Captain Cook house rental - Front of Mala A Kai at the end of the street.
Front of Mala A Kai at the end of the street.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

Captain Cook House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms , 2 Baths (Sleeps 2-6)

Mala A Kai “Garden by the Sea” is a quaint (non-smoking) three bedroom, two bath home situated forty minutes from Kailua Kona and a short two minute walk to Pebble Beach (polished flat lava stones), a secluded community beach with some of the best snorkeling, kayaking and diving on the island. You will be pleasantly surprised at the amazing ocean views and the tropical charm this relaxing beach house provides. “Mala A Kai” is tucked away at the end of a short street that backs up to the remote vastness of both ocean and mountain landscape. You can sit on the lanai and listen to the sounds of the seasonal Humpback whales breaching, watch the dolphins spinning or the sun setting on any given day.

In the back of the house an element of surprise awaits you as a secret garden grows with bananas, pineapple, papayas and many other native Hawaiian plants.

From the front of the home you will be greeted by a modest entrance and a single car garage to park your car and stow beach gear, towels and ice chests from your day’s adventure. The air conditioned home is furnished with chic, comfortable, tropical furniture and decor. A fully equipped kitchen with stainless steel appliances allows easy access to the lanai for eating alfresco or barbequing at sunset. The master suite has ocean, mountain and garden views with a queen bed. The adjoining bathroom has double sinks, tub and shower. Enjoy surf, sunsets & whale watching from your lanai, kitchen, living area & master bedroom. The Captains suite (bedroom) with queen bed, and garden views inspires nautical adventures on the open sea, relaxing

in a tropical paradise or walking barefoot on the beach collecting shells along the shore. The third bedroom/office is equipped with desk and computer and can be used as a bedroom with an inflatable queen size mattress. The guest bathroom has a tub, shower and sink. Commercial grade exercise equipment, elliptical and stationary bike can be found in the garage area with a TV and ocean view for your heart smart work out.

Kona Paradise is a small rural subdivision, conveniently located in the heart of Kona Coffee land and Macadamia Nut country. It is close to a variety of great beaches and tourist attractions which include the Pu’uhonua o Honaunau, City of Refuge, National Historical Park, and Two Step for world renowned snorkeling. Captain Cook Monument for kayak and snorkel adventures is also close by. The historic Ali’i Trail edges the coastline and can be hiked in both directions from Pebble Beach just 2 minutes from “Mala A Kai”. Ho’okena Beach is a sand beach park approximately 10 minutes north which is good for keki play and boogie boarding. Miloli, a historic fishing village is 15 minutes south in the other direction. Kailua Kona town is close enough for night life, shopping, and even surfing. There is a grocery store just 20 minutes north that will provide for all your grocery needs. Small restaurants and fruit stands are to be found along the highway and provide fresh, locally grown produce and coffee. On Sundays the farmers and artisans in the area sponsor a farmers market which is located next to the local area grocery store. The volcanoes National Park with an active volcano is “a must see” and is 1 1/2 hours south. This is truly Kona Paradise!

More Details
Hide Details

We are originally from the Pacific Northwest. Troy was a commercial fisherman for 28 years and Mary is a special education teacher. 10 years ago we moved to Hawaii for the sun & sea. The endless summer foe work and play year round. We are avid gardeners who love the diversity of the islands.

Troy Vought purchased this house in 2005

Mala a Kai was the prefect place for us to live close to town but in a rural farming community with the beach at our door step. Listening to the whales at night while wearing shorts year round what could be better.This house is centrally located to all the Big Island has to offer. Volcano to the south, coffee, macnuts, great beaches & diving, the town and resorts to the north.

We love to hang out in the garden and whale watch from the lanai or enjoy an ocean swim anytime of day. We have a quiet peaceful paradise.

28 Reviews of Property 974751 in Captain Cook, Hawaii

Mala a Kai 'Garden by the Sea' Beautiful Ocean Coastline View
average rating of 5.0 based on 28 reviews
business
Mala a Kai 'Garden by the Sea' Beautiful Ocean Coastline View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p974751
+1 8089601279
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Grand Junction, Colorado
5

A Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Mala a Kai is a wonderful home away from home. The owners have left nothing to chance and everything you need to cook a gourmet meal to snorkeling in the ocean have been stocked for your use. A full kitchen, washer/dryer, lovely garden, and even a computer round out this spacious and immaculately cleaned home. I have never stayed in a VRBO so well tuned to a renter's every need. We cannot wait to return. We especially loved the steep walk from the ocean to the main road....bring your sneakers it's a great workout!!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mala a Kai 'Garden by the Sea' Beautiful Ocean Coastline View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p974751
+1 8089601279
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Grand Junction, Colorado
5

Wonderful experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Lovely, fully stocked private home in a quiet, beautiful neighborhood. We loved our stay at Mala a Kai and would recommend it to anyone. Great launching point for adventures. We enjoyed all the great information the hosts provided and the guide books. Everything was perfect!
business
Mala a Kai 'Garden by the Sea' Beautiful Ocean Coastline View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p974751
+1 8089601279
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Nevada City CA
5

Can't wait to go back!

Can't wait to go back!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Truly wonderful place to be. My 7 and 12 year old loved it as well :) Everything in this beautiful home is top notch! Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Mala a Kai 'Garden by the Sea' Beautiful Ocean Coastline View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p974751
+1 8089601279
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

Perfect Hawaiian Hide-a-way!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
From the moment we arrived, we felt the Aloha spirit! This beautiful home was abundantly appointed with everything we needed to enjoy our vacation, from beach towels to boogie board, snorkel gear and coolers and an even an umbrella to take the beaches. The home has a state of the art office space with brand new computer and printer/fax to do our necessary emails and business transactions. The terraced garden and outdoor dining areas were gorgeous - like being a tropical botanical garden. The beds with memory foam mattresses were like sleeping on a cloud! Location was well away from the "touristy" areas and close to the some of the best beaches on the island including "Two Step Beach" and Kealakekua Bay, which has the best snorkeling in all the islands and the location is proximate to visit the active island volcano, Hilo and Kailua-Kona
Ma-halo to our hosts,Troy and Mary, for making our trip so very special.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Mala a Kai 'Garden by the Sea' Beautiful Ocean Coastline View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p974751
+1 8089601279
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Eureka CA
5

Our kind of place!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This was our third visit to the Big Island and this house was by far our favorite. The house and grounds were beautiful and the location very peaceful. We spent our mornings eating breakfast on the lanai and enjoying the oceanview. We were greeted every morning with the family of geckos that were fun to watch. The garden in the rear of the house was peaceful and beautiful.

We read the guest book and every comment was positive....we agreed with every one of them. The VRBO description was accurate. The location was perfect for our visits to the volcano, Hilo and Kona. The nearby beaches were great. My wife and I prefer to be in a quiet and uncrowded setting and this house and location was perfect.

We did not have one bad meal in any of the restaurants - the Strawberry Patch, Annie's, Huggos, the Volcano Village Lodge and evn a few in the Hilo area. You can see we treaveled the island and tried many of the restaurants.

The owners are only a local telephone call away and anxious to help you. We'll be back. Try this place and you'll love it!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Mala a Kai 'Garden by the Sea' Beautiful Ocean Coastline View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p974751
+1 8089601279
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Phx
5

Wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My wife and I highly recommend staying at this beautiful home. Everthing is as stated in the listing. The property is well kept and clean. Thx again to Troy and Mary for letting us use their home. Very relaxing!!

John & Sandy
business
Mala a Kai 'Garden by the Sea' Beautiful Ocean Coastline View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p974751
+1 8089601279
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

Landlocked Coloradans

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This time of year we always consider a trip to warm waters. This year we chose the Big Island and were not disappointed with our experience. This beautiful home exceeded our expectations and was a perfect spot for a central location between the Volcanos and Kihea-Kona. The home presented itself with outstanding upgrades perfect for the master chef or the microwave enthusiast. We enjoyed all of our evenings on the deck-lanai with the tiki lamps and waves crashing on the sand. Our delightful hosts, Mary and Troy left nothing for us to need to rent or buy from beach towels, boogie boards, surf boards, beach chairs and the most lovely garden in paradise that we have ever had the pleasure of enjoying. The beds were so comfy to crawl into after a long day outside hiking and snorkelling as well.
This was the perfect place for our group and we would recommend it to anyone considering a trip to Hawaii!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mala a Kai 'Garden by the Sea' Beautiful Ocean Coastline View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p974751
+1 8089601279
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Eugene, OR
5

Fantastic vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This property is everything it advertises and more. The house is spacious, clean, well furnished, and the kitchen is well stocked. The views are fantastic. You can hear and see the whales while sitting on the lanai. If you are looking for the bustle of Kona, you will have to drive a bit, but if you are looking for a quiet, restful vacation, this is it. The road to the house from Hwy 11 is quite steep but we used this as our daily exercise opportunity followed by swimming and snorkeling in clear water. We are all agreed, though, that the best part about the location of the house is the night-time viewing of the Milky Way while lying on the beach. We will be back.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mala a Kai 'Garden by the Sea' Beautiful Ocean Coastline View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p974751
+1 8089601279
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
5

Mala a Kai

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Everything was great, including location, cleanliness and to-do advice. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks to all our wonderful guests, we had a great 2012. Improvements are planned for 2013, so all are repeat customers can expect an even better Hawaii vacation. Happy New Year
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mala a Kai 'Garden by the Sea' Beautiful Ocean Coastline View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p974751
+1 8089601279
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Mancos, Colorado/USA
5

Garden by the Sea

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Mala a Kai is a beautiful home and quickly became our home away from home in Hawaii. The neighborhood is quiet and peaceful. We loved sitting on the lanai listening to the ocean, looking out over the lava fields. It was great to have the beach equipment, we went snorkeling and boogie boarding. Troy and Mary have provided so many amenities that made our stay extremely comfortable. The kitchen was a joy to cook in with just about every appliance you would need. Choice Mart was a good tip for shopping and I would also recommend the farmers markets for wonderful fresh and local fruits and vegetables. Troy and Mary provide a list of the local farmers markets in the house binder. I would highly recommend and actually I have already recommended Mala a Kai to a friend for their stay on the Big Island. Thank you Troy and Mary for sharing your beautiful home with us. Ron and Carolyn from Colorado
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2