Monte Sacro apartment rental - Living Room with cabinets, TV and movie cassette library
Living Room with cabinets, TV and movie cassette library
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Monte Sacro Apartment Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom & 1 full bath, fully equipped kitchen and large living room.

This lovely apartment, recently redecorated and newly furnished, is located in the desireable Monte Sacro area of Rome. Its' two balconies overlook the Aniene River and close by are several public bus lines and the Metro that run directly to the historic, shopping and financial centers of the city just 20 minutes away. Even more convenient, the new ternminal servicing the city's direct train line to and from Rome's international airport is situated one block from the apartment. Many neighborhood trattorias, bars, shops, stores and markets are also conveniently situated nearby. This is an ideal base from which one can easily explore and visit this great city and experience the Roman way of life. The bedroom consists of 2 oversized twin beds and the sofa in the living room make into 2 full-sized twin beds with full mattresses. The kitchen is fully equipped with a gas stove with 4 burners, full oven, large refrigerator, microwave oven, toaster oven and service for 6. The kitchen is unusually large for a Roman apartment and contains a table and chairs as well as all the other kitchen appliances. The bathroom is a modern bath with tub shower, cabinets, large mirror and individual wall heater. There are 2 balconies, both accessed by french doors leading from the bedroom and the living room. These balconies are large enough for table and chairs and offer additional space for privacy. The living-dining room contains a large dining table and chairs, sofa, 2 lounge chairs, large wardrobe, and cabinet with drawers. Also included is a TV with skye satellite service in which many English speaking channels can be accessed. There is a CD player, a DVD-VCR unit and a library of cassette movie tapes of both adult and children's movies. Included also is an ironing board, iron, hair dryer and security safe. An elevator services all the apartments in the building including our apartment on the 5th floor.

One of the world's great cities, Rome is a remarkable blend of the past and present. It offers the visitor an incredible wealth of art, history and culture. Here is an opportunity to immerse oneself in the life and sights of the Eternal City in comfortable, affordable surroundings. Enjoy more privacy, space and freedom and save on hotel bills while you savour the local culture.

More Details
Hide Details

Many years ago my oldest daughter married an Italian living in Rome. Since that time, my wife, Jean, and I have made an annual trip to Rome and Italy to visit her and her growing family. After some years and two growing grandchildren, it became obvious that we needed to have our own place when we came to visit. Hence, a search for a convenient and comfortable apartment for use during our visits. Luckily we found such a place in the same neighborhood where my daughter and family resided. Since that time, we have rented this apartment to tourists during the time that we are not occupying the premises. My daughter acts as our agent in Rome and is prepared to offer her services and knowledge of the city to renters if needed. We have traveled extensively throughout Italy and Europe and consider Rome to be our second home. We try to express our enthusiasm for the city and the country to our prospective renters in hopes that they too will we able to experience the incredible wealth of art, history and culture that the city offers.

John Mortarotti purchased this apartment in 1996

Besides wanting to find an apartment in the same neighborhood as my daughter's area of Rome, we wanted a place that was residential in nature, quiet, safe and if possible, family oriented. At the same time, we wanted it to be accessible to the center of Rome where one could easily explore the many wonders of the eternal city yet experience, first-hand, the Roman way of life. The apartment is a mere 20 minutes by public transportation from the very center of Rome. This transportation is very reliable, convenient and accessible. There are many amenities in close proximity to the apartment. Restaurants, Trattorias, bars, shops,street markets, supermarkets, banks, post office, department stores, pharmacies, etc, etc. that help one to enjoy Roman life to the fullest. Also, the apartment is located just one block from the new terminal servicing the city's direct rail line to and from Rome's International airport. This is one of the most desirable neighborhoods in Rome and the residents are mainly upper middle-class in stature.

48 Reviews of Property 137262 in Monte Sacro, Italy

Explore Rome in comfort and style & save on costly hotel rates & fee
average rating of 4.9565215 based on 48 reviews
business
Explore Rome in comfort and style & save on costly hotel rates & fee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137262
650 967-3474
Monte Sacro Rome
Davis, CA USA
5

Roman Oasis

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
This spacious, accurately described, apartment exceeded our expectations in comfort and amenities. The owner's daughter met us at the train station, walked with us the two blocks to the apartment, and gave us an excellent introduction to it and the local area. (She was available by phone to answer any questions we had.) Easy bus access to the center of Rome allows the best of both worlds--participating in the everyday life of Romans as well as seeing tourist sites. Shopping at the open-air market, bakery, butcher and other small, individual shops was a delight. The well-appointed kitchen made it very easy to then prepare our meals. There are also some very good restaurants in the area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Explore Rome in comfort and style & save on costly hotel rates & fee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137262
650 967-3474
Monte Sacro Rome
Burbank, California
5

Everything exactly as promised

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Our party of 3 stayed in June 2010. From start to finish this was our easiest and best coordinated stay. The apartment is lovely, spacious and clean with great views and easy to find. Internet access was very fast which was appreciated. Marilee has also put together a book that covers everything from places to eat and shop to maps to nearest bus. We consulted it many times.
We were a little nervous our first day walking as there was a lot of grafitti in the neighborhood, but that turned out not to mean anything as both apartment and neighborhood was amazingly quiet and safe. Also busses ran well into the evening so even when we were out late we were able to get home without a taxi. 10-15 minutes to center was accurate.
We can't thank John enough for the directions, constant communication and follow up. We'd definately stay again and recommend to anyone else going to Rome.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Explore Rome in comfort and style & save on costly hotel rates & fee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137262
650 967-3474
Monte Sacro Rome
San Jose, California, USA
5

Great Rome Apartment - April 2010

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
We had a wonderful time in Rome, and the apartment was great. Very cheery, sunny, clean and comfortable. Located about 20 minutes to Termini station by bus, and from there, anywhere!!!!!
Marilee, the owner's daughter, was very helpful, easy to contact, and very accommodating when we had some changes in the schedule.
We would recommend the apartment to our friends, and we would also stay there ourselves again when in Rome.
It was also assuring to have a contact in California, USA, very close to where we live.
And for whoever is anxious about safety, we found Rome very safe at all hours of day and night, and coming back late to the apartment was never a concern.
Thank you so much!
Joe and Maria
San Jose, California - USA
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Explore Rome in comfort and style & save on costly hotel rates & fee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137262
650 967-3474
Monte Sacro Rome
Nanoose Bay, BC, Canada
5

A perfect place to stay while visiting Rome

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Our party of 3 stayed at John's apartment for five nights during June 2010. It was as clean, comfortable and convenient as promised. The train ride from airport was easy and inexpensive. Marilee met us at the train station and made sure we were well settled in. She was a most gracious hostess and was always ready to help when we needed her. We tried a few good restaurants in the immediate neighbourhood. Grocery shopping was fun at the nearby market and great value at the local deli, fruit stall and supermarket. Everything was within walking distance. We could always get a seat on the urban bus No.84 from across the apartment to the centre of town. The apartment was indeed an oasis to return to after a tiring day of touring the sights. A great find and we hope for a return visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Explore Rome in comfort and style & save on costly hotel rates & fee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137262
650 967-3474
Monte Sacro Rome
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Apartment well supplied

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2009
The apartment was very well supplied, especially in the kitchen. Everything was clean, beds were comfortable and we loved the coolness of the tile and marble floors. As I said in my e-mail, your daughter is wonderful and very efficient.
Thanks again
business
Explore Rome in comfort and style & save on costly hotel rates & fee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137262
650 967-3474
Monte Sacro Rome
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Wonderful Apartment!

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2009
The apartment was wonderful! It provided many comforts to remind us of home. Ideally located to access transportation and we love the open farmer's market for fresh produce and deli meat. We loved the Pizzeria I Marchi and the owner Marco. We went 2 days in a row. Would definitely recommend to our friends and family
Thank you again
business
Explore Rome in comfort and style & save on costly hotel rates & fee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137262
650 967-3474
Monte Sacro Rome
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Thanks for the info

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Your information regarding the Roma Pass and other transportation was very helpful. The apartment was perfect! Very comfortable, and convenient buses into town.
Marilee was also very helpful and waiting for us at the train station even though the train was about an hour late.
Thanks again
business
Explore Rome in comfort and style & save on costly hotel rates & fee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137262
650 967-3474
Monte Sacro Rome
Hammonton, NJ
5

Our second stay at the perfect apartment in Rome

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2009
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
My husband and I returned after four years to find things just as we'd remembered, and hoped to find. It is a great respite after an exciting day touring Rome to come home to this delightful neighborhood and apartment. We loved shopping at the outdoor market, finding the perfect chocolate cornetti, delicious pizza, imagining we were Romans, and knowing that anything we needed was within a five minute walk. Marilee, as always, was gracious and helpful. We recommended the apartment to friends who also had a great time with two adult children. In short, we would return again and again. Thanks, John, and grazie, Marilee.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Explore Rome in comfort and style & save on costly hotel rates & fee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137262
650 967-3474
Monte Sacro Rome
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
5

Exactly as Advertised!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
Our family found this apartment to be the best of our trip to Italy. The accomodations were very comfortable for four adults. It was nicely located, far enough away from the city centre but close enough to travel easily by bus. The air conditioning a real treat during the warm May weather. We appreciated the many helpful tips and suggestions provided by John and Marilee. Anyone would be lucky to stay in this Rome Apartment!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Explore Rome in comfort and style & save on costly hotel rates & fee
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p137262
650 967-3474
Monte Sacro Rome
Littleton, Colorado USA
5

Perfect Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
We stayed for two weeks in late April, early May 2009. We had been to Rome a couple of times before and wanted a change from the hotel experience. The apartment was roomy, clean and well situated to take buses to many different locations in the central city. Plus, the buses ran late so there was no problem spending a late night in the City and then returning home. The local neighborhood market is excellent and there are shops of every description nearby. The owner and his daughter (who lives in Rome) were very helpful.
Helpful votes: 3/3