Lake Algonquin - Wells house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Lake Algonquin - Wells House Rental Photos and Description
- 3 bedrooms, 1 bath, 1 half bath. Sleeps 6-7, No Pets Please

Visit Longview, our year round lake front home in the foothills of the Adirondack Mountains, located on quiet Lake Algonquin in the town of Wells. Enjoy crisp cool Fall days and star filled nights around the campfire. Summer fun includes, swimming, boating, hiking. Lake George is less than an hour away. Saratoga even closer. Autumn brings breathtaking colors and fabulous mountain views, hunting and hiking. The home is recently renovated (so no pets, please) with updated kitchen and bathrooms and appliances, stainless pots and pans, new floors, lots of charm, and working fireplace (gas insert) in the living room. Step out onto the large screened-in porch facing the lake and private dock. Ski at nearby Oak Mt. or Gore Mt. which is 30 mins. away. Snowmobile trails nearby. Watch the deer on the lake at sundown during the winter. Rest and relax in the mountains with the lake outside your door surrounded by nature. Vist Wells website: http://townofwells.org. 25 and over to rent please.

Longview: Summer is great in the Adirondacks. Sit on the dock and day dream or read. Watch the herons and occasional eagle or otter. Watch numerous hummingbirds at the feeder. Take a kayak ride and check out the beaver dam. Canoe to the beach for lunch. Go for a hike or spend the day in Lake George. Build a campfire in the yard and roast marshmallows. Tennis courts available in town.

Fall and Winter are fabulous time to be in the Adirondacks. Relax in front of the fireplace and watch the leaves float by or watch the snow fall. Hike, hunt, ski, snow mobile or do nothing. Gore Mt. is a half hour away. Lapland Lake Resort is 10 mins. away if you're into cross country skiing.

Town of Wells website: http://townofwells.org/content/

More Details
Hide Details

44 Reviews of Property 132792 in Lake Algonquin - Wells, New York

LAKE FRONT w/ Private Dock, Kayaks & Canoe RESERVE FOR SUMMER NOW
average rating of 4.9545455 based on 44 reviews
business
LAKE FRONT w/ Private Dock, Kayaks & Canoe RESERVE FOR SUMMER NOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132792
+1 2019981111
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
wayne, NJ
5

Relaxing and fun

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
We had another really fun Thanksgiving holiday at Long View! Wish we had a little snow, but the weather was great for walks around the Lake. We had 5 people in the house and it was very comfortable. Having 1-1/2 baths was great too. The kitchen is well equipped with a BBQ grill outside and the fireplace makes the living room nice and cozy....and I have to give a special thanks to the cable man! Cable TV and internet are available! There are alot of movies to watch, games to play and books to read. If you're looking to relax and get away from it all, Long View is definitely the place to visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
LAKE FRONT w/ Private Dock, Kayaks & Canoe RESERVE FOR SUMMER NOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132792
+1 2019981111
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
jersey shore
5

lovely vacay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
another great stay at longview. cozy, as always. we had a great time watching the meteor shower, kayaking, relaxing at the fire and doing puzzles! barbara and jim are greaaaat :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
LAKE FRONT w/ Private Dock, Kayaks & Canoe RESERVE FOR SUMMER NOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132792
+1 2019981111
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
Rochester NY
5

Hame Away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
Having been to Longview at least 4 times--in summer and in fall, I can attest to the cleanliness, comfort, privacy, and home-i-ness of the house. This past Sept. weekend, we were treated to a riot of autumn color on the hillsides and long hours of quiet relaxation on the enclosed porch overlooking the water. Owners are most cordial, as are the neighbors. All in all--a good choice. We plan to return next summer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
LAKE FRONT w/ Private Dock, Kayaks & Canoe RESERVE FOR SUMMER NOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132792
+1 2019981111
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Long weekend - A break from city

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We have enjoyed our stay very much. This place is simply beautiful. Worth to give it a try. Jim and Barbara were very helpful and great host.
We would love to come back again.

Important: : A citgo gas station (also movie rental store) is nearby for some urgent stuffs other wise nearest grocery store is ~ 8-10 miles away. Just make sure, you have everything that you need.

NO cellphone service is available in this area (I mean it and I enjoyed it)...

however land-line and internet are available at home.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
LAKE FRONT w/ Private Dock, Kayaks & Canoe RESERVE FOR SUMMER NOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132792
+1 2019981111
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
Brooklyn, NY
5

A Wonderful Little Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My wife and I planned a last minute getaway, and Barbara and Jim were good enough to accommodate. The house is absolutely lovely, and in a great location - it was picturesque, comfortable, and well situated on the quiet corner of the lake. Had a few run-ins with neighbors, who were downright pleasant, and the woman at the Wells general store was nice enough to loan us a fishing pole for the week, when my wife decided she wanted to try her hand at fishing.

The hummingbird feeder activity was the nicest surprise. At the corner of the screened-in porch, there is a feeder that got hummingbirds pretty much sunup to sundown.

Nothing negative to say about the stay - a piece of advice (which was given to us, and heeded, but not as well as it should have been) stock up on groceries etc on the way up to Wells on the "main drag" of Amsterdam. Even though Amsterdam is only 45 mins south from the house, it is not a trip you want to take when you could be relaxing on the lake! The Wells general store, and the shoppes in Northampton have staples, but if you are expecting a full selection, Amsterdam is the best way to go.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone looking for a good week of recharge. Two thumbs up!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
LAKE FRONT w/ Private Dock, Kayaks & Canoe RESERVE FOR SUMMER NOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132792
+1 2019981111
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
Binghamton. NY
5

Great home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
Thanks Barbara and Jim, you guys were great host. You answered all my questions in a very prompt manner. The cottage was great, and even better then I could have imagined. We had a great time, the water wsa great and the fish were biting all week. We didn't have the best weather, but it was not bad either. We took a drive around the area and views were great. Thanks for allowing us to use cottage.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
LAKE FRONT w/ Private Dock, Kayaks & Canoe RESERVE FOR SUMMER NOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132792
+1 2019981111
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
New Albany, Ohio
5

Lake Algonquin in Wells NY in the Winter

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
This is the second year we've stayed here for 6 weeks in the winter. It's our true home away from home. Love the gas fireplace in the living room and the large well equipped kitchen and the internet access. 1 1/2 baths is nice for family visits. This cottage is neat and clean and nicely remodeled. Beds are comfortable. We xc ski nearby ( at Lapland Lake) about a 25 minute drive south and occasionally on Lake Algonquin. Owners are great and provide good customer service. We plan to return every winter for a month or more.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
LAKE FRONT w/ Private Dock, Kayaks & Canoe RESERVE FOR SUMMER NOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132792
+1 2019981111
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
bloomingdale, nj
5

Thanksgiving 2009

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
Although this is a little late, didn't want the year to go by without saying how much we enjoyed our stay at Longview. The weather was perfect for long walks around the lake during the day and campfires at night (with s'mores). The Christmas tree lighting and fair at the local church are always fun to get into the holiday spirit too. The little local book shop down the road is really fun to do some shopping...found some great hardcover books at a fraction of the book store prices! We look forward to spending our 2010 holiday at Longview.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
LAKE FRONT w/ Private Dock, Kayaks & Canoe RESERVE FOR SUMMER NOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132792
+1 2019981111
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
King Ferry
5

Another great week...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
A return trip to our home away from home. We spent a week with arguably one of the best weather weeks of the summer. Sunny days and starry nights. Another peaceful week in a cozy home on the lake side. Barb and Jim proved themselves to be wonderful hosts once again. It's a relaxing time with kayaks and toasted marshmellows that the adults and the kids all enjoy. If you don't mind the drive Lake Placid is worth the trip. The view from Whiteface can't be beat along with the gondola up to little Whiteface. But if you choose to just stay put the house makes that just as easy. The house is a place that keeps calling us back. A place that is worth the drive and worth the return again... Thanks again Barb and Jim...
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
LAKE FRONT w/ Private Dock, Kayaks & Canoe RESERVE FOR SUMMER NOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p132792
+1 2019981111
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
New Jersey
5

Longview Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Ahh, the perfect get-a-way. A serene retreat, the perfect, secluded location, and a fantastically charming house. Our week here was peaceful, easy, and exactly what we had wanted; and so much more! Barbara and Jim were great hosts, as well as sincerely amazing people. The cottage is a one of a kind place, with great views, cozy rooms, and a complete screened in porch, which is absolutely perfect for a restful day, or a night full of starry skies. Everything was perfect, I can't stress that enough, and our time there was one of the most enjoyable family vacations that we've ever had.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway