Emporio house rental - View from the terrace to the old castle
View from the terrace to the old castle
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Emporio House Rental Photos and Description
Self catering sleeps 6, 2 bathrooms, private courtyard and roof terrace

A unique experience, combining a traditional winery, working artists studio and holiday villa.

Lovingly restored and converted into holiday accomodation and studio by local artist Jon Call, the 'canava' building dates back to 1835, situated in a semi rural location on the edge of the residential village of Emborio, with views to the 'castella' (old town) of emborio and beyond to the sea.

The accomodation comprises of lounge /home cinema, two bathrooms, kitchen / dining area, sleeping quarters for up to 6 people, private courtyard, roof terrace and off road parking

Jon your host, born in Maine, USA, resident of Greece for 35 years. Exhibits art at various locations around the island, specialises in abstract, collage and landscapes, with an extensive knowledge of the sights, history and hospitality of Santorini.

15 Reviews of Property 99996 in Emporio , Greece

Traditional restored winery converted into holiday villa
average rating of 5.0 based on 15 reviews
business
Traditional restored winery converted into holiday villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p99996
+30 (0)694 4225243
Emporio Santorini
Wels/Austria
5

Everthing was perfect...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
THX a lot for everything...our stay in santorini was amazing...

THX to Jon

We can say: a "helpful hand" for every question, a very special House with any comfort...we love this place...so many things that we've never seen before!!!

We had a wonderful time there...

Best regards

Petra & Fritz
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Traditional restored winery converted into holiday villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p99996
+30 (0)694 4225243
Emporio Santorini
Windermere, Cumbria, England
5

A rural gem in old Santorini

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
This is a remarkable property set in a traditional village on Santorini...
a large, ancient wine 'kava' or cave which has been re-created as a wonderful holiday home. Original local materials and ideas have been used with all of Jon's impressive flair and originality to make a dwelling which is spacious, light and overwhelmingly traditional.

The building is practical and comfortable for living, with a large, comfortable kitchen, a comfortable 'den' containing easy seating and satellite/TV etc; but these 'mod cons' are discretely positioned so that the aestetics are not diluted and for me, the place is FUN! It has an enclosed courtyard for private dining or relaxing, a roof-top patio and lounge with barbeque and views across the village to the sea, and a bathroom of pure genius. Jon's paintings... worth the visit in themselves... decorate the interiors and exteriors.

The village is a traditional Greek community huddled on the slopes of the island and provides a peaceful and hospitable refuge from the tourist meccas of the island; and yet it is ideally situated within easy reach of the main town or the beaches on the East coast, and not far from the air- or ferry-ports. Donkeys still mingle with the cars in the street outside the villa, and the locals can take all morning to say good day, with their grave Aegean courtesy. There is no rush here... 'Chairete', the Greek word for 'Greetings', was designed to for people to be able to take their time over, we decided.

Jon looks after this villa himself and is a wonderful host and guide to the island. His enthusiasm for the villa, the island, for Greece, for art and design, for night-life and good food and for life in general is highly infectious. He is a discerning restaurant critic and a knowledgeable chef who can advise on local specialities and produce, and if you go in the autumn, the gleam in his eye as he makes his own wine is coruscating. We ended up helping him to tread the grapes.

We'll be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Traditional restored winery converted into holiday villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p99996
+30 (0)694 4225243
Emporio Santorini
France
5

Excellent place with an unforgettable greeting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
With my wife and my two boys, we had the chance to find this lovely place in maybe the unique place of santoriny where it's already tipic and tourism is not crowded.
The house is very nice, original,decorated with a large artistic touch and really peacefull.
Jon the owner helped us for every facilities we need. And he show us the best to discovered in the island. There some guys in the life, that you have to meet. Jon is a person like that...
We recomende fvery much this place
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Traditional restored winery converted into holiday villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p99996
+30 (0)694 4225243
Emporio Santorini
Kiel, Germany
5

Just 3 words: Like coming home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Just 3 words: Like coming home

Kids from Germany
Owner's Response: Thanks !!!! Great having you KIDS !!!!

xx Jon
business
Traditional restored winery converted into holiday villa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p99996
+30 (0)694 4225243
Emporio Santorini
Kiel, Germany
5

Ein wirklich "einmaliges Erlebnis"

Ein wirklich "einmaliges Erlebnis"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
Wir waren im September zu dritt 2 Wochen in Jons Winery. Die ersten 3 Wörter der Beschreibung sagen eigentlich schon alles: "Ein einmaliges Erlebnis".

Das ganze Haus, der Innenhof und die Sonnenterrasse sind einzigartig dekoriert. An den Wänden hängen Jons selbstgemalte Bilder, überall sind dekorative Accessoires die mit Lichtspots und indirektem Licht hervorgehoben werden. Selbst nach einer Woche endeckten wir immer noch neue Details.

Jon ist der perfekte Gastgeber. Er hat uns vom Flughafen abgeholt und abends mit uns eine kleine "Orientierungstour" gemacht. Bei unserer Ankunft in der Winery stand schon ein kleines "Willkommenspaket" auf dem Tisch - Brot, Wasser, Wein, Orangensaft, Kekse u.v.m.

Einen Abend hat Jon für uns Souvláki in verschiedenen Variationen gegrillt. Es war das beste Abendessen, das wir in den 2 Wochen hatten, knapp gefolgt von dem Abend, als wir mit Jon in einem ausgezeichneten Restaurant mit dem wohl besten Preis- Leistungsverhältins der Insel, griechische Spezialitäten gegessen haben.

Jon war stets hilfsbereit und immer erreichbar ohne dabei jemals aufdringlich zu werden. Wir fühlten uns von Anfang an "wie zu Hause".

Thank you Jon
"Nice kids from Germany"
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 14/15