time outside. The view was spectacular morning noon and night. The pool was the perfect temprature all day. The BBQ pit was our stove of choice. The outside dining table created a tropical dining experience like no other.
The house was clean, maid service was available with an appointment.
We loved loved the house and would stay there again and again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Lattice House - a Bit of Bali in Costa Rica
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144776vb
(409) 771 3493 (TX, USA)Nov-May
Uvita Puntarenas
Montpelier VT USA
5

Great house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2009
  • Stayed: Dec 2008
When we saw photographs of the Lattice House it struck a chord with us, and upon arrival it surpassed every expectation. The house is in perfect harmony with its surroundings and the views and private location are superb. The funishings are both comfortable and exceptionally beautiful with a first rate barbecue grill by an infinity pool that appears to dip into the Pacific Ocean. We were there the first week of Dec. 2008 with our adult children - 8 of us in all- had great weather, had fun at Hacienda Baru's zip lines and the horseback ride to Naucaya waterfalls, used boogie boards (that came with the house) at gorgeous beaches (not particularly good for sitting but great water and waves) and never had to drive more than 20 minutes to anything. The owner e-mails you a complete list of cafes (sodas), restaurants, activities, grocery stores and caterers. We had beaches to ourselves, there were very few tourists around which we liked. We stopped at Manuel Antonio on the way back to San Jose (4 1/2 hours to SJO) and it seemed like a zoo in comparison. If you like unspoiled beauty and monkeys and toucans in your backyard with a few low-key adventure companies thrown in, this is the place for you.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lattice House - a Bit of Bali in Costa Rica
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144776vb
(409) 771 3493 (TX, USA)Nov-May
Uvita Puntarenas
Chicago, IL
5

Heavenly

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2008
First of all, let me simply say that our time at your magnificent
Lattice House was the best part of the best trip my family has ever taken... just being there.

We were moved by the spirit of the place. We were often stopped in our tracks by the beauty in every direction. The toucans in the morning and evening, the troops of howler monkeys, the gardens...perfect.

Every part of every day was charming. The house and all the systems worked perfectly.

We were late arriving, but Donna was there at sunset with the windows wide open, the fruit on the table tempting, and with a friendly welcome she was gone, leaving us to the jungle sounds and the wonder of the place.

There were several very good restaurants along the coast. And the fishing was extraordinary. My daughters caught their first sailfish!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lattice House - a Bit of Bali in Costa Rica
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144776vb
(409) 771 3493 (TX, USA)Nov-May
Uvita Puntarenas
Apex, NC
5

Lattice House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
Beautiful house with awesome views. Attentive care takers to care for our every want (massages, tours, dining). Far enough removed to enjoy the outside shower and copper tub (which was my favorite part) but close enough to stores and restaurants. Loved all of the monkeys, toucans and other wild life.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lattice House - a Bit of Bali in Costa Rica
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144776vb
(409) 771 3493 (TX, USA)Nov-May
Uvita Puntarenas
Lynnwood, WA
5

Guestbook Comment

We rented the Lattice House quite by accident the last week of 2007. Our Windjammer Cruise was canceled at the last minute but the 6 of us decided to ...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2008
  • Stayed: Mar 2008
We rented the Lattice House quite by accident the last week of 2007. Our Windjammer Cruise was canceled at the last minute but the 6 of us decided to visit Costa Rica as none of us had been there. Eileen found Lattice House on the internet and we contacted the owners and found it was available the week we were to have cruised. The house is only one year old and beautiful. Quality wood-work throughout and plenty big for our group. I believe 8 people would be comfortable staying here. My fondest memory was the first morning. We had arrived the evening before and did not have much time for exploration before dark. Two of us woke early, just as it was beginning to get light. We brewed a pot of coffee and walked down below the house, near the fire pit. All of a sudden we heard a loud roar. It sounded like a wild cat of some kind. We looked at each other with wide eyes and asked "What the hell was that?" Then we heard it again but this time way down below the house. I looked at my friend and said "I don't know but there's two of them!" We decided it would be our best interest to head back to the house.
The next morning I rose before dark and made my way to the same spot. Again, just after daybreak, I heard the roar again. This time I really puit my ear to it and could hear the individule monkeys sounding right at the end of the roar. They were Howler Monkeys. We could not see them but could plainly hear 2 or 3 troops "marking" their territory. If you click on 'Monkey Music' on the website, you will hear exactly what we heard. It was the most fasinating sound I have ever heard. I play 'Monkey Music' several time each week you 'transport' myself back to Lattice House.
One suggestion. Make the arrangements for your group to stay here. When you do the arranging, you have 'dibs' on the Master Bedroom. It should be called the Master Suite as it is huge. It has a 'private' outdoor shower and large copper soaking pool on it's own private deck. The view is overlooking the 'monkey trees', where we saw both howler and white face monkeys, toucans and all kinds of creatures I don't even know the names of. By the way, the monkeys are very timid and do not come too close to the house so the stories you have heard about aggressive monkeys are not true hear. More likey at the National Parks in CR where poeple feed them on a regular basis.
We will return to Lattice house. I highly reccommend you think about giving it a go! Cheers---Steve Hall
Helpful votes: 7/8
business
Lattice House - a Bit of Bali in Costa Rica
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p144776vb
(409) 771 3493 (TX, USA)Nov-May
Uvita Puntarenas
Schererville, Indiana USA
5

Guestbook Comment

Breathtaking - Gorgeous - Exquisite are just a few words to describe this Balinese Paradise. What better place to celebrate our Anniversary and New ...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2008
  • Stayed: Jan 2008
Breathtaking - Gorgeous - Exquisite are just a few words to describe this Balinese Paradise. What better place to celebrate our Anniversary and New Years. I can not imagine a better view of the coastline then from the infinity pool, while sipping a cold drink and listening to the Howler monkeys. Thank you for sharing your spectacular home with us -- a memorable vacation to say the least.

Pura Vida,
Beth and Archie
Schererville, IN USA
Helpful votes: 7/8