Captain Cook house rental - Exterior View
Exterior View
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Captain Cook House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Sleeping Porch, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

Enjoy the seclusion of a two story home on a three acre parcel in Southern Kona coast. Located thirty miles south of Kailu-Kona in Papa Bay right next door to Miloli'I, the oldest Hawaiian fishing village. A beautiful lush Hawaiian country side away from the usual tourist traps. Elevation is at 1,000 feet overlooking the Pacific ocean with gentle Hawaiian breezes and no need for air-conditioning.

SuGar Cottage II is a self-contained 1,200 square foot top story home with two bedrooms(each containing a queen size bed),one bath, dining room, living room, full kitchen and a large screened in lanai which also contains a full size washer and dryer. There is a full size futon in the lanai that makes a very comfortable bed. Some guests prefer sleeping on the lanai to enjoy the beautiful Hawaiian nights.

SCUBA DIVERS! As a dive master I will take you out on shore dives, no extra charge. We provide FREE AIR and WEIGHTS. This service is for our guests only.

KAYAKING! We have kayaks available... FREE! We can set you up with a kayak to explore the beautiful water. Many guests enjoy snorkeling off the kayaks. Lots of great places to explore!

SNORKELING! We can show you many locations to snorkel away from the usual tourist places.

Ask us about our other cottage that is located in the same area that sleeps two to four people. This is located at vrbo.com/62707.

Rates:

SUMMER SPECIAL PRICE! $115/night plus 11.42% Hawaiian tax US Dollars. Maximum of six guests.

$50 cleaning fee regardless of length of stay. Check in 3:00pm Check out 11:am

50% deposit required upon booking. Balance due on or before arrival.Four-Week cancellation notice for a full refund. Minimum two nights.

We accept Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover and JCB.

Keywords:

More Details
Hide Details

41 Reviews of Property 127431 in Captain Cook, Hawaii

Private Setting in So Kona Free Scuba & Snorkel Tours
average rating of 4.97561 based on 41 reviews
business
Private Setting in So Kona Free Scuba & Snorkel Tours
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127431vb
(808) 328-9515
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Calgary, Alberta, Canada.
5

Outstanding value

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We stayed in Sugar Cottage for a week in August 2010 and intend to come back with the children as soon as we can. The owners are very pleasent and helpful, and Gary took us out diving most mornings using gear he provided and was a very knowledgeable and patient guide/divemaster/outfitter. The accommodation would easily sleep 4-6 people and all of the additional items available (right down to cooler and ice packs) really do provide all the comforts of home and save you money. If you like diving, kayaking or snorkelling then this is the place to stay. While on the Big Island I recommend the manta ray night dive/snorkel. Its hard to beat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Setting in So Kona Free Scuba & Snorkel Tours
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127431vb
(808) 328-9515
Captain Cook Kona Coast
El Paso, TX
5

Awesome Experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Gary was so awesome! He constantly checked up on us & made sure we were comfortable at all times! Our cottage was very clean and organized. He took us out to scuba whenever we asked him. Gary took us to different shore dive sites and knew exactly where we would see coral and other sea life. He constantly monitored our dives and I felt very safe and secure with the equipment. Thank you for a wonderful Hawaiian vacation. We look forward to returning!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Private Setting in So Kona Free Scuba & Snorkel Tours
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127431vb
(808) 328-9515
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Merritt Island Florida
5

Stayed for a week - recommend relaxing non-commercial

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Had a great week with 2 snorkeling trips. Good base from which to see the whole Island. The unit is well equipped and comfortable, my cell phone worked(Tmobile) but no internet. I was on vacation so great excuse to get away from it. Price is excellent when you take into account the trips that Garry takes you on.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Setting in So Kona Free Scuba & Snorkel Tours
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127431vb
(808) 328-9515
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Toronto, Canada
5

Great cottage for everyb

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We just came back from a weeks stay at the Sugar Cottage. We found everything exactly as it was described and even better as the cottage is very large for 2 people. We especially enjoyed the screen-in lanai as we had our breakfasts and dinners there. The swing and the couch were added bonus to the lanai. The surroundings are beautiful away from all the noise of a city or a tourist area. The location was very convenient for all our trips as we did go to the Volcano and to Hilo. Garry and Susan were very helpful and we had everything we needed. We even got fresh eggs from their neighbor uncle Waine!!! Garry took us on numerous snorkelling and kayaking trips to places we would not be able to go on our own. This was an excellent experience and a wonderful vacation thanks to Garry.
We definetely recommend this cottage.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Private Setting in So Kona Free Scuba & Snorkel Tours
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127431vb
(808) 328-9515
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Bucks County PA
5

Great place..Great Host!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
We loved our stay at Sugar Cottage 2. It was huge and equipped with everything we needed. Gary was an awesome host- he spent several hours taking us to a black sand beach snorkeling ( the twenty minute "hike" there was as spectacular as the snorkeling) - which was wonderful- we were the only people there! We may even take up scuba diving!!!! If you like being away from crowds ( this was a little further from Captain Cook than we expected)and enjoy relaxing and/or snorkeling and/or diving Sugar Cottage is deal. The price is unbelievably reasonable and Gary's free services are priceless!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Setting in So Kona Free Scuba & Snorkel Tours
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127431vb
(808) 328-9515
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Soldotna, AK
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
Gary and Susan are simply the BEST! We come back every time we're on the island. We also take complete advantage of Gary's offer to take us scuba diving! Gary is our Dive Master and Sugar Cottage is our home on the island. It doesn't get any better than this!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Setting in So Kona Free Scuba & Snorkel Tours
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127431vb
(808) 328-9515
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Littlestown, PA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
We stayed at Sugar Cottage from Oct 22 through Nov 1, 2009 and it far exceeded our expectations. The cottage itself was great, especially the lanai for morning coffee and gecko watching. It was a wonderfully relaxing location, falling asleep to coqui frogs and waking up to the entertaining roosters and chickens. The cottage is surrounded by all types of palms and flowering trees which makes it very private and beautiful, not a neighbor in site. Garry and Susan were wonderful hosts, making sure we had everything we needed and adding to our wardrobe as well (ask about their t-shirts!) The dives that Garry took us on were excellant and we always felt safe with him leading the way. We only wish we had more time to do more dives! We highly recommend staying here not only for the great, private location of Sugar Cottage but also for such welcoming and friendly hosts. Many, many mahalos Garry and Susan!! We will definitely be seeing you again for our next Big Island adventure!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Setting in So Kona Free Scuba & Snorkel Tours
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127431vb
(808) 328-9515
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Denver, CO
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
We just returned from Big Island Hawaii:-) It was amazing!!!! We stayd with Gary and Susan in the Sugar cottage II. It was like a paradise:-) The cottage is huge (very comfortale for 6 people) but we used only the lanai:-)where all these geikos, frogs and birds were singing for good night sleep, which is btw very deep and mind blowing:-) The cottage is located far away from all the chaos of tourism which we experienced in Kona and Hilo. Our stay was very relaxing and strenghtening for our 5 years old relationship. Hawaii is beautiful and very laid back as is Gary and Susan:-) In the same time it's very comfortable and exciting to dive with Gary since he is an expert in finding so many critters:-)and staying VERY cautious and safe!We traveled a big part of the island, especially 4-wheel a lot of hidden beaches but in 10 days we didn't see everything so we are plannig to come back as soon as we save enough money!:-) Please let me know if anyone would have any questions about anything I would love to help! Thank you once again Gary and Susan!!! I hope we'll see you soon!:-)
business
Private Setting in So Kona Free Scuba & Snorkel Tours
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127431vb
(808) 328-9515
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Spokane, Wa
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
Our first trip to Hawaii and we hit a winner. The
Sugar II cottage was very comfortable, clean, and
well located. Gary and Susan were wonderful hosts
and available for any need. Gary provides a unique
opportunity to explore the waters off Kona. Our
family had a mix of ocean and underwater
experience - from extensive to a first time diver
with no ocean time, and a few who only snorkled,
With Gary we were all able to enjoy ourselves and
experience the wonder to our individual comfort
level. He is a very knowledgeable and comfortable
guide. In the mornings Gary and I would get in an
early dive, while the family slept in, then late
morning/early afternoon we would all go kayaking,
snorkling, and/or diving. I haven't had the
opportunity to dive so much in years. Gary had any
equipment we needed. The location allows for easy
exploration and experiencing the entirety of Kona
and is in easy striking distance of Volcanoes Ntl
Park. We can't say enough how enjoyable and
special our time was staying at Sugar II.
business
Private Setting in So Kona Free Scuba & Snorkel Tours
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p127431vb
(808) 328-9515
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Edmonton, Alberta
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
We were a little nervous to trust renting a VRBO for the very frist time however after communicating with Garry and Susan we knew we made the right decision, what a great piece of paradise!
Thanks to Garry and his knowledge of the area both in and out of water we were able to see a white tip shark, eel and turtles while kayaking and snorkeling with him. He also pointed us in the right direction to see dolphins in their natural habitate and that was incredible!! Thank you Garry for taking us out kayaking and snrokeling and for lending us your snorkel gear, it was very much appreciated and well put to use!
I agree with Garry, the lanai is one of the best places at the Sugar Cottage II and I enjoyed sleeping out there every night of our vacation. The coqui frogs were amazing! I wish I could have taken them home with me to sing me to sleep!
The location was perfect to be able to explore the many attractions of the south end of the island and to also visit the more touristy areas of Kona.
We can't wait to come back to the Big Island and stay at the Sugar Cottage II again!
Mahalo!!