Hanalei house rental - Beautiful Hawaiian-style Home in Lovely Tropical Setting
Beautiful Hawaiian-style Home in Lovely Tropical Setting
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Hanalei House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms + Den, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Maluhia Hanalei is a beautiful Hawaiian-style home just one block from the magnificent two-mile crescent beach at world-renowned Hanalei Bay.

The furnishings, amenities, and setting make it a wonderful vacation home from which to enjoy the wonders of Kauai's North Shore.

Within a ten-minute drive you will find numerous beautiful beaches and a huge variety of activities to keep you busy. A two-minute walk from the house is magnificent Hanalei Bay and its famous, white-sand beach. A short stroll will bring you to quaint, historic, downtown Hanalei, with its wonderful array of restaurants, shops, and galleries.

The house is at the end of a cul-de-sac, set back off the road, and down a long driveway on a wonderfully-landscaped quarter acre adjacent to a conservation area. The setting is lush, green, private, quiet, very secluded, and yet only a block to the beach and a five-minute walk into town. An ideal location.

Maluhia Hanalei is a single-family home which will accommodate up to 10 guests. Groups of up to 6 can rent the spacious three- bedroom, two bath upstairs main part of the house. There is also a lovely garden level apartment with two more bedrooms, living room, full kitchen, and full bath for up to an additional 4 guests. This can be rented separately or with the rest of the house.

The house is beautifully decorated and fully equipped. Larger groups will find that the whole house combines to make an ideal vacation home for up to 10. The individual suites give the smaller groups within the large one their own separate spaces and the upstairs has a very open, spacious floor plan with plenty of room for everyone to gather for meals and visiting.

Guests will enjoy the wonderful outdoor shower, the myriad birds in the trees, the wonderful sunrises and sunsets, the lush foliage and flowers everywhere, and the lovely views from the extensive lanais and patios.

Please visit our webpage, for more information, virtual tours, photos and a video of this lovely home.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

Like so many other visitors, I was entranced by the sheer beauty of the north shore of Kauai. It gives me so much pleasure to be able to share this paradise with others by opening my home to visitors from all over, so they too may experience the rare unspoiled nature of one of the most special places on earth.

Marney Craig purchased this house in 2000

My travels have taken me all over the world, but Kauai always drew me back. Hanalei and the north shore of Kauai will never change, never be developed, never have hotels, condos, or very much tourist infrastructure. This most beautiful spot is protected and secure in it's beauty and appeal. What better spot to have a home to come to and to share with others.

My home is not only beautiful, charming, comfortable and inviting, but also very private and secluded, surrounded by beautiful gardens, and adjacent to a tropical hardwood forest. The foliage, the flowers, the birds, the sunrise, the relaxation of this wonderful environment, combined with the beach at Hanalei Bay and Hanalei town both being a very short walk from the house make it the ideal spot for the ultimate getaway.

36 Reviews of Property 10087 in Hanalei, Hawaii

Beautiful Home One Block from Beach at Magnificent Hanalei Bay
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 36 reviews
business
Beautiful Home One Block from Beach at Magnificent Hanalei Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p10087vbi
(415) 310-1919 (California, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
California
5

Beautiful Home, Beautiful Stay in Hanalei

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We had a wonderful stay at this lovely home that is even prettier than the pictures. It is immaculate in every sense, comfortable and inviting. It is well stocked with everything you would need, books, games, toys, and of course a kitchen with everything including a blender to make tropical drinks, make sure you pick one of the great limes from the tree in the yard.
I love how close it is to both the beach and town. We walked everywhere. Can't wait to go back to stay at Maluhia.
business
Beautiful Home One Block from Beach at Magnificent Hanalei Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p10087vbi
(415) 310-1919 (California, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
California
5

Beautiful Home, Beautiful Stay in Hanalei December 2011

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We had a wonderful stay at this lovely home that is even prettier than the pictures. It is immaculate in every sense, comfortable and inviting. It is well stocked with everything you would need, books, games, toys, and of course a kitchen with everything including a blender to make tropical drinks, make sure you pick one of the great limes from the tree in the yard.
I love how close it is to both the beach and town. We walked everywhere. Can't wait to go back to stay at Maluhia.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Beautiful Home One Block from Beach at Magnificent Hanalei Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p10087vbi
(415) 310-1919 (California, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
Ca.
5

golfer

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
outstanding location, beautiful location and very clean. Will go back next year
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Home One Block from Beach at Magnificent Hanalei Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p10087vbi
(415) 310-1919 (California, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
Tiburon, CA/ Bay Area
5

Grown Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
The week stay we had at this home in Hanalei is one of our family's top ten family vacations that we have taken. We stayed in the top half of the house, and there was plenty of room for all four of us. We often bought beautiful fish and fruit to eat in as the kitchen is fully stocked with utensils, including an excellent blender for mixing tropical drinks! The ease and proximity to the beach, which has a life guard station and shower right there was incredible and we walked and swam there everyday, as there were never too many people crowding that area though the scenery is spectacular. There are also kayaking and surfing lessons you can take just a few minutes walk down the beach. The neighborhood the house is situated in is incredibly friendly and relaxing. We highly recommend this fun and enjoyable house!
business
Beautiful Home One Block from Beach at Magnificent Hanalei Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p10087vbi
(415) 310-1919 (California, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
Tiburon, CA/ Bay Area
5

Best Stay in Hanalei

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
The week stay we had at this home in Hanalei is one of our family's top ten family vacations that we have taken. We stayed in the top half of the house, and there was plenty of room for all four of us. We often bought beautiful fish and fruit to eat in as the kitchen is fully stocked with utensils, including an excellent blender for mixing tropical drinks! The ease and proximity to the beach, which has a life guard station and shower right there was incredible and we walked and swam there everyday, as there were never too many people crowding that area though the scenery is spectacular. There are also kayaking and surfing lessons you can take just a few minutes walk down the beach. The neighborhood the house is situated in is incredibly friendly and relaxing. We highly recommend this fun and enjoyable house!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Home One Block from Beach at Magnificent Hanalei Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p10087vbi
(415) 310-1919 (California, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
Nevada City CA
5

Awesome

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Just wanted to thank you for sharing your lovely home with my family! It was
perfect in every way. Everything we needed and so much more was available. Your
list of things to do and places to eat were spot on. Beaux was marvelous and
most attentive. We will definitely visit again!! What a marvelous island. We
went on a catamaran, snorkeled, zip lined, kayaked, hiked in Canyon State Park,
hiked along the coast, visited the light house and botanical gardens, watched
sunsets at Hannalei beach and at the St. Regis!! And even found time to dip into
the ocean. We barbecued several times, loving the fish selection at Dolphin
Fish Market and indulged in lots of poke!! Postcards was excellent as was Caffe
Coco! Luau was perfect Overall my family had an awesome time. Perfect holiday
treat for all of us!! Again, thanks so much for letting us experience Kauai, Hannelei, and the beauty
of the island with your home as our base! It was the perfect setting for
evening cocktails and dinner and of course listening to the roosters in the early
hours!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Beautiful Home One Block from Beach at Magnificent Hanalei Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p10087vbi
(415) 310-1919 (California, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
Beaufort
5

The Best of Hanalei

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
This winter will be my 9th consecutive year vacationing in Hanalei. It will be my 4th consecutive year staying at “Mahulia Hanalei” (this house). This place is perfect. It is quiet, located at the end of a cul-de-sac, but close to everything. I can walk to the beach one block away and I can easily walk to town. The house is very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The bedrooms are spacious and the dining room and kitchen are huge and well equipped. The owner has made sure that everything you need for a great time is there, snorkel gear, boogie boards, beach chairs and mats. There are games and movies for the kids on rainy days. My family and friends are always thrilled when I announce our vacation dates knowing they will be back at “Mahulia Hanalei”. There is a lime tree in the back yard with the biggest limes I’ve ever seen. Great for cooking and margaritas. The air is always filled with the sweet aroma of Hawaii, night jasmine, plumeria, and hibiscus. The yard is neatly landscaped and well maintained. There is a great lawn in the back for croquette (yes there is a croquette set). The house has a huge wrap around lanai upstairs and we have had the greatest family meals out there. This house is so special to me and the memories I have of staying there will be with my family, friends and I forever.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Home One Block from Beach at Magnificent Hanalei Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p10087vbi
(415) 310-1919 (California, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
Beaufort
5

The Best of Hanalei

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
This winter will be my 9th consecutive year vacationing in Hanalei. It will be my 4th consecutive year staying at “Mahulia Hanalei” (this house). This place is perfect. It is quiet, located at the end of a cul-de-sac, but close to everything. I can walk to the beach one block away and I can easily walk to town. The house is very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The bedrooms are spacious and the dining room and kitchen are huge and well equipped. The owner has made sure that everything you need for a great time is there, snorkel gear, boogie boards, beach chairs and mats. There are games and movies for the kids on rainy days. My family and friends are always thrilled when I announce our vacation dates knowing they will be back at “Mahulia Hanalei”. There is a lime tree in the back yard with the biggest limes I’ve ever seen. Great for cooking and margaritas. The air is always filled with the sweet aroma of Hawaii, night jasmine, plumeria, and hibiscus. The yard is neatly landscaped and well maintained. There is a great lawn in the back for croquette (yes there is a croquette set). The house has a huge wrap around lanai upstairs and we have had the greatest family meals out there. This house is so special to me and the memories I have of staying there will be with my family, friends and I forever.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Beautiful Home One Block from Beach at Magnificent Hanalei Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p10087vbi
(415) 310-1919 (California, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
Utah
5

Great Stay in Hanalei

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We took the whole family to Hanalei for a vacation in June and rented the Plumeria and Hibiscus suites. We had 7 adults and 3 grand babies (7 yr, 3yr, and 10 months) in all. My oldest son, his wife, and 3 kids stayed in the Plumeria suite and loved having their own space. My wife and I, another son and his wife (both 25yr) and my youngest son (22 yr) were in the upper Hibiscus suite. We had plenty of room for family meals and get-togethers in the Hibiscus suite. The kitchen was completely stocked with everything needed to prepare meals. The house was a block from the sand of Hanalei Bay. The grand kids loved swimming, surfing, and boogie boarding etc. The water was safe and warm with lifeguards on duty. Downtown Hanalei was a short stroll away and had everything we needed as far as groceries, restaurants (Tiki Man Pizza and Bubba's Burgers were favs), board rentals, and shops. The property was just as described. It was clean and well stocked (towels, sand toys, chairs, umbrellas, even some fins and snorkel gear) with everything needed for a good day on the beach. It was a great experience for the whole family.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Home One Block from Beach at Magnificent Hanalei Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p10087vbi
(415) 310-1919 (California, USA)
Hanalei Kauai
Arizona
2

bugs, Bugs, and more BUGS!!!

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
This was our first time to Kauai and we spent ten days in this house. Ants are everywhere, especially in the kitchen! Cockroaches like to crawl around where the children are sleeping! And of course the mosquitoes. We spent over $250 during our stay to try and keep the mosquitoes from eating us alive!! It didn't work. We had six children with us ages from 9 years to 7 months, we were appalled at how bad all of their skin was from the bites. It was so bad it, by the end of the trip, they looked as if they had the chicken pox!!

This house IS conveniently located in Hanalei, walking distance to the bay and to shopping. But the house is set back in high&dense foliage. So not only is it a haven for insects but the house is extremely hot. Most places in Kauai don't have AC, but the so called "trade winds" are supposed to keep houses cool. This house, again, is surrounded by high trees and plants and gets no breeze. It is unbearable to be inside during the day.

This house had many major appliances that need repair or were flat out broken. (Stove, microwave, dishwasher, dryer.) When the owners ask for "x" amount a week to stay in this place, there should be more than a few notes posted on these appliances saying "sorry does not work". This is also a split floor plan, there are no major appliances down stairs. The down stairs (indoor) shower has very low water pressure. There is an outdoor shower downstairs but dont use (even to rinse off) you will be eaten alive!

Another important note: this property has permanent residents on either side of it. Even though you are on vacation, they are not!! If you have active children playing or try to have a conversation on the lanai after 8pm they will call the police on you. The neighbors are not friendly and seem down right pissed that people vacation in "their neighborhood".

We will not consider this property again.
Owner's Response: This review is full of exaggerations, mis-statements and erroneous information. In addition, there is a very relevant backstory associated with this group. One night during their stay there was a horrendous, extremely loud, long, profanity-filled fight that took place, accompanied by the crying of the terrified children who were in the house when it happened. All of my neighbors were out in the street, and one of them called me while another one called the police. I got calls from three different people in the neighborhood telling me how horrible it was, and how much foul language had been used. When I phoned and spoke with the member of the group who had rented the house from me, she told me that her daughter and her partner had gotten into a fight. She also told me that they really liked the house and everything was fine. How surprised could he have been if people (including other renters staying nearby) were not friendly after this unprecedented incident? My feeling is that this gentleman got in trouble with the police,who did indeed come to the house, that he was probably seriously reprimanded, and was embarrassed. His assessment of the house was seriously impaired by this terribly negative incident which happened early in their stay and from that time on he apparently felt compelled to find fault with everything.

Please contact me for further clarification on specific points in his review. I can explain and most assuredly set your mind at ease regarding all of them. I would do that here but space does not permit. I can clarify his ”broken appliances” statement (there was one cooktop that broke right before that group arrived and we did not have time to replace it, but the other main cooking facilities were available) and refute the severity of the bugs and the heat issues. Suffice to say that my home is beautiful, well maintained, meticulously cleaned, looked after, and kept in as perfect order as is possible. My housekeepers check everything between rentals and we replace whatever is not in perfect working order.

I can supply any number of references who will attest to the true nature of my home. These folks will tell you that my house is beautiful, well maintained, fully equipped, and a wonderful place to stay. Please do not be deterred by the one bad review from an unhappy and disgruntled guest who got himself in trouble and then lashed out once again, which is what got him in trouble in the first place.
Helpful votes: 9/14