Douglas cottage rental - Cottage from Wallis Street
Cottage from Wallis Street
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Douglas Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 6)

Very nice cottage with modern appliances, cable TV & wireless high speed internet . Short walk to Massachusetts State Forest and miles of walking & biking trails. Good fishing & swimming with dock & canoe.

The winter season brings skating, ice fishing & cross country skiing with downhill skiing close by at Wachuesttet Mountain less than one hour to the north. Thirty min. drive to Old Sturbridge Village & Brimfield Antiques Fair, less than one hour to Boston & one hour drive to casino, Foxwoods & Mohegan Sun.

We are very centrally located to multiple activities in our beautiful state. Come to Central Massachusetts and discover our close by escape from the hassle of overcrowded tourist towns.

21 Reviews of Property 985022 in Douglas, Massachusetts

Lakefront Cottage with Private Dock -
average rating of 4.714286 based on 21 reviews
business
Lakefront Cottage with Private Dock -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p985022
+1 908 3910868
Douglas Central Massachusetts
Cambridge
5

Awesome property with lake access

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 26, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
This property is extremely well located, with direct access to the lake and close to Webster. The neighborhood is quiet and nice. The owners are extremely helpful and live right across the property, which is helpful for dealing with the keys and other practical details. The house itself sleeps 3 couples (2 bedrooms and 1 sofa bed, there is also 1 small bed in the veranda that can sleep 1 person), is very comfy, well maintained and clean. This property is definitely a clear winner, especially because of its location and price.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review!

Tina and I will continue to make improvements to the cottage and grounds to make future stays with us even better.

Please come again soon.

Sincerely,
Dan & Tina
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Lakefront Cottage with Private Dock -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p985022
+1 908 3910868
Douglas Central Massachusetts
San Diego
5

A Nice family get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2008
  • Stayed: Nov 2008
My boys and I found ourselves wanting somewhere to go for Thanksgiving as my husband is deployed to the Persian Gulf for the holidays. We found the cottage to be just what we were looking for. A place to take our minds off of our everyday troubles. The kids and I loved exploring down by the lake and hiking at the nearby state forest. Dan and Tina were so nice to us and helpful even when I tripped a fuse on Thanksgiving!!! I can't wait to bring my husband there for a family vacation in the future. Thanks again for everything and have a safe and happy holiday season.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review!

We wish you and your family a safe and happy holiday season too! And, we look forward you meeting your husband back safe and sound from the Persian Gulf.

Dan & Tina
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Lakefront Cottage with Private Dock -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p985022
+1 908 3910868
Douglas Central Massachusetts
Southern New England
4

Relaxing Vacation!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
A friend and I spend 10 nights in August 2008 at the Douglas cottage. It was perfect weather....warm days, cools nights. It is a cottage set beautifully beside the lake....we had fires over near the dock and watched the sun set. The cottage is not exactly a modern home...but it does have all the modern convenineces...cable TV, internet access, washer and dryer. We were comfortable and had a great time. Dan and Tina were available to answer questions and help whenever we needed anything!
The only drawback is the area does not have a lot of dining options...we found few restaurants in Douglas or the surronding area.....so we found ourselves grilling or cooking out at the firepit.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review!

Tina and I will continue to offer the best we can in comfort and relaxation by the lake.

We hope you will return to stay with us again soon.

Dan & Tina
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Lakefront Cottage with Private Dock -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p985022
+1 908 3910868
Douglas Central Massachusetts
Warwick, RI
4

Fishing for the weekend

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
We did some grilling and fishing for a weekend in June. Great weather, nice big yard with plenty of seating. The cottage was clean, and well equipped. Everything was as advertised. I hope to return next year.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review!

We hope you return to stay with us again soon.

Dan & Tina
Helpful votes: 7/16
business
Lakefront Cottage with Private Dock -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p985022
+1 908 3910868
Douglas Central Massachusetts
Naples, Florida
5

Brimfield Trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2008
  • Stayed: May 2008
Hello. Three of us stayed at this beautiful cottage for the Brimfield Antique Show. This place was fantastic. Great atmosphere, location and an unbelievable setting. Super location and we will stay here again next year! Thanks Tina for your wonderful hospitality.

Mike
Owner's Response: Thanks for you review!

We sure hope to see you again soon.

Dan & Tina
Helpful votes: 6/14
business
Lakefront Cottage with Private Dock -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p985022
+1 908 3910868
Douglas Central Massachusetts
Durham, NC
5

The definition of a New England lake cottage...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
This cottage offers what a "weekend at the lake" should be, at least in my memories of growing up in New England. Cool, clear lake water with small fish nibbling at your toes. Quiet paddling in a wooden canoe at twilight. A quiet trail meandering through a state forest just up the road in one direction, a farm with horses and a small family park with waterslides in the other. A place to toast marshmallows by the fireside in the cool evening air or to laze on a hammock in the warm morning sunshine. The cottage is rustic and cozy - making you feel equally comfortable sipping wine over a home-cooked meal or padding through the living room barefoot, wrapped in a towel with hair still wet from a swim in the lake. Dan and Tina are the final warming touch, offering a perfect balance of welcoming hospitality (which included a birthday card and wish for my wife) and availability (Dan repaired a canoe seat for us upon request) while still maintaining the private tranquility of the cottage. It was a joy to find a getaway that was close enough to allow evening forays into Boston.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review!

I agree, this is the type of cottage I wish my family owned when I was a kid. As it was, I could only look from a far at camps like this while swimming on this same lake.

We hope you return to stay with us again soon.

Dan & Tina
Helpful votes: 6/13
business
Lakefront Cottage with Private Dock -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p985022
+1 908 3910868
Douglas Central Massachusetts
West Hartford, CT
5

Great place to get away from it all!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
My wife, my twelve-year old son and I stayed here for two weeks. It was a very enjoyable experience. The cottage has all the amenities you would want; including wireless internet, cable TV, microwave, washer & dryer, etc. The decor was quaint. The outside of the house was fantastic. Several sitting areas. Most importanlty is the lake. Fresh, cool and clear water with great fisihing opportuinties. We found ourselves eating in about half the time and the other half of the time we tried many of the great restaurants in that part of Massachussetts. Convenient location for commuting and gusts as well. Overall, a positive experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thanks for you review!

Your comments are right on target. These reasons are why I came back to live in this area. I tried Cape Cod, NYC, California and many other areas around our beautiful country but none was a peaceful or relaxing as my own home town. And, as you say, it is so centrally located. You can get to Boston in less than one hour & Hartford about the same.

We hope to see you again soon.

Dan & Tina
Helpful votes: 5/11
business
Lakefront Cottage with Private Dock -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p985022
+1 908 3910868
Douglas Central Massachusetts
Ocala, Fl. USA.
1

Do your homework before renting .

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
We spend a month in New England every year to see our Kids and Grandkids. We were not at all pleased with this cottage. It is full of old musty smelling furniture. I don't like living with mice and cob webs on the lights. The bureau's were full of bedding so that there was no place for our clothing. There was way too much old furniture, knick knacks and old silk flowers. We were not very happy with the accomodations..
Owner's Response: The least you could have done is given us a chance to correct some of the issues you outlined during your stay here. I could have removed some of the furniture, bedding or art work that was kept in the cottage for you to use/view, if they were in your way. Also, your rental was for one full month. As such, it is the responsibility of the tenant to perform light housekeeping unless weekly housekeeping is requested for an extra fee. I.E.; we cannot control the potential action of a spider that decides it is time to make a web.

Tina and I asked you and your wife many times if the cottage was to your liking; you both responded every thing was fine. We made every effort to see to your needs including a faster internet connection. I even purchased a new router so the signal would be better for you.

The cottage is on the water, as such, there will always be a slight amount of dampness. We place moisture removing products and air fresheners in the cottage to help but they only work up to a point. And, I do not know of any house in the country that has not had a field mouse come inside from time to time. We place sonic devices to keep them out as we do not want to use poison. We have two cats next door and do not want them to eat a poisoned mouse.

The bottom line here is that the cottage is on a lake and is not lived in all the time. We do our very best to keep it clean and if you read our other reviews you will see that we have many happy customers. We have been renting this cottage for over six years now and have had many repeat guests. I am sure that they would not be returning to stay in our cottage if it was as bad as this review is making it out to be.
Helpful votes: 11/20
business
Lakefront Cottage with Private Dock -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p985022
+1 908 3910868
Douglas Central Massachusetts
Palm Bay, Florida
5

'08 Summer Vacation

'08 Summer Vacation
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
Our stay at the Douglas Cottage was both refreshing and relaxing. We really enjoyed our daily walks across the causeway, and spent some time exploring the nearby walking trails. The waterfront setting was gorgeous, and we loved the numerous seating areas.

The convenient location of the cottage was perfect for us, as we have relatives in CT, MA, and RI. We found the property met our needs, and appreciated the onsite laundry.

Our hosts were quite friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about the area. We enjoyed the time spent at the Douglas Cottage and made two new friends along the way.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you Bob & Rita for your positive feedback on our cottage!

We always do our best to make our guests feel at home and see to as many of their needs as we can.

Please come back soon.

Sincerely,
Dan & Tina
Helpful votes: 7/11
business
Lakefront Cottage with Private Dock -
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p985022
+1 908 3910868
Douglas Central Massachusetts
worcester ma.
5

my week at the cottage.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2008
  • Stayed: May 2008
I was at the cottage the week of may 17th.along with my mother and dog,the cottage was a nice suprise well kept nicely decorated and with all the comforts of home exept no noise it was a peacefull enjoyable experiance!the grounds are beautiful the outside seating is above average,you can tell they take pride in there property.we met the owners who are very nice people ! the weather was not so great but it was a great week and just what I needed.also enjoyed the country setting and long walks. if you want peace and Quite you will love this!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/15